

PSI licensure:certification 3210 E Tropicana Las Vegas, NV 89121 www.psiexams.com





NEW MEXICO REAL ESTATE COMMISSION **CANDIDATE INFORMATION BULLETIN**

1 1 1
2
2
2
2
3
3
3
3
4
4
4
4
4

Tutorial4
Examination Question Example
Examination Review 5
Score Reporting 5
Duplicate Score Reports 5
Tips for Preparing for your License Examination
Examination Study Materials5
Description of Examinations
Experimental Questions
Content Outline 6
Sample Questions
Applying for a License10
Eligibility/Examination Registration Form
License Application Form
Fingerprinting Instructions and Certification Form17
Special Arrangement RequestEnd of Bulletin

Please refer to our website to check for the most updated information at www.psiexams.com

Copyright © 2015 by PSI licensure:certification

Last Revised 9/14/2015

JOH

Se letinonduse ATREN CONTRAC

etennination (esistention)

it cs a te fet

The CONTENTS OF HITS O

EXAMINATIONS BY PSI

This Candidate Information Bulletin provides you with information about the examination and application process for a real estate licensee in the State of New Mexico.

New Mexico state laws stipulate that a person may not act as a real estate broker without first obtaining a license issued by the New Mexico Real Estate Commission. To be licensed, you must pass an examination to confirm that you have attained at least a minimum level of knowledge regarding the principles, practices, statutes, and regulations relating to real estate.

The New Mexico Real Estate Commission has contracted with PSI licensure:certification (PSI) to conduct examination approval process and examination testing. PSI provides examinations through a network of computer examination centers in New Mexico. PSI works closely with the State to be certain that examinations meet local as well as national requirements in basic principles and examination development standards.

GUIDELINES FOR ELIGIBILITY/EXAMINATION REGISTRATION

Candidates must apply for eligibility with PSI by submitting the completed Eligibility/Examination Registration Form (found at the end of this Candidate Information Bulletin), examination fee and all required documentation. PSI will determine your eligibility for taking the examination.

PSI licensure:certification 3210 E Tropicana Las Vegas, NV 89121 (800) 733-9267 • Fax (702) 932-2666 www.psiexams.com

Upon approval by PSI, you will be sent an Eligibility Postcard, including instructions for scheduling the examination. If your registration is incomplete, PSI will contact you to advise you of any additional information or documents required.

The following fee table lists the applicable fee for each examination. The fee is for <u>each</u> examination, whether you are taking the examination for the first time or repeating.

The Eligibility/Examination Registration Form will expire one year from the date PSI receives the original submission.

EXAMINATION FEE

\$ 95

The fee is \$95 for the 2 examination portions, regardless if you take 1 or both examination portions. Examination retakes are \$95 for 1 or both examination portions. NOTE: EXAMINATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE OR TRANSFERABLE. THE EXAMINATION FEE IS VALID FOR ONE YEAR FORM THE DATE OF PAYMENT.

You may submit the Eligibility/Examination Registration Form, examination fee, and all required documentation to PSI as follows:

STANDARD MAIL REGISTRATION

Complete the Eligibility/Examination Registration Form found at the end of this Candidate Information Bulletin. Return the completed original form(s) to PSI with the appropriate examination fee. Payment of fees may be made by credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover), money order, company check or cashier's check. Money orders or checks must be made payable to PSI. CASH AND PERSONAL CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED.

Upon approval by PSI, you will be sent an Eligibility Postcard, including instructions for scheduling the examination. If your registration is incomplete, PSI will contact you to advise you of any additional information or documents required. Allow 2 weeks for processing before scheduling the examination date.

FAX REGISTRATION

Complete the Eligibility/Examination Registration Form, including your credit card number and expiration date. Fax the completed form(s) to PSI (702) 932-2666. Fax registrations are accepted 24 hours a day.

Upon approval by PSI, you will be sent an Eligibility Postcard, including instructions for scheduling the examination. If your registration is incomplete, PSI will contact you to advise you of any additional information or documents required. Allow 4 business days for processing before scheduling the examination date.

EMAIL REGISTRATION

Complete the Eligibility/Examination Registration Form, including your credit card number and expiration date. Email the completed form to PSI at nmreapp@psionline.com. Email registrations are accepted 24 hours a day.

Please allow 4 business days to process your Registration. After 4 business days, you may go online or call PSI to schedule the examination. Allow 4 business days for processing before scheduling the examination date.

PREREQUISITES FOR TAKING EXAMINATIONS

To be eligible for licensure, candidates must meet qualifications established by New Mexico law and pass the designated examinations. Along with the examination application form, all examination candidates, with the exception of candidates applying under the License Recognition program or candidates who have received pre-licensing education waivers, must submit documentation of having completed 30-hour pre-licensing courses in Real Estate Principles and Practice, Real Estate Law, and Broker Basics not longer than three years prior to making application to take the broker's examination. School Certifications from each school must be submitted with the Eligibility/Examination Registration Form verifying the candidate has completed all required courses. If the candidate is in the process of completing a required course, the course must be completed before taking the examination.

Mandatory Pre-Licensing Courses	Credit Hours
Real Estate Principles and Practice*	30
Real Estate Law*	30
Broker Basics	30

*Pre-licensing courses available by correspondence.



The New Mexico Real Estate Commission, Regulation and Licensing Department has established the following licensing requirements.

Associate Broker examination requirements:

- A. there is no age limit to take the examination, however you must be at least 18 years of age to get a license;
- B. be a legal resident of the United States;
- C. if currently or previously licensed in another state, submit a certified license certificate or certified license history;
- D. candidates for the real estate broker's examination must document completion of 90 credit hours of commission approved real estate pre-licensing courses consisting of one 30 credit-hour course each in Real Estate Principles and Practice, Real Estate Law, and Broker Basics prior to taking the examination. A written course waiver from the Commission Education Director can also serve to make this requirement.

Qualifying Broker's license requirements:

- A. be at least 18 years of age;
- B. be a legal resident of the United States;
- C. if currently or previously licensed in another state, submit a certified license history;
- D. have met one of the following requirements:
 - 1. shall have been actively engaged in real estate business as an associate broker for at least two of the last five years immediately prior to making application for a New Mexico qualifying broker's license, shall document completion of 120 hours of commission approved pre-licensing courses, including one 30 credit-hour course each in Real Estate Principles and Practice, Real Estate Law, Broker Basics, and a Brokerage Office Administration course, and shall have passed the Broker's examination.
 - 2. individuals with current licenses who can document that they were New Mexico qualifying brokers on or before December 31, 2005 are not subject to the requirements in paragraph D (1) above and may regain qualifying broker status by filing a Trade Name Registration Form (found at the "Forms" link of the New Mexico Real Estate Commission web site) and paying the \$20 trade name registration fee to the Commission;
 - or
 - 3. individuals who automatically became associate brokers on January 1, 2006 pursuant to 16.61.31.8(D) shall have been actively engaged in the real estate business as an associate broker for at least two of the last five years immediately prior to making application for a New Mexico qualifying broker's license, shall document completion of a 30-hour Brokerage Office Administration course designated by the commission, and shall pass a real estate broker's examination approved by the commission.

Note: Candidates applying for initial licensure with the Commission must have completed the required pre-licensing education within three years of making application to take the real estate broker's examination and must furnish copies of certificates of course completion with their examination applications. Candidates who are currently licensed by the Commission as associate brokers and who are taking the brokers' examination to upgrade to qualifying broker status are exempt from the three-year time limit and must provide only a certificate of completion of the 30-hour Broker Basics course and a copy of their current associate broker's license.

