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I. MODULE 1.

4 Hours

A. New Mexico License Law

1 Real estate license required [61-29-1]

“Pertinent Statutes and Regulations Overview”

Persons engaging in the business, acting in the capacity of, advertising or displaying
in any manner or otherwise assuming to engage in the business of, or acting as an
Associate Broker or Qualifying Broker within New Mexico. Includes buying, selling,
exchanging, renting, leasing auctioning, or dealing in options, for others.

2 Exceptions to License Requirement [61-29-2 (C)]

a.) Owner or lessor; (regular) employees of the owner or lessor; some employees of a
Qualifying Broker involved in Property Management
b.) Person acting as attorney-in-fact under a power of attorney to finally consummate
a sale, lease or exchange transaction on behalf of an owner/lessor. Limit: 2 per year

c¢.) Attorney-in fact related to owner within fourth degree of consanguinity

d.) Attorney at law in performance of such attorney duties

e.) Receiver; trustee in bankruptcy; administrator or executor; a person selling real
estate under a court order; a trustee acting under a trust agreement, deed of trust or
will; regular salaried employee of a trustee
f..) Salaried employee of government agency, acting within scope of employment

g.) persons dealing in mineral leases, or sale of mineral rights or royalties where title
to the land or the surface rights are not involved in the transaction

3 Requirements for Qualifying Broker License [61-29-9 (C)]

Associate Broker (AB) Applying for Qualifying Broker License

Requirements >>

AB before 1/1/06**

Became AB on 1/1/06

AB after 1/1/06

Broker Basics

Yes

Done

Brokerage Admin.
Yes
Yes

Yes

Licensed 2 years
Yes
Yes

Yes

Pass Broker Test

Done

Yes

Done

*If you acquired your Associate Broker license before Broker Basics was a
prerequisite, you are not required to take it before becoming a Qualifying Broker.

**]f you were a Qualifying Broker (QB) prior to 1/1/06, and had chosen to change to
Associate Broker (AB), the Brokerage Office Administration course is not required to

obtain a QB license, if your past QB licensure can be verified by the commission.




Applicants for license, and license renewal, must submit a Criminal Background
check to the commission.

4. Creation of Agency Relationship by Written Agency Agreement [61-29-
10.1]

No real estate Agency relationship between a consumer and a Brokerage shall exist
unless the consumer and Brokerage agree, in writing, to the Agency relationship.

L3 Brokerage Services without Agency—with or without written agreement

[61-29-10.1]

Agency, with a written agency agreement between the client and Brokerage:
Transaction Broker, with a written agreement between the client and Brokerage, but
no agency created

Transaction Broker, with no written agreement between the customer and Brokerage

6. Use of Qualifying Broker’s Name on Licenses [61-29-11]

License shows name and address of licensee.

Associate Broker’s (AB) license shows the name of the Qualifying Broker (QB) by
whom AB is engaged.

All licenses must be displayed, and are in the custody and control of the QB.

7 Renewal Cycle for License and Education [61-29- 11]

License expires every 3 years on the last day of the month following licensee’s birth month.
Licensee must provide proof of compliance with continuing education requirements and pay
the renewal fee.

If license expires, the commission may require a person to apply for a license as if they had
not been licensed, and may require reexamination, OR allow that person to renew, for a
period of 1 year, without a test, for a fee equal to 3 X the renewal fee.

8. Qualifying Broker and Registered Trade Name [61-29-11 (D)]

All Brokerage business conducted under the trade name and address registered with the
commission.

Every Brokerage shall have a QB in charge.

New office location requires notification to commission within 10 days.

9. Termination of License and Return to Commission [61-29-11 (E)]

If AB is discharged or terminates his association with the QB, the QB shall deliver or mail
that license to the commission with 48 hours.

Licensee is inactive, and may not operate until transfer form and fee have been received by
commission and the license reissued and reactivated by the commission.



10. Discipline of Licensee for various Failures to Comply to License Law
[61-29-12 (A)]

Commission could refuse to issue a license if an applicant or licensee has by false or
fraudulent representations obtained a license or, in performing or attempting to
perform any of the actions specified in the 61-29, an applicant or licensee has:

a.) made a substantial misrepresentation;

b.) pursued a continued and flagrant course of misrepresentation; made false promises
through agents, salespersons, advertising or otherwise used the insignia of an
organization you are not a member of;

c.) paid or received any rebate, profit, compensation or commission to or from any
unlicensed person, except his principal or other party to the transaction, and then only
with his principal's written consent;

d.) represented or attempted to represent a Qualifying Broker other than the
Qualifying Broker with whom the licensee is associated without the express
knowledge and consent of that Qualifying Broker;

e.) failed, within a reasonable time, to account for or to remit any money coming into
his possession which belongs to others, commingling funds or failed to furnish legible
copies of all listing and sales contracts to all parties executing them;

f.) been convicted in any court of competent jurisdiction of a felony or any offense
involving moral turpitude;

g.) employed or compensated directly or indirectly any person for performing any of
the acts regulated by Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 who is not a licensed
Qualifying Broker or an Associate Broker; provided, however, that a Qualifying
Broker may pay a commission to a licensed broker of another state;

h.) failed, if a Qualifying Broker, to place as soon after receipt as is practicably
possible, after securing signatures of all parties to the transaction, any deposit money
or other money received by him in a real estate transaction in a custodial, trust or
escrow account maintained by him in a bank or savings and loan institution or title
company authorized to do business in this state, in which the funds shall be kept until
the transaction is consummated or otherwise terminated, at which time a full
accounting of the funds shall be made by the Qualifying Broker;

i.) failed, if an Associate Broker, to place as soon after receipt as is practicably
possible in the custody of the Associate Broker’s Qualifying Broker, after securing
signatures of all parties to the transaction, any deposit money or other money
entrusted to the Associate Broker by any person dealing with the Associate Broker as
the representative of the Qualifying Broker;

j.) violated a provision of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 or a rule promulgated
by the commission.;

k.) committed an act, that is related to dealings as a Qualifying Broker or Associate
Broker that constitutes or demonstrates bad faith, incompetency, untrustworthiness,
impropriety, fraud, dishonesty, negligence or any unlawful act; or

1.) been the subject of disciplinary action as a licensee while licensed to practice real
estate in another jurisdiction, territory or possession of the United States or another
country.



11. Guilty Knowledge and Revocation of Qualifying Broker’s License

[61-29-12 (B)]

An unlawful act or violation of 61-29 by an Associate Broker, employee, partner or
associate of the Qualifying Broker shall not be cause for the revocation of the QB’s
license unless it appears to the commission that the QB had guilty knowledge of the
unlawful act or violation.

12. Qualifying Broker Must Maintain Law Suits for Compensation Owed

[61-29-16]

Suits for commission or compensation shall be maintained in the courts only if the
person suing is a licensed Qualifying Broker or Associate Broker.

Suits against a member of the public shall be maintained only in the name of the QB.

13, Statutory Penalty for Practicing RE on Behalf of Others Without a Lisc.

[61-29-17 (A)]
Violator of License Law could face a fine up to $500, and/or 6 months in jail; up to
$1,000 fine for violation by corporation or business association.

14. Administrative Penalty from NMREC for Practicing RE on Behalf of
Others Without a License.

[61-29-17.2]

Commission may impose a civil penalty of $1,000, plus administrative fees, for each

violation found guilty of acting without a license in violation of the license law.

B New Mexico Real Estate Commission Rules
Part 1: Definitions

Agency : the fiduciary relationship created solely by the Express Written Agency
Agreement between a Person and a Brokerage, authorizing the Brokerage to act as
Agent for the Person according to the Scope of Authority granted in that Express
Written Agreement for real estate services subject to the jurisdiction of the
Commission.

Associate Broker: A Person holding an Associate Broker's license who is
affiliated with a Qualifying Broker.

Brokerage Relationship: the legal or contractual relationship between a Person
and a Brokerage in a real estate transaction subject to the jurisdiction of the
commission.

Broker Duties: those duties established by the Commission that are owed by all
Brokers to all Clients and Customers.



Broker in Charge: a New Mexico licensed real estate Broker who is eligible to
be a Qualifying Broker designated by the Qualifying Broker to be responsible for
real estate related activity within the Brokerage during the temporary absence of
the Qualifying Broker.

Client: a Person who has entered into an Express Written Agreement with a
Brokerage for real estate services subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission.

Consumer: prospective sellers and buyers, lessors and lessees, landlords and
tenants.

Criminal Background Check: a criminal background check of a first-time or
renewal applicant for a New Mexico real estate Broker's license on or after
January 1, 2007 conducted by an entity or source approved by the Commission.

Customer: a Person who uses real estate services without entering into an express
written agreement with a Brokerage subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission.

Designated Broker: A Qualifying Broker or Associate Broker who is designated
in writing by a Qualifying Broker to serve as exclusive Agent or exclusive
Transaction Broker for a seller, landlord, buyer or tenant in a real estate
transaction.

