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January 2018
Dear New Mexico Real Estate Broker:

The New Mexico Real Estate Commission is pleased to present the 2018 edition
of the Real Estate License Law and Rules Manual.

The 2014-2015 law and rules manual was the Commission’s last paper manual.
From this point forward the manual will be in electronic form only. The manual
incorporates the new continuing education and Core Course requirements, changes
to requirements for obtaining and renewing a qualifying broker’s license, and
changes to Broker Duties.

After a broker survey and two years of intensive work incorporating broker
feedback into a revamping of continuing education, the Commission replaced the
eight-hour Mandatory Course required every three years with a four-hour Core
Course required annually.

In keeping with the Commission’s mission of protecting the public and enhancing
the professional competence of real estate brokers, the Commission increased the
continuing education requirement from 30 to 36 hours and significantly upgraded
the requirements to obtain and renew a qualifying broker’s license.

Those requirements include:

e Documented active experience as an associate broker for four of the last
five years immediately preceding the qualifying broker application.

e Non-supervisory qualifying brokers need only two years active experience
but if they later decide to supervise other brokers, the four year
requirement will apply.

Documented qualifying transactional experience totaling 100 points with at
least one transaction accomplished during each of the four years prior to
filing the application.

Completion of the 8-hour Realtors Association of New Mexico (RANM)
Understanding RANM Forms course or equivalent courses approved by
the Commission, and

Attendance at one Commission meeting, public hearing or disciplinary
hearing.

The new Core Course requirements and the qualifying broker rule in their entirety
are the Commission web site, along with a new qualifying broker application that
incorporates all of the new requirements.

Occurring simultaneously with the changes to continuing education and qualifying
broker requirements was the transition to online license renewals. Late in 2017,




brokers began receiving by email online license renewal notifications, replacing paper renewal
packets

After a broker has paid their renewal fee online with a credit card—license renewals are the
only transaction that can be paid on line or by credit card everything else must be paid by check
or money order—the renewal will go on hold until the Commission staff is able to verify that
the application is complete.

If the application is incomplete, you will receive an email from Licensing Manager Roxanne
Romo or Financial Specialist Brittany Dominguez informing you of what’s missing. If there are
no problems with your renewal application, you will not receive a notice of license renewal.

The Commission also made some significant changes to the Broker Duties rule, including;

o Differentiating between the broker duties owed to clients and customers and tenants, and
creating a section entitled Broker Responsibilities to Other Brokers, which includes non-
interference with a purchase agreement or any express written agreement that another
broker has with a buyer, seller, landlord (owner) or tenant.

Adding “ethical and professional conduct” to the existing duty of honesty and
reasonable care.

Specifying that although a residential property manager is the exclusive agent of the
property owner they still owe to tenants honesty and reasonable care and professional
and ethical conduct, and prompt accounting for all money or property received by the
broker from the tenant, including issuance of a receipt for cash received.

In the case of residential property management, requiring written disclosure that the
broker is the agent of the owner and not of the tenant, and in the case of commercial
property management, written disclosure of the broker’s relationship with the owner.
These changes were made to bring the Commission Rules in line with the Uniform
Owner Resident Relations Act and to avoid giving the impression that the broker
represents the tenant in a residential property management transaction.,

Specifying that a broker owes duties to the customer or client to whom they are directly
providing real estate services.

The Commission appreciates and values the services that real estate brokers provide to the
people of New Mexico. We have appreciated your patience during this time of transition. The
Commission considers each of you a valued customer, and we encourage you to call, write, or
email anytime that we can be of service.

Sincerely,
R T o o
Wayne W. Ciddio
Exécutive Secretary
New Mexico Real Estate Commission

New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department

BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS DIVISION
Page 2 of 3
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61-29-1 Prohibition

It is unlawful for a person to engage in the business or act in the capacity of
real estate associate broker or qualifying broker within New Mexico without
a license issued by the commission. A person who engages in the business or
acts in the capacity of an associate broker or a qualifying broker in New
Mexico, except as otherwise provided in Section 61-29-2 NMSA 1978, with
or without a New Mexico real estate broker’s license, has thereby
submitted to the jurisdiction of the state and to the administrative
jurisdiction of the commission and is subject to all penalties and remedies
available for a violation of any provision of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA

1978.

History: 1953 Comp., § 67-24-19, enacted
by Laws 1959, ch. 226, § 1; 1965, ch.304, § 1,

2001, ch. 163, § 1; 2005, ch. 35, § 1; 2013, ch.
167, § 1.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference— Registration required of time
share projects; real estate salesperson license
required, 47-11-2.1 NMSA 1978.

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006, substituted
“‘an associate broker or a qualifying broker’’ for ‘‘a broker or
real estate salesperson’” in two places.

