Home Inspector License Application



New Mexico Home Inspectors Board Regulation and Licensing Department

5500 San Antonio Drive NE -- Albuquerque, NM 87109 - (505) 222-9829

Section A: Home Inspector License Applicant Information							
	Last Name (include suffix: i.e., Jr., Sr., III) First Name		Middle Name or Initial				
2.	Residential Mailing Address, City, State, ZIP Code						
3.	Location Address, City, State, ZIP Code (if different than residential mailing address - do not use P.O. Box; attach map if needed)						
4.	4. E-mail Address - *please use an email address that will not change based upon employment changes						
5.	Residential Phone6. Personal ID Number:7. Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY)(including area code)			Y)			
Section B: License Prerequisites - All license applicants are required to complete this application, submit proof of fingerprinting and proof of professional liability and errors and omissions insurance, and with the exception of military members, their families, and recent veterans, whose license fee is waived for initial licensure, the appropriate fees as detailed elsewhere in this application. Applicants should indicate in the check box in the right hand column one of the three categories listed below under which they will be applying for licensure, and attach to this application the documentation required under each category, as detailed on page 6 of this application. B-1: Application by Training and Examination: Completion of 80 hours of classroom or online training in subjects as detailed on 							
2. 3.	pages 5 and 6 of this application.						
B-2: Application by Experience and Examination							
1. 2. 3.	Applicant has worked as a home Inspector in each of the 24 months prior to January 1, 2020.□Yes□NoApplicant has completed 100 inspections for compensation prior to January 1, 2020.□Yes□NoApplicant has passed the NHIE or the Inter-NACHI examination.□Yes□No					□ N/A	
	[Applicant may use Prior Exp	erience Log Sheet or	Page 9 of th	is application.]			
B-3: A	pplication by Credentials Applicant documents throug in good standing from a state the same or similar to New N	e or jurisdiction with			□Yes	□ No	□n/a

Section C: Attestation Pertaining to Candidate's Background - Instructions

Complete this section of the application by answering "Yes" or "No" to all questions below.					
			Section C Questions		
□Yes	□No	1.	Have you ever had a complaint filed against you with a real estate licensing agency of this or any other state or jurisdiction? If you answered "Yes," attach relevant documentation. <u>If you answer</u> "yes," see Section C Follow-up Instructions below.		
□Yes	□No		Have you ever had a real estate license denied, suspended, limited, conditioned, or revoked? If you answered "Yes," attach relevant documents. If you answer "yes," see Section C Follow- up Instructions below.		
□Yes	□No	3.	Are you now, or have you at any time during the past five years been named as a defendant in any lawsuits pertaining to any real estate transaction? If you answered "Yes," attach relevant documentation. If you answer "yes," see Section C Follow-up Instructions below.		
□ Yes	□No		I have included a Fingerprint Certification Form completed by a private fingerprinting services provider or a public or law enforcement agency. If you answer "no," see Section C Follow- up Instructions below.		
□Yes	□No □N/A		I am currently licensed in one or more jurisdictions other than New Mexico, and have attached the appropriate certified license history(s) from the jurisdiction(s). If you answer "no," see Section C Follow-up Instructions below.		
□Yes	□No	6.	I have errors and omissions insurance coverage meeting the requirements of Part 5 of the Real Estate Commission Rules and have attached a Certificate of Insurance to this application. <u>If you answer "no," see Section C Follow-up Instructions below.</u>		
 If you answer "Yes" to Items 1, 2, or 3 of Section C above, use the following instructions to prepare supporting documentation that should accompany this application. 1. Prepare and send a written account explaining the details of the complaint and its resolution. 2. Provide a letter from the licensing agency detailing the events that caused action to be taken against your license, including dates and locations and any subsequent reinstatement of your license. 3. Provide the following documentation: a. A copy of the judgment and sentence. b. A written account of your part in the alleged offense and its status. c. If applicable, a letter from your parole officer detailing your degree of rehabilitation. 4. Submit the following documentation: a. Copies of all relevant civil complaints in which you have been named as a defendant. b. Copies of the final dispositions of subject lawsuits (if available), or a written explanation of the status of complaint(s) against you. 					
If you answered "No" to questions 4, 5, or 6 of Section C, follow the instructions listed below.					
 a. Request from the state(s)/jurisdiction(s) (other than New Mexico) in which you currently or previously practiced, a certified license history which is to be included with this information when you submit your New Mexico Home Inspector License Application packet b. All active Home Inspectors are required to have professional liability and errors and omissions insurance meeting the requirements of Section 12 of the Home Inspector Licensing Act and Part 9 of the Home Inspector Licensing Board rules. Insurance may be obtained through any insurance carrier that can provide errors and omissions insurance under the coverage, terms, and conditions as provided in the Board's rules. 					