EXAMINATION SCHEDULING PROCEDURES

Upon approval by PSI, you will be sent an Eligibility Postcard, including instructions for scheduling the examination. If your registration is incomplete, PSI will contact you to advise you of any additional information or documents required.

You must pass both the national and state-specific examinations within 90 days of passing the first examination. If you do not pass both examinations within 90 days, you must retake both examinations.

INTERNET SCHEDULING

For the fastest and most convenient test scheduling process, PSI recommends that candidates register for their exams using the Internet. In order to register over the Internet, candidates will need to have a valid credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover). Candidates register online by accessing PSI's registration website at <u>www.psiexams.com</u>. Internet registration is available 24 hours a day. In order to register by Internet, complete the steps below:

- 1. Log onto PSI's website and create an account. Please enter your email address and first and last name. This information must match exactly with the information provided to PSI. Be sure to check the box next to "Check here to attempt to locate existing records for you in the system".
- 2. You will be asked to select the examination and enter your SS#. Your record will be found and you will now be ready to pay and schedule for the exam. Enter your zip code and a list of the testing sites closest to you will appear. Once you select the desired test site, available dates will appear. If you have problems contact PSI at (800) 733-9267 for help.

TELEPHONE SCHEDULING

The second fastest method of scheduling is via the telephone with PSI's Interactive Voice Response system (IVR) during nonbusiness hours, or through live registrars during business hours. For telephone registration, you will need a valid credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover).

- 1. Complete the Examination Registration Form, including your credit card number and expiration date, so that you will be prepared with all of the information needed to register by telephone.
- 2. Call (800) 733-9267, 24 hours a day and register using the Automated Registration System. Otherwise, PSI registrars are available Monday through Friday between 6:30 am and 9:00 pm, and Saturday-Sunday between 8:00 am and 4:30 pm, Central Time, to receive the information listed on your Examination Registration Form and to schedule your appointment for the examination.

CANCELING AN EXAMINATION APPOINTMENT

You may cancel and reschedule an examination appointment without forfeiting your fee *if your cancellation notice is received 2 days prior to the scheduled examination date.* For example, for a Monday appointment, the cancellation notice would need to be received on the previous Saturday. You may call PSI at (800) 733-9267. Please note that you may also use the automated system, using a touch-tone phone, 24 hours a day in order to cancel and reschedule your appointment.



Note: A voice mail message is not an acceptable form of cancellation. Please use the PSI Website, automated telephone system, or call PSI and speak to a Customer Service Representative.

MISSED APPOINTMENT OR LATE CANCELLATION

If you miss your appointment, you will not be able to take the examination as scheduled. You will forfeit your examination fee, if:

- You do not cancel your appointment 2 days before the scheduled examination date;
- You do not appear for your examination appointment;
- You arrive after examination start time;
- You do not present proper identification when you arrive for the examination.

SPECIAL EXAMINATION ARRANGEMENTS

All examination centers are equipped to provide access in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990, and every reasonable accommodation will be made in meeting a candidate's needs. Applicants with disabilities or those who would otherwise have difficulty taking the examination must fill out the form at the end of this Candidate Information Bulletin and fax to PSI (702) 932-2666. This form also includes out-of-state testing requests.

EXAMINATION SITE CLOSING FOR AN EMERGENCY

In the event that severe weather or another emergency forces the closure of an examination site on a scheduled examination date, your examination will be rescheduled. PSI personnel will attempt to contact you in this situation. However, you may check the status of your examination schedule by calling (800) 733-9267. Every effort will be made to reschedule your examination at a convenient time as soon as possible.

EXAMINATION SITE LOCATION

The New Mexico examinations are administered at the PSI examination centers in New Mexico as listed below:

Albuquerque

2301 Yale Blvd, SE Building C, Suite 4 Albuquerque, NM 87106 From Interstate 25, take the Gibson Blvd exit and travel East on Gibson Blvd until you reach Yale Blvd Southeast. Turn right on Yale Blvd S.E. (heading South), just past Renard Place and then turn right into the Commerce Center. The site is across the street from the Waffle House and Comfort Inn.

Farmington

1307 E. 20th St. Farmington, NM 87401 From E Main St, turn right on Sullivan and turn left on 20th St.

Las Cruces

1001 N. Solano, Suite # D Las Cruces, NM 88001 Take Highway 70 West to Solano. Turn South on Solano and go one block past Spruce to Pinon. The test center is on the Northwest corner of Solano and Pinon.

Roswell

105 E. Fifth St. Roswell, NM 88201 From US-285 S / US-70 W, turn LEFT onto E 5TH ST.

Santa Fe

4001 Office Court Drive, Suite 301 Santa Fe, NM 87507

From Albuquerque International Sunport Airport: Head East on Sunport Blvd SE. Merge onto I-25 N via the ramp to I-40/Downtown and Santa Fe. Take exit 278 and merge onto Cerrillos Road/NM-14 N. Approximately 2.5 miles north on Cerrillos Road, turn right on Wagon Road. Turn right on Office Court Drive into the office park.

From Espanola, NM and North Cities: Head Southeast on East Paseo De Onate/US-285S/US-84S (toward Calle Espinosa). Continue on Sandia Drive. Slight right at South Riverside Drive/US-285S/US-84S. Turn right on Cerrillos Road. Approximately 5 miles on Cerrillos Road, turn left on Wagon Road. Turn right on Office Court Drive into the office park.

Colorado Examination Site

The following are a few of the sites that offer the New Mexico examinations. Please check with PSI regarding other testing locations by calling (800) 733-9267.

Durango

799 East 3rd Street, Suite 3 Durango, CO 81301 From Hwy 550: Turn East on College Drive. Go straight then turn right on East 8th Avenue. Follow until East 3rd Street. PSI Testing Site is on the right in Suite 3.

Texas Examination Sites

the 2nd traffic light to Teckla.

The following are a few of the sites that offer the New Mexico examinations. Please check with PSI regarding other testing locations by calling (800) 733-9267.

Amarillo

4312 Teckla, Suite 500 Amarillo, TX 79109 Exit off I-40 to Western and go South one street passed the 7th traffic light to Ridgecrest and turn right. Stay on Ridgecrest until you come to the red brick office complex on the left side corner of Ridgecrest and Teckla. 4312 is the 3rd building facing Teckla. Ste 500 is the end suite on the North side of the building. Or, from Canyon, take Bell St exit and go North to traffic light at 45th St and turn right. Turn left at

El Paso

The Atrium 1155 Westmoreland, Suite 110 El Paso, TX 79925 From I-10 W, take the Airways exit North. Turn right at the first light (Viscount). Turn right on Westmoreland Dr.

Lubbock

The Center 4413 82nd St., Suite 210 Lubbock, TX 79424 *From S Loop 289, take the Quaker Ave exit and go South. Turn right on* 82nd St.

Midland

Westwood Village Shopping Center 4200 West Illinois Avenue, Suite 200 Midland, TX 79703 From I-20, take Midkiff Road exit. Go North on Midkiff Road. Take a left on Illinois Ave. Go .8 miles and turn right into Chinese Kitchen's parking lot at 4200 W Illinois. Suite is at the end of the left Strip. From Business 20 (Old Hwy 80) going West, follow Front Street until Wall St Traffic light. Go 2 blocks and turn right on Midkiff. Turn left



on Illinois. Go .8 miles and turn right into Chinese Kitchen's parking lot at 4200 W Illinois. Suite is at the end of the left Strip. From North Hwy 349, Look for Loop 250 West (just before overpass). Turn right at Loop and go 2 miles to Exit Midkiff. Turn left at traffic light. Turn right at Illinois traffic signal. Turn right onto Chinese Kitchen's parking Lot at 4200 W Illinois. Suite is at the end of the left Strip.