The 2013 amendment, effective June 14, 2013, substituted
“‘real estate’’ for ‘‘advertise or display in any manner or
otherwise assume to engage in the business of, or act as an’’

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8,approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

in the first sentence; substituted ‘“New Mexico real estate
broker’s license’” for ‘“New Mexico license’’ in the second
sentence; and made related and stylistic changes.

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Generally

Real estate broker’s or salesperson’s license is required for a
variety of activities, including buying selling, exchanging,
renting, leasing, auctioning, or dealing with options in real

61-29-1.1 Recompiled

estate. Garcia v. N.M. Real Estate Comm’n, 108 N.M. 591,
775 P.2d 1308 (Ct. App. 1989), cert. denied, 108 N.M. 624,
776 P.2d 846 (1989).

STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes — This section, relating to registration of
time share projects and licensing of salespersons, was
recompiled as 47-11-NMSA 1978.

61-29-2 Definitions and exceptions
A. As used in Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978:
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(1) ““Agency relationship’> means the fiduciary relationship
created solely by an express written agency agreement between a
person and a brokerage, authorizing the brokerage to act as an agent
for the person according to the scope of authority granted in that
express written agreement for real estate services subject to the
jurisdiction of the commission;

(2) <“‘Agent” means the brokerage authorized, solely by means
of an express written agreement, to act as a fiduciary for a person and to
provide real estate services that are subject to the jurisdiction of the
commission; in the case of an associate broker, ‘‘agent’> means the
person who has been authorized to act by that associate broker’s
qualifying broker;

(3) ““Associate broker’> means a person who, for compensation or
other valuable consideration, is associated with or engaged under
contract by a qualifying broker to carry on the qualifying broker’s
business as a whole or partial vocation, and:

(a) Lists, sells or offers to sell real estate; buys or offers to buy
real estate; or negotiates the purchase, sale or exchange of real
estate or options on real estate;

(b) Is engaged in managing property for others;

(c) Leases, rents or auctions or offers to lease, rent or auction
real estate;

(d) Advertises or makes any representation as being engaged
in the business of buying, selling, exchanging, renting, leasing,
auctioning or dealing with options on real estate for others as a
whole or partial vocation; or

(e) Engages in the business of charging an advance fee or
contracting for collection of a fee in connection with a
contract under which the qualifying broker undertakes primarily
to promote the sale of real estate through its listing in a
publication issued primarily for that purpose or for the purpose of
referral of information concerning real estate to other qualifying
brokers or associate brokers;

(4) ““Brokerage’” means a licensed qualifying broker and the licensed
real estate business represented by the qualifying broker and its
affiliated licensees;

(5) ““‘Brokerage relationship’> means the legal or contractual
relationship between a person and a brokerage in a real estate
transaction subject to the jurisdiction of the commission;
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(6) ““Client>> means a person who has entered into an express
written agreement with a brokerage for real estate services subject to
the jurisdiction of the commission;

(7) ““Commission’” means the New Mexico real estate commission;

(8) <“Customer’” means a person who uses real estate services
without entering into an express written agreement with a brokerage
subject to the jurisdiction of the commission;

(9) ““License’” means a qualifying broker’s license or an associate
broker’s license issued by the commission;

(10) ““Licensee’> means a person holding a valid qualifying
broker’s license or an associate broker’s license subject to the
jurisdiction of the commission;

(11) ““Qualifying broker’> means a licensed real estate broker
who has qualified a proprietorship, corporation, partnership or
association to do business as a real estate brokerage in the state of New
Mexico, who discharges the responsibilities specific to a qualifying
broker as defined by the commission and who for compensation or
other consideration from another:

(a) Lists, sells or offers to sell real estate; buys or offers to buy
real estate; or negotiates the purchase, sale or exchange of real
estate or options on real estate;

(b) Is engaged in managing property for others;

(c) Leases, rents or auctions or offers to lease, rent or auction
real estate;

(d) Advertises or makes any representation as being engaged
in the business of buying, selling, exchanging, renting, leasing,
auctioning or dealing with options on real estate for others as a
whole or partial vocation; or

(e) Engages in the business of charging an advance fee or
contracting for collection of a fee in connection with a
contract under which the qualifying broker undertakes primarily
to promote the sale of real estate through its listing in a
publication issued primarily for that purpose or for the purpose of
referral of information concerning real estate to other qualifying
brokers or associate brokers;

(12) ““‘Real estate’” means land, improvements, leaseholds and
other interests in real property that are less than a fee simple
ownership interest, whether tangible or intangible; and
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(13) ““Transaction broker’” means a qualifying broker, associate
broker or brokerage that provides real estate services without entering
into an agency relationship.

Single act of a person in performing or attempting to perform an
activity described in Paragraph (11) of Subsection A of this section
makes the person a qualifying broker. A single act of a person in
performing or attempting to perform an activity described in Paragraph
(3) of Subsection A of this section makes the person an associate
broker.

The provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 do not apply to:

(1) A person who as owner performs any of the activities included in
this section with reference to property owned by the person, except
when the sale or offering for sale of the property constitutes a
subdivision containing one hundred or more parcels;

(2) The employees of the owner or the employees of a qualifying
broker acting on behalf of the owner, with respect to the property owned,
if the acts are performed in the regular course of or incident to the
management of the property and the investments;

(3) Isolated or sporadic transactions not exceeding two
transactions annually in which a person acts as attorney-in-fact

under a duly executed power of attorney delivered by an owner
authorizing the person to finally consummate and to perform under
any contract the sale, leasing or exchange of real estate on behalf of the
owner; and the owner or attorney-in-fact has not used a power of
attorney for the purpose of evading the provisions of Chapter 61,
Article 29 NMSA 1978;

(4) Transactions in which a person acts as attorney-in-fact under a
duly executed power of attorney delivered by an owner related to the
attorney-in- fact within the fourth degree of consanguinity or closer,
authorizing the person to finally consummate and to perform under any
contract for the sale, leasing or exchange of real estate on behalf of the
owner;

(5) The services rendered by an attorney at law in the
performance of the attorney’s duties as an attorney at law;

(6) A person acting in the capacity of a receiver, trustee in
bankruptcy, administrator or executor, a person selling real estate
pursuant to an order of any court or a trustee acting under a trust
agreement, deed of trust or will or the regular salaried employee of a
trustee;

(7) The activities of a salaried employee of a governmental agency
acting within the scope of employment; or




(8) Persons who deal exclusively in mineral leases or the
sale or purchase of mineral rights or royalties in any case in which the
fee to the land or the surface rights are in no way involved in the

transaction.

History: 1978 Comp., § 61-29-2, enacted by Laws 1999,
ch. 127, § 1; 2003, ch. 36,8 1; 2005, ch. 35, § 2; 2011,
ch. 85, §1; 2013, ch. 167, § 2.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Tax credit; certain conveyances of real
property, 7-2A-8.9 NMSA 1978. Prohibition 61-29-1
NMSA 1978.

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006, rewrote
Paragraph A(1) which formerly defined both agency
relationship and broker- age relationship; added Paragraphs
A(2), (3), (6) and (14); re-designated former Paragraphs
A(2) and A(3) as present Paragraphs A(4) and A(5); re-
designated former Paragraphs A(4) through A(10) as

The 2011 amendment, effective July 1, 2011, added
(A)(4)(b); re-designated former (A)(4)(b) through (A)(4)(d)
to (A)(4)(c) through (A)(4)(e); substituted ‘‘makes any
representation’” for ‘‘holds himself out’” in (A)(4)(d); in
(C)(1), deleted ““or lessor’” preceding ‘‘per- forms,”” deleted
“‘or leased’” following ‘‘owned’” and added ‘‘except when
the sale or offering for sale of the property constitutes a

The 2013 amendment, effective June 14, 2013, deleted “‘to
participate in an activity described in Paragraph (4) of this
subsection or’’ following ‘‘a qualifying broker’” in the
introductory language of (A)(3); deleted the former
introductory language of (A)(4), which read: *“ ‘broker’ or
‘qualifying broker’ means a person who for compensation or
other consideration from another’’; re-designated former
(A)(@4)(a) through (A)@4)(e), (A)(5) through (A)(11), and
(A)(14) as (A)(3)(a) through (A)?3)(), (A)(4) through
(A)(10), and (A)(13); in (A)(3)(e), deleted ‘‘broker or’’

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

JUDICIAL

Broker
Investments
Jurisdiction
Lessor/owner
Suspension

Broker

Where a real estate broker purchased real estate, contacted a
brokerage corporation to find a buyer for the contract, and
then de- faulted on the contract, the broker was not acting as

Jurisdiction

New Mexico Real Estate Commission had jurisdiction over a
complaint alleging that a real estate broker violated 61-29-12
NMSA 1978 in connection with the sale of a real estate
contract because the broker was a real estate broker as

present Paragraphs A(7) through A(13); substituted
“‘qualifying broker’’ for ‘‘real estate broker’’ throughout
the section; in present Paragraph A(10), substituted ‘‘an
associate broker’s license’” for ‘‘a real estate salesperson’s
license’’; and changed the internal references in Paragraph
A(13) and Subsection B.

subdivision containing one hundred or more parcels’’; added
the (C)(2) designation; in (C)(2), deleted ‘‘or lessor”
following ‘‘the owner’’ twice, ‘‘or leased”” following
“‘property owned,”” and ‘‘or the lease or offering for lease’’
following ‘‘offering sale’’; re-designated former (C)(2)
through (C)(7) to (C)(3) through (C)(8).

following ‘‘under which the’” and substituted ‘‘other’’ for
“‘brokers’’ following ‘‘real estate to’’; substituted ‘‘person’’
for “‘buyer, seller, landlord or tenant’” in (A)(6) and (A)(8);
added (A)(11); deleted former (A)(13); substituted
“‘Paragraph (11)” for ‘‘Paragraph (4)”’ in the first sentence
of (B); deleted ‘‘except when the sale or offering for sale of
the property constitutes a subdivision containing one
hundred or more parcels’” at the end of (C)(2); and made a
related change.