Designated Brokerage: the Brokerage Relationship established between the
seller, landlord, buyer or tenant and a Designated Broker, including the duties,
obligations and responsibilities of this relationship which shall not extend to the
Qualifying Broker nor to any other Associate Broker employed or engaged by that
Qualifying Broker.

Dual Agency: an Express Written Agreement that modifies existing Exclusive
Agency Agreements to provide that the Brokerage agrees to act as a Facilitator in
real estate transaction rather than as an Exclusive Agent for either Party to the
Transaction.

Dual Agent: the Brokerage in a Dual Agency relationship working as a
Facilitator in a single Transaction for both a buyer Client and a seller Client who
have existing Exclusive Agency Agreements with the Brokerage.

Exclusive Agency: an Express Written Agreement between a Person and a
Brokerage wherein the Brokerage agrees to exclusively represent as an Agent the
interests of the Person in a real estate transaction. Such agreements include Buyer
Agency, Seller Agency, Designated Agency, and Subagency agreements.

Express Written Agreement: a listing agreement, a written Agency or
Brokerage Relationship agreement, an exclusive Transaction Broker agreement or

purchase or lease agreement, or any written agreement signed by all parties to a
real estate transaction.



Facilitator: the role of a Brokerage in either a Dual Agency relationship or a
Transaction Brokerage relationship in which the exclusive relationships between a
seller or landlord client or buyer or tenant client are modified so that the
Brokerage impartially facilitates the Transaction.

Foreign Broker: a real estate Brokerage licensed by a jurisdiction other than
New Mexico engaged in real estate-related activities in New Mexico.

In House Transaction: a Transaction that occurs under the supervision of one
Qualifying Broker in the same Brokerage.

Property Management: includes the showing, renting and leasing of real
property, the collection and disbursement of funds on behalf of other Persons, the
supervision of employees as specified in the management agreement, the
supervision of maintenance and repair work, handling of tenant relations, and/or
preparation of financial reports. In the course of listing and marketing properties
for sale, repairs and maintenance incident to the sale and authorized by the owner,
shall not be considered property management.

Property Management Trust Account: a Trust Account containing money of
others derived from the management of leased or rental properties.

Qualifying Broker: a Broker who has qualified an individual proprietorship,
corporation, partnership or association to do business as a real estate Brokerage in
the state of New Mexico.

Transaction Broker: any Broker or Brokerage that provides real estate services
without entering into an Agency relationship.

Unlicensed Assistant: a Person who:

(1) Does not hold a New Mexico real estate license;

(2) Works under the supervision of a Qualifying Broker or Associate Broker;
(3) Performs only those routine clerical, secretarial, administrative or
bookkeeping activities defined in Part 21 of the Real Estate Commission Rules
which do not require a New Mexico real estate license.

Part 2: Errors & Omissions Insurance
Every active New Mexico real estate Broker shall have in effect a policy of Errors
and Omissions Insurance. [The NM Real Estate Commission makes a policy

available.]

A. The group policy shall provide, at a minimum, the following terms of
coverage:

(1) Coverage for all acts for which a real estate license is required, except those
illegal, fraudulent or other acts which are normally excluded from such coverage.

(2) An annual premium not to exceed $200.



Licensee may buy E&O from any vendor that provides the minimum coverage
required.

B. Qualifying Broker for Corporation, Partnership, or Association as Real Estate
Brokerage

The license shall entitle the New Mexico Qualifying Broker to act as an officer or
agent of the partnership, association or corporation under the Trade Name of the
real estate Brokerage as registered with the Commission.

Part 3: Time Requirements for License Transfer

When a licensee requests a transfer, the Qualifying Broker or Broker in Charge must
return that licensee’s license to the commission within 48 hours. All real estate activity
on the part of the Associate Broker shall cease until the transfer has been completed. The
transfer form must be accompanied with a certificate certifying that the Associate Broker
has current Errors and Omissions insurance coverage.

Part 4: Effective Date of Inactivation of License

Inactivation takes place at the time the license is received and stamped at the
Commission, or upon receipt of written notification to the Commission by the Qualifying
Broker or Broker in Charge, whichever is earlier.

Part 5: Continuing Education Requirements:

e 30 credit hours required per 3 year licensing cycle
a. For new AB, first licensed as the result of passing the Broker exam after 1/1/06,

10 hours CE must be completed in first year, 20 hours CE by the end of year 2,
and 30 hours CE by the end of the renewal cycle.

e 8 hour Mandatory Course required, plus 22 elective CE. [Will be tested in 2007.]

e Maximum of 10 credit hours may be from “Training’ courses

e Minimum of 12 credit hours must be from ‘Education’ courses [All 22 OK]

e Maximum credit hours per course = 10

* 90% attendance required for CE courses, except 30 hr. pre-license for CE

e Commission Meeting or Rules/Disciplinary Hearing attendance: up to 4 ‘Ed’

e CE Credit Hours may not be carried forward to next cycle.

e New cycle starts the day after your license expiration date.

e CE courses available on-line, computer disk, and by correspondence.

e Pre- and Post-Approval of other courses: apply to Education Director.

e Post-Approval will be for ‘Training’ credit only.

Part 6: Qualifying Broker Responsibilities

The Qualifying Broker shall:

10



e If employed as a Qualifying Broker for others, have a written agreement of such.

e Conduct their real estate Brokerage business under the Trade Name and from the
Brokerage address or addresses registered with the Commission.

e Prominently display the license(s) of all affiliated Associate Brokers conducting real
estate brokerage business from the Brokerage office at the address registered with the
Commission.

e Have in the Brokerage office, and available to all affiliated Associate Brokers and Co-
Qualifying Brokers, a current copy [hardcopy] of the State of New Mexico Real Estate
License Law and Rules Manual.

e Supervise all real estate related activities conducted on behalf of others, and execute
and maintain current written employment or independent contractor agreements with
them. Such agreements should specify the relationship and mutual responsibilities of the
Associate Broker and the Brokerage, and the scope of authority of the Associate Broker
to act on behalf of the Brokerage.

e Maintain [for a minimum of 3 years] full and complete records of transactions by the
Brokerage. Records shall include: purchases, offers, counter-offers, lead-based paint
disclosures and other disclosures required by law, seller’s disclosure statements (if they
provided), options, leases, rentals, letters of intent, Brokerage Relationship agreements
and disclosures, and current, expired, and cancelled listings. [See Rule Manual]

e Deposit all money received on behalf of others in the proper Trust Account as soon
after receipt as practicably possible after securing signatures of all parties to the
transaction.

e Receive and disburse all commissions and other funds properly and promptly, including
those to legal entities, entitled by law to receive same, including to partnerships,
corporations or Limited Liability Companies (LLC’s) wholly owned by Associate
Brokers and their spouse [No QB required in legal entity].

e Not permit the use of the Qualifying Broker’s license to enable an affiliated Associate
Broker to establish and carry on transactions outside the knowledge and supervision of
the Qualifying Broker.

e In the event actual supervision by the Qualifying Broker is not possible for a time
exceeding seven (7) consecutive days, including in circumstances in which supervision of
affiliated Associate Brokers is not possible because the Qualifying Broker resides in
another state, designate a Broker In Charge and inform the Commission in writing of the
designation. During this period of time, the Broker In Charge shall assume all of the
responsibilities of the Qualifying Broker for the Brokerage.

e Upon termination/transfer requests, return Associate Broker’s licenses within 48 hours.

11



e Ensure that each Qualifying Broker and Associate Broker affiliated with the Brokerage
obtain and maintain a current Errors & Omissions Insurance policy.

e Successfully complete a Commission-approved four (4) hour Qualifying Broker
refresher course every three years.

Part 7: Associate Broker Responsibilities
The Associate Broker shall:

e Receive compensation (including referral fees) only from their Qualifying Broker or
Broker in Charge.

e Conduct all real estate related activities in the name of the Brokerage.
e Remit all monies of others, including checks and promissory note, related to real estate
Transactions, to the Qualifying Broker or Broker in Charge as soon after receipt as is

practicably possible after securing signatures of all Parties to the Transaction.

