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This is an amendment to 16.62.5 NMAC, Section 8, effective 01/01/2026. 
 
 
16.62.5.8 GENERAL CERTIFICATE:  A holder of a general certificate may prepare appraisals on all real 
estate and may indicate that such appraisals are state certified. 
 A. All certified general real estate appraisers must comply with the competency rule of the national 
uniform standards of professional practice (USPAP). 
 B. Applicants for the general certificate in the state of New Mexico must: 
  (1) Criminal history background check:  All applicants for initial issuance or reinstatement of 
a certificate and license in New Mexico shall be required to be fingerprinted to establish positive identification for a 
state and federal criminal history background check. 
   (a) The applicant will register online, through the approved Department of Public 
Safety website, with the board’s Originating Agency Identification (ORI) number and make payment with 
registration.  After the process is complete, the applicant will receive a registration confirmation. 
   (b) Results will be sent to the board electronically.  The board shall not issue a 
certificate or license until the applicant’s background check has been successfully completed. 
   (c) Out-of-State applicants, who are unable to visit an approved live scan 
fingerprinting facility, may follow the same registration process and submit a hardcopy fingerprint card to the 
approved live scan fingerprinting facility.  The results will be sent to the board electronically.  The board shall not 
issue a certificate or license until the applicant’s background check has been successfully completed. 
  (2) have reached the age of majority; 
  (3) submit a duly made application to the board office. 
  (4) hold a bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university; 
  (5) successfully complete a written examination on the New Mexico Real Estate Appraisers 
Act, administered by the board; 
  (6) pay the fee set out in 16.62.12.8 NMAC; 
  (7) meet the minimum criteria for state general certification classification issued by the 
appraiser qualifications board (AQB) of the appraisal foundation; (Effective January 1, 2015, the appraiser 
qualifications board of the appraisal foundation adopted changes of the real property appraiser qualification criteria). 
  (8) successfully complete the appraisal qualifications board (AQB) approved general 
certified real estate appraiser examination; there is no alternative to successful completion of the examination; 
successful completion of the examination is valid for a period of 24 months; and 
  (9) successfully complete the real estate appraisal core curriculum educational requirements 
with a particular emphasis on non-residential properties. 
 C. Applicants shall successfully satisfy the core curriculum educational requirement of 300 board-
approved courses by completing the following: 
  (1) basic appraisal principles     30 hours; 
  (2) Statistics, Modeling, and Finance    15 hours; 
  (3) basic appraisal procedures     30 hours; 
  (4) the 15 hour national USPAP course and examination  15 hours; 
  (5) general appraiser market analysis and highest and best use 30 hours; 
  (6) general appraiser sales comparison approach   30 hours; 
  (7) general appraiser site valuation and cost approach  30 hours; 
  (8) general appraiser income approach    60 hours; 
  (9) general appraiser report writing and case studies  30 hours; 
  (10) valuation bias and fair housing laws and regulations     8 hours; 
  [(10)] (11)  appraisal subject matter electives   [30] 22 hours. 
 D. Appraisers holding a valid trainee appraiser credential may satisfy the educational requirements of 
[225] 217 board-approved hours for the certified general real property appraiser credential by completing the 
following additional educational hours: 
  (1) general appraiser market analysis and highest and best use 30 hours; 
  (2) statistics, modeling and finance    15 hours; 
  (3) general appraiser sales comparison approach   30 hours; 
  (4) general appraiser site valuation and cost approach  30 hours; 
  (5) general appraiser income approach    60 hours; 
  (6) general appraiser report writing and case studies  30 hours; 
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  (7) appraisal subject matter electives    [30] 22 hours. 
 E. Appraisers holding a valid licensed residential real property appraiser credential may satisfy the 
educational requirements of 150 board-approved hours for the certified general real property appraiser credential by 
completing the following additional educational hours: 
  (1) general appraiser market analysis and highest and best use 15 hours; 
  (2) statistics, modeling and finance    15 hours; 
  (3) general appraiser sales comparison approach   15 hours; 
  (4) general appraiser site valuation and cost approach  15 hours; 
  (5) general appraiser income approach    45 hours; 
  (6) general appraiser report writing and case studies  15 hours; 
  (7) appraisal subject matter electives    [30] 22 hours. 
 F. Appraisers holding a valid certified residential real property appraiser credential may satisfy the 
educational requirements of 100 board-approved hours for the certified general real property appraiser credential by 
completing the following additional educational hours: 
  (1) general appraiser market analysis and highest and best use 15 hours; 
  (2) general appraiser sales comparison approach   15 hours; 
  (3) general appraiser site valuation and cost approach  15 hours; 
  (4) general appraiser income approach     45 hours; 
  (5) general appraiser report writing and case studies  10 hours. 
 G. Experience: 
  (1) Except as provided by subsection (2) of section (G) of this rule, applicants for state 
general certification must have a minimum of 3,000 hours of experience in real property appraisal obtained during 
no fewer than 18 months, of which, 1,500 hours must be in non-residential appraisal work, submitted on a form 
prescribed by the board and attested to by the duly certified general supervising appraiser under whose supervision 
the experience was obtained.  Experience logs submitted from jurisdictions located outside of New Mexico will be 
accepted subject to the criteria provided in Subparagraph (d) of Paragraph (2) of Subsection I of  16.62.2.9 NMAC. 
  (2) Experience obtained from an Appraisal Qualification Board approved provider through a 
Practical Applications of Real Estate Appraisal (PAREA) program may be accepted as an alternative method of 
obtaining a maximum of 50% of the required experience credits necessary for General Certification. At least 1,500 
hours of the 3,000 total hours required must be from non-residential appraisal work. 
 H. applicants for a General Certificate are required to respond to any Board requests within 10 
calendar days. Failure to respond may result in an administrative fee as described in paragraph 4 of Subsection P of 
16.62.12.8 NMAC miscellaneous fees. 
[10/1/1997; 16.62.5.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 62.5.8, 9/13/2004; A, 11/25/2006; A, 8/21/10; A, 1/1/2015; A, 
2/3/2019; A, 10/30/2021; A, 09/26/2023; A, 01/01/2026] 
 


