Server Permit or Duplicate
Server Permit or Duplicate: Click here for FORM
The Division issues and renews approximately 16,000 permits annually. The permits are valid for three years from the date of the class and must be renewed PRIOR to expiration.
Everyone who sells or serves alcohol in the state of New Mexico is required to obtain a permit by taking a New Mexico approved Alcohol Server Education class. This includes all Bartenders, Waiters, Managers, Liquor License Owners, Convenience or Grocery Store Clerks, and the Designated Resident Agent for the License.
Temporary Server Permits are only valid for 120 days from the date of issuance,
so if you have not received your permit by mail within that time, you must contact this agency immediately, speak with Brittney Gutierrez at (505) 476-4547 or Email a copy of your Temporary Permit & include a phone number to: Brittney.Gutierrez@rld.nm.gov
Please be aware of unauthorized providers for alcohol server training. Only those listed on our website are approved for the State of New Mexico. Also, when attending an online class, make sure it is SPECIFICALLY for the State of NEW MEXICO, the national course is not accepted. For the Approved Provider Listing CLICK HERE.
New Mexico takes all violations of the Liquor Control Act seriously. A second violation for a sale to a minor is a fourth degree felony that may result in jail time of up to 18 months and a $5,000 fine. Additionally, servers may face administrative penalties for sales to minors or to an intoxicated person up to and including permanent revocation of the permit.
Servers are no longer required to carry an original or a copy of your Alcohol Server Permit Card, per NMAC 15.11.2.
The Employer is now responsible for preparing and maintaining a Current List of all Servers, including the server permit number, expiration date and hire date, which shall be available for inspection.
Employers and Servers may also utilize the License Search option to verify valid permits, which contains the most current information, accessible from our website. Print a copy if verification is needed.
LICENSE SEARCH: VERIFY VALID ALCOHOL SERVER PERMIT and EXPIRATION DATE, or LICENSED PREMISES.
Search RLD Database by selecting the link below and under Profession, SELECT > “LIQUOR CONTROL”, THEN > Enter Permit/License Number OR to the right, Enter the Name and Click “Search”.
FOR SERVERS: LICENSED PROFESSIONAL
FOR LICENSED PREMISES: LICENSED FACILITY
Should you still want a hard copy, Servers may still obtain Duplicate replacement card upon request for a $10.00 fee, payable by money order only. See instructions below:
Lost or Damaged Permits:
You will need to file a Duplicate Server Permit Request Form:
SERVER PERMIT Duplicate Request Form
Submit the Form by mail or walk-in to ABC office, with a copy of your Driver’s License, Current/Valid Mailing Address, and a $10.00 Cashier’s Check or Money Order, as we no longer accept cash payments.
THIS DIVISION DOES NOT ACCEPT CASH, PLEASE SUBMIT MONEY ORDER OR CASHIER’S CHECK AND ENSURE THAT YOU HAVE THE CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS LISTED ON YOUR APPLICATION TO RECEIVE YOUR SERVER’S PERMIT BY MAIL. If your address changed before the Permit is issued, please contact ABC to update your information.
RENEWAL OF ALCOHOL SERVER PERMIT: A Server will need to re-take an approved Alcohol Server Education class every 3 years. Please Note: only those listed on our website are approved by the State of New Mexico and acceptable by ABC. To View the list of Approved Providers CLICK HERE.
CLASSES: Check Course Schedule/Provider listing for dates, times, contact information, and tuition fees.
SERVER PERMIT information, please contact: Brittney Gutierrez | (505) 476-4547 | Brittney.Gutierrez@rld.nm.gov
HOLD/SUSPENSION OF LICENSE:
HOLD/SUSPENSION OF LICENSE: Server Permit will be placed on Hold or Suspension for pending Citation fees, non-compliance or failure to meet child support obligations.
TO CLEAR HOLD and/or PAY OUTSTANDING FINE /FEE, Contact:
Marlene Romero | (505) 476-4556 | Marlene.Romero1@rld.nm.gov