TITLE 16 OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

CHAPTER 3 ATHLETIC TRAINERS

PART 7 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF LICENSE

**16.3.7.1 ISSUING AGENCY:** Regulation and Licensing Department New Mexico Athletic Trainers Practice Board Post Office Box 25101 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504.

[1/16/2000; 16.3.7.1 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 3.7.1, 8/16/2001; A, x/xx/2021]

**16.3.7.2 SCOPE:** Licensee requirements for the annual renewal of athletic trainers licenses in the state of New Mexico.

[1/16/2000; 16.3.7.2 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 3.7.2, 8/16/2001; A, x/xx/2021]

**16.3.7.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY:** These rules are promulgated pursuant to the Athletic Trainers Practice Act, Section 61-14D-1 to 61-14D-19 NMSA 1978.

[1/16/2000; 16.3.7.3 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 3.7.3, 8/16/2001; A, x/xx/2021]

**16.3.7.4 DURATION:** Permanent

[1/16/2000; 16.3.7.4 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 3.7.4, 8/16/2001; A, x/xx/2021]

**16.3.7.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:** January 16, 2000, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section. [1/16/2000; 16.3.7.5 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 3.7.5, 8/16/2001; A, 11/23/2006; A, x/xx/2021]

**16.3.7.6 OBJECTIVE:** Outlines and details the renewal requirements and procedures for the renewal of the athletic trainers license.

[1/16/2000; 16.3.7.6 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 3.7.6, 8/16/2001; A, x/xx/2021]

### 16.3.7.7 DEFINITIONS: [RESERVED]

## 16.3.7.8 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF LICENSES:

- **A.** All licenses expire annually on August 31st.
- **B.** Licensees shall be responsible for filing a current mailing address and name change with the board.
- C. Each person licensed under the act shall renew his/her license annually on or before the expiration date by submitting a renewal application, the renewal fee, proof of current CPR certification, AED certification and proof of current [NATA]BOC certification.
- **D.** Failure to submit the required documents and fees by August 31st shall cause the license to lapse and the license holder must refrain from practicing.
- **E.** The licensee may renew within a thirty day grace period, by submitting payment of the renewal fee of \$165.00, late fee of \$75.00 and compliance with all renewal requirements. Failure to renew a license within the thirty-day grace period shall cause the license to automatically expire.
- **F.** A license that has not renewed within the thirty days of expiration is automatically expired and the applicant must reapply as a new applicant.

[1/16/2000; 16.3.7.8 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 3.7.8, 8/16/2001; A, 11/23/2006; A, x/xx/2021]

# 16.3.7.9 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS:

- **A.** Each licensee shall be required to [earn 75 continuing education units (contact hours), during each three year reporting period. The reporting period will correspond to the NATA or its successor organization's reporting period of every three years. Subsequent reporting periods will be for a period of three years and reporting 75 continuing education units.] maintain good standing with BOC CEU requirements.
- [B. CEU's may be earned by completing CPR/AED certification, completing continuing education courses approved by the NATA BOC or its successor organization, or by completing course work taken at an accredited college or university which falls within one of the performance domains identified in the current NATA'S BOC (or its successor organization) role delineation study. 10 CEU's are awarded for each credit hour earned in an applicable course taken at any accredited college or university.]
- [C. Each license shall report CEU's earned during a reporting period at the next license renewal period. Reporting of CEU's may be by either submitting a copy of the status card which indicates that certified

16.3.7 NMAC

athletic trainer in good status with the NATA or its successor organization, by a letter from the NATA or its successor organization indicating completion of CEU's, or by submitting the actual documentation of completion of CEU courses.]

[16.3.7.9 NMAC - N, 8/16/2001; A, 11/23/2006; A,x/xx/2021]

#### **16.3.7.10 INACTIVE STATUS:**

- **A.** A licensed person may request inactive status by notifying the board in writing before the expiration of current license.
- [B. An inactive status license may be restored, upon receiving the request for reinstatement; board staff shall send a reinstatement renewal notice.
- C. Along with the completed reinstatement renewal application, must include renewal fee, reinstatement fee, proof of completing a current CPR/AED unit certification.]
- **B.** A licensed person whose license has been placed on inactive status may not provide the services authorized by an active license.
- C. A licensed person who practices with an inactive license is subject to disciplinary action by the board.
- **D.** The inactive status period shall last two years from the date the license was placed on inactive status.
- <u>F.</u> An inactive status license may be [restored] reactivated upon the board receiving the request for [reinstatement] reactivation; board staff shall send a [reinstatement renewal] reactivation of license notice.
- <u>G.</u> Along with the complete [reinstatement renewal] reactivation application, the licensee must include renewal fee, [reinstatement] reactivation fee, and proof of [completing a current CPR/AED unit certification,] current BOC Certification.
- H. The activation application and required enclosures must be postmarked or hand-delivered to the board office no later than two years from the December 30 of the year in which the license or registration was placed on inactive status. Failure to do so will cause the license to expire, lapse, and become null and void. Reactivation applications received with a postmark date or hand-delivered after December 30 will be returned to the expired licensee because the license may no longer be activated.

[16.3.7.10 NMAC - N, 11/23/2006, A; x/xx/2021]

## **HISTORY OF 16.3.7 NMAC:**

**Pre-NMAC History:** The material in this part was derived from that previously filed with the State Records Center and Archives under: HED 84-4 (HSD), Regulations Governing The Athletic Trainers Act, filed 7/11/1984; AT-01-88, Regulations Governing The Athletic Trainers Act, filed 9/19/1988; AT-01-89, Regulations Governing The Athletic Trainers Act, filed 7/11/1989; Rule 91-9, Expiration, filed 8/30/1991; Rule 7, Annual Renewal of Licenses, filed 2/3/1994; Rule 91-8, Annual Renewal of Licenses, filed 8/30/1991.

HISTORY OF REPEALED MATERIAL: [RESERVED]

16.3.7 NMAC 2