Carnival Ride Insurance Program

Carnival Ride Insurance Program

The Carnival Ride Insurance Act falls under the Regulation and Licensing Department.

Roller Coaster

The Act certifies and regulates the carnival ride industry in the State of New Mexico. The mission of the act is to ensure the health and safety of all citizens who ride carnival rides. All rides, inclusive of mechanical rides, aquatic devices, bungee jumping, etc. and all inflatables by Rule & Regulations, must be certified by a National Association of Amusement Ride Safety Officials (NAARSO) inspector. All documentation must be completed and turned in annually to the Executive Director’s office which certifies each and every ride annually.

There are rides that are excluded by the Act, such as “kiddie” rides designed for children 12 and younger, and include merry-go-rounds. An operator can have up to six (6) kiddie rides before having to be certified by the act. Other types of rides not included in the act are playground equipment, coin-operated devices or small promotional events.

Rides that must be certified, are required to carry at least one million dollars ($1,000,000) of insurance per occurrence and at least three million dollars ($3,000.00) per aggregate against liability, for injury to persons arising out of the operation of the carnival ride. No carnival ride can be operated before being certified by the Carnival Ride Insurance Program Executive Director.

In order to look up a licensed Carnival Ride Operator, click here. Under Profession, choose “Auxiliary Programs” and under License Types choose “Carnival.”

Please review the frequently asked questions. If you do not find the answer, please contact

For more information, contact:

Paulina Braiman-Robinson
Executive Director
Regulation and Licensing Department
Carnival Ride Insurance Program

Crane Operators Safety Program

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 25101
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504

Physical Address:
Toney Anaya Bldg.
2550 Cerrillos Road, 2nd. Floor
Santa Fe, NM  87505

Cell:  (505) 216-8067
Tel:   (505) 476-4853
Fax:  (505)  476-4511

paulina.robinson@state.nm.us

Skip to content