
NIVIRLD 

NEW MEXICO 

REGULATION & 
LICENSING DEPARTMENT 

NEW MEXICO BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 
LICENSE by APPLICATION DOCUMENT CHECKLIST 
NEW MEXICO OPTOMETRY EXAM WILL BE HELD July 22, 2023 

APPLICANT FULL NAME ______________________ _ 

REQUIREMENTS - Please refer to Part 3 of the Rules or 16.16.3.9 NMAC for specific details to these requirements. 

Letter of Intent, deadline to receive in Board office is May 18, 2023 Date mailed_!_! 

Completed Exam Application Form, deadline is same as above Date Mailed _/_/ __ 

$175 Application Fee, deadline is same as above Check# ____ Date Mailed_/_/ __ 

NOTE: ALL other required documents (LISTED BELOW) & fees MUST be received in Board office no later than June 12, 2023. 

$400 Exam Fee Check# ____ Date Mailed_/_/ __ 

O.D. Reference# 1 _________________ Date Requested __ / __ / __

O.D. Reference# 2 __________________ Date Requested __ / __ / __

Official Optometry College or University transcripts sent directly from school to NM Board of Optometry 
(4000-clock hour program as approved by the AOA Council of Optometric Education) Date Requested _____ / ______ _ 

Verification(s) of Licensure Forms sent from all other State Board(s) of Licensure in Optometry if you are currently 
licensed or have ever been licensed. (There may be an administrative fee by another state for verifying your license. ) 
States: __ �--�---•----' ____ ,--� ___ _ 
Dates Requested / / , Dates Requested / / , Dates Requested / / 

Copy of current certification attesting to completion of CPR course (see Exam Policy and Procedure). 

If graduated prior to 1994 Proof of completion of 100 or more post-graduate clock hours of ocular therapeutic 
pharmacology and a minimum of twenty (20) post-graduate clock hours in clinical pharmacology (See 16.16.7.9 otthe rules)

Date Mailed_/_/ __ 

NBEO Report showing Passing of Part I, Part II, Part Ill, and TMOD Exam 
Proof must be received directly from NBEO. Date requested from NBEO _/_/ __ 

List of New Mexico licensed optometrists with whom you are acquainted. 

Signed Exam Policies and Procedures 



NIVIRLD 

NEW MEXICO 

REGULATION & 
LICENSING DEPARTMENT 

FROM: 

TO: 

RE: 

DATE: 

THE NEW MEXICO BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

APPLICANTS FOR LICENSURE 

APPLICATION/EXAMINATION/LI CENSURE PROCEDURE 

EXAM SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

April 5, 2023

Welcome to the New Mexico Board of Optometry. Included in the Optometry Board Licensure Application 
Packet is a link to the Board's statutes and rules, which contain all the information you need to complete your 
application for exam and licensure in New Mexico. The statutes and rules can be found at: 
https://www.srca.nm.gov/nmac-home/nmac-titles/title-16-occupational-and-professional-licensing/chapter-16-
optometric-practitioners/

Also included in the packet is a Document Checklist to assist you in keeping track of the information you have 
sent, or have made arrangements to have others send directly to the Board office. The 2023 Board exam is 

scheduled July 22, 2023. The Clinical/Practicum exam is administered on Saturday and possibly Sunday 
depending on the number of candidates who will be taking the exam. 

*Documentation Deadlines.

Following are the application deadlines. Failure to provide any of the required information will 

result in the application being rejected as incomplete.

*

*

Letter of Intent, Application, and Application Fee of $175.00 - Due on or before May 18, 2023.

Remaining Documentation and Exam Fee of $400.00 - Due no later than June 12, 2023. Post

mark Dates will NOT be accepted.

Prerequisite Exam Requirement - See Board Rules Part 3 and 5. 

Pharmaceutical Certification - See Board Rule Part 7. 

Schedule Notification 
ALL approved applicants will be scheduled for the exam and sent a letter notifying them of approval to sit for 
the exam. 

