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PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION WAIVERS 
 

The New Mexico Real Estate Commission will grant waivers of up to 60 hours of the 90 hours of pre-

licensing education required to take the real estate broker’s examination in New Mexico to brokers 

currently licensed in other states or licensing jurisdictions. 

 

In New Mexico, everyone is a broker, either an associate broker or a qualifying broker. It is the same 

exam for both types of licenses. 

 

Requirements for Education Waivers 
 

In order to qualify for a waiver, a broker must provide the following documentation to the Real Estate 

Commission: 

 

 Documentation showing you are currently licensed in another state or jurisdiction (a copy of 

your license or something from your licensing agency’s website indicating that your license is 

current). Individuals with an expired license do not qualify for a waiver. 

 Documentation showing that you have completed at least two, 30-hour pre-licensing courses 

each in Real Estate Principles and Practice and Real Estate Law. Continuing education courses 

completed in fulfillment of license renewal requirements in their resident state are not accepted 

toward fulfillment of this requirement. A copy of a certified license history from the licensing 

jurisdiction which documents completion of these pre-licensing courses or their equivalent is the 

most desirable form of documentation. However, clear and complete certificates of completion 

of these courses issued by the course sponsor or provider are also acceptable. 

 

Please email this documentation to Tom Baca at Thomas.Baca@state.nm.us. Please include your mailing 

address and a phone number where you can be reached with a question. 

 

Individuals who qualify for the waiver will only be required to take a 30-hour course called Broker Basics 

which is the New Mexico law portion of the pre-licensing courses and the state portion of the New 

Mexico Real Estate Broker’s exam. The Broker Basics course is a classroom course offered in New 

Mexico. It is a 30 hour course not available online.  

 

A letter or email from the applicant requesting a waiver of pre-licensing education, should be addressed to 

Education Administrator, New Mexico Real Estate Commission, 5500 San Antonio Avenue NE, 

Albuquerque, New Mexico 87109 or sent via fax to (505) 222-9886. Email requests may attach any 

pertinent documents and should be sent to: Thomas.Baca@state.nm.us  

 

The remaining 30 hours of the pre-licensing education requirement, consisting of the 30-hour New 

Mexico Real Estate Commission approved Broker Basics class, cannot be waived because of its New 

Mexico-specific content, and must be completed in the classroom in New Mexico. This course is 

available from a variety of different providers.  
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Upon Receipt: Issuance of Letter Approval or Non approval 
 

Upon receipt of the required documentation, the New Mexico Real Estate Commission will issue a letter 

to the applicant broker granting a pre-licensing education waiver of up to 60 hours, provided that the 

applicant has submitted the required documentation. Enclosed with that letter will be a Candidate 

Information Bulletin (CIB) issued by PSI, the Commissions’ examination contractor. The CIB will 

include an examination application. The application must be submitted directly to PSI and must be 

accompanied by the pre-licensing education waiver letter issued by the Commission and the certificate of 

completion of the 30-hour Broker Basics course. 

 

New Mexico currently has license recognition agreements with the following states: Georgia, Louisiana, 

and Massachusetts. For information about the License Recognition program, go to the Forms and 

Applications link on the Commission’s website:   

 

Course Providers 

 

The full list of course providers that offer the Broker Basics class can be accessed at: 

For a list of those providers, go to  

 

http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/Real_Estate_Commission_Requirements_and_Continuing_Educ

ation.aspx 
 

Concerning Applicants from States with Reciprocal License Recognition 
Agreements with New Mexico  
 

The New Mexico Real Estate Commission has reciprocal agreements with the following three states: 

Georgia, Louisiana, and Massachusetts. License applicants currently licensed in those states are not 

required to take any pre-licensing education or take the broker’s examination in order to be licensed in 

New Mexico.  If you are a current licensee from one of these states you may access the License 

Recognition Packet and obtain the necessary forms at: 

 

http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/Real_Estate_Commission_Forms_and_Applications.aspx  
 

Questions? 
 

For answers to questions regarding pre-licensing education, please contact: Tom Baca, Education 

Administrator, directly at (505) 222-9825. 
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