For assistance, contact ABC:
Charmaine Martinez at (505) 476-4804 Email: Charmaine.Martinez2@state.nm.us
All Liquor License Applicants, License Holders, Managers, all Principal Officers, Directors, Shareholders, Partners and Members, and any of the following that own 10% or more in the Business/Partnership/Company: Stockholders, Partners, Owners, Members, MUST OBTAIN FINGERPRINT CLEARANCE prior to obtaining a Liquor License in the State of New Mexico.
Fingerprints Procedures Instruction Sheet:
Procedures for obtaining Fingerprints:
Packet only necessary if you are out-of-state or unable to obtain livescan (electronic) prints.
Procedures for SUBMITTING Fingerprints through Gemalto:
Everyone Must Register online at: https://www.aps.gemalto.com & ONLY USE ORI # NM920020Z
- click on New Mexico, then under Applicant Use click “Register Online for a Background Check”
- On Registration Page select/click: “ORI Lookup”,
- Under Agency Name Type, Select/click “Regulation & Licensing”, or scroll down to ABC ORI #, MUST SELECT RLD Alcohol & Gaming Division ORI Number: NM920020Z, click on the “ORI Number” to Select
- Reason, automatically lists: 60-3A-9 Alcohol Licensing <If you fail to use the correct ORI showing Alcohol Licensing, the information will not be accessible to the Division and you will have to resubmit the fingerprints with the fee
- Continue filling out the required information, then print receipt and take with you to the approved facility
- For Registration help or questions, phone Gemalto Call Center at (877) 996-6277.
- Obtain Fingerprints with a Law Enforcement Agency or an ABC Approved Entity within 30 days from the date of registration.
To locate the nearest fingerprint facility in your area within the state of New Mexico, go to “Useful Information” on Gemalto website, then to Fingerprint Location Map.
Email Registration Receipt to assigned hearing officer or include with your Liquor License Application.
ONLY IF LOCATED OUT-OF-STATE or IF UNABLE TO READ PRINTS VIA LIVESCAN, SUBMIT PACKET, WHICH INCLUDES THE FOLLOWING: Click for Packet
After registering online with Gemalto, you must:
- Submit Two (2) Fingerprint Cards for each person and cards must be correctly and completely filled out to avoid them being returned. Do not highlight anywhere on the fingerprint cards, as that increases the possibility of rejection from the FBI.
- Fee of $44.00 per person, by Money Order or Cashier’s Check only, Made Payable To: Gemalto, only if fee was not paid online when you registered. Separate payment for each person required, do not combine fees.
- “Fingerprint Certification of Law Enforcement Agency” Form must be completed by the person conducting the fingerprinting and accompany each set of fingerprint cards with each application.
Submit Fingerprint Packet to: ABC Attn: Charmaine | PO Box 25101 Santa Fe, NM 87504-5101
Complete Packet must include:
Two Fingerprint Cards, payment or receipt if applicable, signed/stamped Fingerprint Certification of Law Enforcement Agency, notarized Fingerprint Affidavit, and notarized Personal Data Affidavit.
Because the Liquor Control Act does not allow for a Convicted Felon to own or be an officer on a Liquor License, this agency requires such persons to be fingerprinted to receive the background reports from the State and Federal level. Therefore, the Federal Bureau of Investigation requires the following Notice:
Applicant Notification and Record Challenge
Officials at the governmental institutions and other entities authorized to submit fingerprints and receive FBI identification records under this authority must notify the individuals fingerprinted that the fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI. The officials making the determination of suitability for licensing or employment shall provide the applicants the opportunity to complete, or challenge the accuracy of, the information contained in the FBI identification record. These officials also must advise the applicants that procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or updating of an FBI identification record are set forth in Title 28, C.F.R., § 16.34. Officials making such determinations should not deny the license or employment based on information in the record until the applicant has been afforded a reasonable time to correct or complete the record, or has declined to do so. (Title 42, U.S.C., §14616, Article IV (c); Title 28 C.F.R., § 50.12 (b))