Additionally, PSI has examination centers in many other regions across the United States. You may take this examination at any of these locations by filling out and faxing the Out-of-State Testing Request form found at the end of this bulletin.

REPORTING TO THE EXAMINATION SITE

On the day of the examination, you should arrive at least 30 minutes before your appointment. This extra time is for signin, identification, and familiarizing you with the examination process. *If you arrive late, you may not be admitted to the examination site and you will forfeit your examination registration fee.*

REQUIRED IDENTIFICATION AT EXAMINATION SITE

You must provide 2 forms of identification. One must be a VALID form of government issued identification (driver's license, state ID, passport, military ID), which bears your signature and has your photograph or a complete physical description. The second ID must have your signature and preprinted legal name. All identification provided must match the name on the Eligibility Letter.

If you cannot provide the required identification, you must call (800) 733-9267 at least 3 weeks prior to your scheduled appointment to arrange a way to meet this security requirement. Failure to provide all of the required identification at the time of the examination without notifying PSI is considered a missed appointment, and you will not be able to take the examination.

SECURITY PROCEDURES

The following security procedures will apply during the examination:

- NO conversing or any other form of communication among candidates is permitted once you enter the examination area.
- Cell phones, pagers, and children are not allowed in the examination center. NO personal items are to enter the testing center. PSI will not be responsible for any personal items and suggests that you leave them locked in the trunk of your car.
- Only non-programmable calculators that are silent, battery-operated, do not have paper tape printing capabilities, and do not have a keyboard containing the alphabet will be allowed in the examination site.
- No smoking, eating, or drinking will be allowed at the examination site.
- You may not exit the building during the examination.
- Copying or communicating examination content is a violation of PSI security policy and the State Law. Either one may result in the disqualification of examination results and may lead to legal action.

TAKING THE EXAMINATION BY COMPUTER

Taking the PSI examination by computer is simple. You do not need any computer experience or typing skills. You will use fewer keys than you use on a touch-tone telephone. All response keys are colored and have prominent characters. An illustration of the special keyboard is shown here. You may also use a mouse.



You will be directed to a semiprivate testing station to take the examination. When you are seated at the testing station, you will be prompted to confirm your name, identification number, and the examination for which you are registered.

TUTORIAL

Before you start your examination, an introductory tutorial to the computer and keyboard is provided on the computer screen. The time you spend on this tutorial, up to 15 minutes, DOES NOT count as part of your examination time. Sample questions are included following the tutorial so that you may practice using the keys, answering questions, and reviewing your answers.

One question appears on the screen at a time. During the examination, minutes remaining will be displayed at the top of the screen and updated as you record your answers.

EXAMINATION QUESTION EXAMPLE

During the examination, you should press 1, 2, 3, or 4 to select your answer or press "MARK" to mark it for later review. You should then press "ENTER" to record your answer and move on to the next question. A sample question display follows:



				m Mark	Comments	🙌 Goto Help	X End
	Question: 3 of 40	Answered: 2	Unanswered: 1	Marked: O	View: All	Time Left(Min): 359	
3.	What do the stars	s on the United S	itates of America's	flag represent?			
	(Choose from the fo	bliowing options)					
	🗌 1. Presidents	5					
	🗌 2. Colonies						
	🗌 3. States						
	🗌 4. Wars						
			,				
			<< Back	Next >>			

IMPORTANT: After you have entered your responses, you will later be able to return to any question(s) and change your response, provided the examination time has not run out.

EXAMINATION REVIEW

PSI, in cooperation with the New Mexico Real Estate Commission, will be consistently evaluating the examinations being administered to ensure that the examinations accurately measure competency in the required knowledge areas. While taking the examination, examinees will have the opportunity to provide comments on any questions, by using the comments key on the keyboard. These comments will be analyzed by PSI examination development staff. PSI does not respond to individuals regarding these comments. All substantive comments are reviewed. This is the only review of examination materials available to candidates.

SCORE REPORTING

In order to pass the examinations, you must receive a score of at least 75%.

Your score will be given to you immediately following completion of the examination. The following summary describes the score reporting process:

- <u>On screen</u> your score will appear immediately on the computer screen. This will happen automatically at the end of the time allowed for the examination;
 - If you <u>pass</u>, you will immediately receive a successful notification.
 - If you <u>do not pass</u>, you will receive a diagnostic report indicating your strengths and weaknesses by examination type with the score report.
- <u>On paper</u> a score report will be printed at the examination site.

DUPLICATE SCORE REPORTS

You may request a duplicate score report after your examination by emailing <u>scorereport@psionline.com</u> or by calling 800-733-9267.

TIPS FOR PREPARING FOR YOUR LICENSE EXAMINATION

The following suggestions will help you prepare for your examination.

- Planned preparation increases your likelihood of passing.
- Start with a current copy of this Candidate Information Bulletin and use the examination content outline as the basis of your study.
- Read study materials that cover all the topics in the content outline.
- Take notes on what you study. Putting information in writing helps you commit it to memory and it is also an excellent business practice. Discuss new terms or concepts as frequently as you can with colleagues. This will test your understanding and reinforce ideas.
- Your studies will be most effective if you study frequently, for periods of about 45 to 60 minutes. Concentration tends to wander when you study for longer periods of time.

EXAMINATION STUDY MATERIALS

The following is a list of possible study materials for the real estate examination. The list is given to identify resources and does not constitute an endorsement by PSI or by the New Mexico Real Estate Commission. Use the latest edition available.

NATIONAL PORTION OF THE EXAMINATION

- Real Estate Fundamentals, 8th Edition, 2011, Gaddy and Hart, Dearborn Real Estate Education, (800) 972-2220, www.dearborn.com
- Modern Real Estate Practice, 18th Edition, Galaty, Allaway, and Kyle, Dearborn Real Estate Education, (800) 972-2220, www.dearborn.com
- Real Estate Law, 8th Edition, 2013, Elliot Clayman, Dearborn Real Estate Education, (800) 972-2220, www.dearborn.com
- The Language of Real Estate, 7th Edition, 2013, John Reilly, Dearborn Real Estate Education, (800) 972-2220, www.dearborn.com
- Real Estate Principles & Practices, 8th Edition, Arlyne Geschwender, OnCourse Publishing, N19W24075 Riverwood Drive, Suite 200, Waukesha, WI 53188, 855-733-7239, www.oncoursepublishing.com ISBN 0324784554
- Real Estate Principles, 12th Edition, Charles Jacobus, OnCourse Publishing, N19W24075 Riverwood Drive, Suite 200, Waukesha, WI 53188, 855-733-7239, www.oncoursepublishing.com ISBN 1285420985

STATE PORTION OF THE EXAMINATION

2014-2015 Edition, New Mexico Real Estate License Law and Real Estate Commission Rules, New Mexico Real Estate Commission, 5500 San Antonio Dr. NE Suite B, Albuquerque, NM 87109,

http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/Real_Estate_Commission_ Rules_and_Laws.aspx



Many of these reference materials are available for purchase at <u>www.psionlinestore.com</u> or by calling the PSI Online Store, toll-free, at (866) 589-3088.

