## **CLINICS**

Section 61-11-6.A(6) **NMSA 1978** - The Board shall provide for the licensing of clinics and all places where dangerous drugs (prescription drugs) are dispensed or administered and provide for the inspection of their facilities and activities. As stated in 16 19.10.7.A **NMAC**, "clinic" means any facility where one or more licensed practitioners diagnose and treat patients, and where drugs are stored, dispensed, distributed or administered for the diagnosis and treatment of the facility's patients; provided that this definition shall not include the privately owned practice of any licensed practitioner or group of licensed practitioners exempt under Section 61-11-22 of the Pharmacy Act.

## PROCEDURE FOR LICENSURE

## NOTE: Dangerous drugs may not be stored at the clinic until the New Mexico Board of Pharmacy has issued a clinic license.

- 1. Obtain the proper clinic application. Obtain State and Federal Controlled Substance Registration applications if you plan to store, administer or dispense controlled substances. You will need a request for inspection application, the current edition of New Mexico Board of Pharmacy Regulations, and current schedule of board meetings.
- **2.** Obtain the services of a consultant pharmacist who is responsible for the development, implementation and compliance with the clinic's Drug Policies and Procedures.
- 3. Determine the category of clinic license to be applied for.
- **4.** Submit the completed applications along with the clinic's Policy and Procedure Manual. Include a drug formulary and a rough drawing or blueprint of the floor plan. (*Drawings or blueprints should be submitted for initial approval prior to beginning construction of the drug room/drug storage area*).
- **5.** A separate license or permit shall be obtained for each location.
- **6.** A Federal Controlled Substance Registration is separate from the State's. Applications may be obtained from the DEA by dialing 1-800-882-9539 or at WWW.DEADIVERSION.USDOJ.GOV. The DEA will not issue a registration until the state has issued a State Controlled Substance License.
- **7.** New Mexico Board of Pharmacy Regulations is available at www.rld.state.nm.us/pharmacy. or, you may purchase them from our office for \$24.00 or \$29.00 to be mailed USPS.

## THE BOARD/STAFF PROCEDURE FOR NEW CLINIC APPLICATIONS AS FOLLOWS

- **1.** Review your floor plan/blueprints for compliance with clinic drug storage area requirements and notify you of initial approval.
- **2.** Review your application(s) for completeness. Incomplete applications will be returned.
- **3.** Schedule a pre-licensing inspection of your facility, usually during the week prior to the next regularly scheduled Board meeting.
- **4.** Pre-licensing inspection: the drug inspector will review your procedures manual, inspect your drug storage area, review examples of your documents to be used for drug records and discuss your consultant pharmacist's duties and responsibilities.
- **5.** The Board will review your application(s), procedure manual, and any other information it may require, at the next regularly scheduled board meeting. Clinic representatives may attend in order to answer questions or clarify procedures if necessary.
- **6.** Once the application is approved by the board, the license is mailed to the new licensee within 7 to 10 days.