Part 8: Broker Disclosures and Broker Duties

Prior to the time a Broker generates or presents any written document that has the
potential to become an Express Written agreement, the Broker shall disclose in writing to
a prospective buyer, seller, landlord or tenant, the following list of Broker Duties that are
owed to all Customers and Clients by all Brokers:

A. Honesty and reasonable care; as set forth in the provisions of this section;

B. Compliance with local, state, and federal fair housing and anti-discrimination laws,
the New Mexico Real Estate License Law and the Real Estate Commission Rules and
Regulations, and other applicable local, state, and federal laws and regulations;

C. Performance of any and all oral or written agreements made with the Broker’s
Customer or Client;

D. Assistance to the Broker’s Customer or Client in completing the Transaction, unless
otherwise agreed to in writing by the Customer or Client, including:

1. Presentation of all offers or counter-offers in a timely manner;

2. Assistance in complying with the terms and conditions of the contract and with the
closing of the transaction.

If the Broker in a Transaction is not providing the service, advice or assistance described
in paragraphs (1) and (2) of Subsection D of 16.61.19.8 NMAC, the Customer or Client
must agree in writing that the Broker is not expected to provide such service, advice or
assistance, and the Broker shall disclose such agreement in writing to the other Brokers
involved in the Transaction;

E. Acknowledgement by the Broker that there may be matters related to the Transaction
that are outside the Broker’s knowledge or expertise and that the Broker will suggest that
the Customer or Client seek expert advice on these matters;

F. Prompt accounting for all monies or property received by the Licensee;

12



G. Prior to the time the Broker generates or presents any written document that has the
potential to become an Express Written Agreement, written disclosure of (a) any written
Brokerage Relationship the Broker has with any other Parties to the Transaction; (b) any
material interest or relationship of a business, personal, or family nature that the Licensee
has in the Transaction; and/or other Brokerage Relationships available in New Mexico.
H. Disclosure of any adverse material facts actually known by the Broker about the
property or the Transaction, or about the financial ability of the Parties to the Transaction
to complete the Transaction. Adverse material facts do not include data from a sex
offender registry or the existence of group homes;

[. Maintenance of any confidential information learned in the course of any prior
Agency relationship unless the disclosure is with the former Client’s consent or is
required by law;

Unless otherwise authorized in writing, a Broker shall not disclose to their Customer or
Client during the transaction that their seller client or customer has previously indicated
they will accept a sales price less than the asking or listed price of a property; that their
buyer client or customer has previously indicated they will pay a sales price greater than
the price submitted in a written offer; the motivation of their client or customer for selling
or buying property; that their seller client or customer or their buyer client or customer
will agree to financing terms other than those offered; or any other information requested
in writing by the Broker’s Customer or Client to remain confidential, unless disclosure is
required by law.

Part 9: Dual Agency Relationships and Disclosure

Dual Agency: An express written agreement that modifies existing Exclusive Agency
agreements to provide that the Brokerage agrees to act as a Facilitator rather than as an
exclusive agent of either party to the transaction. Prior to writing or presenting offers. a
Dual Agent shall obtain written authority from the buyer Client and the seller Client in
the form of a separate Dual Agency agreement.

Part 10: Unlicensed Assistants Limited Activities
e An unlicensed individual may not:
e Prepare legal documents such as listing and sales contracts
e Interpret documents, and/or offer opinions or advice.

e Provide any information other than printed material prepared and approved by
their Responsible Person.

e Host an open house, unless the Responsible Person is present.
e Obtain personal or property information from a Client or Customer of the
Responsible Person except when acting as a coordinator directed by the

Responsible Person by gathering and following up on information and the status
of maters pertaining to the Transaction after a contract has been executed.

13



e Pick up from or deliver to Customers or Clients financial documents prepared by
title companies, lenders or third persons for the purpose of obtaining signatures.

e Attend Transaction closing, unless the Responsible Person is present.

e Represent himself or herself as being a Licensee or being engaged in the business
of buying, selling, exchanging, renting, leasing, managing, auctioning or dealing
in options on any real estate or the improvements thereon for others.

e Conduct telephone solicitation [telemarketing] of any kind designed to procure
Part 36 Transactions requiring licensure under 61-29, including, but not limited
to, procuring buyers, sellers, listings or appointments for listing presentation.

Part 11: Trust Accounts Requirements

Trust Account: An account established by the Qualifying Broker for the purpose
of holding money of others received by the Qualifying Broker in a Transaction.

A Qualifying Broker who receives money belonging to others related to a real
estate Transaction wherein he is involved shall only deposit/remit in a: New
Mexico Bank, New Mexico Savings and Loan institution, Title company
authorized to do business in the State of New Mexico or cooperating New Mexico
licensed Broker also involved in the Transaction.

Per the NMREC Rules, there are no other authorized depositories such as Escrow
Companies or Credit Unions.

All Trust Accounts in banks and savings and loan institutions must be designated
on the institution’s records as “Trust Account.” The words “Trust Account” and
the trade name of the Brokerage as registered with the Commission must appear
on all checks and deposit slips related to the Trust Account. In the case of a
Property Management Trust Account, the words “Property Management Trust
Account” must appear. These accounts must be reconciled monthly.

The NMREC does not require a Trust Account, but does require Trust Account
records, which must be maintained for a minimum of 3 years.

Commingling: Mixing the QB’s monies with monies of consumers; mixing one
consumers funds with funds of another consumer; No deficit accounts are
permitted.

Wrongful Deposits: Depositing QB’s own funds into a Trust Account without
prior approval of the commission, except a minimum balance requirement of a
bank; funds that are not directly related to a real estate transaction involving the
QB: funds of others into an account other than a Trust Account; funds received on
behalf of others directly into a Custodial Account without first depositing the
funds in a Trust Account.
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Wrongful Disbursements: Disbursing Trust funds for the personal use of the QB;
commissions from any Trust Account to any entity other than the QB
(commission splits not made from the Trust Account); prematurely, before
transaction closes; trust funds in excess of the amount in the Trust Account;
overages in the Trust Account not in accordance with the Unclaimed Properties
Act and after commission approval.

Trust Fund monies must be disbursed:

e Upon complete closing
e According to a written agreement, signed by all Parties to the Transaction, or

e Upon court order (broker holding deposited funds may seek relief by filing an
Interpleader Action)

Most common practice is to let the Title Co. hold earnest deposits.
Part 12: Property Management
The Disclosures and Broker Duties in Part 19 also apply to Property Management.

Property Management Trust Account

Established when managing 6 or more units.

Must be under the direct control and supervision of the Qualifying Broker.

Must contain Broker’s trade name.

Must be reconciled monthly.

Deposits must be placed and held in the Trust Account, unless the Broker has a

written agreement between the owner and tenant giving the Broker permission

to turn the monies over to the owner.

e Commingling of funds is not permitted. However, a written Agreement may be
executed between the Broker and owner of multiple properties giving the
Broker permission, with a proper paper trail, to mingle funds of those properties
only.

Monthly reports are made in accordance with the Management Agreement.

e All Management Agreements and Lease Agreements must be in writing.

e Final accounting to owner required within 45 days of the effective date of

written termination notice.

Part 13: Time Share Activities

A New Mexico Brokers license is required of any individual, including a tour guide, who
shows time share units or facilities to prospective purchasers.

Part 14: Foreign Broker

Any Broker licensed by any jurisdiction other than New Mexico. May also be a third
party company, corporation, referral, or relocation company in real estate.
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When a New Mexico AB or QB cooperates with or makes a Referral to or receives a
Referral from a Foreign Broker, for a fee, salary, commission or any other consideration,
the following requirements shall be complied with by the New Mexico Brokerage:

A specific written co-brokerage or Referral agreement signed by the QB of the New
Mexico Brokerage and the Foreign Broker shall be executed prior to the closing of any
transaction.

All negotiations in New Mexico must be done through the New Mexico Brokerage,
with the New Mexico QB assuming responsibility for all activities conducted relating
to properties within the state of New Mexico.

All funds handled for others in transactions on New Mexico real property shall be
placed by the New Mexico QB in a bank, savings and loan or title company authorized
to do business in New Mexico.

Part 15: Criminal Background Checks

All Persons applying for a New Mexico real estate Broker’s license, whether new or
renewal, on the effective date of this rule, must submit to a criminal background check as
a condition of licensure and must submit documentation of having submitted to such a
check from a source approved by the Commission. [New Mexico Dept. of Public Safety]

Part 16: Trade Name Registration

Prior to the use of any Trade Name for the operation of a Brokerage, the QB shall register
such Trade Name with the Commission. A QB must conduct their real estate Brokerage
business under a Trade Name registered with the Commission. A QB wishing to conduct
their real estate Brokerage business under a different Trade Name must execute a new
Trade Name Registration Form with the Commission.

When a Brokerage ceases using a Trade Name, the QB shall, within thirty (30) days,
advise the Commission in writing that the Trade Name is no longer being used, and
remove all signs using the Trade Name

Use of a Trade Name in such a fashion as to mislead the public may be grounds for
disciplinary action by the Commission.

Part 17: Signage Display

Each QB shall place and maintain a sign, the letters of which shall not be less than two
(2) inches high, in a conspicuous place near the office entrance identifying them as the
QB. The Brokerage’s Trade Name as registered with the Commission shall be clearly
shown.

In the case of a QB whose office is located in an office building, the QB may comply

with this regulation by listing their name on the directory of offices provided by the
office building and by displaying the Trade Name on or near the office entrance.
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Part 18: Advertising/Disclosure and Qualifying Broker Responsibilities

Every QB advertising real property for others for sale, purchase, lease, exchange, or rent,
including Short-Term Rentals or advertising real estate services, shall as a minimum, use
in such advertising the trade name and New Mexico office telephone number as
registered with the Commission. Additional telephone numbers may be used.