Titles currently in stock are listed on the order form near the end of this candidate information bulletin.

DESCRIPTION OF EXAMINATIONS

You are required to pass both the state and national portions of the examination. If you fail one portion of the examination, you will only need to register to retake the failed portion. You must pass both the national and state-specific examinations within 90 days of passing the first examination. If you do not pass both examinations within 90 days, you must retake both examinations.

EXAMINATION SUMMARY TABLE							
Examination # of Passing Score Time Allowed Questions							
Broker National	80	60 correct	120 Minutes				
Broker State	50	38 correct	60 Minutes				

EXPERIMENTAL QUESTIONS

In addition to the number of examination items specified, a small number of "experimental" questions (5 to 10) may be administered to candidates during the examinations. These questions will not be scored and the time taken to answer them will not count against examination time. The administration of such non-scored experimental questions is an essential step in developing future licensing examinations.

CONTENT OUTLINES

The examination content outlines have been prepared and are periodically updated by committees of professionals who are subject matter experts in real estate practice, real estate instruction, and regulatory issues. The examination content outlines these professionals have prepared identify areas of importance to licensees in order for them to perform their duties to the public in a competent and legally responsible manner.

Use the outline as a guide for pre-examination review of course material. The outlines list the topics that are on the examination and the number of questions for each topic. Do not schedule your examination until you are familiar with the topics in the outline.

NATIONAL PORTION CONTENT OUTLINE

(REAL ESTATE PRINCIPLES AND PRACTICES) CONTENT OUTLINE

Property ownership (6 items)

- 1. Classes of property
 - a. Real versus personal property
 - b. Defining fixtures
- 2. Land characteristics and legal descriptions a. Physical characteristics of land

- b. Economic characteristics of land
- c. Types of legal property descriptions
- d. Usage of legal property descriptions
- e. Physical descriptions of property and improvements
- f. Mineral, air and water rights
- 3. Encumbrances and effects on property ownership
 - a. Liens (types and priority)
 - b. Easements and licenses
 - c. Encroachments
- 4. Types of ownership
 - a. Types of estates
 - b. Forms of ownership
 - c. Leaseholds
 - d. Common interest ownership properties
 - e. Bundle of rights

Land use controls and regulations (5 items)

- 1. Government rights in land
 - a. Property taxes and special assessments
 - b. Eminent domain, condemnation, escheat
 - c. Police power
- 2. Public controls based in police power
 - a. Zoning and master plans
 - b. Building codes
 - c. Environmental impact reports
 - d. Regulation of special land types (floodplain, coastal, etc.)
- 3. Regulation of environmental hazards
 - a. Abatement, mitigation and cleanup requirements
 - b. Restrictions on sale or development of contaminated property
 - c. Types of hazards and potential for agent or seller liability
- 4. Private controls
 - a. Deed conditions or restrictions
 - b. Homeowners association (HOA) regulations

Valuation and market analysis (6 items)

- 1. Value
 - a. Market value and market price
 - b. Value
 - i. Types and characteristics of value
 - ii. Principles of value
 - iii. Market cycles and other factors affecting property value
- 2. Methods of estimating value/appraisal process
 - a. Market or sales comparison approach
 - b. Replacement cost or summation approach
 - c. Income approach
 - d. Basic appraisal terminology (e.g., replacement versus reproduction cost, reconciliation, depreciation, kinds of obsolescence)
- 3. Competitive/Comparative Market Analysis (CMA)
 - a. Selecting and adjusting comparables
 - b. Contrast CMA and appraisal
 - i. Price per square foot
 - ii. Gross rent and gross income multipliers
 - iii. Capitalization rate
- 4. Appraisal practice; situations requiring appraisal by a certified appraiser

Financing (7 items)

- 1. General concepts
 - a. LTV ratios, points, origination fees, discounts, broker commissions
 - b. Mortgage insurance (PMI)



- c. Lender requirements, equity, qualifying buyers, loan application procedures
- Types of loans and sources of loan money
- a. Term or straight loans
- b. Amortized and partially amortized (balloon) loans
- c. Adjustable rate mortgage (ARM) loans
- d. Conventional versus insured
- e. Reverse mortgages; equity loans; subprime and other nonconforming loans
- f. Seller/owner financing
- g. Primary market
- h. Secondary market
- i. Down payment assistance programs
- Government programs
 - a. FHA

2.

- b. VA
- c. Other federal programs
- 4. Mortgages/deeds of trust
 - a. Mortgage clauses (assumption, due-on-sale, alienation, acceleration, prepayment, release)
 - b. Lien theory versus title theory
 - c. Mortgage/deeds of trust and note as separate documents
- 5. Financing/credit laws
 - a. Lending and disclosures
 - i. Truth in lending
 - ii. RESPA
 - iii. Equal Credit Opportunity
 - b. Fraud and lending practices
 - i. Mortgage fraud
 - ii. Predatory lending practices (risks to clients)
 - iii. Usury lending laws
 - iv. Appropriate cautions to clients seeking financing

General principles of agency (11 items)

- 1. Nature of agency relationships
 - Types of agents and agencies (special, general, designated, subagent, etc.)
 - b. Nonagents (transactional/facilitational)
 - c. Fiduciary responsibilities
- 2. Creation and disclosure of agency and agency agreements (general, not state specific)
 - a. Agency and agency agreements
 - b. Disclosure when acting as principal or other conflict of interest
- 3. Responsibilities of agent/principal
 - a. Duties to client/principal (buyer, seller, tenant or landlord)
 - b. Traditional common law agency duties; effect of dual agency on agent's duties
- 4. Responsibilities of agent to customers and third parties, including disclosure, honesty, integrity, accounting for money
- 5. Termination of agency
 - a. Expiration

2.

bsi

- b. Completion/performance
- c. Termination by force of law
- d. Destruction of property/death of principal
- e. Mutual agreement

Property condition and disclosures (9 items)

WWW.PSIEXAMS.COM

- Property condition disclosure a. Property owner's role regarding property
- condition
- b. Licensee's role regarding property condition Warranties
- a. Purpose of home or construction warranty

- programs
- b. Scope of home or construction warranty programs
- 3. Need for inspection and obtaining/verifying information
 - a. Explanation of property inspection process and appropriate use
 - b. Agent responsibility to inquire about "red flag" issues
 - c. Responding to non-client inquiries
- 4. Material facts related to property condition or location a. Land/soil conditions
 - b. Accuracy of representation of lot or improvement size, encroachments or easements affecting use
 - c. Pest infestation, toxic mold and other interior environmental hazards
 - d. Structural issues such as roof, gutters, downspouts, doors, windows, foundation
 - e. Condition of electrical and plumbing systems, and of equipment or appliances that are fixtures
 - f. Location within natural hazard or specifically regulated area, potentially uninsurable property
- g. Known alterations or additions5. Material facts related to public controls, statutes of public utilities
 - a. Zoning and planning information
 - Boundaries of school/utility/taxation districts, flight paths
 - c. Local taxes and special assessments, other liens
 - d. External environmental hazards
 - e. Stigmatized/psychologically impacted property, Megan's Law issues

Contracts (12 items)

