Home Inspectors: FAQs
How long is a home inspector license valid?
The license is valid for a period of 3 years.
How much is the licensing fee?
Each application for a home inspector license requires a fee of $250 for the initial application and $1,000 for the 3-year licensure.
If I am licensed in another state and intend to practice in New Mexico, am I required to obtain a New Mexico certificate and license?
An applicant who holds a license in good standing to practice as a home inspector in another state may be granted a license by virtue of the applicant’s credentials if the applicant’s resident state license requirements are the same or similar to the requirements set forth in the Home Inspector Licensing Act.
Is continuing education required for renewal?
As a condition of license renewal, a home inspector licensee shall complete at least 60 hours of board-approved continuing education instruction that is related to the practice of home inspection during each 3-year license period in which at least 6 hours of continuing education instruction must be in ethics.