Jurisprudence Exam Preparation 
The exam will be based on the statutes and rules located at: https://www.srca.nm.gov/nmac-home/nmac-titles/

title-16-occupational-and-professional-licensing/chapter-16-optometric-practitioners/

Licensure 
All candidates will be notified, in writing and by email of the examination results. If the candidate has met all 
other requirements, is successful in passing the Board's exam, and completes the licensing process by 
submitting to the Board office the licensing and certification fees within 90-days of receipt of the exam result 
notification as set forth by Board regulation, the candidate will be licensed to practice optometry in New 
Mexico. 

Boards and Commissions Division I Board of Optometry 
2550 Cerrillos Road I P.O. Box 25101 I Santa Fe, NM 87504 
(505) 476-4622 I rld.nm.gov



NIVIRLD 

NEW MEXICO 

REGULATION & 
LICENSING DEPARTMENT 

Application and Deadline Schedule for Board of Optometry 

Exam on July 22, 2023 

Due Date Day of the Due In and Application & Communication Deadlines 
Week Due out 

5/18/2023 Thursday Duein Letter of Intent, Application and application *fee of $175 due 
** Board 011i.ce 

5/25/2023  Thursday Postmarked Application status notice sent to Applicant 
and mailed 

out 

6/12/2023 Monday Duein Required documentation deadline to complete application 
** Board 011i.ce and Clinical Skills Exam **fee of $400 due 

6/22/2023 Thursday Postmarked Exam notice and Clinical Skills Exam entrance card sent to 
and mailed confirmed Licensing Applicant 

out 

Jurisprudence Exam and Clinical/Practicum Skills 
7/22/2023 Saturday Examination for Optometry Licensure 

(Jurisprudence Exam Subject to Change) 
8/1/2023 Tuesday Postmarked Notice of pass/fail score results sent to Applicant 

and mailed * Passed Candidates will be required to send in licensure fee of $200 

out 

* All fees are non-refundable

** No post marks accepted on due date or thereafter. All documents must be received 
in the board office on or before the deadline. 

Boards and Commissions Division I Board of Optometry 
2550 Cerrillos Road I P.O. Box 25101 I Santa Fe, NM 87504 
(505) 476-4622 I rid.nm.gov



Nr\/lRLD 

NEW MEXICO 

REGULATION & 
LICENSING DEPARTMENT 

OPTOMETRIST APPLICATION 

.APPLICATION FEE: $175.00 FEE 

**ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.** 

** ALL LICENSING INFORMATION IS PUBLIC INFORMATION** 

Tms ISA FILLABLE FORM. Use your computer to enter information or print legibly. 

PERSONAL INFORMATION: 
LAST NAME FIRST NAME 

I
MIDDLE NAME 

I
SUFFIX 

NAME AS YOU WOULD LIKE IT TO APPEAR ON OFFICIAL LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE 

MAILING ADDRESS 

CITY STATE 

I
ZIP CODE 

PERSONAL PHONE BUSINESS PHONE 

EMAIL I □ PERSONAL OR O BUSINESS

DATE OF BIRTH 

I 
PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION: List all schools attended related to optometry

below. 
School City/State Date Degree Major 

Graduated 

BCD USE ONLY: 
RECEIVED ON: PROCESSED BY: 

I
RECEIPT NO: 

AMOUNT: CHECK/MO# 

Boards and Commissions Division I Board of Optometry 
2550 Cerrillos Road I P.O. Box 25101 I Santa Fe, NM 87504 
(505) 476-4622 I rld.state.nm.us



LICENSURE INFORMATION: Are you now or have you ever been licensed as an O.D. in another 
state? If yes, please provide a copies of your licenses with this application: YES NO

STATE/COUNTRY LICENSE NUMBER FIRST INITIAL LICENSE EXPIRATION 

ISSUE DATE STATUS DATE 

PROFESSIONAL EXAMINATIONS: List Passing NBEO Part I, Part II, and Part III the 
TMOD is a requirement to sit the exam. 

Exam State or Date Pass/Fail Exam State or Date Pass/Fail 
NBEO NBEO 

PROFESSIONAL REFERENCES: List names of two currently licensed optometrists actively 
engaged in the practice of optometry, not related to you, each of whom you have asked to send a letter of reference 
DIRECTLY to the Board on your behalf. 