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

DECISIONS

a real estate broker; therefore, suspension of his license by
the real estate com- mission was improper. Vihstadt v. Real
Estate Comm’n, 106 N.M. 641, 748 P.2d 14 (1988).

Investments

A real estate license is not legally required in order arrange
investments in real estate con- tracts. Garcia v. N.M. Real
Estate Comm’n, 108 N.M. 591, 775 P.2d 1308 (Ct. App.
1989), cert. denied, 108 N.M. 624, 776 P.2d 846 (1989).

defined in 61-29-2A NMSA 1978, he represented himself as
such and acted in that capacity, the contract itself indicated
that the broker was being employed in a broker’s capacity,
and he received a commission for the transaction. Elliott v.




New Mexico Real Estate Comm’n, 103 N.M. 273, 705 P.2d

Lessor/owner

Former lessee and owner of a building located on leased
premises could not maintain an action to recover
compensation or a commission from the landowner after he
negotiated a new lease between the landowner and a
company that purchased the building because he was not a

Suspension

New Mexico Real Estate Commission’s suspension of a real
estate broker’s license in connection with the sale of a real
estate contract was not unlawful, arbitrary, or capricious
because it was supported by substantial evidence that the

License
A person may hold more than one real estate broker’s license
at the same time, and the part-time broker provisions of Rule

679 (1985).

licensed real estate broker at the time he negotiated the lease.
The former lessee was not exempted from the provisions of
the Real Estate Brokers and Salesmen Act as either a lessor
or an owner in the regular course of management of the
property. Bosque Farms Home Ctr. v. Tabet Lumber Co., 107
N.M. 115, 753 P.2d 894 (1988).

broker by commingled funds failed to place funds entrusted
to him in a trust account, and failing to remit money in his
possession belonging to others within a reasonable time.
Elliott v. New Mexico Real Estate Comm’n, 103N.M.273,
705 P.2d 679 (1985).

3 of the New Mexico real estate commission’s rules and
regulations are legally correct. 1980 Op. Atty. Gen. No. 80-
22,1980 N.M. AG LEXIS 19

61-29-3 Criminal offender’s character evaluation

The provisions of the Criminal Offender Employment Act [28-2-1 NMSA
1978] shall govern any consideration of criminal records required or
permitted by Sections 61-29-1 through 61-29-18 NMSA 1978.

History: 1953 Comp., § 67-24-20.1, enacted
by Laws 1974, ch. 78, § 29.

STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July1, 2012 to July

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

OPINIONS OF ATTORNEY GENERAL

Applicability

If the real estate commission is contemplating denial,
suspension or revocation of a license because of a conviction
of a felony or offense involving moral turpitude by the

licensee, the Criminal Offender Employment Act, 28-2-1
NMSA 1978, et seq., must be followed. 1982 Op. Atty. Gen.
No. 82-2, 1982 N.M. AG LEXIS 23.

61-29-4 Creation of commission; powers and duties

There is created the ““New Mexico real estate commission’’. The commission
shall be appointed by the governor and shall consist of five members who
shall have been residents of the state for three consecutive years
immediately prior to their appointment, four of whom shall have been
associate brokers or qualifying brokers licensed in New Mexico and one of
whom shall be a member of the public who has never been licensed as an
associate broker or a qualifying broker; provided that not more than one
member shall be from any one county within the state. The members of the
commission shall serve for a period of five years or until their successors are
appointed and qualified. The governor may remove a member for cause.
In the event of vacancies, the governor shall appoint members to
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complete unexpired terms. The commission shall possess all the powers and
perform all the duties prescribed by Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 and
as otherwise provided by law, and it is expressly vested with power and
authority to make and enforce rules to carry out the provisions of that
article. Prior to a final action on a proposed change or amendment to the
rules of the commission, the commission may publish notice of the
proposed action in its official publication, distribute the publication to
each active licensee and give the time and place for a public hearing on
the proposed changes. The hearing shall be held at least thirty days priorto a
proposed final action. Changes or amendments to the rules shall be filed in
accordance with the procedures of the State Rules Act [14-4-1 NMSA
1978] and shall become effective thirty days after notification to all active
licensees of the filing of the changes oramendments.

