New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department





New Mexico Real Estate Commission

5500 San Antonio Drive, NE • Suite B • Albuquerque, New Mexico 87109
(505) 222-9820 • Fax (505) 222-9886 •
www.RLD.state.nm.us/boards/Real_Estate_Commission.aspx

PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION WAIVERS

The New Mexico Real Estate Commission will grant waivers of up to 60 hours of the 90 hours of prelicensing education required to take the real estate broker's examination in New Mexico to brokers currently licensed in other states or licensing jurisdictions.

In New Mexico, everyone is a broker, either an associate broker or a qualifying broker. It is the same exam for both types of licenses.

Requirements for Education Waivers

In order to qualify for a waiver, a broker must provide the following documentation to the Real Estate Commission:

- Documentation showing you are currently licensed in another state or jurisdiction (a copy of your license or something from your licensing agency's website indicating that your license is current). Individuals with an expired license do not qualify for a waiver.
- Documentation showing that you have completed at least two, 30-hour pre-licensing courses each in Real Estate Principles and Practice and Real Estate Law. Continuing education courses completed in fulfillment of license renewal requirements in their resident state are not accepted toward fulfillment of this requirement. A copy of a certified license history from the licensing jurisdiction which documents completion of these pre-licensing courses or their equivalent is the most desirable form of documentation. However, clear and complete certificates of completion of these courses issued by the course sponsor or provider are also acceptable.

Please email this documentation to Tom Baca at <u>Thomas.Baca@state.nm.us</u>. Please include your mailing address and a phone number where you can be reached with a question.

Individuals who qualify for the waiver will only be required to take a 30-hour course called Broker Basics which is the New Mexico law portion of the pre-licensing courses and the state portion of the New Mexico Real Estate Broker's exam. The Broker Basics course is a classroom course offered in New Mexico. It is a 30 hour course not available online.

A <u>letter or email</u> from the applicant requesting a waiver of pre-licensing education, should be addressed to Education Administrator, New Mexico Real Estate Commission, 5500 San Antonio Avenue NE, Albuquerque, New Mexico 87109 or sent via fax to (505) 222-9886. Email requests may attach any pertinent documents and should be sent to: Thomas.Baca@state.nm.us

The remaining 30 hours of the pre-licensing education requirement, consisting of the 30-hour New Mexico Real Estate Commission approved Broker Basics class, cannot be waived because of its New Mexico-specific content, and must be completed in the classroom in New Mexico. This course is available from a variety of different providers.

Page 1 of 2 Revision date: 03/2016

New Mexico Real Estate Commission

Form Name

Upon Receipt: Issuance of Letter Approval or Non approval

Upon receipt of the required documentation, the New Mexico Real Estate Commission will issue a letter to the applicant broker granting a pre-licensing education waiver of up to 60 hours, provided that the applicant has submitted the required documentation. Enclosed with that letter will be a Candidate Information Bulletin (CIB) issued by PSI, the Commissions' examination contractor. The CIB will include an examination application. The application must be submitted directly to PSI and must be accompanied by the pre-licensing education waiver letter issued by the Commission and the certificate of completion of the 30-hour Broker Basics course.

New Mexico currently has license recognition agreements with the following states: Georgia, Louisiana, and Massachusetts. For information about the License Recognition program, go to the Forms and Applications link on the Commission's website:

Course Providers

The full list of course providers that offer the <u>Broker Basics</u> class can be accessed at: For a list of those providers, go to

http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/Real Estate Commission Requirements and Continuing Educ ation.aspx

Concerning Applicants from States with Reciprocal License Recognition Agreements with New Mexico

The New Mexico Real Estate Commission has reciprocal agreements with the following three states: Georgia, Louisiana, and Massachusetts. License applicants currently licensed in those states are not required to take any pre-licensing education or take the broker's examination in order to be licensed in New Mexico. If you are a current licensee from one of these states you may access the License Recognition Packet and obtain the necessary forms at:

http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/Real_Estate_Commission_Forms_and_Applications.aspx

Questions?

For answers to questions regarding pre-licensing education, please contact: Tom Baca, Education Administrator, directly at (505) 222-9825.