Associate Brokers, when advertising real property for others for sale, purchase, lease,
exchange or rent, or when advertising real estate services shall include in the
advertisement the trade name and the telephone number of the Brokerage as registered
with the Commission. (Multiple telephone numbers may be registered with the
Commission.)

Every Broker [active and inactive] advertising to buy, sell or exchange real property
which is owned or partially owned by that Broker shall indicate within the advertisement
(including signs), listing contract, purchase agreement or exchange agreement that one of
the parties is a Broker. Disclosures using initials or symbols are not permitted.

When advertising real property owned by a Broker and the Brokerage’s telephone
number is used in the advertisement, the advertisement must also include the Brokerage’s
Trade Name as registered with the Commission.

All real estate advertising shall be a true and factual representation of the property and/or
real estate services being advertised. If the qualifications, credentials, staffing or sales
history of the Brokerage are included in the Brokerage’s advertising, such information
shall be presented in such a manner that it will not confuse or mislead the public.

Advertising must be in compliance with all local, state and federal laws and regulations.

All real estate advertising of real property for others or advertising of real estate services
shall be under the direct supervision of the QB or the Broker in Charge.

These requirements apply to all forms of advertising, including but not limited to print
[including MLS printout], audio, video, including audio and video recordings, computer
presentations, and electronic transmissions such as the internet, e-mail, virtual office
websites (VOW?’s) and all Broker’s websites.

Part 19: Document Execution and Delivery

All Transactions shall be documented and signed by all Parties to the Transaction.

Except as otherwise provided by law, in all circumstances it shall be the responsibility of

each Broker engaged in a Transaction to assure that all Parties to the Transaction receive
legible copies of any and all documents they have signed and any documents that pertain
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to their respective interest in the Transaction as soon as practicably possible and copies of
all fully executed documents thereafter.

Part 20: Child Support Enforcement

If a license applicant or a licensed Broker is not in compliance with a judgment and order
for support, the Commission: Shall deny an application for a license; Shall deny the
renewal of license; and has grounds for suspension or revocation of the license.

Part 21: Complaints and Investigations

The Real Estate Commission may file a complaint against any Person who engages in the
business or acts in the capacity of a real estate Broker in this state with or without a New
Mexico real estate license based on information indicating that there may have been a
violation of the Real Estate License Law or the Commission Rules.

The commission may also act on a complaint made by a member of the commission, a
member of the public, or another real estate Licensee.

Upon receipt of a complaint the commission will determine if the complaint is within its
jurisdiction. If the commission determines the complaint is within its jurisdiction, the
complaint will be assigned for investigation.

In conducting an investigation, the commission shall give the Person under investigation
the opportunity to answer the complaint made against them in writing and to produce
relevant documentary evidence, in accordance with the Uniform Licensing Act.

If the Person under investigation fails to respond to the complaint within ten (10) working
days of having been provided with a copy of the complaint and having been informed by
the commission in writing that a complaint has been filed against them, the investigation
may proceed without benefit of that person’s response.

If the investigation reveals that the complaint does not involve a violation of the Real
Estate License Law or the Commission Rules, the complaint will be dismissed by the
commission, and the parties to the complaint will be so advised.

Withdrawal of a complaint by a member of the commission, a member of the public, or
another licensee does not bind the commission to dismiss the complaint.

Part 22: NMREC Office Inspection Check List

A. Other New Mexico Statutes and Regulations

1. Written Service Agreements, Exclusivity and Enforceability. 47-1-45
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2. New Mexico Real Estate Disclosure Act expressly exempts
requirement for disclosure of certain events occurring on the
property. 47-13-1 through 3

3. New Mexico Human Rights Act prohibits discrimination against any
person in the terms, conditions or privileges of the sale, rental, assignment,
lease or sublease of any housing accommodation or real property or in the
provision of facilities or services in connection therewith because of being
a member of a protected class.

28-1-7(2)

4. New Mexico Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act governing all
management of residential properties in New Mexico providing for
deposits, late charges, right of entry, duties of tenant and duties of landlord,
eviction processes, etc. 47-8-1 to 47-8-51

5. Other New Mexico Property Statutes
a. House Bill 254 — 2006
b. T.0.D.D.

B. Antidiscrimination in Employment Laws

(See Federal Employment Law Manual on disk)

Neli-LREN e IV R S S

. Civil Rights Act of 1866

. Civil Rights Act of 1964

. Fair Housing Act of 1968

. Civil Rights Act of 1991

. Affirmative Action

. Rehabilitation Act

. Age Discrimination in Employment Act
. Americans with Disabilities Act

. Immigration Reform Act of 1986

10. The Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993
11. National Labor Relations Act of 1935

New Mexico requires all employers to display the poster, “Discrimination is
Against the Law.” Also the New Mexico Human Rights Act was amended
so that certain employers cannot discriminate in hiring employees based on

sexual orientation or gender identity if the person is otherwise qualified.
28-1-11F.

Contact New Mexico Human Rights Commission (800)556-9471
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If ydu are a sole propl:i.é.i:o.r tl_lel_‘l yout_n_ayljse Form
be liable for... |

C. Starting your Brokerage
(6 Classroom Hours)

1. Legal Structure of Brokerage
A. Creation, management and taxation
(2 hours). RANM IDC and Unlicensed Assistant Form

1. Sole Proprietorship

A sole proprietorship is an unincorporated business that is owned by one
individual. It is the simplest form of business organization to start and maintain.
The business has no existence apart from you, the owner. Its liabilities are your
personal liabilities. You undertake the risks of the business for all assets owned,
whether used in the business or personally owned. You include the income and
expenses of the business on your own tax return.

1. Control - the owner does not have to sell his/her decisions to other owners,

2. Liability - The proprietor is liable only for his/her own acts.

3. Economy - There are a minimum of costs associated with establishing a proprietorship.

4. Simplicity - By acquiring a real estate license, you are in business.

If you are a sole proprietor use the information in the chart below to help you
determine some of the forms that you may be required to file.

Income Tax

'éSeiféémployment tax

1040 and Schedule C or C-EZ ( Schedule F |
for farm business)

1040 and Schedule SE
Estimated tax 1040-ES
éEmployment taxes: E ( 943 for farm employees)
Social security and Medicare taxes and 940 or 940-EZ
income tax withholding 8109
Federal unemployment (FUTA) tax %
Depositing employment taxes

2. General Partnership

A partnership is the relationship existing between two or more persons who join
to carry on a trade or business. Each person contributes money, property, labor, or
skill, and expects to share in the profits and losses of the business.

1. Two or More People - A general partnership can be formed by as few as two people, with each
parson being a general partner.

2. Management - All general partners share equally in management. As a general partner, each
person has the ability to take part in the day-to-day management of the properties owned by the
partnership. Each party has a particular expertise and brings a different value to the partnership; it
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makes sense that each partner would be interested in taking part in making the day to day
management decisions.

3. Joint and Several Liability

As general partners, each partner is totally liable for all the debts of the partnership, regardless
of the amount of money each partner invests in the partnership.

For example, assume that in a general partnership, one partner invests $500,000 in cash and the
other partner invests only $5,000 cash, but, as an additional contribution, agrees to oversee the
business operations at a reduced cost. Each general partner would be totally liable for any and all
judgments levied against the business. Of course, insurance may be available to protect the
partners against various losses, but on any uninsured loss each partner would be fully liable.

4. Title

Title to property is held in the name of the partnership, in a general partnership, the title to the
property is held by the partnership, not the individual partners. For example A&B Partnership
may be made up of investors A and B, but A&B Partnership holds the title. The partnership owns
the real estate business, and the individual partners have a personal property interest in the
partnership.

This becomes an important consideration in certain situations such as death or divorce. The asset
owned by the investor is an interest in the group. While the real estate business may have a
marketable value, the interest in the group investment may not have the same value. It is possible
that the estate of the person who died, or the divorced spouse may not be able to sell the business
to free up their ownership interest. This is another area where the lack of liquidity in a group
investment may be a disadvantage.

5. Tax

Partnership is a tax reporting entity only. Investors get a K-1 schedule and pay taxes on the
income. The partnership will file a tax return at the end of the year reporting the results of the
operation of the property using Federal Income Tax Form 1065. This form reports the results of
the operations of the business venture for that year.

However, no tax is paid by the partnership. The partnership will allocate to each partner his or her
share of taxable income or loss, depending on the formula contained in the partnership agreement.
Most formulas call for a pro rata distribution of profits or losses, among partners, but there are
provisions in the tax code that would allow for a disproportionate allocation. Such an allocation
may give one partner all of the cash flow and the other partner ail of the tax losses. A tax attorney
or accountant would be needed to draft such disproportionate allocations.

The individual partners will receive a Schedule K-1 from the partnership reporting their allocation
of taxable profit or loss for the year. The information from the Schedule K-1 will then get
reported on the individual partner's Federal tax form 1040 and may result in an increased or
decreased tax liability for the individual partner.

