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STATE REGISTERED INVESTMENT ADVISER PACKET 

 
 
 
REQUIREMENTS AND FEES: 
1) Complete Form ADV Part 1 and Part 2 online and pay filing fees 

through FINRA-IARD. 
 
2) The filing fees are: $300 for investment adviser firm registration, $50 

for each investment adviser representative/designated principal 
registration. 

 
3) Most recent financial statements.  Investment advisers, who will not 

have custody of customers’ funds or securities, may submit unaudited 
statements (dated no more than ninety (90) days prior to filing date). 
The filing date is the date the registration package is received by the 
Division. 

 
4) Investment Advisers who have custody of customers’ funds or securities 

are required to provide a bond. A Securities Licensee’s Blanket Bond, 
New Mexico Form BD-2 (Rev 11/98) is attached, if applicable. 

 
5) List, if applicable, all branch offices in New Mexico with the name, 

CRD number and qualifications of the designated principal. 
 
6) Submit completed Form U4 for the designated principal In New Mexico 

(must have S24 exam) to IARD and provide the Division with the 
name and CRD number of the individual. There shall be at all 
times at least one designated principal at the main office as well as each 
branch office. 

 
7) Copy of the Investment Advisor’s Agreement. 

 
8) List all investment adviser representatives to be registered in New 

Mexico.  Submit a completed Form U4 for each individual to IARD. 
 
9) Every investment adviser shall maintain a net worth of not less than 

$5,000 dollars, but if you have discretionary authority the net worth 
requirement is $10,000. 

 
EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS: 
Each Investment adviser representative and designated principal must have 
successfully passed, within the last two (2) years, the Series 65 examination; or 
the Series 66 examination and Series 6 or 7.  The designated principal in 

http://www.rld.state.nm.us/securities


addition to having the examinations above must also have the Series 24. In lieu of the 
examinations the Division will accept the following designations: 

 
CFA    Certified Financial Analyst 
CIC Chartered Investment Counselor Certification 
CFP Certified Financial Planner 
ChFC  Chartered Financial Consultant Certification 
PFS     Certified Public Accountant with a Personal Financial Specialist designation 

 
If examinations were not passed within two (2) years prior to application, applicants must 
have been licensed as investment advisers or investment adviser representatives within the 
last two (2) years under the laws of another state requiring such examinations. 

 
SEND FORMS TO: 

New Mexico Securities Division 
Richard Dominguez 
Compliance Officer 
PO Box 25101 
Santa Fe, NM 87505 
richard.dominguez@state.nm.us 

 
Web site for additional information: http://www.rld.state.nm.us/securities/default.aspx 

 
MISCELLANEOUS: 
Forms, study outlines and information regarding examinations may be obtained from: 

 
FINRA 
P. O. Box 9401 
Gaithersburg, MD 20898 
(301) 590-6500 

 
IARD information may be obtained from the FINRA Gateway Call Center, (240) 386-4848, 
or from their website, www.IARD.com. 

 
ANNUAL REQUIREMENTS: 

• Prior to December 1th send renewal fees to FINRA (fees are the same as initial 
fees). 

• Completed Form ADV-E if you have custody of client funds. 
Audited Financial Statement sent to New Mexico Securities Division. NOTE: 
Investment Advisers who  DO NOT hav e custod y of cli ent’s funds  
or  securities may file unaudited financial statements and form ADV-E is 
not required. 

• Update ADV Part 2 online through IARD. 
• Updated financial statements. 
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Pursuant to Section 58-13C-408 of the New Mexico Uniform Securities Act, every registered 
investment adviser shall promptly notify the New Mexico Securities Division of the 
termination of employment by any registered investment adviser representative. A complete 
Form U5 should be submitted to the Division. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(Revised December, 2015) 
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