Crane Operators Safety Program FAQS
Crane Operators Safety Program: FAQS
Who must obtain a Crane Operators Safety Program license in New Mexico?
All crane operators performing construction, demolition, or excavation work.
What are the different types of Crane Operators Safety Program’ licenses issued by the State?
You may operate any size or weight of one or more of the following cranes provided you meet the testing and/or experience requirements for each particular crane-type:
You may operate a hydraulic crane of up to 100 tons lifting capacity with a maximum boom length of 150 feet regardless of mounting or means of mobility.
You are authorized to work as an apprentice, trainee, crane oiler, or driver under the direct supervision of a Class I or Class II Crane Operators Safety Program.
What are the requirements to obtain a license?
All applicants must submit a complete application with the following attached documents: (Click here for the application.).
- Documentation of successfully completing an approved In-House Training Course and a Nationally Approved Certification;
- Documentation of passing an approved written general examination with a score of 75 percent or greater.
Documentation of passing an approved Law & Safety Examination covering the New Mexico Crane Operators Safety Program Act.
- Notarized documentation from employers and/or supervisors verifying required experience on the specific crane-types (conventional, hydraulic, and/or tower) for which applying;
- Documentation of passing an approved practical examination on the specific crane-types (conventional, hydraulic, and/or tower) for which applying.
- Note: There is no experience requirement or practical examination requirement for Class III licensure.
- Additional documents can be submitted with the experience. At least 36 months and more and 500 hours of experience within the last 3 years of operating a crane for Class I; Class II 36 months or more and 500 hours of experience within the last 3 years.
Proof of a physical examination within twelve (12) months of the posted date of the application conducted in accordance with U.S. Department of Transportation regulations. A copy of the medical card must be submitted with the application.
Proof of a detailed substance abuse report of the test performed within twelve (12) months of the posted date of the application conducted in accordance with U.S. Department of Transportation regulations.
Payment of appropriate fees.
What are the age requirements for obtaining a license?
Must be 21 years or older.
Class II or III
Must be 18 years or older.
What is the procedure once my application packet is completed?
- The Crane Operators Safety Program Licensure Examining Council reviews all applications and either approves or disapproves your application.
- If your application is approved, a license will be issued and mailed to your home address unless otherwise specified in writting..
- If your application is not approved or is incomplete, you will be notified either in writing by mail or via email or by phone call.
- If for any reason your application is incomplete and not corrected by you within six (6) months after the date of filing, the application shall be deemed withdrawn. You will then be required to reapply for licensure and pay a new application fee.
- If the Council finds that you are ineligible for licensure in the applied-for classification because of experience or other deficiency, you may be offered the opportunity of licensure in a lesser classification. The department will notify you either in writing or by phone of such an offer, and, if you wish to accept licensure in the lesser classification, you must notify the department either in writing or via email within thirty (30) days after receipt of the department’s written offer.
How long is a license valid?
All licenses are valid for a period of two years from the date of issuance at which time they must be renewed.
Where can I find approved training and testing organizations?
What type of experience do I need?
You must have at least three years of experience within the past three years in operating crane equipment.
- Your experience must include at least 500 hours of seat time on the specific crane-types for which you desire licensure.
- Conventional experience must have been on conventional cranes with a manufacturer’s rating capacity equal to or greater than 50 tons and a boom length of 100 feet.
- Hydraulic experience must have been on hydraulic cranes with a manufacturer’s rating capacity equal to or greater than 100 tons and a boom length of 100 feet
- Tower experience must have been on tower cranes of any size or type.
You must have at least three (3) years (36 months) of experience within the past three (3) years in operating hydraulic cranes over 10 tons and up to 100 tons lifting capacity with a maximum boom length 150 feet, regardless of mounting or means of mobility. Your experience must include at least 500 hours of seat time on a crane of the specified type.
No experience is required.
How much does it cost?
Approved testing organizations set their own examination fees within the following limits:
- The fee for an initial or subsequent general examination for any classification shall in no event exceed $50.
- The fees for an initial or subsequent Law & Safety Examination MUST NOT exceed $25.
Current fees and procedures for scheduling examinations should be obtained by contacting the appropriate testing organization. Contact information for approved testing organizations is listed on the Crane Operators Safety Act website.
|Class I or II|
Note: Renewal fees are identical to initial licensing fees provided a renewal application is filed on or before the expiration date of the license.
A late fee shall be payable to the Crane Operators Program unless a renewal application is filed on or before the expiration date of the license.
A late fee of $5 shall be paid for each month or portion thereof that the renewal application is past-due.
A license that is not renewed on or before its expiration date, may be reinstated if a renewal application is submitted no more than one (1) year after the expiration date of the license. The reinstatement fee is $100 and is in addition to renewal and late fees.