- 1. General knowledge of contract law
 - a. Requirements for validity
 - b. When contract is considered performed/discharged
 - c. Assignment and novation
 - d. Breach of contract and remedies for breach
 - e. Contract clauses
- 2. Listing agreements
 - a. General requirements for valid listing
 - b. Exclusive listings
 - c. Non-exclusive listings
- 3. Buyer/tenant representation agreements, including key elements and provisions of buyer and/or tenant agreements
- 4. Offers/purchase agreements
 - a. General requirements
 - b. When offer becomes binding (notification)
 - c. Contingencies
 - d. Time is of the essence
- 5. Counteroffers/multiple counteroffers
 - a. Counteroffer cancels original offer
 - b. Priority of multiple counteroffers
- 6. Leases
 - a. Types of leases, e.g., percentage, gross, net, ground
 - b. Lease with obligation to purchase or lease with an option to purchase
- 7. Other real estate contracts
 - a. Options
 - b. Right of first refusal

Transfer of title (5 items)

- 1. Title insurance
 - a. What is insured against
 - b. Title searches, title abstracts, chain of title

7

c. Cloud on title, suit to quiet title

- 2. Deeds
 - a. Purpose of deed, when title passes
 - b. Types of deeds (general warranty, special
 - warranty, quitclaim) and when used c. Essential elements of deeds
 - d. Importance of recording
- 3. Escrow or closing; tax aspects of transferring title to real property
 - a. Responsibilities of escrow agent
 - b. Prorated items
 - c. Closing statements/HUD-1
 - d. Estimating closing costs
 - e. Property and income taxes
- I. Special processes
 - a. Foreclosure/short sale
 - b. Real estate owned (REO)

Practice of real estate (12 items)

1

- Trust/escrow accounts (general, not state specific)
- a. Purpose and definition of trust accounts, including monies held in trust accounts
- b. Responsibility for earnest money and other trust monies, including commingling/conversion
- 2. Federal fair housing laws
 - a. Protected classes
 - i. Covered transactions
 - ii. Specific laws and their effects
 - b. Compliance
 - i. Types of violations and enforcement
 - ii. Exceptions
- 3. Advertising and technology
 - a. Incorrect "factual" statements versus "puffing"
 - i. Truth in advertising
 - ii. Fair housing issues in advertising
 - b. Fraud, technology issues
 - i. Uninformed misrepresentation versus deliberate misrepresentation (fraud)
 - ii. Technology issues in advertising and marketing
- 4. Agent supervision
 - a. Liability/responsibility for acts of associated licensees (employees or independent contractors) and unlicensed employees
 - b. Responsibility to train and supervise associated licensees (employees or independent contractors) and unlicensed employees
- 5. Commissions and fees
 - a. Procuring cause/protection clauses
 - b. Referrals and other finder fees
- 6. General ethics
 - a. Practicing within area of competence
 - b. Avoiding unauthorized practice of law
- 7. Antitrust laws
 - a. Antitrust laws and purpose
 - b. Antitrust violations in real estate

Real estate calculations (4 items)

- 1. Basic math concepts
 - a. Area
 - b. Loan-to-value ratios
 - c. Discount points
 - d. Equity

psi

- e. Down payment/amount to be financed
- 2. Calculations for transactions, including mortgage calculations
- 3. Property tax calculations

WWW.PSIEXAMS.COM

4. Prorations (utilities, rent, property taxes, insurance,

etc.)

- a. Commission and commission splits
- b. Seller's proceeds of sale
- c. Transfer tax/conveyance tax/revenue stamps
- d. Amortization tables
- e. Interest rates
- f. Interest amounts
- g. Monthly installment payments
- h. Buyer qualification ratios
- 5. Calculations for valuation
 - a. Competitive/comparative market analyses (CMA)
 - b. Net operating income
 - c. Depreciation
 - d. Capitalization rate
 - e. Gross rent and gross income multipliers (GRM, GIM)

Specialty areas (3 items)

- 1. Subdivisions, including development-wide CC&Rs
- 2. Commercial, industrial and income property
 - a. Trade fixtures
 - b. Accessibility
 - c. Tax depreciation
 - d. 1031 exchanges
 - e. Trust fund accounts for income property

STATE SPECIFIC PORTION CONTENT OUTLINE

Real Estate Commission (6 items)

- a. Purposes, Powers, and Duties.
 - b. License Law Violations, Investigations, and Audit of Records
 - c. Hearings, Penalties, and Appeals. (Uniform License Law)

Licensing Requirements (6 items)

- a. Activities Requiring License
 - i. Limitations on activities of Unlicensed Assistants
 - ii. License needed to sell timeshare (unless owner)
- b. Qualifications for Licensure
 - i. Education Requirements
 - ii. Criminal Background
 - checks/Fingerprinting
 - iii. Licensing Procedure
- c. License Renewal and Transfer Requirements
 - i. Continuing education
 - ii. Address or name change
 - iii. Errors and Omissions Insurance
 - iv. Inactive license/reactivation

Real Estate Commission Regulations (15 items)

c. Advertising and Signage

e. Property Management

Time Issues

Out of State Owners

d. Record Keeping

i. -

ii.

iii.

iv.

۷.

- a. Qualifying and Associate Broker Responsibilities
- b. Qualifying Broker/Associate Broker Relationships, Employment and Independent Contractor Agreements

Definition of Property Management

Requirement for written agreement

Must be under auspices of Qualifying Broker

8

vi. Property Management trust accounts and commingling issues

Broker Duties, Disclosure and Brokerage Relationships (15 items)

- a. Honesty and Reasonable Care
- b. Compliance with Local, State, and Federal Laws (other than Fair Housing & Anti-Discrimination).
- c. Performance Written Agreements
- d. Assistance to Clients and Customers in Completing Transactions
- e. Acknowledgment when Outside Expertise is Needed
- f. Prompt Accounting for Money and Property
- g. Written Disclosure of Existing Brokerage Relationships, Personal Interest in Transaction, Brokerage Relationship Options
- h. Written Disclosure of Adverse Material Facts
- i. Maintenance of Confidential Information learned in Prior Agency Relationship
- j. Transaction Confidentiality /Customer & Client Information
- k. Types of Brokerage Relationships Available in New Mexico

Additional State-Required Topics (8 items)

- a. New Mexico Property Taxes
- b. New Mexico Mechanic's Liens
- c. Community Property
- d. Stigmatized Property
- e. Government Survey System
- f. Septic systems
- g. Water rights issues (well and surface rights)
- h. New Mexico Human Rights Act
- i. PID Disclosures
- j. HOA Disclosures

SAMPLE QUESTIONS

The following questions are offered as examples of the types of questions you will be asked during the course of the New Mexico real estate broker examinations. They are intended primarily to familiarize you with the style and format of questions you can expect to find in the examinations. The examples do NOT represent the full range of content or difficulty levels found in the actual examinations.

Sample Broker Questions

- A. Which of the following interests in property is held by a person who is granted a lifetime use of a property that will be transferred to a third party upon the death of the lifetime user?
 - 1. A life estate.
 - 2. A remainder estate.
 - 3. An estate for years.
 - 4. A reversionary estate.
- B. Which of the following statements BEST identifies the meaning of the term, "rescission of a contract"?
 - 1. A ratification of a contract by all parties.
 - 2. A return of all parties to their condition before the contract was executed.
 - 3. A transfer or assignment of a particular responsibility from one of the parties to another.
 - 4. A review of the contract by the legal counsel of either party that may result in a cancellation without penalty or further obligation.
- C. Which of the following clauses in a mortgage allows the lender to demand loan repayment if a borrower sells the property?
 - 1. Defeasance
 - 2. Prepayment
 - 3. Acceleration
 - 4. Alienation
- D. How much cash MUST a buyer furnish in addition to a \$2,500 deposit if the lending institution grants a 90% loan on an \$80,000 property?
 - 1. \$5,500.
 - 2. \$6,975.
 - 3. \$7,450.
 - 4. None of the above.
- E. Which of the following single-family residences would get the MOST accurate appraisal by applying the reproduction cost approach to value?
 - 1. A rental property.
 - 2. A vacant property.
 - 3. A new property.
 - 4. An historic property.

