

New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department

BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS DIVISION

Board of Body Art Practitioners

PO Box 25101 • Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504 (505) 476-4622 • Fax (505) 476-4665 • www.rld.state.nm.us

BODY ART JURISPRUDENCE EXAM

INSTRUCTIONS

This is an open book, multiple choice examination. As a reference to assist you in taking the jurisprudence exam, you may use the *NMSA 61-17B*, *Body Art Safe Practices Act* statutes and *NMAC* **16.36** Body Art rules, available on our website at http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/body-art-practitioners-rules-and-laws.aspx, click Printable Version of Body Art Statutes and Rules for the printable version of the entire rules and laws, this may be used as references for the Jurisprudence Exam.

No other assistance, including other persons or other references, is authorized for your use in taking this exam.

While there is no time limit for completing the Jurisprudence Examination, it must be completed and submitted before you can receive your license. Re-examination, if needed, must be conducted within thirty days.

Sign the statement certifying that, you did not get assistance from any other person in completing the examination and that you did not use any reference other than that available from the *NMSA 61-17B*, *Body Art Safe Practices Act*.

Deliver the completed examination form to the Board office at the address at the top of this page or mail to:

Body Art Program P.O. Box 25101 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504

Board of Body Art Practitioners BODY ART JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION

Circle the letter next to the single best answer for each question. Do not circle more than one letter.

- 1. Body artist means a person who administers:
 - A. body piercing
 - B. tattooing
 - C. scarification
 - D. All of the above
- 2. Equipment means machinery used in connection with the body art establishment, except:
 - A. Tools and devices for the trade
 - B. Containers, vessels, display and storage areas
 - C. Area rugs and art deco stools
 - D. Implements, sinks, and other apparatuses
- 3. The body art practitioner shall apply for a license and pay an annual fee determined by the Board not to exceed \$300.
 - A. True
 - B. False
- 4. The late fee for non-renewal of the license shall not exceed:
 - A. \$25.00
 - B. \$50.00
 - C. \$75.00
 - D. \$100.00
- 5. A member from a federally recognized tribe, band, nation or pueblo who performs scarification rituals for religious purposes is exempt from the Body Art Safe Practices Act.
 - A. True
 - B. False
- 6. All body art stencils shall be:
 - A. From a quality company
 - B. Sterilized
 - C. Single use and disposable
 - D. None of the above
- 7. A person who pierces only the outer perimeter of the ear, not including any cartilage, using a presterilized encapsulated single use stud ear piercing system, implementing appropriate procedures is exempt from the provisions of the Body Art Safe Practices Act.
 - A. True
 - B. False
- 8. A body artist shall obtain a body art license, requirements for which shall be defined by the board that demonstrate that the body artist has:
 - A. The training and experience necessary to perform body piercing, tattooing or scarification
 - B. The training and experience necessary to establish and maintain a sanitary and sterile environment
 - C. Both A and B
 - D. None of the above
- 9. Tattooing includes permanent cosmetics.
 - A. True
 - B. False

Board of Body Art Practitioners BODY ART JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION

- 10. Bloodborne Pathogens training is required for licensure as a Body Artist.
 - A. True
 - B. False
- 11. A body art license can be transferred from one artist to another if it is current.
 - A. True
 - B. False
- 12. Body art establishments shall be inspected:
 - A. Every six months
 - B. Every year
 - C. Every other year
 - D. Only upon receiving a complaint
- 13. The Body Art Safe Practices Act provides:
 - A. No standards
 - B. Minimum standards
 - C. Maximum standards
 - D. Overwhelming standards
- 14. Members of the Board are appointed for life.
 - A. True
 - B. False
- 15. The Board may establish continuing education requirements as requirements for licensure.
 - A. True
 - B. False
- 16. A body artist shall possess and post a body art license:
 - A. In a decorative frame
 - B. In an office drawer with the file labeled
 - C. In a conspicuous place
 - D. None of the above
- 17. Some (but not all) sharps shall be sterilized prior to use.
 - A. True
 - B. False
- 18. Tattooing means the practice of depositing pigment into the:
 - A. Epidermis
 - B. Dermis
 - C. Salivary gland
 - D. Mucous membranes
- 19. Single use items are:
 - A. Intended for one-time, one-person use.
 - B. Reusable if they are sterilized before being used again.
 - C. Only allowed to be used on two clients if they are married.
 - D. All of the above

Board of Body Art Practitioners BODY ART JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION

- 20. The following information shall be kept on file on the premises of a body art establishment:
 - A. Name and hours of operation.
 - B. A complete description of all body art performed.
 - C. A list of all instruments, body jewelry, sharps and inks used including manufacturers and invoices.
 - D. All of the above
- 21. The board may suspend a license immediately without prior notice if after inspection they determine:
 - A. There is more than one violation of the Body Art Safe Practices Act.
 - B. There is substantial danger of illness, serious physical harm or death.
 - C. The body artist did not have a portfolio of his or her work.
 - D. The board member wanted to.
- 22. A applicant denied a license can appeal the board's decision.
 - A. True
 - B. False
- 23. Sharps means any sterilized object that is used for penetrating the skin or mucosa including:
 - A. Needles
 - B. Scalpel blades
 - C. Razor blades
 - D. All of the above
- 24. When changing the location of a body art establishment, an operator must notify the board:
 - A. Immediately upon changing the location
 - B. No less than 30 days before changing the location
 - C. No more than 30 days after changing the location
 - D. None of the above
- 25. The Body Art Safe Practices Act shall be kept on file on the premises of a body art establishment.
 - A. True
 - B. False

CERTIFICATION

I certify that I have completed the above examination without assistance from any person and have used only the *NMSA 61-17B*, *Body Art Safe Practices Act* statutes and *NMAC 16.36.2.1 through 16.36.6*, available on the board's website.

Signature:	Date:
Print Name:	