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TITLE 16 OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
CHAPTER 20 PHYSICAL THERAPISTS 
PART 7  SUPERVISION 
 
 
16.20.7.7 DEFINITIONS:  “Unlicensed physical therapy assistive personnel (physical therapy aide or 
other assistive personnel)” means a person trained under the direction of a physical therapist who [that] performs 
designated and supervised routine physical therapy tasks related to physical therapy services. 
[10/15/1997; 16.20.7.7 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 20.7.7, 8/31/2000; A, 1/12/2008; A, 8/1/2009; A, 8/16/2010; A, 
9/30/2014] 
 
16.20.7.8 SUPERVISION OF LICENSED PERSONNEL: 
 A. A physical therapist may not be responsible for the direction and supervision of more than three 
full-time physical therapist assistants, or three FTE’s (full-time equivalency totaling 120 work hours per week) 
requiring supervision, including temporary physical therapists, temporary physical therapist assistants, and licensed 
physical therapist assistants. 
 B. A physical therapist may supervise three or more physical therapist assistants provided combined 
FTE’s do not exceed more than 120 hours per week. 
 C. When physical therapy services are being provided, a licensed physical therapist must be on call 
and readily available for consultation by phone or electronic mail when the referring physical therapist leaves the 
area or facility, for any length of time or the referring physical therapist must appoint a stand in physical therapist as 
a supervising therapist until such time the referring physical therapist returns to the facility. 
 D. A physical therapist supervising a temporary licensee must notify the New Mexico physical 
therapy licensing board, in writing via electronic communication, when they are no longer responsible for 
supervision of a temporary licensee. 
 E. The referring physical therapist must hold documented conferences with the physical therapist 
assistant regarding the patient.  The physical therapist is responsible for determining the frequency of the 
conferences consistent with accepted standards of practice within the facility in which they work. 

F. The New Mexico Telehealth Act does not alter the scope of practice of any health care 
provider or authorize the delivery of health care services in a setting, or in a manner, not otherwise 
authorized by law. 
              G. Nothing in the New Mexico Telehealth Act shall be construed to alter supervision 
requirements set forth by a health care provider's applicable licensing board. A health care provider shall 
provide telehealth services under the same level of supervision required for in-person practice. 
 
[10/15/1997; 16.20.7.8 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 20.7.8, 8/31/2000; A, 03-02-06; A, 1/12/2008; A, 8/1/2009; A, 
9/30/2014; A, 7/28/2019; NM Telehealth Act, §§ 24-25-1 to -5 NMSA 1978] 
 
16.20.7.9 SUPERVISION OF UNLICENSED ASSISTIVE PERSONNEL (PHYSICAL THERAPY 
AIDE/TECHNICIAN/ATTENDANT):  
 A. A licensed physical therapist may only supervise unlicensed aides working as care-giving assistive 
personnel, provided the assistive personnel’s combined full-time [full time] equivalency does not exceed 120 hours 
per week. 
 B. Physical therapy aides and other assistive personnel shall perform patient care activities under on-
site supervision of a physical therapist. “On-site supervision” means the supervising physical therapist: 
  (1) be continuously on-site and present in the department or facility where the assistive 
personnel are performing services; 
  (2)  be immediately available to assist the person being supervised in the services being 
performed; and 
  (3) maintain continued involvement in appropriate aspects of each treatment session in which 
a component of treatment is delegated to assistive personnel.  
[10/15/1997; 16.20.7.9 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 20.7.9, 8/31/2000; A, 1/12/2008; A, 8/1/2009; A, 8/16/2010; A, 
9/30/2014; A, 7/28/2019] 
 
 