Answers to Sample Broker Questions: A: 1; B: 2; C: 4; D: 1; E: 3

APPLYING FOR A LICENSE

Once you have passed the required examination(s), you must apply for licensure with the Commission by mailing the completed License Application Form (found at the end of the Candidate Information Bulletin), licensure fee, all required documentation outlined in the application, including your original Passing Score Report. The Commission will determine your eligibility for licensure. All questions about licensure information should be directed to:

New Mexico Real Estate Commission 5500 San Antonio Dr. NE Suite B Albuquerque, NM 87109 505.222.9820 • 800.801.7505 www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/real_estate_commission.aspx

License applicants must apply within six months of passing their final examination.

The Real Estate Commission requires all applicants previously or currently licensed in real estate in another state to submit a certified license history from that state's licensing agency.

All persons applying for or renewing a New Mexico real estate broker's license or upgrading an associate broker's license to a qualifying broker's license must submit to the New Mexico Department of Public Safety two completed fingerprint cards, a completed company or law enforcement agency Fingerprint Certification Form, and a check or money order for \$44.00 payable to the New Mexico Department of Public Safety. A fingerprinting instruction sheet (titled New Mexico Real Commission Broker Fingerprinting Program Begins January 1, 2012) and a Fingerprint Certification Form are found at page 18 and 19. Please see the Real Estate Commission web site at www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/real_estate_commission.aspx for a statewide list of public and private providers of fingerprinting services. Fingerprint cards may be obtained from the New Mexico Real Estate Commission by contacting Commission Chief Investigator Lyn Carter at (505) 222-9881, or email at lyn.carter2@state.nm.us.

License applicants must provide proof of errors and omissions insurance to the Commission with their license application packet.

All active real estate Brokers are required to have errors and omission insurance. Licensees may obtain insurance from the Real Estate Commission's contract insurance carrier, Rice Insurance Services, or from another carrier provided the carrier certifies to the Commission that their coverage is equivalent to the contract program. Enrollment information may be obtained from the Commission office or from Rice Insurance Services by calling 800.637.7319.

License applicants who intend to work for a brokerage that has a group insurance policy with an insurance company other than Rice Insurance Service should ask their Qualifying Broker to provide them with a certificate of insurance verifying current coverage, and verifying that the coverage being provided is equivalent to the coverage being provided by the Commission's contract insurance carrier as required under Part 5 of the Commission Rules.





NEW MEXICO REAL ESTATE Eligibility/Examination Registration Form

Read the Candidate Information Bulletin before completing this form

CANDIDATE INFORMATION						
Last Name (include suffix: i.e., Jr., Sr., III)	First Name	Middle Name or Initial	Social Security Number			
Street Address (including apartment number	or P.O. Box, if appli	cable)				
City, State, ZIP Code						
E-mail Address						
DAYTIME PHONE (INCLUDING AREA CODE)	Cell Phone	(including area code)	Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY)			
Are you a legal resident of the United States? Note: You must be a legal resident of the United States?	States to qualify to tak		entation			
I am faxing the Special Arrangement Request						
Must be a legal resident of the United States and have met one of the following requirements (check one box): Associate Broker: Must have completed 90 hours of classroom instruction in approved real estate courses (30 Hrs - Real Estate Principles and Practice; 30 Hrs - Broker Basics), no longer than three (3) years prior from the date on this application to take the examination. Provide the required documentation as indicated in items a, b and c under the <i>Real Estate Course Verification</i> section. UPGRADING TO A QUALIFYING BROKER: Candidates who are currently licensed by the Commission as associate brokers and who are taking the broker's examination to upgrade to qualifying broker status are exempt from the three-year time limit and must provide only a certificate of completion of the 30-hour Broker Basics course and a copy of their current associate broker's license. Effective October 29, 2013, if approved to test, you will be exempt from having to take the National portion of the broker's examination. If You Have a Pre-Licensing Education Waiver Letter from the New Mexico Real Estate Commission are exempt from having to take the National portion of the Education Director of the New Mexico Real Estate Commission are exempt from having to take the National portion of the broker's examination. After June 14, 2013, candidates who are currently licensed in another state and who have received a Pre-Licensing Education Waiver Letter from the Education Director of the New Mexico Real Estate Commission are exempt from having to take the National portion of the broker's examination. After June 14, 2013, candidates who are currently licensed in another state and who have received a Pre-Licensing Education Waiver Letter from the Education Director of the New Mexico Real Estate Commission are ex						
REAL ESTATE COURSE VERIFICATION						
	-					
□ a: 30 Hrs - Real Estate Law	□ c: 30 Hrs	- Broker Basics	 Letter of pre-licensing course waiver from New Mexico Real Estate Commission Education Administrator 			
b: 30 Hrs - Real Estate Principles and Practice						
	ITY/REGISTRATION	FORM CONTINUES ON NEXT PA	GE			

psi

AFFIDAVIT					
I hereby certify that all of the information con belief.	tained in this completed form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and				
Signature of Applicant	Date				
Examination Fee is \$95. Examination regist	ration fees are nonrefundable.				
Payment: Pay by credit card, money order, com	pany check or cashier's check payable to PSI. Cash and personal checks are not accepted.				
If paying by credit card, check one: 🔲 VIS	SA 🗖 MasterCard 🗖 American Express 📮 Discover				
Card No:	Exp. Date:				
Card Verification No:	The card verification number may be located on the back of the card (the last three digits on the signature strip) or on the front of the card (the four digits to the right and above the card account number).				
Billing Street Address:	Billing Zip Code:				
Cardholder Name (Print):	Signature:				
Send this completed form with the \$95 fee p	bayment and all required documentation to:				
	PSI licensure:certification 3210 E Tropicana Las Vegas, NV 89121 (800) 733-9267 • Fax (702) 932-2666 Email: <u>nmreapp@psionline.com</u>				
By filing this registration, you assume f	ull responsibility for your exam selection. If you are unsure which exam is necessary for				

the license type you are seeking, resolve this question before you register.