Because of the allocation of income or loss to the individual partner and the resulting reporting of
that allocation on the individual's tax return, a general partnership is called a pass through entity.



A partnership must file an annual information return to report the income,
deductions, gains, losses etc., from its operations, but it does not pay income tax.
Instead, it "passes through" any profits or losses to its partners. Each partner
includes his or her share of the partnership's income or loss on his or her tax
return.

Partners are not employees and should not be issued a Form W-2. The partnership
must furnish copies of Schedule K-1 (Form 1065) to the partners by the date Form
1065 is required to be filed, including extensions.

If you are a partnership or a partner (individual) in a partnership use the
information in the charts below to help you determine some of the forms that you
may be required to file.

Chart 1 (Partnership)

If you are a partnership then you .may be Use Form...
liable for... :

‘Annual return of income

EEmp‘ulayment taxes: 1941
Social security and Medicare taxes and 1940 or 940-EZ
income tax withholding 8109

Federal unemployment (FUTA) tax
Depositing employment taxes

éExcise Taxes Refiérwto the Excise Tax web page

Chort2 ndvideilTarmes b s Partensbin)

I}you are a partner (individual) in a Use Form...

partnership then you may be liable for... |

Income Tax 521040 and Schedule E

%gauf-employment e 1040 ey

' Estimated tax

3. Limited Partnership

Limited Partnerships are popular ownership entities for larger groups of investors, where most
of the investors want the protection of limited liability.

a.) Investors - A limited partnership must have two or more partners. One partner must be a general
partner who manages the partnership and has the authority to bind the partnership. The general
partner is willing to assume unlimited liability, The remaining partners would be classified as limited
partners.

b.) Management - By definition, a limited partner has limited involvement in the partnership,
including limited involvement in management, leaving all of the management to the general partner,
In order to protect the status of being considered a limited partner, the partner must not take any
actions that would cause the partner to be re-classified as a general partner.
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In order to maintain the limited liability feature, each limited partner must be limited in their
involvement in management. They must be passive with regards to their management of the
partnership's business. If an investor begins to take part in management, the investor suddenly looks
like a general partner to the IRS and faces the potential of losing his/her protection of limited
liability.

4. Limited Liability

As a limited partner, a partner is only liable for the money he/she has at risk. This means that
if a limited partner has invested $5,000, that is ail the money they could lose in the investment.
Their liability is limited to their investment.

Some partnerships have provisions for additional investments over and above the original
investment. This provision is sometimes called a capital call or an assessment provision. If a
provision such as this is included in the partnership agreement, the limited partner would also
be liable for that amount over and above the initial capital investment. Even with a capital call
or assessment provision, the limited partners know at the outset the total extent of their liability.

5. Liquidity

The ownership interests in a limited partnership are personal property and not real property
and there is seldom a market for a limited partnership interest. An investor in a limited
partnership must be prepared to stay in the investment group until the business or investment
cycle is completed.

6. Taxation

Just as in the general partnership, the partnership files an informational return with the IRS
and distributes the Schedule K-1 to each limited partner, who then reports their share of income
or expense on their own tax return. A limited partnership is a pass through entity.

7. Limited Life

A limited partnership has a finite life, meaning that the partnership agreement calls for a date
on which the partnership will end. This is different than a corporation, which has an infinite
life. Limited partners should be certain that the life of the partnership is long enough to allow
the partnership to accomplish the business purpose.

8. Title

In a limited partnership, as in a general partnership, the title to the property is held by the
partnership, not the individual partners. For example, Equity Limited Partnership may be
made up of 20 individual investors. Title to the property is held by Equity Partnership, a New
Mexico Limited Partnership. The partnership owns the real estate, and the individual partners
have a personal property interest in the partnership.
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9. Passive Activity

Limited partnership interests are by definition passive and as such, are affected by the
restrictions in the current passive loss rules. This is a very complicated area of the tax law, in
that a limited partnership interest is a passive activity, but the general partner could be either
passive or active or both, depending upon their level of involvement in the management of the
entity or the property, and the source of income in question (e.g. active for general partner
activities and passive for limited partnership income),

4. General (C) Corporation

In forming a corporation, prospective shareholders exchange money, property, or both,
for the corporation's capital stock. A corporation generally takes the same deductions as a
sole proprietorship to figure its taxable income. A corporation can also take special
deductions.

a.) Ownership - The corporation is owned by the shareholders.

b.) Management - The shareholders elect the Directors who in turn hire the officers of the corporation. The
Officers run the business on a day-to-day basis.

¢.) Taxation - Generally the corporate entity is not favored for the ownership of real estate because of
the double taxation which exists by virtue of the fact that the corporation must pay taxes on the taxable
income generated by the business venture and the individual shareholder pays taxes on the cash flow
distributed as dividends. This double taxation is avoided by the use of a pass through entity such as a
partnership or a Limited Liability Company (LLC).

d.) Formality - The strict requirements of maintaining corporate formalities or be faced with the loss of
limited liability make the corporate structure a difficult one in which to own and operate real estate
business’,

The profit of a corporation is taxed to the corporation when earned, and then is taxed to
the shareholders when distributed as dividends. However, shareholders cannot deduct any

loss of the corporation.

If you are a corporation or an S corporation use the information in the charts below to
help you determine some of the forms that you may be required to file.
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Chart 1 - Corporation or S Corporation

1If you are a corporation or an S Use Form...

‘corporation then you may be liable for... |

fIncome Tax 1120 or 1120-A(corporation)

11208 (S corporation)

éEstimated tax ] 120-W (corporatlon only) and 81 09 _
Empl_cw_menttaxes 941 (943 for farm employees)

¢ Social security and Medicare taxes 2% or 940EZ
and income tax withholding 8109

¢ Federal unemployment (FUTA) tax

e Depositing employment taxes

Excise Taxes | muRefer to the Excise Tax web page

Chart 2 - S Corporation Shareholders

'If you are an S corporatlon
shareholder then you may be liable for...

Income Tax 1040 and Schedule E

Estimated tax 1040-ES

5. S Corporation

An eligible domestic corporation can avoid double taxation (once to the shareholders and
again to the corporation) by electing to be treated as an S corporation. Generally, an S
corporation is exempt from federal income tax other than tax on certain capital gains and
passive income. On their tax returns, the S corporation's shareholders include their share
of the corporation's separately stated items of income, deduction, loss, and credit, and
their share of non-separately stated income or loss.

If you are an S corporation use the information in the charts below to help you determine
some of the forms that you may be required to file.
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Chart 1 - S Corporation

‘;If you are an S corporation then you may gUsc Form...

fbe liable for... |

Income Tax (11208 (S éai'poration)
gEstimated tax 1120-W (corporation only) and 8109 _
EEmployment taxes: 951_1 (943 for farm employees)

e Social security and Medicare taxes ;m or 940-EZ
and income tax withholding 8109

 Federal unemployment (FUTA) tax

e Depositing employment taxes "

Excise Taxes

Chart 2 - S Corporation Shareholders

If you are an S corporation Use Form...
shareholder then you may be liable for... |

Income Tax 1040 and Schedule E
Estimated tax 1040-ES

6. Limited Liability Company (LLC)

A Limited Liability Company (LLC) is a relatively new business structure allowed by
state statute.

LLCs are popular because, similar to a corporation, owners have limited personal
liability for the debts and actions of the LLC. Other features of LLCs are more like a
partnership, providing management flexibility and the benefit of pass-through
taxation.

Owners of an LLC are called members. Since most states do not restrict ownership,
members may include individuals, corporations, other LLCs and foreign entities.
There is no maximum number of members. Most states also permit “single member”
LLCs, those having only one owner.

A few types of businesses generally cannot be LLCs, such as banks, insurance
companies and nonprofit organizations. Check your state’s requirements and the
federal tax regulations for further information. There are special rules for foreign
LLES.

For additional information on the kinds of tax returns to file, how to handle
employment taxes and possible pitfalls, refer to IRS Publication 3402, Tax Issues for
Limited Liability Companies.
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Discussion of the advantages, disadvantages of each legal structure and
basic information about how to proceed and what resources are available
for assistance.

2. Business entry options
A. Naming your brokerage
1. Federal Trademarks and Service marks
What is a trademark?

A trademark includes any word, name, symbol, or device, or any
combination, used, or intended to be used, in commerce to identify and
distinguish the goods of one manufacturer or seller from goods
manufactured or sold by others, and to indicate the source of the
goods. In short, a trademark is a brand name.

What is a service mark?

A service mark is any word, name, symbol, device, or any
combination, used, or intended to be used, in commerce, to identify
and distinguish the services of one provider from services provided by
others, and to indicate the source of the services.

a. Realtor trademark usage

The MARKS: REALTOR®; REALTORSY; and, the REALTOR®
Logo

The National Association is the proud owner of numerous marks including
but not limited to the terms REALTOR®, REALTORS®, the REALTOR®
Logo and the Block "R" mark (which may be referred to collectively as
the "MARKS").