History: 1953 Comp., § 67-24-21, enacted by Laws
1959, ch. 226, § 3; 1978, ch. 203, § 1; 1983, ch. 261, § 1;

1987, ch. 90, § 2; 1990, ch. 75, § 25; 2003, ch. 22,8 1;
2003, ch. 408, § 30; 2005, ch. 35, § 3.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Additional powers of the commission;
professional liability insurance; minimum coverage, 61-29-

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006, substituted
“‘associate brokers or qualifying brokers’ for ‘‘real estate
brokers’” and ‘‘an associate broker or a qualifying broker’’
for “‘a real estate broker or salesperson’ in the second
sentence; deleted the fourth sentence which formerly read:

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

4.2 NMSA 1978. License fees; disposition, 61-29-8 NMSA
1978.

“Members to fill vacancies shall be appointed for an
unexpired term’ ’inserted the present sixth sentence and
deleted ‘‘and regulations’’ following ‘‘rules’’ in the seventh
and eighth sentences.

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

61-29-4.1 Additional powers of commission;
continuing education programs;
minimum requirements

The commission shall adopt rules providing for continuing education courses
in selling, leasing or managing residential, commercial and industrial
property as well as courses in basic real estate law and practice and
other courses prescribed by the commission. The regulations shall require
that every licensee except licensees who were already exempted from
continuing education requirements prior to July 1, 2011, as a condition
of license renewal, successfully complete a minimum of thirty classroom
hours of instruction every three years in courses approved by the
commission. The rules may prescribe areas of specialty or expertise and
may require that part of the classroom instruction be devoted to courses in
the area of a licensee’s specialty or expertise.

History: 1978 Comp., § 61-29-4.1, enacted by Laws 1985,
ch. 89, § 1; 1993, ch. 253, § 1; 2005, ch. 35, § 4; 2011, ch.
85, § 2; 2013, ch. 167, § 3.




STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Additional powers of the commission;
professional liability insurance; minimum coverage, 61-29-
4.2 NMSA 1978.

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006, rewrote
the first sentence which formerly read: ‘‘In addition to the
powers and duties granted the commission under the
provisions of Section 61-29-4 NMSA 1978, the commission
shall adopt regulations providing for continuing educational
programs that offer courses in selling, leasing or managing
residential, commercial and industrial property as well as

The 2011 amendment, effective July 1, 11, substituted
“were already exempted from continuing education
requirements prior to the effective date of this 2011 act”” for
‘“‘are sixty-five years of age or older and who have a

The 2013 amendment, effective June 14, 2013, in the
second sentence, substituted ‘‘July 1, 2011”" for ‘‘the
effective date of this 2011 act’’ and added ‘‘a minimum of.”’

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of

courses reviewing basic real estate law and practice’’; and
rewrote the third sentence which formerly read: ‘‘The
regulations shall prescribe areas of specialty or expertise and
may require that a certain part of the thirty hours of
classroom instruction be devoted to courses in the area of a
licensee’s specialty or expertise”’.

minimum of twenty years’ continuously licensed experience
in the selling, leasing or managing of real property’’; deleted
“‘shall’” preceding ‘‘renewal’’ in the second sentence; and
made stylistic changes.

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

61-29-4.2 Additional powers of the commission;
professional liability insurance;
minimum coverage.

In addition to the powers and duties granted to the commission
pursuant to the provisions of Sections 61-29-4 and 61-29-4.1 NMSA
1978, the commission may adopt rules that require professional liability
insurance coverage and may establish the minimum terms and
conditions of coverage, including limits of coverage and permitted
exceptions. If adopted by the commission, the rules shall require every
applicant for an active license and licensee who applies for renewal of
an active license to provide the commission with satisfactory
evidence that the applicant or licensee has professional liability
insurance coverage that meets the minimum terms and conditions
required by commission rule.

The commission is authorized to solicit sealed, competitive
proposals from insurance carriers to provide a group professional
liability insurance policy that complies with the terms and conditions
established by commission rule. The commission may approve one or
more policies that comply with the commission rules; provided that
the maximum annual premium shall not exceed five hundred dollars
($500) for a licensee, that the minimum coverage shall not be less than
one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) for an individual claim and
not less than a five-hundred-thousand-dollar ($500,000) aggregate limit
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per policy and that the deductible shall not be greater than one thousand
dollars ($1,000).

Rules adopted by the commission shall permit an active licensee
to satisfy any requirement for professional liability insurance coverage
by purchasing an individual policy.

Rules adopted by the commission shall provide that there shall not be a
requirement for a licensee to have professional liability insurance

coverage during a period when a group policy, as provided in
Subsection B of this section, is not in effect.

History: 1978 Comp., § 61-29-4.2, en-acted
by Laws 2001, ch. 216, § 1; 2005, ch.

35, § 5; 2008, ch. 18, § 1; 2013, ch. 167, § 4.