NEW MEXICO REAL ESTATE BROKER License Application Form

Read the Candidate Information Bulletin before completing this form

CANDIDATE INFORMATION						
Last Name (include suffix: i.e., Jr., Sr., III)	First Name	Γ	Aiddle Name or Initial			
Residential Mailing Address, City, State, ZIP Co	de					
Location Address, City, State, ZIP Code (if diffe	rent than residential mailing add	ess - do not use P. O. Box: atta	ich map if needed)			
E-mail Address						
RESIDENTIAL PHONE (INCLUDING AREA CODE)	Social Security	Number	Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY)			
Are you an active New Mexico associate broke If you answer yes, return your original associat			□ No			
Indicate the license status you are seeking (sele		Inactive				
Qualifying Broker:						
two of the last five years im hours of classroom instructio	mediately prior to making app	ication for a Qualifying Bro ses (30 Hrs - Real Estate La	r or associate broker for at least oker's license and completed 120 aw; 30 Hrs - Real Estate Principles			
	eal estate qualifying broker of		ication has been affiliated with performed actively during the			
Dates Covered From	То	Qualifying Broker	Signature			
LICENS	SE APPLICATION FORM CO	ITINUES ON NEXT PAGE				

	ersigned, I		qualifying broker: by request that an active associate broker's license be mailed to my real estate brokerage firm for the person named
Name of Co	mpany: _		
Company Te	elephone	Numt	ber:
Location Ad	ddress:		
Mailing Add	Iress:		
City:			State: Zip:
Signature of Q	Qualifying Br	oker <i>(d</i>	or signature of applicant applying as an individual broker) Printed Name of Qualifying Broker License Number
Signature of A	uthorized C	orpora	te Officer (if applicable)
	umentatio	n as c	n of the application by answering "Yes" or "No" to all questions below. If you answer "Yes" to any of the first six question described in the Application Instructions on Page 14. If you answer "No" to questions seven or eight, please see Page 15 fo
	No	1.	Have you ever had a complaint filed against you with a real estate licensing agency of this or any other state or jurisdiction? If you answered "Yes," attach relevant documentation.
		2.	Have you ever had a real estate license denied, suspended, limited, conditioned, or revoked? If you answered "Yes," attach relevant documents.
		3.	Have you been convicted in any court of competent jurisdiction in New Mexico or elsewhere of a felony or any offense involving moral turpitude?
		4.	Are you now, or have you at any time during the past five years been named as a defendant in any lawsuits pertaining to any real estate transaction? If you answered "Yes," attach relevant documentation.
		5.	Does your license application include a Fingerprint Certification Form completed by a private fingerprinting services provider or a public or law enforcement agency? Please see the fingerprinting instruction sheet and the Fingerprint Certification Form on pages 18 and 19.
		6.	Are you currently licensed or have you ever been licensed as a real estate qualifying broker/associate broker in New Mexico or any other state or jurisdiction? If you answered "Yes," indicate which type of license and list state(s) and attach license histories from the state(s).
		7.	Do you have errors and omissions insurance coverage meeting the requirements of Part 5 of the Real Estate Commission Rules? If you answered "Yes," please attach a Certificate of Insurance to this application. If you answered "NO," please see the reverse side of this form for additional information.
		8.	Are you a legal resident of the United States? (You must be a legal resident of the United States to qualify for a real estate broker's license.)
AFFIDAVIT: Do not sign	: I hereby n until you	r certi <i>u hav</i>	ify that all of the information contained in this completed form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief <i>The completed this License Application Form in its entirety</i> .
Signature of	f Applican	nt	Date
			LICENSE APPLICATION FORM CONTINUES ON NEXT PAGE



Application Instructions

4.

If you answered "Yes" to any one of the first five questions on the reverse side of this application, locate the number(s) you answered "Yes" to below and determine supporting documentation that should accompany your application for licensure.

- Prepare and send a written account explaining the details of the complaint and its resolution.
- 2. Provide a letter from the licensing agency detailing the events that caused action to be taken against your license, including dates and
- locations and any subsequent reinstatement of your license.
- 3. Provide the following documentation:
 - a. A copy of the judgment and sentence.
 - b. A written account of your part in the alleged offense and its current status.
 - c. If applicable, a letter from your parole officer detailing your degree of rehabilitation.
 - Submit the following documentation:
 - a. Copies of all relevant civil complaints in which you have been named as a defendant.
 - b. Copies of the final dispositions of subject lawsuits (if available), or a written explanation of the current status of complaint(s) against you.
- 5. See the fingerprinting instruction sheet and Fingerprint Certification Form on pages 17 and 18.

If you answered "No" to questions seven or eight of this application, locate the number(s) you answered "No" to below for additional information.

- 6. Request from the state(s)/jurisdiction(s) (other than New Mexico) in which you currently or previously practiced, a certified license history which is to be included with this information when you submit your New Mexico Real Estate Broker License Application packet
- 7. All active real estate Associate Brokers and Qualifying Brokers are required to have errors and omissions insurance meeting the requirements of part 5 of the Real Estate Commission Rules and Regulations. Insurance may be obtained through the Commission's contract insurance carrier, Rice Insurance Services, or another insurance carrier. Enrollment forms and other information may be obtained from the Commission office, the Commission Web site at <u>www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/real_estate_commission.aspx</u> or from Rice Insurance Services at 800.637.7319.
- 8. If you answered "No" to question 8, you are not eligible for licensure. You must be a legal resident of the United States to qualify for a real estate broker's license.

AFFIDAVIT OF CHARACTER: You must have the Affidavit of Character section below completed by two individuals *or* include character reference letters from two individuals who own property in the county in which you reside or do business.

Affidavit of Character

In signing this application, I affirm to the best of my knowledge and belief that the individual named on this form is of good moral character and is honest and trustworthy. I further certify that I am a property owner in the county of residence or place of business of the individual named herein

Name (Print)			Name (Print)		
Name (Signature)			Name (Signature)		
Street Address	<u>.</u>		Street Address		
City	State	Zip	City	State	Zip

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REQUIRED

- 1. License history: Provide a certified license history if you are currently or have previously been licensed in another state or jurisdiction.
- 2. Documentation of education: Include your official transcripts or original Form REC-134 as proof of completion of educational requirements.
- 3. A completed Fingerprint Certification Form.
- 4. Examination passing score reports.

CONSENT TO LAWSUITS

If the address on this application is not within the State of New Mexico, by virtue of my signature below, I do hereby irrevocably consent that lawsuits and actions may be commenced against me in the proper courts of the State of New Mexico.

Signature of Applicant

CONSENT TO EXAMINE AND AUDIT TRUST, TRUSTEE OR ESCROW ACCOUNTS

I,, being a licensed New Mexico real estate broker or broker applicant hereby authorize the New Mexico Re	al
Estate Commission or its authorized representative to examine and audit the trust, trustee, or escrow account maintained by me, and further	
authorize any bank or recognized depository to permit such examination and audit. This consent and authorization is made personally and/or	
corporately.	

Signature of Applicant

Date

Date



CREDIT CARD AUTHORIZATION FORM

License Application Fee is \$270.

Payment may be made by personal check, company check, cashier's check, money order, Visa, or MasterCard, payable to the New Mexico Real Estate Commission.

Credit card (MasterCard or VISA) payment accepted for phone or fax	registrations only. (Check One):	MC	VISA
Card No:	Exp. Date:		
Cardholder Name (Print):	_Signature:		

Send this completed form and all required documentation to:

New Mexico Real Estate Commission 5500 San Antonio Dr. NE Suite B Albuquerque, NM 87109 Email: <u>nmreapp@psionline.com</u>



New Mexico Real Estate Commission Broker Fingerprinting Program

Applicants for licensure by the New Mexico Real Estate Commission and applicants for license renewal are required to be fingerprinted. The fingerprinting requirement was enacted by the 2011 state legislature at the request of the Real Estate Commission as a public protection measure and to ensure that in-state and out-of-state license applicants are treated equally in the criminal background check process. The criminal history record includes information concerning a person's arrests, indictments or other formal criminal charges and any dispositions thereof, including convictions, dismissals, acquittals, sentencing, and correctional supervision.

Effective November 5, 2013, the New Mexico Department of Public Safety (DPS) is converting to an electronic Live Scan system of fingerprinting and will no longer accept hardcopy fingerprint cards.

