Athletic Trainers: Licensing, Registration, and Renewal
Click here to apply or renew.
What are the requirements to become licensed as an Athletic Trainer in New Mexico?
Completed application, one hundred twenty five ($125.00) application fees, proof of current NATA-BOC
certification; proof of current competence in CPR and use of AED; demonstrates professional competence by
satisfactorily passing the New Mexico jurisprudence examination and demonstrates professional competency
by satisfactorily passing the NATA examination.
184.108.40.206 APPLICANTS FOR LICENSURE: As an athletic trainer, one must possess the following
qualifications and provide the required documentation with the application.
A. Application for licensure shall be made on forms prescribed by the board.
(1) Completed application signed, dated, and notarized
(2) Applications must be accompanied by the required fee, which shall be nonrefundable
(3) Education requirements: holds a baccalaureate degree
(4) Current NATA-BOC or show proof of three-part exam registration through NATA-BOC
(5) Current competence in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and use of automated electrical defibrillator units (AED)
B. Documentation required for licensure:
(1) Completed application
(2) One hundred twenty five dollar ($125.00) application fee (nonrefundable)
(4) Proof of current NATA-BOC certification
(5) Proof of current competence in CPR and use of AED
(6) Demonstrates professional competency by satisfactorily passing the New Mexico jurisprudence examination
(7) Demonstrates professional competency by satisfactorily passing the NATA examination
C. Applicants who are not NATA certified shall apply to take the NATABOC or its successor organization’s exam or other exams offered by the board as demonstration of professional competence. Successful completion of either exam is a requirement for licensure.
D. Each applicant must, in addition to the other requirements, pass an examination on the New Mexico laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of athletic training before an initial license may be issued (jurisprudence examination).
What are the renewal requirements?
Each person licensed under the act shall renew his/her license annually on or before the expiration date by
submitting a renewal application, the renewal fee, proof of current CPR certification, AED certification, AED
certification and proof of current NATA-BOC certification.
Submission of my application: Will I be granted a provisional permit?
Upon meeting the minimum requirements an individual may be granted a provisional permit until they have
passed the national certification exam. The provisional permit will be valid no more than 6 months. No
individual will be issued more than two provisional permits.
Does the board have reciprocity?
No, the board does not license applicants through reciprocity.
I will be leaving the state for a couple of years; does the board have retirement status or inactive status?
The board does not have the option of retirement status. However, you may request inactive status by notifying the board in writing before the expiration of your current license. To resume practice in New Mexico, you may restore your license by a written request for reinstatement, and the board staff will send a reinstatement renewal notice.
Click here to apply or renew.