STATUTORY NOTES

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006, deleted
“‘maximum cost of premium’’ from the section heading and

The 2008 amendment, effective July 1, 2008, substituted
“‘three hundred dollars ($300)”* for ‘“‘two hundred dollars
($200)’” in Subsection B.

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

substituted ‘‘two hundred dollars ($200)”* for ‘‘one hundred
fifty dollars ($150)*” in Subsection B.

The 2013 amendment, effective June 14, 2013, substituted
““five hundred dollars ($500) for ‘‘three hundred dollars
($300)’” in the second sentence of (B).

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

61-29-4.3Regulation and licensing department;
administratively attached

The commission is administratively attached to the regulation and licensing
department.

History: Laws 2001, ch. 163, § 12.

STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes. — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from Julyl, 2012 to July

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

61-29-4.4Additional powers of commission; finger-
printing and criminal history background
checks

All applicants for licensure as provided for in Chapter 61, Article 29
NMSA 1978 shall:

(1) Be required to provide fingerprints on two fingerprint cards
for submission to the federal bureau of investigation to conduct a
national criminal history background check and to the department of
public safety to conduct a state criminal history check;




(2) Pay the cost of obtaining the fingerprints and criminal history
background checks; and

(3) Have the right to inspect or challenge the validity of the
records resulting from the background check if the applicant is
denied licensure as established by commission rule.

Electronic live scans may be used for conducting criminal history
background checks.

Criminal history records obtained by the commission pursuant to
the provisions of this section are confidential. The commission is
authorized to use criminal history records obtained from the federal
bureau of investigation and the department of public safety to conduct
background checks on applicants for certification as provided for in
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978.

Criminal history records obtained by the commission pursuant to the
provisions of this section shall not be used for any purpose other than
conducting background checks. Criminal history records obtained
pursuant to the provisions of this section and the information
contained in those records shall not be released or disclosed to any
other person or agency, except pursuant to a court order or with the
written consent of the person who is the subject of the records.

A person who releases or discloses the criminal history records or
information contained in those records in violation of the provisions
of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be sentenced
pursuant to the provisions of Section 31-19-1 NMSA 1978.

History: Laws 2005, ch. 35, § 6; 2011, ch. 85, § 3.

STATUTORY NOTES

The 2011 amendment, effective July 1, 2011, in the section
heading, added ‘‘finger- printing and’’ and ‘‘history’’; and
rewrote the section, which formerly read: ‘‘the commission
may require license applicants, as a condition of licensure, to
submit to criminal background checks”’.

Effective dates — Laws 2005, ch. 35, § 21A makes this
section effective January 1, 2006.

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July
1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

61-29-5 Organization of commission

The commission shall organize by electing a president, vice president and
secretary from its members. A majority of the commission shall constitute
a quorum and may exercise all powers and duties devolving upon it and do
all things necessary to carry into effect the provisions of Chapter 61,
Article 29 NMSA 1978. The secretary of the commission shall keep a
record of its proceedings; a register of persons licensed as associate brokers
and qualifying brokers, showing the name and place of business of each
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and the date and number of each person’s license; and a record of all
licenses issued, denied, suspended or revoked. This record shall be open
to public inspection at all reasonable times.

History: 1953 Comp., § 67-24-22, enacted by
Laws 1959, ch. 226, § 4; 2001, ch. 163, § 2;
2005, ch. 35, § 7.

STATUTORY NOTES

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006, in the third
sentence, substituted ‘‘associate brokers and qualifying
brokers’ for ‘‘real estate brokers and as real estate sales-
persons’’ near the middle of the sentence and ‘‘denied”” for
“‘refused, removed’’ near the end.

1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July
1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not

effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978
Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA

61-29-5.1 Recompiled

STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes — this section, relating to a register of time
share projects and applicants for certificates of registration,
was recompiled as 47-11-11.1 NMSA 1978.

61-29-6 Meeting of the commission

The commission shall meet at least once each quarter-year at such time and
place as may be designated by the commission president, and special
meetings may be held upon five days’ written notice to each of the
commission members by the commission president.

History: 1953 Comp., § 67-24-23, enacted by Laws 1959,
ch. 226, § 5; 2005, ch. 35, § 8.

STATUTORY NOTES

NMSA 1978 which would have extended the sunset
provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July
1, 2012 to July 1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11,
approved April 6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed
61-29-19 NMSA 1978 making the amendment by Laws
2011, ch. 30 not effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006, inserted
““‘commission’’ preceding ‘‘president’’ near the middle and
substituted ‘‘commission president”’ for ‘‘president of the
commission’” at the end.

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19

61-29-7 Reimbursement and expenses

Each member of the commission shall receive per diem and mileage as
provided in the Per Diem and Mileage Act [10-8-1 NMSA 1978] and
shall receive no other compensation, perquisite or allowance.