Name of Optometrist Complete Address with zip code Phone# 

QUESTIONS: Read the following carefully, Circle Yes or No. Please provide supporting 
documentation where appropriate. 
1. Have you ever used another name under which records relating to your application,

education, training or experience may be filed? 

Enter other names(s) used: 

2. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license or certification in any state, foreign
country, territory, or institution?

3. Have you ever resigned from practice, withdrawn a license, or surrendered a license,
certificate or registration, during the pendency of disciplinary proceedings, or investigation
for potential disciplinary proceedings?

4. Are you currently engaged in the illegal use of controlled substances?

Boards and Commissions Division I Board Of Optometry 
P.O. Box 25101 I Santa Fe, NM 87504 
(505) 476-4622 I rid.state.nm.us

YES 

YES 

'YES 

YES 

NO 

NO 

NO 

NO 



5. Do you have a medical condition which in any way impairs or limits your ability to practice YES NO 

optometry with reasonable care and safety?

6. Are you currently in full compliance with all related child support orders, judgments, YES NO 

subpoenas and warrants?

AFFIDAVIT AND NOTARIZATION: 

I hereby declare under penalty of perjury that this application for licensure is a true and complete 

affidavit containing no willful misrepresentation. I also understand that if I provide the Board of 

Optometry with false information on the Application for Licensure or on any supporting 

documentation to the application, or make a false statement to the Board, I may be subject to 

disciplinary action, including denial, suspension or revocation of licensure. 

Signature of Applicant 

Boards and Commissions Division I Board Of Optometry 
P.O. Box 25101 I Santa Fe, NM 87504 
(505) 476-4622 I rid.state.nm.us

Date 



PLEASE PROVIDE THE BOARD WITH ALL NEW MEXICO OPTOMETRISTS 

YOU ARE ACQUAINTED WITH OR WHOM YOU HA VE PROFESSIONAL OR 

PERSONAL AFFILIATION WITH. Failure to do so may cause disqualification from 

the exam. 



NEW MEXICO BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

JURISPRUDENCE EXAM  
Please circle the correct answer 

1. The Board, upon the receipt of a written complaint from any person including any member of the 
Board, may institute an investigation. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

2. A maximum of ____hours of internet-type course offerings will be allowed by the Board to meet 
the renewal requirement. 
a.) Two 
b.) Four  
c.) Six  
d) Eight 
 

3. The Board may refuse to issue, or may suspend or revoke a license for any of the following 
reasons: 
a.) Conviction of a felony. 
b.) Malpractice or incompetence. 
c.) Employing an unlicensed person to practice optometry. 
d.) All of the above. 
e.) None of the above. 
 

4. It is a fourth-degree felony for a licensed, certified optometrist to permit someone under his direct 
supervision to administer pharmaceutical agents. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

5. A New Mexico license optometrist may NOT administer or prescribe Schedule I controlled 
substances with the exception of: 
a.) Heroin 
b.) Hydrocodone 
c.) LSD 
d.) Epinephrine 
e.) B+ D 
f.) B +C 
 

6. The following continuing education hours are necessary for NM license renewal: 
a.) Twenty-two board approved hours 
b.) Ten of the 22 hours of therapeutic pharmacology 
c.) One hours of board approved course in pain management 
d.) Six hours of online continuing education 
e.) A+ B + C 
 



7. A violation of the provisions of the Optometry Act may result in the suspension or revocation of 
an optometry license. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

8. Which of the following is not unprofessional conduct: 
a.) Advertising professional superiority. 
b.) Splitting a fee with another person as compensation for referral of patients. 
c.) Failing to complete continuing education requirements . 
d.) Being under the influence of alcohol while treating patients. 
 

9. Which of the following does not constitute improper advertising: 
a.) Advertising a price for a service and/or ophthalmic goods such as contact lenses while failing 
to disclose any variables that will affect the price. 
b.) Advertising eyeglasses and an examination for $29.95 with a disclaimer separating the exam 
costs from any other goods and/or services. 
c.) Printing an advertisement for ophthalmic goods or services, including disclaimers, or price 
variables, in less than 10-point type. 
d.) Advertising without stating one's professional designation, address, phone number 
 

10. Before engaging in the practice of optometry in New Mexico, the licensee must provide the 
Board his practice location information. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

11. Use of ocular amniotic membranes is lawful by New Mexico licensed Optometrists. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

12. All New Mexico licensed Optometrists must annually attend a minimum of              board-app 
roved continuing education in ocular therapeutic pharmacology. 
a.) Four 
b.) Six 
c.) Eight 
d.) Ten 
 

13. Continuing education for license renewal is required: 
a.) Annually. 
b.) Bi-annually. 
c.) Once every five years. 
d.) Never. 
 

