Dealers, Brokers, and Salespersons

Manufactured Housing: Dealers and Salespersons

Overview

New Mexico has roughly 50 dealers who sell manufactured homes across the state. They are required to obtain a license from the Manufactured Housing Division before selling any manufactured homes. Dealers and Brokers are required to establish a business location to display all the manufactured homes the dealer plans to sell (A manufactured home broker’s functions are strictly limited to only pre-owned manufactured homes). Salespersons MUST work for a dealership in order to sell mobile homes. The Manufactured Housing Division also investigates consumer complaints against manufactured home dealers and sales people.

Please contact licensing for more information: 505-365-3429 or Aaron.Aragon2@state.nm.us

Get Licensed

How do I get licensed as a Dealer?

How often do I renew my Dealer license?

  • Dealer licenses must be renewed every year for a fee of $200.
  • Show proof of $50,000 consumer protection bond.

How do I get licensed as a salesperson license?

How often do I renew my Salesperson license?

  • A Salesperson license must be renewed every year for a fee of $50.

PSI Testing Study Reference Material 

Unfair Trade Practices Act

Manufactured Home Procedural and Enforcement Regulations

Code of Federal Regulation 3282

Code of Federal Regulation 3280

Code of Federal Regulation 3285

Code of Federal Regulation 3286

Manufactured Housing Requirements

NM Manufactured Housing Division Rules & Regulations

NM Manufactured Housing Licensing Act

Truth in Lending

FDIC Regulation Z

Manufactured Housing: Brokers Overview

A manufactured home broker’s license entitles its holder to engage in the functions authorized for brokers in the act.  A manufactured home broker’s functions are strictly limited to only pre-owned manufactured homes.  Any person who in any manner engages in brokerage activities for more than one manufactured home in any consecutive 12-month period is required to be licensed as a manufactured home broker. A manufactured home broker’s role is that of a fiduciary to his principal.

Get Licensed

How do I get licensed as a broker?

PSI Testing Study Reference Material 

Unfair Trade Practices Act

Follow the links to New Mexico Statutes >

Statutory Chapters in New Mexico Statutes Annotated 1978 >

Chapter 57 Business Licenses >

Article 12. Unfair Trade Practices Act

Manufactured Home Procedural and Enforcement Regulations

Code of Federal Regulation 3282

Manufactured Housing Requirements

NM Manufactured Housing Division Rules & Regulations

Truth in Lending

FDIC Regulation Z

Skip to content