History: 1953 Comp., § 67-24-24, enacted by
Laws 1959, ch. 226, § 6; 1963, ch.43, 28; 1965,
ch. 304, § 3; 2003, ch. 22, § 2; 2003, ch. 408, §
31.
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STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2, 1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA 6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of 1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July effective. See 12-1-8NMSA 1978.

61-29-8 License fees; disposition

A. The following fees shall be established and charged by the
commission and paid into the real estate commission fund:

(1) For each examination, a fee established by the commission
based on competitive bids for examination services submitted to the
commission in response to a commission request for proposals, not
to exceed ninety-five dollars ($95.00);

(2) For each qualifying broker’s license issued, a fee not to exceed
two hundred seventy dollars ($270) and for each renewal thereof, a
fee not to exceed two hundred seventy dollars ($270);

(3) For each associate broker’s license issued, a fee not to exceed
two hundred seventy dollars ($270) and for each renewal thereof, a
fee not to exceed two hundred seventy dollars ($270);

(4) Subject to the provisions of Paragraph (10) of this subsection,
for each change of place of business or change of employer or contractual
associate, a transfer fee not to exceed twenty dollars ($20.00);

(5) For each duplicate license, where the license is lost or destroyed
and affidavit is made thereof, a fee not to exceed twenty dollars
($20.00);

(6) For each license history, a fee not to exceed twenty-five dollars
($25.00);

(7) For copying of documents by the commission, a fee not to exceed
one dollar ($1.00) per copy;

(8) For each license law and rules booklet, a fee not to exceed ten
dollars ($10.00) per booklet;

(9) For each hard copy or electronic list of licensed associate brokers
and qualifying brokers, a fee not to exceed actual costs up to fifty dollars
($50.00);

(10) For each license reissued for an associate broker because of
change of address of the qualifying broker’s office or death of the
qualifying broker when a successor qualifying broker is replacing the
decedent and the associate broker remains in the office or because of a
change of name of the office or the entity of the qualifying broker, a fee
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in an amount not to exceed twenty dollars ($20.00) to be paid by the
qualifying broker or successor qualifying broker as the case may be;
but if there are eleven or more affected associate brokers in the
qualifying broker’s office, the total fee paid to effect reissuance of all
of those licenses shall not exceed two hundred dollars ($200);

(11) For each application to the commission to become an
approved sponsor of prelicensing and continuing education courses, a
fee not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500) and for each renewal
thereof, a fee not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500);

(12) For each application to the commission to become an
approved instructor of prelicensing and continuing education courses, a
fee not to exceed seventy dollars ($70.00) per course; and

(13) For each application to the commission to renew certification
as a commission-approved instructor, a fee not to exceed one
hundred dollars ($100).

All fees set by the commission shall be set by rule and only after
all requirements have been met as prescribed by Chapter 61, Article
29 NMSA 1978. Any changes or amendments to the rules shall be filed
in accordance with the State Rules Act [14-4-1 NMSA 1978].

The commission shall deposit all money received by it from fees
in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978
with the state treasurer, who shall keep that money in a separate fund
to be known as the ‘‘real estate commission fund’’, and money so
deposited in that fund is appropriated to the commission for the
purpose of carrying out the provisions of Section 61-29-4 NMSA 1978
or to maintain the real estate recovery fund as required by the Real
Estate Recovery Fund Act [61-29-20 NMSA 19780] and shall be paid
out of the fund upon the vouchers of the executive secretary of the
commission or the executive secretary’s designee; provided that the
total fees and charges collected and paid into the state treasury and
any money so deposited shall be expended only for the purposes
authorized by Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978.

History: 1953 Comp., § 67-24-25, enacted by Laws 1959, 143, § 1; 2001, ch. 163, § 3; 2003, ch. 22, § 3; 2005, ch. 35,
ch. 226, § 7; 1977, ch. 295, § 1; 1983, ch. 261, § 2; 1987, ch. §9; 2011, ch. 85, § 4.
90, § 3; 1990, ch. 75, § 26; 1992, ch. 21, § 1; 1995, ch.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Issuance, renewal and surrender of
licenses, 61-29-11 NMSA 1978.

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006, substituted out the provisions of Section 61-29-4 NMSA 1978 for
‘“‘associate broker’” for ‘‘real estate salesperson’’ throughout “‘appropriated for the purpose of carrying out the provisions
the section and substituted ‘‘qualifying broker’” for ‘‘licensed of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978’ near the middle and
broker”’ throughout the section; in Subsection C, substituted deleted Subsection D.