14. An active licensed optometrist who attends continuing education programs that exceed the 
minimum hourly requirements in a given year may apply the excess to the next year's 
requirement. 
a.) True  
b.) False 



15. An optometrist who fails to meet the continuing education requirement by July 31: 
a.) may continue to practice until the education requirements have been satisfied. 
b.) loses the optometry license to practice in New Mexico for five years. 
c.) may petition for a waiver of the education requirements. 
d.) may not practice optometry in New Mexico until and unless he/ she reactivates the license 
within the time frame stipulated by regulation.  
 

16. The following programs are approved for continuing education credit in New Mexico: 
a.) A course given by an accredited optometry school. 
b.) A convent ion of American Optometric Association. 
c.) A course sponsored by the American Academy of Optometry. 
d.) Courses approved by COPE. 
e.) All of the above. 
f.) None of the above. 
 

17. In order to renew a license every year, the following is necessary: 
a.) Completed renewal application. 
b.) Verification of continuing education hours 
c.) CPR certificate  
d.) Renewal fee 
e.) All of the above 
 

18. A New Mexico licensed optometrist may refuse to provide a replacement contact lens 
prescription if: 
a.) The patient' s ocular health is within normal limits 
b.) Further monitoring of the patient is indicated 
c.) The prescription is a year old 
d.) All of the above 
 

19. An Optometrist may not issue a contact lens prescription that expires before the second 
anniversary of the date the patient’s prescription parameters were determined, unless a shorter 
prescription period was clinically indicated by the patient's ocular health or by potential harm to 
the patient's ocular health. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

20. Subject to the provisions of the Optometry Act, optometrists may not prescribe or administer the 
following classes of oral pharmaceutical agents: 
a.) anti-infective medications. 
b.) Schedule I controlled substances. 
c.) anti-allergy medications. 
d.) anti-inflammatory medications. 
 

21. New Mexico licensed Doctors of Optometry may administer epinephrine auto injections to 
counter anaphylaxis. 
a.) True 
b.) False 



22. The licensee does not have to renew his/ her license if he does not receive a renewal notice from 
the Board. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

23. Which of the following statements is not true? In order for a licensee whose license has expired to 
receive a reactivated license to practice optometry in the State of New Mexico, the applicant must 
submit: 
a.) Penalty fee(s) for each year the license was expired due to non-renewal. 
b.) Birth certificate and I.D. Picture 
c.) Reactivation fee(s) in an amount equivalent to renewal fees for each year the license was 
expired up to five years. 
d.) Verifications of licensure status from other state licensing boards. 
e.) A completed reactivation form and proof of completion at the required number of continuing 
education hours for each year the license was expired due to non-renewal. 
 

24. If a patient wants a contact lens prescription an Optometrist must give that prescription even if the 
patient is not adhering to an appropriate regimen of care and follow up. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

25. The licensee whose license has been expired due to non-renewal and who wishes to reinstate the 
license to active and current status must apply for and receive approval by the Board for 
reinstatement of the license. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

26. The Board may impose a civil fine of $1,000 on a licensee who fails to provide a requested 
replacement contact lens prescription; or who knowingly dispenses contact lenses without a valid 
replacement contact lens prescription. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

27. The New Mexico Board of Pharmacy is authorized to register contact le ns dispensers and sellers, 
excluding licensed optometrists and physicians, to sell contact lenses in New Mexico. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

28. Any New Mexico licensed optometrist, qualified and certified by the Board, who elects to 
administer, dispense, and/or prescribe oral pharmaceutical agents in the treatment and/or 
management of ocular disease, and who intends to prescribe scheduled controlled substances, 
must first register with the New Mexico Board of Pharmacy and the United States Drug 
Enforcement Administration. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 



