Instructors, Training Requirements, and Continuing Education

  1. Home
  2. Boards and Commissions
  3. Individual Boards and Commissions
  4. Respiratory Care
  5. Instructors, Training Requirements, and Continuing Education

Respiratory Care: Instructors, Training Requirements, and Continuing Education

Renewals: All licensed Respiratory Care Practitioners MUST renew their license by September 30, 2023. License renewals will be online and open on August 15, 2023. Register at NM-PLUS to be prepared to renew.


Continuing Education: For renewal, each licensee must complete 20 hours of continuing education, with at least one of those hours in ethics. 

A minimum of 12 clock hours of the 20 clock hours of continuing education must be consistent with American Medical Association Category I. Below are the Category I-approved continuing education providers:


                                  (1)           AAP, American Academy of Pediatrics;

                                (2)           ACCP, American College of Chest Physicians;

                                (3)           ATS, American Thoracic Society;

                                (4)           AOA, American Osteopathic Association;

                                (5)           AMA, American Medical Association;

                                (6)           ASA, American Society of Anesthesiologists;

                                (7)           ABIM, American Board of Internal Medicine;

                                (8)           ALA, American Lung Association;

                                (9)           ACC. American College of Cardiologists;

                                (10)         AAST American Association of Sleep Technologists;

                                (11)         NMSRC New Mexico Society for Respiratory Care;

                                (12)         AARC American Association for Respiratory Care;

                                (13)         any AARC state affiliate; and

                                (14)         AASM, American Academy of Sleep Medicine.


A complete list on continuing education requirements is available at 16.23.12 NMAC Continuing Education Requirements.


Skip to content