FINAL AFFIDAVIT AND APPLICANT SIGNATURE

I hereby certify that all of the information contained in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief, and I agree to abide by the New Mexico Home Inspector Licensing Act, the Home Inspector Board Rules, and the laws of the State of New Mexico. *Do not sign until you have completed this License Application Form in its entirety*.

Х

Signature of Applicant

Date

New Mexico Home Inspectors Board Fingerprinting Program

The New Mexico Department of Public Safety (DPS) uses an electronic Live Scan system of licensee fingerprinting and no longer accepts hardcopy fingerprint cards unless you are a home inspector who resides outside the State of New Mexico. For out of state home inspectors and those who do not have access to live-scan, fingerprint cards are not supplied by the Home Inspectors Board. Cards may be acquired from any local or state law enforcement jurisdiction.

Prior to being fingerprinted at one of the approved Live Scan sites (statewide site list attached), licensees are required to register on the vendor web site at <u>https://www.aps.gemalto.com.</u> Licensees need the New Mexico Home Inspectors Board number, which is **NM920278Z**, to register. Licensees may also register by phone at 1-877-996-6277.

Licensees may pay the \$44.00 fingerprint processing fee on line on the <u>https://www.aps.gemalto.com</u> website using a credit or debit card at the time of registration, or pay the fee by money order or cashier's check at the Live Scan site at the time of fingerprinting. No cash or personal checks are accepted.

Licensees should ask the Live Scan vendor to complete the Fingerprint Certification Form that is enclosed in the application packets, as licensees will need to submit that form to the Board along with their application form. The registration receipt provided by Cogent at the time of online registration is also an acceptable form of documentation to submit with licensure paperwork.

Licensees outside New Mexico who do not have access to an approved Live Scan vendor may submit hardcopy fingerprint cards and payment to 3M Cogent at the following address. The Board does not provide hardcopy fingerprint cards.

Gemalto Cogent, APS Department #165

2964 Bradley Street

Pasadena, California 91107

Contact the Home Inspectors Board Administrator, Wayne Ciddio, at (505) 222-9829 or (505) 785-3937, email address <u>wayne.ciddio@state.nm.us</u> if you have questions.

<u>Live scan</u> Cogent Fingerprint Locations (Click on Fingerprint Location Map on the Cogent website for details). <u>Click</u> <u>here also for locations</u>.

Fingerprint Certification Form

New Mexico Home Inspectors Board Regulation and Licensing Department 5500 San Antonio Drive NE Albuquerque, NM 87109 Telephone (505) 222-9829

This form must be completed by the Live Scan fingerprint vendor, law enforcement agency, or other provider taking the applicant's fingerprints. A copy of the form should be retained by the applicant and mailed or delivered to the New Mexico Home Inspectors Board at the above address along with the applicant's application for initial licensure or license renewal application.

The undersigned certifies that they are a representative of:

Phone Number of Fingerprinting Official

Cogent ID NM Registration Number

Check List of ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REQUIRED

 \Box (If applicable) I have attached an original certificate of license history from the jurisdiction(s) in which I am currently or was previously licensed.

□ (If applicable) I have attached Completion Certificates for Pre-licensing Courses and examination scores.