29. To obtain licensure by endorsement, the applicant must have been actively engaged in the 
practice of optometry in the state of licensure or in federal service for five (5) consecutive years 
immediately prior to the year in which application is made. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

30. A New Mexico licensed optometrist should maintain medical records they own for a period of at 
least 5 years from date of last treatment. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

31. When renewing a license current CPR certification must be included and this certification shall 
count towards the 22 hours of annual education. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

32. Licenses not renewed on or before July 1, shall be expired and will be subject to a late fee. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

33. After being on inactive status for more than five years, New Mexico optometry licenses shall 
become null and void. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

34. Before prescribing a schedule III or IV controlled substance, an optometrist must obtain a patient 
Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) report for the preceding. 
a.) 10 days 
b.) 1 month 
c.) 6 months 
d.) 12 months 
 

35. May the licensee still practice optometry in New Mexico if he or she did not renew on or before 
the July 1 expiration date, but the 30-day grace period has not passed? 
a.) Yes 
b.) No 
 

36. When determining if a patient required a prescription for the treatment of pain, the optometrist 
should: 
a.) complete an evaluation 
b.) note any previous history of pain 
c.) note alternative treatment for pain 
d.) note potential for substance abuse 
e.) all the above 
 

37. Which statement is not true? 
a.) Eyeglass prescriptions are releasable to the patient if they are under a year old.  



b.) Eyeglass prescriptions may be filled if they are over two years old. 
c.) Contact lens prescription s may be released to mail order/ internet contact lens companies. 
d.) Contact lens prescriptions may be released to another licensed optometrist or ophthalmologist 
taking on the care of the patient. 
 

38. NBEO Part III: 
a.) consists of patient care and patient management. 
b.) includes clinical skills 
c.) includes visual recognition 
d.) includes interpretation of clinical signs. 
e.) All the above.  
f.) None of the above. 
 

39. Any licensed NM optometrist who holds a federal drug enforcement and NM controlled 
substance registration, does not have to be a regular participant in PMP Inquiry and Reporting. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

40. Candidates failing to pass the New Mexico Board Exam: 
a.) may not retake the exam. 
b.) may retake the exam simply by calling the Board Office. 
c.) must repeat all portions of the Board’s examination.  
d.) may reuse their previous application. 
 

41. Any candidate detected cheating during the course of the Board Exam: 
a.) shall be deemed guilty of unprofessional conduct. 
b.) shall automatically fail the entire exam. 
c.) is entitled to a hearing. 
d.) All of the above. 
e.) a and b only. 
 

42. An applicant is issued a license to practice optometry after: 
a.) passing one part of the exam. 
b.) paying certificate fees to a Board officer. 
c.) living in New Mexico for one year. 
d.) meeting all the application, examination, and licensure requirements and paying the required 
fees. 
 

43. The licensee must: 
a.) keep the license to practice optometry in a safe or safety deposit box. 
b.) display the license to practice optometry in every office in which he plans to practice. 
c.) keep the license to practice optometry in an inconspicuous place. 
d.) display the license to practice optometry in his practice location.  
  
 
 
 



44. A prescription for pharmaceutical agents must include the name and address of the prescriber. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 
 

45. A New Mexico licensed optometrist may engage in the sale of contact lenses and glasses if: 
a.) the space is separate from a commercial establishment 
b.) there is a separate entrance for patient's access 
c.) the establishment gains its majority income from not being engages in that endeavor 
d.) a + b 
 

46. A licensee may imply superior professional skills in his/ her advertising. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

47. The Board must receive official notice of NBEO examination results directly from the candidate's 
college of optometry. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

48. In order to pass the Board's exam, an applicant must obtain a minimum overall average score of 
75% or better in the Clinical Practicum and a 75% or better in the Jurisprudence, provided that 
the applicant has not received a grade of less than 60% on any individual part of the Clinical 
Practicum. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

49. It is a violation of the Board's Rules and Regulations to release the patient's contact lens 
prescription to anyone other than the patient or another licensed optometrist or physician who is 
going to take on the professional responsibility for the continued eye care of the patient. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

50. A contact lens prescription may only be released as stipulated in the regulations after a trial fitting 
period of successful wear and must include all necessary parameters for the duplication or 
replacement of the contact lens. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

