Cannabis Regulatory Advisory Committee

  1. Home
  2. Cannabis Control Division
  3. About the CCD
  4. Cannabis Regulatory Advisory Committee

Meet the Cannabis Regulatory Advisory Committee


The Cannabis Regulatory Advisory Committee was created by the Cannabis Regulation Act in 2021. The 16-member committee was formed to advise the Cannabis Control Division on rulemaking, industry best practices, fulfilling the Act’s mandate of promoting economic and cultural diversity in licensing and employment opportunities, and protect public health and safety.


Cannabis Regulatory Advisory Committee Members

    • A cannabis policy advocacy organization, Emily Kaltenbach, Santa Fe County
    • A labor organization, Esther Lopez, Bernalillo County
    • A qualified patient, Nathaniel Paolinelli, Bernalillo County
    • A state or local agency with relevant expertise as the Director and the Superintendent deems appropriate, Andrew Vallejos, Santa Fe County
    • An Indian nation, tribe or pueblo with relevant experience as the Director and the Superintendent deem appropriate, Perry Martinez, San Ildefonso Pueblo.
    • Expertise in public health, Steven Jenison, Rio Arriba County
    • Expertise regulating commercial activity for adult-use intoxicating substances, Lou Ann Branch, Bernalillo County
    • Expertise and experience in cannabis laboratory science, Ginger Baker, Bernalillo County
    • Experience in environmental science, Vacant
    • Expertise in small business development, Debbi Moore, Dona Ana County
    • Expertise in water resources, Harold Trujillo, Mora County
    • Expertise in other relevant areas as the Director and the Superintendent deem appropriate, Vacant
    • Previous experience as a cannabis retailer, cannabis producer or cannabis manufacturer and who is a non-voting member, Rachael Speegle, Bernalillo County
    • Chief Public Defender Bennett Baur, Santa Fe County
    • First Judicial District Attorney, Mary Carmack-Altwies, Santa Fe County
    • Roswell Police Chief Phil Smith, Chaves County
    • Santa Fe County Sheriff Adan Mendoza, Santa Fe County


Skip to content