The Marks are collective membership marks that serve to identify
Members of the National Association and distinguish them from non-
members*. Since 1916, when the unique term REALTOR® was first
"coined" or "invented", the public has come to recognize those who use
the MARKS as Members of the NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
REALTORS® and, as such, providers of real estate related services
consistent with a strict Code of Ethics and the highest standards of
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professionalism. Member Boards**, through their use of the MARKS, are
recognized as Member organizations.

Members are licensed by the National Association to use one or more of
the MARKS in connection with or in reference to themselves and their
real estate businesses.

Member Boards are licensed to use the term REALTORS® as part of their
name, or in the title of their publication, and to use the REALTOR® Logo
in connection with their name. Member Boards may also be licensed to
use the Block "R" mark in connection with a Member Board logo.

B. Form and Context: Key Considerations

The primary purpose of this Manual is to explain certain simple but essential

policies and guidelines which have been adopted by the National Association
to govern and protect the usage of its MARKS. These policies and guidelines
include five limitations on the rights of Members and Member Boards to use

the MARKS.

Without diminishing the importance of geographical, business and membership
limitations governing use of the MARKS, Members and Member Boards are
encouraged to take special note of those limitations regarding FORM and
CONTEXT for these are the key to understanding the various policies and
guidelines.

The balance of this Manual is devoted to explaining, by example, day-to-day
applications of these guidelines and policies which will assist the Member and
Member Board in conforming their use of the MARKS to these limitations and to
the handling of special exceptions and situations.

As used in this Manual, the word FORM refers to the distinguishing style or
appearance of these MARKS with respect to accompanying text, punctuation or
symbols (e.g., capitalization, boldface type, italics, spacing, color and use of the
federal registration symbol "®"). Proper FORM is necessary for the public to
recognize the MARKS for their registered status and significance as more than
simply words of ordinary use. The word CONTEXT refers to the meaning or
definition likely to be attributed to the MARKS by the public as a result of
accompanying wording or the overall setting of the use. The discussion of Proper
Use appearing below is designed to assist in evaluating the CONTEXT of any
particular use of the Marks.

The guidelines and policies set forth in this Manual are designed to encourage the
widest possible consistent use of the MARKS while at the same time preserving
and perpetuating their meaning and identifying function. Without such guidelines
and policies and the cooperation and assistance of Member Boards and Members
everywhere in assuring proper use, the MARKS might become confused in the
public mind and lose their protectable, valuable qualities. To remain effective in
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performing their identifying function, the MARKS must be used consistently and
correctly.

For a full copy of this manual refer to:
http://www.realtor.org/letterlw.nsf/pages/mmmPartOne

Trade Name Search NMREC Website

(T N

10.

11.

12

13.

14.

15

www.state.nm.us/nmrec

. Franchise

Name reservation from the Commission and if LLC or Corporation also
from Public Regulation Commission

Qualification of Corp., Partnership, Association as Brokerage 61-6-8
Registration of desired Internet address (URL) www.whois.org
Extensions .com .net .org .biz .edu

Hosting

Municipal/County Business Licenses

Most municipalities require a business license or permit. Contact your
treasurer’s office for forms and fees. Most registrations are annual and
fees vary.

Registering to pay taxes required of every brokerage

New Mexico Gross Receipts tax: New Mexico Department of Taxation
and Revenue, Joseph Montoya Building Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-
0630. (505) 827-0900, Fax (505) 827-9801 www.state.nm.us/tax

Federal and State Income tax

Employer Identification Number (EIN)

Estimated Income Tax

Employee withholding including income taxes and contributions to Social
Security and Medicare, and unemployment funds and worker’s
compensation fund required by the NM Worker’s Compensation Act 2410
Central Avenue SE, Albuquerque, New Mexico P.O. Box 27198 87125-
7198 (505) 841-6000

Liability, malpractice and other insurance

Liability Insurance for Board of Directors and Officers of Entity

Key Man Insurance
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16. Fire and Extended Coverage
17. Business Interruption Coverage

18. Errors and Omissions Insurance www.risceo.com

19. Trade Association memberships

Multiple Listing Service participation

A sample definition taken, from Albuquerque’s Southwest Multiple Listing Service
Bylaws is as follows:

“A Multiple Listing Service is a means by which authorized Participants make
blanket unilateral offers of compensation to other Participants, by which information
is accumulated and disseminated to enable authorized Participants to prepare
appraisals, analyses, and other valuations of real property for clients and customers,
by which Participants engaging in real estate appraisal contribute to common
databases; and is a facility for the orderly correlation and dissemination of listing
information so Participants may better serve their clients and the public.”

An MLS consists of privately held data that is compiled by participating members.
The value of an MLS is largely dependent upon cooperation, accuracy and
compliance with the rules and regulations.

1. Joining

Membership in a Multiple Listing Service (MLS) is not required, but in order to
have the most information at your fingertips for your market, it is recommended.
Each MLS has different requirements for joining.

Check with your local Board to determine what the requirements are in your area.
If you do not have a local Board, as a Qualifying Broker, you may join the
RANM MLS (NM Multi Board MLS) by having RANM act as your local Board.
Most often, the first requirement is having a valid NM real estate license being a
Realtor member, and either being or having a Qualifying Broker who wishes to be
a member.

For Angel Fire, Artesia, Carlsbad, Clovis, Deming, Gallup, Grants, Hobbs, and
Las Vegas, the MLS is run from RANM (Realtors Association of New Mexico).

Membership in the NM Multi Board MLS involves the local Board and the
Qualifying Broker’s choice as to whether to participate or not. The Qualifying

Broker must be a member in order for a Broker to be a member.

2. Compliance with By-Laws:
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Each MLS has a set of By-Laws and Rules and Regulations that each member
must abide by. Most often the By-laws and Rules and Regulations can be found
on the Board website. As a QB, you should read both documents and be aware of
certain rules and time frames that are very important.

For example:

a.) the Rules and Regulations often require that a listing is entered into the
MLS within a certain time frame after signatures are acquired on the
listing papers,.

b.) they often state that a Participant is obligated to verify all the information
filed in the listing is accurate

c.) they set forth rules regarding showing properties, presenting offers, time
frames for reporting status changes on the listing to the service

d.) they state that each member QB agrees to compensate the co-op Broker.

3. Accurate Information and Broker Cooperation:

As stated above, the Rules and Regulations of each MLS usually require that the
information supplied for each listing by the Participant be verified and accurate.

a.) This information goes on the public websites that MLS associates with
such as Realtor.com.

b.) When information is distributed to the public, it is seen as an
advertisement, and therefore all rules and regulations that apply to advertising
regarding antidiscrimination apply to the listing print out.

c.) The QB is responsible for each of his Brokers and is therefore liable for the
information disseminated in MLS for each of his listings.

d.) The QB is responsible if what is represented is incorrect.

f.) Data Input Sheets are often used as a method of obtaining information on
the listing. They include all of the fields used by the MLS such as square

footage, number of bedrooms, type of heating and cooling, etc. Do not guess.
Verify.

In Albuquerque, a good resource for information regarding school district,
flood zone, upc code etc, is actually incorporated into the entry process.
When entering a listing, hit the “GIS information” button. It will take you to
the city site and show you a page specific to the listing address, where you

will find quite a bit of information that even the Seller sometimes does not
know.
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g.) As stated in the example definition of an MLS, above, by joining an MLS,
each member is agreeing to cooperate with and compensate other Brokers.
The Rules and Regulations of each MLS state clearly that in joining, you are
agreeing to these items at the very least:

Provide accurate information on listings
2. Provide access to those listings
3. Compensate Broker representing Buyer.

The MLS has nothing to do with the amount of the compensation. Each
Qualifying Broker determines what he will charge the Seller and what split of that
fee will be paid to the cooperating Broker.

4. The Etiquette of Cooperation:
Cooperation involves three aspects.

a. Offers and Information:

Presenting offers and counter offers in a timely manner
Providing accurate information on listings

Assuring the status of the listing is as up to date as possible
Providing safe access to listings; making sure dogs are put away

b. Compensation:

Each listing states what the Listing Broker is offering in the form of a
split. Remember, the commission is actually agreed upon by the Seller
and the Listing Broker. The split in MLS is what the Listing Broker is
willing to share with the co-op Broker.

¢. Showings:

a.) Follow the instructions on listing regarding showing. You should
always either leave a business card when showing a home, or sign in if
there is a sign in sheet. Each area will differ some, but the following are
some examples:

LBCF means lockbox call first. It is generally understood that if you
cannot reach the owner, then leaving a message is acceptable and it is
ok to access the lockbox.

VLB means vacant on lockbox. No call is necessary, but you must still
leave a card or sign in. CLA: Means call listing agent for an
appointment

HMOT: Owner home most of the time

b.) When showing a home, after following the listing instructions,
e ALWAYS ring the doorbell.



e ALWAYS announce yourself.

e ALWAYS leave the home exactly as you found it

e ALWAYS double-check to make sure you have locked every
door you opened.

e ALWAYS remember that you are responsible for the behavior
of the customer you have brought into someone’s home

NEVER touch people’s personal belongings

NEVER open drawers or cabinet doors that are not built in.
NEVER feed or water pets or plants

NEVER discuss the people, ONLY the property.