51. Every optometrist is required to attend_ hours of postgraduate continuing education each year. 
a.) sixteen 
b.) twelve 
c.) twenty 
d.) twenty -two 
 

52. A New Mexico Optometric Physician can use in-office minor surgery procedures for the removal 
of non-perforating foreign bodies of the cornea. 



a.) True 
b.) False 
 

53. Which of the following minor surgical procedures is NOT allowed by a NM licensed optometrist? 
a.) non-laser destruction/drainage of eyelid lesions and/or conjunctival cysts 
b.) YAG 
c.) removal of non-perforating foreign bodies from cornea, conjunctive and/or eyelid 
d.) removal of eyelashes 
 
 

54. Since Optometry in New Mexico is a legislated profession, it will  never lose the ability to 
prescribe glasses, contact lenses and prescription medications. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

55. Under Board regulations, an optometrist is prohibited from selling prescription eyeglasses or 
contact lenses, frames, or mountings for lenses in an establishment in which the majority of its 
income is not derived from being engaged in that endeavor. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

56. The following acts or omissions shall constitute unprofessional conduct that may subject the 
licensee to disciplinary action: 
a.) Any conduct, act, or omission of an act, which deceives or defrauds, or tends to deceive or 
defraud the public. 
b.) Obtaining any fee by fraud. 
c.) Seeing patients while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances not prescribed 
for him or her. 
d.) Impersonating another who is licensed to practice optometry. 
e.) all the above. 
 

57. Upon the purchase or assumption of another optometrist's practice, the identification of the other 
optometrist 's name with the practice shall be limited to a maximum period of years. 
a.) four 
b.) one 
c.) three 
d.) two 

58. Upon the death or permanent disability of a New Mexico licensed optometrist, the surviving 
spouse or estate of the optometrist may contract optometric services or employ a New Mexico 
licensed optometrist for a period not to exceed _ _ _ months from the time of the optometrist's 
death or permanent disability. 
a.) 24 
b.) 48 
c.) 36 
d.) 18 
 



59. The Board may refuse to issue, suspend, or revoke an optometrist's license for advertising by 
means of knowingly false, misleading, or deceptive advertising. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

60. New Mexico Op to metrists shall provide patients with a copy of their contact lens prescription as 
long as it is valid. The replacement copy will s till show the original expiration date. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

61. An optometrist may place advertisements in the yellow pages or the internet. Such an 
advertisement must state the optometrist's name, address, telephone number, and designation of 
profession in which he or she is licensed to practice. The advertisement may also describe the 
nature of the optometrist's practice, such as contact lens specialty. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

62. Any New Mexico licensed optometrist who dispenses contact lenses will: 
a.) Maintain regular office hours and be physically accessible to the patient. 
b.) Be actively interacting with the patient 's professional care designed to detect disease. 
c.) prevent infection due to patient and/or product variability. 
d.) Provide eye examinations and/ or contact lens related office visits. 
e.) Require a valid prescription signed by the prescribing doctor. 
f.) b and d. 
g.) All of the above. 
h.) b, c, and d. 
 

63. A patient is entitled to his/ her eyeglass prescription if it is under a year old. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

64. A contact lens prescription must include all necessary parameters for the duplication or 
replacement of the contact lens and must include: 
a.) A specific date of issue and date of expiration not to exceed 24 months; unless the prescribing 
optometrist deems it clinically indicated that a shorter expiration date is in the best interest of the 
patient and the reason shall be noted in the patient's records.  
b.) All parameters including, but not limited to lens size and type, base curve, power, diameter, 
brand name, materials type, required to properly duplicate or replace the contact lens supply. 
c.) Any limitation on refills and notification of scheduled follow-up visits and recommended lens 
replacement interval. 
d.) An explicit statement that the Rx is a replacement contact or corneal lens Rx.. 
e.) Patient 's name and address, and optometrist's name, professional designation, address, and 
signature. 
f.) The words "OK for contact lens" or "Fit with contact or corneal lenses". 
g.) All of the above. 
h.) All excerpt f. 
 



