

New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS DIVISION Nutrition and Dietetic Practice Board Toney Anaya Building • 2550 Cerrillos Road • Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505 (505) 476-4622 • Fax (505) 476-4645 • www.rld.state.nm.us/nutrition

LICENSURE APPLICATION

Current law requires that all applicants pass an examination as a condition of licensure. The CDR exam is used for both dietitians and nutritionists, while the exam for registration as a Dietetic Technician is used for nutrition associates. Nutritionists and nutrition associated applicants must apply to the board to be eligible to take the exam. Dietitians who have not yet taken the exam may apply directly to CDR unless they are requesting a Provisional Permit to allow them to practice until they have the opportunity to examine. Anyone who requests a Provisional Permit must apply for the exam through the board. Further information can be found in Part 6 of the rules.

Dietitians and nutritionists who have completed the education and experience requirements may be issued a Provisional Permit, which allows them to practice until the results of the exam are available. This option is not available for nutrition associates.

Your completed application will be reviewed at the next meeting of the Board and if you are approved for licensure you will be notified and requested to pay the initial licensing fee of \$150. The initial license is valid for one year form the date of issue.

Upon receipt of a completed application the Board will notify CDR that you are eligible to take the next registration examination for dietitians, the exam required of both nutritionists and dietitians in New Mexico. You will receive all exam information directly form CDR or their vendor, ACT.

As further defined in part 5 of the rules, exams are given in a computerized format at dates and locations determined by the applicant. The board will provide a list of eligible dietitian, nutritionist and nutrition associate candidates to CDR and then be notified to exam results.

ITEMS THAT MUST BE INCLUDED WITH EVERY APPLICATION

- Complete and notarized application form
- \$50 application fee, payable to the Nutrition and Dietetics Board

Applicants for licensure as a Dietitian must also include:

- Certified copy of CDR card
- Verification of licensure in states in which you hold, or previously held a license.

Applicants for licensure as a Nutritionist must also include:

- Official transcripts of Master's or Doctoral degree in human nutrition, nutrition education, foods and nutrition, or public health nutrition must be mailed directly to the board from the issuing institution **OR** include with application a copy of current certification or membership in one of the organizations listed in the rules, *Part 3, Section 9.1.2.*
- Verification of licensure in states in which you hold or previously held a license.

Applicants for licensure as a Nutrition Associate must also include:

- Official transcripts of baccalaureate or higher degree from and accredited college or university with a minimum of 20 hours in foods and nutrition coursework must be mailed directly to the board from the issuing institution
- American Dietetics Association Verification Statement completed by a program director verifying eligibility for an internship or equivalent program approved as by the Commission on Dietetic Registration.
- Documentation letter regarding psupervision by a licensed dietitian or nutritionist. Supervision
 must be a minimum of four (4) hours per month, plus phone consultation as needed.
- Employment verification form documenting required supervision

Nutrition and Dietetic Practice Board APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE

For office use only				
		\$		
Date Received	Check Number	Amount Rec	eived Receipt I	Number
	Date Issued			
Approved		License #		
 □ Nutrition Assoct Check if you are cut documentation of cut □ American In □ American So □ American Bo □ Yes □ No I and indicate #:R PERSONAL INF 	e I want se I want License I want trently a member or are <i>urrent membership or</i> stitute of Nutrition bociety of Clinical Nutrition am a Registered Dietit	a Provisional Perm you certified by or <i>certification</i> . tion ian? If yes, attach a	nit. nit. ne of the following o	our CDR identification
	er Identification Num			
Mailing address: _				
Contact phone:		Business phone:		
Email address:				
,	FORMATION ountries) where you a tional pages if necess		een licensed, regar	dless or current
State/country Lic	ense number 1	License Status	Date issued	Date expires
	Have you taken the CDI	R Exam? If yes, da	te	
EDUCATION				

School where you graduated:

Nutrition and Dietetic Practice Board APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE

ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS

☐ Yes ☐ No 1. Have you ever been denied a license, registration, or certification?
\Box Yes \Box No 2. Have you ever had your license, registration, or certification revoked,
cancelled, or suspended?
\Box Yes \Box No 3. Have you ever been convicted of any felony, or misdemeanor? Of the
conviction was set aside, give date and explain using additional pages?
\Box Yes \Box No 4. Have you ever been found guilty of unprofessional conduct, professional
misconduct or negligence by any professional licensing board?
☐ Yes ☐ No 5. Are charges now pending against you for unprofessional conduct, professional
misconduct or negligence?
\Box Yes \Box No 6. Are charges now pending against you for any felony or misdemeanor?
\Box Yes \Box No 7. Are you currently more than thirty days in arrears in payment of amounts
required to be paid pursuant to an outstanding judgment and order for child support in New
Mexico or any other state?
\Box Yes \Box No 8. Have you ever used another name under which records relating to your
application, education, training or experience may be filed? If yes, enter names used.
\Box Yes \Box No 9. Have you ever been licensed in New Mexico or any other state?
If yes, license # Issue date Expiration date

If you answered yes to any of the above questions, give details in a notarized affidavit attached to this application.

Nutrition and Dietetic Practice Board APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE

This application must be signed in the presence of a Notary Public.

In making application to the New Mexico Nutrition and Dietetics Practice Board for the issuance of a license, I do swear, depose and say that I am the person referred to in the foregoing application and supportive documents. I have read and agree to abide by the Nutrition and Dietetics Practice Act. And the rules and regulations of the Board. I further understand that the fee submitted with this application is non-refundable and that the materials submitted for consideration become the property of the Board and are non-returnable. I am aware of the schedule of fees and understand that additional fees must be paid prior to the issuance of a license and to keep the license current.

I agree to hold the New Mexico Nutrition and Dietetics Practice Board, its members, officers, agents, and examiners free form any damage or claim for damage or complaint by reason of any action they or any one of them take in connection with this application, the failure of the Board to issue me a license and any other aspect of licensing. I hereby grant permission to the Board to seek any information or references it deems fit in securing my credentials pertinent to this application.

I have carefully read the questions in the forgoing application and have answered them completely, without reservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct. Should I furnish any false information in this application, I herby agree that such shall constitute cause for the denial, suspension or revocation of my license to practice in the State of New Mexico.

Signature of Applicant	Date	
STATE OF	_	
COUNTY OF	_	
BEFORE ME on thisday ofday of appeared the above named applicant who, being statements and answers contained in this applic	g by my duly sworn upon oath, states that all	
Seal	Public	

My commission expires