

New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department

BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS DIVISION

Board of Pharmacy

5500 San Antonio Drive, NE • Suite C • Albuquerque, New Mexico 87109 (505) 222-9830 • Fax (505) 222-9845 • (800) 565-9102 http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/pharmacy.aspx

PHARMACIST CLINICIAN CERTIFICATION

Patient Contact Log Instructions

To obtain initial certification and licensure as a pharmacist clinician, the pharmacist applicant must submit the following:

Proof of completion of a sixty (60) hour Board approved physical assessment course, followed by a 150 hour, 300 patient contact preceptorship supervised by a physician or other practitioner with prescriptive authority, with hours counted only during direct patient interactions. (The applicant will submit a log of patient encounters as part of the application. Patient encounters must be initiated and completed within two (2) years of the application).

Note that the pharmacist applicant should conduct the initial patient encounter and assessment individually without the assistance of supervising practitioner. All assessment information should then be verified by the supervising practitioner.

Date of Encounter: Indicate the month/day/year the patient encounter occurred.

Patient Identifier: In order to be compliant with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA), please use only patient initials and age (in years). If the patient is > 80 years of age, indicate 80 (+) years and not their exact age. **Do not** include patient's full name, medical record number, date of birth, social security number, or any other unique identifier.

Reason for Visit: Indicate the reason(s) the patient was being seen. Examples: Hypertension follow-up, DM management, Anticoagulation, upper respiratory illness.

Assessment Skill(s): Indicate which assessment maneuver(s) and examination(s) were completed by the pharmacist clinician during the encounter. You may simply enter the letter(s) corresponding to the specific skill listed below:

Manuevers:	Examination:
H = patient history	CV = cardiovascular
I = inspection	PM = pulmonary
A = auscultation	AB = abdominal
Pe = percussion	N = neurologic
P = palpation	MS = musculoskeletal
VS = vital signs	HEENT = head, ears, eyes, nose and throat
F = fundoscopic	ME = mental status
O = otoscopic examination	

Contact Time: Indicate the time (in hours) spent directly with the patient during each encounter. For example, a 30 minute encounter should be documented as 0.5 hours.

Supervising Practitioner: By definition a board-approved supervising practitioner is a clinician with licensure/certification to exercise prescriptive authority in the State of New Mexico. Examples would be licensed medical doctors, nurse practitioners, physician's assistants, and pharmacist clinicians with active prescribing protocols.