65. An optometrist is guilty of a misdemeanor if: 
a.) He/ she is not present in the state during an eye examination. 
b.) Refusing to provide a patient a copy of their eyeglass’s prescription, if it is not over a year old  
c.) Violating any provision in the Optometry Act 
d.) All the above 
 

66. Duplicating or replacing eyeglasses when the prescription is more than two years old constitutes 
unprofessional conduct if the patient does not give written authorization. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

67. New Mexico Optometrists can prescribe oral corticosteroids. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

68. Therapeutic certification must be displayed in the optometrist's principal office or place of 
business. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

69. 400 mg tabs of Dexmethasone is within optometric scope of practice in New Mexico. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

70. Oral antiviral medications may be prescribed by optometrists in New Mexico. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

71. Letters of reprimand are matters of public record that may be examined by any person. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

72. New Mexico Optometrists can prescribe Vicodin. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

73. A licensee wishing to reactivate a New Mexico optometry license must verify active practice in 
another jurisdiction. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

74. A New Mexico optometrist may fill a contact lens Rx for a patient without personally examining 
the patient's eyes as long as the Rx is current and valid. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 



75. Eight hours of COPE- approved internet-type course activity is allowed to meet continuing 
education requirements for each annual renewal. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

76. Optometric assistants may administer pharmaceutical agents to the patient as long as the 
supervising optometrist, certified by the Board in the use of pharmaceutical agents, is present in 
the office for direct supervision. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

77. An expired, retired, or inactive license must be reactivated within five years of the 
expiration/ retirement / inactive status date or the license lapses and becomes null and void. Those 
persons with null and void licenses must successfully complete all of the New Mexico's 
application requirements for licensure including successful passage of the Board 's exam. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

78. Which of the following is not needed? The applicant for licensure as an optometrist shall furnish 
evidence satisfactory to the Board that the applicant: 
a.) Is of good moral character. 
b.) Has reached the age of majority. 
c.) The applicant and his/her immediate family are citizens of the United States. 
d.) Has completed at least an approved four-year high school course of study or the equivalent. 
 

79. While on inactive status, a New Mexico licensed optometrist may practice part-time in New 
Mexico. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

80. Which is False? 
a.) All New Mexico optometrists must keep the Board informed of their location(s) of practice. 
b.) New Mexico optometrists cannot retire until they have paid a fee based on five 1(5) years of 
practice.  
c.) No New Mexico optometrist who has retired may reactivate his or her practice until the Board 
has reviewed and approved the retired optometrist's application for reactivation and has issued a 
new license to practice. 
d.) No optometrist will prescribe contact lenses unless he or she has personally examined the 
patient. 
 

81. If a licensee requests a new license compatible with a legal name change, the Board may issue a 
new license or certificate upon receipt of the following. 
a.) The old license 
b.) Proof of legal name change. 
c.) The proper fee. 
d.) All of the above. 
e.) Only b and c. 



 
82. Licensed New Mexico Optometrists must have ____hours of pain management education each 

year. 
a.) One 
b.) Two 
c.) Three 
d.) Four 
 

83. The Board will automatically accept continuing education approved by which of the following 
bodies or sponsors? 
a.) New England Eye Center 
b.) International Vision Expo 
c.) Missouri Eye Institute 
d.) Council on Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE) 
e.) Eye Care Centers of America 
f.) Schools of Ophthalmology 
 

84. Which is False? 
a.)  A contact or corneal lens Rx may only be released as provided by Board rule after a trial 
fitting period of successful wear. 
b.)  An optometrist may not issue a contact or corneal lens Rx that expires before the second 
anniversary of the date the patient's Rx parameters are determined unless a shorter Rx period is 
clinically indicated by the patient's ocular health or by potential harm to the patient's ocular 
health. 
c.)  An optometrist may extend a patient's contact or corneal Rx expiration date without 
completing another eye examination if the optometrist deems it clinically indicated, and the 
Reason is noted in the patient's records. 
d.)  An optometrist may prescribe contact or corneal lenses for a patient whose, eyes he has 
not personally, examined as long the patient personally picks up the lenses at the optometrist’s 
office. 
e.)  An optometrist who performs an eye examination and fits a patient for contact or corneal 
lenses shall, upon request, prepare and provide the patient with a contact lens prescription, as 
prescribed by Board rule. 
 

