Chiropractic Board: Instructors, Training Requirements, and Continuing Education
Continuing Education Requirements for Renewal
In accordance with Section 61-4-3 NMSA 1978, New Mexico Chiropractic Physician Practice Act, chiropractic physicians licensed in New Mexico are required to complete a minimum of 16 hours of board approved continuing education annually by the time of license renewal.
Credit hours may be earned at any time during the annual reporting period, July 1 through June 30, immediately preceding annual renewal. Credit hours are calculated as a “contact hour,” i.e. a 60-minute hour. A maximum of 8 hours may be obtained through these distance learning methods unless specific individual approval by the board is obtained.
Continuing Education Application and Board Approval
The board will review completed continuing education applications with the associated fee in the order the applications were received. There will be no charge to a licensee for individual request for approval.
All entities, sponsoring institutions, or organizations requesting approval of seminars or continuing education programs must be submitted to the board office in writing by the licensee or sponsoring entity must include:
- Completed application with associated fee
- Course title, objective, and format
- Sponsoring entity
- Total class hours
- Method for certification of attendance; or documentation of completion of program
- Instructors credentials
- Individual course $50
- Continuing education seminars and programs provided by entities or organizations that meet the criteria established by the board under Subsections E and F of 126.96.36.199 NMAC and who intend to submit approval for more than 10 but less than 25 continuing education programs or seminars will be assessed a fee of $500