Prior to being fingerprinted for purposes of initial licensure or license renewal at one of the approved Live Scan sites (statewide site list attached), licensees will be required to register on the vendor web site at <u>www.cogentid.com</u> by selecting the Fingerprint Card User box. Licensees will need the New Mexico Real Estate Commission identifier number, which is NM920263Z, to register. Licensees may also register by telephone at 1-877-996-6277.

Licensees may pay the \$44.00 fingerprint processing fee on line on the <u>www.cogentid.com</u> website using a credit or debit card at the time of registration, or pay the fee by money order or cashier's check at a Live Scan site at the time of fingerprinting. No cash or personal checks will be accepted.

Because fingerprints will be transmitted to DPS electronically, licensees will no longer have to mail hardcopy fingerprint cards to DPS. However, licensees should ask the Live Scan vendor to complete the Fingerprint Certification Form found in the new applicant or renewal packet as licensees will still be required to submit that form to the Commission along with their application or renewal paperwork.

PLEASE NOTE THAT LICENSEES WILL STILL HAVE THE OPTION TO BE FINGERPRINTED BY PROVIDERS THAT ARE NOT LIVE SCAN VENDORS. However, licensees choosing that option will have to mail the completed hardcopy fingerprint cards and the \$44.00 processing fee to 3M Cogent, New Mexico CardScan, 5025 Bradenton Avenue, Suite A, Dublin, Ohio 43017

LICENSEES RESIDING OUTSIDE OF NEW MEXICO who do not have access to a Live Scan site may submit hardcopy fingerprint cards and payment to 3M Cogent at the above address. In order to accommodate licensees who do not have access to a Live Scan site, the application and renewal packets will continue to include hardcopy fingerprint cards.

Please do not hesitate to contact Real Estate Commission Chief Investigator Lyn Carter at (505) 222-9881 if you have any questions or encounter any difficulties with the registration process.

Fingerprint Sites Are Subject To Change Without Previous Notice						
Site Name	Address	City	State	Zip		
Sylvan Learning Center	3030 E. Main San Juan Plaza, Bldg M	Farmington	NM	8740		
Carrizozo Police Department	404 Central	Carrizozo	NM	8830		
City of Belen Police Department	607 Becker Ave	Belen	NM	8700		
City of Bloomfield	711 Ruth Lane	Bloomfield	NM	8741		
ruth or Consequences Police Department	507 McAdoo	Truth or Consequences	NM	8790		
Clayton Police Department	112 North Front Street	Clayton	NM	8841		
Dexter Consolidated Schools	100 N Lincoln	Dexter	NM	8823		
astern NM University Police Department	229 South Avenue K	Portales	NM	8813		
Espanola Police Department	1316 Calle Adelante Suite E	Espanola	NM	8753		
Fingerprinting Services of NM, LLC	2921 Carlisle Blvd NE Suite 212	Albuquerque	NM	8711		
Fingerprinting Solutions & More	2913 San Mateo NE	Albuquerque	NM	8711		
Fingerprinting Services of NM, LLC	2416 Cerrillos Rd	Santa Fe	NM	8750		
Las Vegas City Schools	901 Douglas Avenue	Las Vegas	NM	8770		
Logan Police Department	108 A Hwy 54	Logan	NM	8842		
Milan Police Department	619 Uranium Avenue	Milan	NM	8702		
Occupational Testing Resources	1504 N Grimes	Hobbs	NM	8824		
Print Plus	901 Texas Avenue	Alamogordo	NM	8831		
Red River Marshal's Office	100 E Main Street	Red River	NM	8755		
Ruidoso Police Department	1085 Mechem Dr	Ruidoso	NM	8834		
Security Concepts	130 N Solano Dr	Las Cruces	NM	8800		
Silver City Police Department	1011 N Hudson	Silver City	NM	8806		
Socorro Consolidated Schools	700 Franklin Street	Socorro	NM	8780		
The Cop Shop	327 W Main	Artesia	NM	8821		
The UPS Store #3958	7820 Enchanted Hills Blvd	Rio Rancho	NM	8714		
The UPS Store #6336	3705 B1 Ellison Dr NW	Albuquerque	NM	871		
Tucumcari Police Department	206 E Center	Tucumcari	NM	8840		



Fingerprint Certification Form

New Mexico Real Estate Commission 5500 San Antonio Dr. NE Suite B Albuquerque, NM 87109 Telephone (505) 222-9820 FAX (505) 222-9886

This form must be completed by the Live Scan fingerprint vendor, law enforcement agency, or other provider taking the applicant's fingerprints. A copy of the form should be retained by the applicant and mailed or delivered to the New Mexico Real Estate Commission at 5500 San Antonio Dr. NE Suite B, Albuquerque, NM 87109 along with the applicant's application for initial licensure or license renewal.

The undersigned certifies that they are a representative of:

A law enforcement agency	Agency Name
A private company	Company Name
I certify that I took the fingerprints of	Full Legal Name Clearly Printed
Social Security Number:	
Date of Birth:	
I further certify that the applicant pres- time of fingerprinting.	sented appropriate documentation of their identity at the
Signature of Fingerprinting Official	

Printed Name of Fingerprinting Official

Phone Number of Fingerprinting Official



BOOKS AND MORE ARE NOW AVAILABLE AT THE PSI ONLINE STORE!

To place an order for one or more of the following items listed, you may:

- Solution State State
- Call the PSI Online store toll-free at (866) 589-3088

Note: prices are available online at www.psionlinestore.com

	Modern Real Estate Practice
	Real Estate Fundamentals
	The Language of Real Estate
	Real Estate Principles
	Real Estate Principles & Practices
Please note: Inventory and pricing subject to change without notice.	

You may also place a checkmark next to the items that you would like to order, and mail or fax this form to PSI (be sure to include your contact information). A Customer Service Rep will call you to place the order.

	Mail or FAX to: PSI licensure:certification ** 3210 E Tropicana * Las Vegas * NV * 89121 (Attn Shipping) Fax (702) 932-2668		
Name:			
A			
Address: _			
City	State	Zip	
J		······	
Dhono Nur	nber:		
FIIUTE NUT			





All examination centers are equipped to provide access in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990. Applicants with disabilities or those who would otherwise have difficulty taking the examination may request special examination arrangements.

Candidates who wish to request special arrangements because of a disability should fax this form and supporting documentation to PSI at (702) 932-2666.

Requirements for special arrangement requests

You are required to submit documentation from the medical authority or learning institution that rendered a diagnosis. Verification must be submitted to PSI on the letterhead stationery of the authority or specialist and include the following:

- Description of the disability and limitations related to testing
- Recommended accommodation/modification
- > Name, title and telephone number of the medical authority or specialist
- Original signature of the medical authority or specialist

Date		_ Social Security or ID#:
Legal Name: _		
	Last Name	First Name
Address:		
	Street	City, State, Zip Code
Telephone: (_)	()
	Home	Work
Email Address	::	
Check any spe	ecial arrangements you require (requests mus	t concur with documentation submitted):
	der (as accommodation for visual impairment earning disability)	 Extended Time (Additional time requested:)
🗖 Large	e-Print written examination	□ Other
	of-State Testing Request (this request does not ire additional documentation)	
Sit	e requested:	
5 5 5	After 4 business days, please call (800) 36	pporting documentation, to (702) 932-2666. 7-1565, ext 6750 and leave a voice message. back to schedule the examination within 48 hours.
		TION UNTIL THIS DOCUMENTATION HAS BEEN D BY PSI SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS.

PSI licensure:certification 3210 E Tropicana Las Vegas, NV 89121