85. The following are grounds for refusal, suspension, or revocation of an optometric license in New 
Mexico: 
a.) Conviction of a felony. 
b.) Obtaining a fee by fraud or misrepresentation. 
c.) False advertising. 
d.) All of the above. 
e.) a + b. 
 

86. Which of the following is specifically excluded from the scope of practice of optometry in New 
Mexico? 
a.) Treating glaucoma without consulting with an ophthalmologist. 
b.) Treating glaucoma. 
c.) Treating iritis. 



d.) Cataract surgery. 
e.) a + d. 
 

87. Continuing education in New Mexico must be submitted annually at time of renewal and must 
include the following: 
a.) CPR certification. 
b.) 10 hours of clinical or ocular pharmacology. 
c.) 6 hours of practice management. 
d.) a + b. 
e.) b + c. 
f.) All the above. 
 

88. An optometrist is guilty of a fourth-degree felony by doing any of the following except: 
a.) Practicing without a valid and current license. 
b.) Using a pharmaceutical agent that is regulated by the Optometry Act. 
c.) Writing a contact lens prescription for 2 years. 
d.) Permitting someone not licensed to practice under an optometry license 
 

89. Which of the following is an act of unprofessional conduct and a misdemeanor? 
a.) Asking a patient if he or she has a sexually transmitted disease. 
b.) Advertising professional services in any form of public communication. 
c.) Not releasing a patient's current eyeglass prescription to the patient.  
d.) Prescribing controlled substances without permission of an MD. 
e.) None of the above. 
 

90. All of the following constitute unprofessional conduct except: 
a.) Obtaining a fee by fraud or misrepresentation. 
b.) Using alcohol to clean ophthalmic instrumentation for future use. 
c.) Making unwelcome sexual advances to a patient. 
d.) Making false statements on any application for licensure. 
 

91. Before a practitioner prescribes a controlled substance, he/ she must obtain and review a PMP in 
all cases. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

92. All of the following do not constitute unprofessional conduct, except: 
a.) Fitting contact lenses on the same day as the eye exam. 
b.) Treating glaucoma with Timoptic XE without first consulting with an ophthalmologist. 
c.) Consulting with an ophthalmologist prior to examining the patient. 
d.) Using a diagnostic contact lens to obtain a final prescription for contacts. 
e.) None of the above. 
 

93. New Mexico optometrists cannot prescribe Floxin because 
a.) it is a hyper-osmotic agent. 
b.) it causes cardiac arrhythmia. 
c.) it causes bone marrow dysplasia. 



d.) it acts like a Schedule I controlled substances. 
e.) all the above are false. 
 

94. In addition to prescribing lenses, prisms, contact lenses, or other optical appliances, optometrists 
may also prescribe "preventive or corrective measures" for the correction, relief, or referral of 
visual defects of the human eye and its adnexa. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

95. New Mexico licensed Optometrists who have chronic pain and are being treated with controlled 
substances shall be evaluated by a pain clinic, an M D. or D.O. Pain specialist, and must have a 
complete independent neuropsychological evaluation, as well as clearance from their physician, 
before returning to or continuing in practice. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

96. A New Mexico optometrist who fails to comply with court-ordered child support payments: 
a.) will be denied an application for licensure. 
b.) will be denied license renewal. 
c.) will have his/her license suspended or revoked. 
d.) any of the above. 
 

97. A New Mexico optometrist practicing adjacent to a commercial establishment must have a 
separate patient entrance from a public thoroughfare. 
a.) True 
b.) False 
 

98. The surviving spouse of a deceased or disabled New Mexico optometrist may employ another 
New Mexico optometrist for up to: 
a.) 6 months. 
b.) 12 months. 
c.) 24 months. 
d.) 36 months. 
 

99. Contact lenses may be sold to a patient with a current contact lens prescription by. 
a.) licensed physician. 
b.) licensed optometrist. 
c.) registered licensed contact seller. 
d.) all the above. 
 

100. If a contact lens is dispensed by a business other than the prescribing optometrist, the 
optometrist is not liable for injury caused by 
a.) any substitute lens dispensed by the contact lens seller. 
b.) failure of the patient to comply with follow-up appointments. 
c.) poor health of the patient. 
d.) all the above. 
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