NEVER climb up on someone’s roof or access their crawl
space without permission

e & o @ o

Realize that as the Broker opening someone’s home, there is quite a bit
of responsibility involved that goes over and above those things listed in
paragraph b. In addition to your own behavior, you are responsible for
the behavior of the customers you have brought in and that of the
children they may have with them as well. You must make sure that the
customer follows the same etiquette that you do. Be respectful of
people’s homes.

5. Place of business: Zoning and CC&R, appropriate signage, lease provisions

i. Location
ii.Market recognition
iii. Recruitment/retention issues
4. Design and layout of office facilities
5. Building recognition
6. Lease provisions: rent and escalators, term and renewal options,
tenant build- out allowances, ADA compliance, sufficient parking, etc.

6. Fair Employment Practices

(1 Hour)
1. Minimum wage
a. Federal
b. State

¢. Municipal

2. Federal Employment Manual on disk
a. Equal pay
b. Employment of minor
c. Family leave
d. Military leave
e. Reporting wages
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7. Internal Affiliation Relationships and Agreements
(Contract, Taxation, and Relationship Issues)

1. Significance of Legal Distinctions

a.) The Internal Revenue Code requires that certain provisions be met for a real
estate broker to be considered an independent contractor certain conditions must
be met:

b.) The broker must be duly licensed as a real estate broker AND

¢.) Substantially all of the broker’s remuneration must be directly related to sales
or other output rather than to the number of hours worked; AND

d.) The broker must be a party to a written agreement with the qualifying broker
for whom the broker works that expressly includes specific language required by
the Code. (See Section 3508)—Information is taken from the RANM Form 7502
“Independent Contractor Agreement Form Explanation and Disclaimer”

8. New Mexico Common Law.

No statutory test controls whether a broker is an independent contractor for other
purposes. Under the common law, independent contractor status is determined by
weighing many factors, which may include, among others, instructions by the company;
training by the company; integration (whether worker provides essential services of the
business); whether services must be rendered personally; hiring, supervising, paying
assistants by the worker; continuing relationship; set hours of work; full-time required;
working on company's premises; sequence of work set by company; oral or written
reports by the worker to the company; payment by the hour, week, month; payment of
business or travel expenses of the worker; worker opportunity to realize profit or loss;
work for more than one firm at a time; making services available to the public; right to
discharge by company; right to terminate by worker.

A written agreement may be one of the factors considered, but the parties' conclusion
about their relationship is not binding on others. The RANM Form 7502 “Independent
Contractor Agreement Form Explanation and Disclaimer”

9. New Mexico Real Estate Commission Rules Part 1
Provides that an employee for the purposes of License Law

(1) Is a person employed by an owner or lessor of real property, or a person employed
by the brokerage acting on behalf of the owner or lessor of real property. In determining

whether a person is an employee, as opposed to an independent contractor, the
commission shall consider the following

(2) Does the employer pay a portion of the person's FICA tax;

(3) Is the person covered by workers' compensation insurance;

(4) Does the employer make unemployment insurance contributions on behalf of the person;
(5) Does the employer consider the person an employee.



10. Employment Agreements
e Necessity of Employment Agreement Between Real Estate Company and
Qualifying Broker—other than with Qualifying Broker contract with employing
entity (other than sole proprietorship).
e New Mexico Real Estate Commission Rules Part 6 See Module 1
e Necessity of Affiliation Agreement between Qualifying Broker and All
Associate Brokers

1. New Mexico License Law (Section 61-17-8 NMSA 1978) provides that “a qualifying
broker may by written employment or independent contractor agreement engage the
services of associate brokers or co-qualifying brokers.

2. New Mexico Real Estate Commission Rules Part 17 requires that “an associate
broker’s license shall show the name of the qualifying broker by whom the associate
broker is engaged [and]... the license of the associate broker shall remain in the custody
and control of the qualifying broker as long as the associate broker is engaged by that
qualifying broker.”

11. Independent Contractor Agreements
Between Qualifying Broker and Associate Brokers —
RANM Form 7502 “Independent Contractor Agreement Broker/Associate Broker”

1. Realtor® Affiliation. Item 2.

2. Contractor is a “statutory non-employee” Item 4.

3. Contractor has free hand as to means of production. Item 4.

4. Contractor under control of Qualifying Broker as to results. Item 4.

5. Contractor is not in a partnership with Qualifying Broker. Item 4.

6. Contractor has no authority to bind Qualifying Broker by any promise or representation

unless specifically authorized by Qualifying Broker in writing. Item 4.

7. Qualifying Broker is not liable for any obligation or liability incurred by Contractor.
Item 4.

8. Qualifying Broker shall not, except to the extent required by License Law, direct or limit

Contractor’s activities. Item 6.

9. Contractor shall submit for Qualifying Broker’s review all documents which may have a

material effect upon the rights and duties of the principals in a transaction. Item 7.

11. Qualifying Broker has the right to require of Contractor compliance, to the extent required

by License Law, with directions, office policies and procedures, etc. Item 7.

12. Contractor will comply with License Law and Rules of the New Mexico Real Estate

Commission. Item 9.

13. All compensation will be received by the Qualifying Broker. Item 13.

m. Contractor is free to hire assistants who will be employees of the Contractor and not the

Qualifying Broker and must be in compliance with New Mexico Real Estate License Law

and Rules of the New Mexico Real Estate Commission and other applicable laws. Item 16.

14. All listings or other agreements for performance of licensed acts and associated

documents or records are the property of the Qualifying Broker. Item 17.

16. This Agreement may be terminated at any time by either party providing 24 hours written

notice. Item 18.

17. After termination disputes arising out of the Agreement shall be submitted to arbitration

under guidelines of the National Association of Realtors® Ethics and Arbitration Manual.

Item 18.

18. Prior to termination disputes will be submitted to mediation. Item 21

19. This is the entire Agreement. Item 23.
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(Supplement with Robertson v Carmel Builders case as PDF)

12. Respondeat superior
New Mexico Court of Appeals and Qualifying Broker liability under the common law doctrine
of respondeat superior (Robertson v Carmel Builders Opinion #2204-NMCA-056) where the
Qualifying Broker was held responsible under the circumstances of that case to pay the damage
award in place of the absentee defendant associate broker.

13. Associate Broker Employment of Unlicensed Assistants.

a. New Mexico Real Estate Commission Rules Part 1: Definitions

1) Unlicensed Assistant: a person who:

(a) Does not hold a New Mexico real estate license;

(b) Works under the supervision of a qualifying broker, associate broker or associate broker;
(¢) performs only those routine clerical, secretarial, administrative or bookkeeping activities
defined in Part 21 of the real estate commission rules which do not require a New Mexico real
estate license.

14. New Mexico Real Estate Commission Rules Part 21
(See Module 1)

e Permitted activities.

e Prohibited activities.

e Exceptions for Disability.

Notwithstanding the foregoing, if an associate broker or qualifying broker is a person
with a disability as defined in the Americans with Disabilities Act or regulations
promulgated hereunder, an unlicensed assistant may provide such additional services
normally requiring a license to or on behalf of the associate broker or qualifying broker
as would constitute a reasonable accommodation so long as the unlicensed assistant is
under the direct control of the associate broker or qualifying broker, the associate broker
or is as close as is practical to the activity, and the unlicensed assistant is not represented as
being or having the authority to act as an associate broker or qualifying broker. The associate
broker or qualifying broker shall notify the commission of the identity of all unlicensed
assistants who perform services normally requiring a license for the associate broker or
qualifying broker pursuant to this rule prior to performance of these services.

15. Associate Broker Employment Agreement with Unlicensed Assistants.
RANM Form 7503 “Unlicensed Assistant Employment Agreement.”

a. Employer. Item 1.

b. Conditions of Employment. Item 2.

c. Key Definitions. Item3.

d. Employer is the “Responsible Person.” Item 4.
e. Role of Assistant. Item 5.

f. Assistant Expense Reimbursement. Item. 10.
g. Assistant is employee-at-will. Item 12.

h. Confidentiality. Item 13.
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16. Real Estate Services Offered
A. Brokerage—Tlisting and selling properties

a. Broker Service Agreements with Buyers and Sellers

b.). Must be in writing to be enforceable under contract law

c.)Must expressly state that the agreement is “exclusive” to have an
enforceable exclusivity.

B. Types of listings
a) Exclusive Right to Sell
b) Exclusive Agency
¢) Limited Service
e. Open
C. RANM Form 1207 Limited Service Notice —Buyer’s Broker to Seller

D. RANM Form 1203 Compensation to Broker Agreement—Unlisted Property
E. Cooperating with other Brokerages

1. Realtor® Code of Ethics Article 3 distinction between “cooperation”
and “compensation”

2. Necessity of contract between brokerage to assure compensation

3. RANM Form 1108 Cooperation and Compensation Agreement where
there is no prior contract to assure compensation to cooperating
broker.