Completion of at least 80 hours of classroom or online training:

- (a) The cumulative total of 80 hours of classroom or online training must include all of the following subjects:
 - i. Site characteristics and exterior;
 - ii. Structural components;
 - iii. Roofing;
 - iv. Plumbing;
 - v. Electrical;
 - vi. Heating, cooling, and air conditioning;
 - vii. Interiors, appliances, and garages;
 - viii. Insulation and ventilation;
 - ix. Fireplaces and fuel burning appliances;
 - x. New Mexico standards of practice and code of ethics;
 - xi. Business practices, including New Mexico rules and regulations, pre-inspection agreements, and report writing.
- (b) All 80 hours of classroom or online training must be obtained through an educational course that satisfies one of the following criteria:
 - i. The course is approved or accepted by another state home inspector licensing authority;
 - **ii.** The course is approved by the United States Department of Education or the New Mexico Department of Education; or
 - **iii.** The course is designated as pre-licensing education and is certified or approved by any society, institute, council, or association of home inspectors;
- (c) All 80 hours of classroom training may be completed online.
- (d) Completion of a total of at least 80 hours of field training spent conducting a minimum of 30 parallel home inspections, evidenced by documents including,

but not necessarily limited to, a completed board-issued inspection log, preinspection agreements, notarized affidavits, and other similarly-reliable evidence; (See Field Experience Log Sheet on Page 8 of this application).

 \Box (If applicable) I have attached documentation of work as a home inspector and home inspections performed in the 24 months preceding the January 1, 2020 effective date of the Home Inspector Licensing Act. (See Prior Experience Log Sheet on Page 9 of this application).

 \Box (If applicable) I have attached documentation of at least 100 home inspections performed for compensation in the 24 months preceding the January 1, 2020 effective date of the Home Inspector Licensing Act. (See Prior Experience Log Sheet on page 9 of this application).

□ (If applicable) I have attached an *original score report* documenting passage of the National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE).

 \Box (If applicable) I have attached a<u>n original score report-documenting</u> passage of another Home Inspector Examination.

□ I have attached a certificate of current professional liability and errors and omissions insurance coverage. Please review Section 12 of the Home Inspector Licensing Act and Part 9 of the Home Inspectors Board Rules accessible at <u>www.rld.state.nm.us//boards/home inspector aspx</u>, Law and Rules, for insurance coverage requirements.

 $\hfill\square$ I have attached the completed Fingerprint Certification Form on page 5 of this application.

I have enclosed the \$250 initial application fee and the prorated license fee for a 1,
 or 3- year license based on birth month as shown below. Upon expiration of the initial license all licenses will be renewed for three years.

Fee-\$666

Important Note Regarding Fees: The initial \$250 application fee and the initial prorated license fee are waived for military members, their spouses, and children, and recent veterans, if the applicant can document that they have been honorably discharged within 3 years of application, and, if applying based on credentials, that they have a license in good standing in another state.

- Birth Month- January 1-April 30
 Fee- \$333
- Birth Month- May 1-August 31
- Birth Month-September 1-December 31 Fee \$1,000

The Board cannot accept credit cards or cash for payment of fees. Please pay fees with a cashier's or personal check payable to the New Mexico Home Inspectors Board.

Links to Home Inspector Website and Board Rules

Home Inspector Website:	http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/home-inspectors-overview.aspx
Home Inspector Rules:	http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/home-inspectors-rules-and-laws.aspx

New Mexico Home Inspectors Board

Field Experience Log Sheet

In accordance with the Rules and Regulations established by the New Mexico Home Inspectors Board, the applicant below conducted a minimum of 30 parallel inspections totaling at least 80 hours under the direct supervision of a licensed Home Inspector or Licensee Candidate meeting the requirements for licensure by Experience and Examination during the Field Experience period. Each log sheet allows for 20 parallel inspections; submit multiple sheets in order to meet the minimum requirements or attach a spreadsheet with the appropriate information:

Date	Address	# Hours	Onsite/Reporting	Supervisor signature

I hereby attest that I participated in the parallel inspections described in the above log. Under penalty of Rules Violation, the Supervising inspector attests to having supervised as detailed.

Inspector licensee Candidate

Date

Supervising Inspector (include license #)

Date

New Mexico Home Inspectors Board

Prior Experience Log Sheet

For Candidates Seeking Licensure Through Experience and Examination

In accordance with the Rules and Regulations established by the New Mexico Home Inspectors Board, the applicant below conducted a minimum of 100 fee paid inspections and performed Home Inspection(s) in each of the 24 months prior to January 1, 2020. Each log sheet allows for 40 inspections; submit multiple sheets in order to meet the minimum requirements or a spreadsheet containing the appropriate information may be attached to this form:

Date	Address	Date	Address

I hereby attest that I performed the inspections described in the above log under penalty of Rules Violation.

Inspector licensee Candidate