By becoming a Participant in a particular MLS a contractual obligation is
established with other Participants of that MLS, Cooperating brokers
outside that particular MLS should have the RANM Cooperation and

the listed property to a buyer prospect

4. RANM Form 1109 Referral Agreement — In State

5. RANM Form 1107 Cooperation and Compensation Agreement
Foreign Broker and requirements of Part 27 of the Commission Rules
including the requirement that the New Mexico qualifying broker must
sign.

F. Single Family

1. RANM Form 1106 Listing Agreement—Exclusive Right to Sell (with
Agency Addendum)
2. RANM Form 2104 Purchase Agreement — Residential Resale
3. 2. RANM Form 2105 Purchase Agreement — Residential New
Construction on
Seller Owned Lot

G. Vacant Land
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1. RANM Form 1106 Listing Agreement—Exclusive Right to Sell (with
Agency Addendum)

2. RANM Form 4101 Purchase Agreement — Vacant Land

3. RANM Form 4103 Property Disclosure Statement—Vacant Land
Real Estate Specialty Practice: Commercial, Farm and Ranch

4. RANM Form 1106 Listing Agreement—Exclusive Right to Sell (with
Agency Addendum)

5. RANM Form 3107 Listing Agreement—Commercial

6. RANM Form 3101 Purchase and Sale Agreement—Commercial

7. RANM Form 3106 Financing Addendum --Commercial

8. RANM Form 3103 Property Disclosure Statement—Commercial

9. RANM Form 4104 Purchase Agreement—Farm and Ranch

10. RANM Form 4104 Property Disclosure Statement—Farm and Ranch

H. Real Estate Specialty Practice: Leasing

1. Gross Lease: Tenant pays a fixed rental, and the landlord pays all
taxes, insurance, repairs, utilities, and the like connected with the property.
This is the typical rent structure for residential property.

2. Net Lease: Tenant pays all or some of the property charges in addition
to the rent. The monthly rental is net income for the landlord after
operating costs have been paid. Leases for entire commercial or industrial
buildings and the land on which they are located, ground leases, and long-
term leases are usually net leases.

3. Triple-net lease, or net-net-net lease, the tenant pays all operating and
other expenses in addition to a periodic rent. These expenses include
taxes, insurance, assessments, maintenance, utilities, and other charges
related to the premises.

4. Percentage Lease: Either a gross lease or a net lease may be a
percentage lease. The rent is based on a minimum fixed rental fee plus a
percentage of the gross income received by the tenant doing business on
the leased property. This type of lease is usually used for retail
businesses. The percentage charged is negotiable and varies depending on
the nature of the business, the location of the property and general
economic conditions.

5. Variable Lease: Several types of leases allow for increases in the rental
charges during the lease periods. One of the more common is the
graduated lease. A graduated lease provides for specified rent increases at
set future dates. Another is the index lease, which allows rent to be
increased or decreased periodically based on changes in the consumer
price index or some other indicator.

6. Ground Lease: When a landowner leases unimproved land to a tenant
who agrees to erect a building on the land, the lease is usually referred to
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as a ground lease. Ground leases usually involve separate ownership of
the land and buildings and are of sufficient term to allow intended use.

1. Property Management

1. Property Management Trust Account 61-24-8
When maintaining six (6) or more individual rental units, a property
management trust account shall be established by the qualifying broker to
receive and hold funds for the benefit of his/her clients. The account shall
indicate on the checks and bank records that the account is a “property
management trust account.” Records of this account must be kept under
the qualifying broker’s control as set forth in the New Mexico Rules and
Law.

2. All funds received by the qualifying broker, acting as property manager shall
be deposited into the property management trust account prior to any
disbursements. Once deposited, the qualifying broker may then disburse funds as
specified in the management agreement.

Security and/or deposits from tenants shall be placed and held in the property
management trust account, except as stated below. However, if agreed upon in
the written rental or lease agreement between the property owners and tenants,
security and/or damage deposits only may be directed or disbursed to the property
owners without first being deposited to the property management trust account
and the qualifying broker shall not be held responsible for such deposits.

3. A Qualifying Broker may have a custodial account in the owner’s name;
however, all funds going into the account must first pass through the property
management trust account.

4. Commingling of funds is not permitted. No funds may be deposited in the
property management trust account that are not received in connection with a
client’s rental account, except for funds deposited by the qualifying broker to the
property management trust account for the purpose of maintaining a minimum
balance.

5. When the property management trust account contains money from the rental
or lease of more than one piece of property, separate accounting records shall be
maintained on each property.

Money designated to one piece of property on accounting records shall not be
mingled with money designated for another property on the records.

However, if a written agreement exists between the qualifying broker or broker in
charge and property owner, allowing the mingling of funds of more than one

property owned by that property owner, then mingling of funds from those
designated properties only is allowed.
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a.) Trust Account Receipts 61-24-9 See Module 1

b.) Trust Account Disbursements 61-24-10 See Module 1

c.). Reconciliation 61-24-11 See Module 1

d.) Reports to Owners 61-24-12 See Module 1

e.) Management Agreements 61-24-13 RANM Form 6102 Property
Management Agreement.

5. There shall be a signed written management agreement with each owner
shat shall set forth the understanding of the owner and the brokerage as to
the duties and responsibilities of each.

6. This agreement shall be executed prior to acting on behalf of the owner. It
shall specify whether the property or properties are to be operated in the
name of the owner or in the name of the Brokerage with regard to such
things as the signing of leases, the sending of notices and the
establishment of vendor accounts.

8. Tenancy Agreements 61-24-14 RANM Form 6101 Residential Rental
Agreement

a.) There shall be a signed written tenancy agreement for each rental unit
rented or leased. A copy of the agreement signed by the owner or the
brokerage and the tenant shall be maintained in the file for each owner’s
property. Tenancy agreements shall include at a minimum the following:
b.) name of tenant;

c¢.) rental unit address;

d.) rental rate and due date;

e.) date possession began;

f.) date and amount of payments and due date;

g.) what the payments are for, i.e., rent, late charges, deposits, etc.

h.) Retention of Records 61-24-15

1.) The qualifying broker shall maintain records for each rental property
during the period covered by the management agreement. Upon
termination of the management agreement, records shall be retained by the
qualifying broker for a period of not less than three (3) years.

j.) Short-term Rentals 61-24-16

k.) The following special provisions apply only with respect to the
management of short-term rentals:

1.). Staff of the brokerage handling short-term rentals who engage
only in taking reservations for short term rentals shall not be
required to be licensed, but shall comply with Part 211:
Unlicensed Assistants.

2.) Brokerages managing short-term rental properties may enter

into a written agreement with an owner as to the manner in which
payments made by credit card are to be deposited and disbursed.
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This agreement may include permission to hold credit card charge
slips given as a security and/or damage deposit for return to the
tenant at the end of the short-term rental period.

3.) In the case of short-term rentals only, the qualifying broker
may deposit non-trust funds into the trust account for the purpose
of paying fees charged for credit card transactions.

9. Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act (Highlights)

a.) Owner Responsibilities 47-8-20
b.) Tenant Obligations 47-8-22

c.) Right-of-Entry 47-8-24

d.) Payment of Rent 47-8-14

10. Notices to Vacate (3, 7, 30 Days) & Forms

a). 3 Day Notice: The three day notice is used if the tenant has failed to pay rent.
If the rent is not paid within three days from the date of delivery of the notice, the
rental agreement is terminated.

b.) 7 Day Notice: The seven day notice is used if the tenant in noncompliance
with the rental agreement for anything other than non-payment of rent, such as
pets being on the premises when they have been specifically denied. If the
noncompliance is not corrected within seven days of delivery of notice, the rental
agreement is terminated. In addition, regardless of whether the noncompliance is
corrected, if a second material noncompliance with the rental agreement or any
separate agreement occurs within six (6) months of the initial noncompliance, the
rental agreement is terminated.

¢.) 30 Day Notice: The thirty day notice is used when either the tenant or
landlord wish to terminate the rental agreement for anything other than non-
payment of rent or a noncompliance with the rental agreement. The notice must
be given from the first day of the rental period. If rent is payable on the 1 of the
month, notice must be given from the 1* of the following month.

11. Service of Notice 47-8-13

12. Other Considerations
a.) HUD Approval For Rentals: The tenant typically makes the application with
HUD based on the number of people in the household. HUD has their own rent
schedule and the rents may not exceed their limits.

An inspection of the premises must be made to ensure that every thing is in
working order, and that there is no damage to the property. HUD will then
approve or disapprove the residence. If an approval is given, HUD prepares the
rental agreement and sends it to the landlord. Usually only a portion of the total
rent is paid by HUD and the remainder is paid by the tenant.
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