“‘appropriated to the commission for the purpose of carrying




The 2011 amendment, effective July 1, 2011, in (A)(1),
added “‘established by the com-mission based on competitive
bids for examination services submitted to the commission in
response to a commission request for proposals’’; substituted

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA

“‘actual costs up to fifty dollars ($50.00)" for ‘‘twenty
dollars  ($20.00)” in (A)(9); added ‘‘the executive
secretary’s”” in (C); and made a stylistic change.

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA

1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of 1978. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

61-29-9 Qualifications for license

[SB. 387-2017 — Amending the Requirements for a Qualifying Broker’s License
NMSA 1978, Laws 1959, Chapter 226, Section 8 -- as amended]

A. Licensesshall be granted only to persons who meet the requirements
for licensure prescribed by law and are deemed by the commission
to be of good repute and competent to transact the business of a
qualifying broker or an associate broker in a manner that
safeguards the interests of the public.

An applicant for a qualifying broker’s license or an associate
broker’s license shall be a legal resident of the United States and
have reached the age of majority. Each applicant for a qualifying
broker’s license or an associate broker’s license shall have passed
the real estate broker’s examination approved by the commission
and shall:

(1) Furnish the commission with certificates of completion of ninety
hours of classroom instruction consisting of commission-approved
thirty-hour courses in real estate principles and practice, real estate law
and broker basics; or

(2) In the case of an out-of-state applicant, furnish the commission
with a certified license history from the real estate licensing jurisdiction
in the state or states in which the applicant is currently or has been
previously licensed as a real estate broker, or certificates of completion
of those courses issued by the course sponsor or provider, certifying that
the applicant has or had a license in that state and has completed the
equivalent of sixty classroom hours of prelicensing education approved
by that licensing jurisdiction in real estate principles and practice and
real estate law. Upon receipt of such documentation, the commission
may waive sixty hours of the ninety hours of prelicensing education
required to take the New Mexico real estate broker’s examination and
may waive the national portion of the examination. The applicant
shall complete the commission-approved thirty-hour broker basics
class to be eligible to take the state portion of the New Mexico
real estate broker’s examination.

An applicant for a qualifying broker’s license shall have passed the
New Mexico real estate broker’s examination and had an active
associate broker’s license or equivalent real estate license for at least
two of the last five years immediately preceding application for a
qualifying broker’s license and shall furnish the commission with a
certificate of completion of the commission-approved thirty-hour
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brokerage office administration course and any additional educational
courses required by the commission by rule.

Notwithstanding Subsection C of this section, a qualifying broker shall
not supervise associate brokers until the qualifying broker has had an
active associate broker’s or qualifying broker’s license or equivalent
real estate license for at least four years. Licensees who hold an active
or inactive qualifying broker’s license on January 1, 2018 are exempt
from this subsection.

The commission shall require the information it deems necessary
from every applicant to determine that
trustworthiness and competency.

applicant’s honesty,

History: 1953 Comp., § 67-24-26,enacted by Laws 1959,
ch. 226, § 8; 1965, ch. 304, § 4; 1973, ch. 40, § 1; 1977, ch.
295, 82; 1979, ch. 94, §1; 1983, ch. 261, § 3; 1999, ch.

272, § 35; 2001, ch. 163, § 4; 2003, ch. 22, § 4; 2003, ch.
329, § 1; 2005, ch. 35, § 10; 2011, ch. 85, § 5; 2013, ch. 167,
§5.

STATUTORY NOTES

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006,
inserted ‘‘meet the requirements for licensure prescribed
by law and’’ near the be- ginning of Subsection A;
substituted ‘‘qualifying broker or an associate broker’’ in
Subsection A and B; deleted Paragraph B(1) and re-
designated former Paragraphs B(2) and B(3) as present
Paragraphs B(1) and B(2) respectively; in present

The 2011 amendment, effective July 1, 2011, deleted the
former second and third sentences in (E), which read:
““Corporations, partnerships or associations may hold a
qualifying broker’s license issued in the name of the
corporation, partnership or association; pro- vided that at
least one member of the partnership or association, or one

The 2013 amendment, effective June 14, 2013, rewrote (B)
and (C); deleted former (D), which read: ‘A licensee holding
a current real estate salesperson’s license on the effective date
of this 2005 act shall automatically qualify for an associate
broker’s license without any additional requirements.
However, to be eligible to apply for a qualifying broker’s li-

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19
NMSA 1978 which should have extended the sunset
provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July
1, 2012 to July 1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11,
approved April 6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed
61-29-19 NMSA 1978.

Paragraph B(1), substituted ‘‘ninety classroom hours’’ for
““one hundred eighty classroom hours’” and added *‘thirty
hours of which shall have been a broker basics course’” at
the end; deleted former Paragraphs B(4), B(5) and
Subsection C; added present Subsection C and D and re-
designated former Subsection D as Subsection E

officer or employee of a corporation, who actively engages in
the real estate business first secures a qualifying broker’s
license. The license shall be issued in the name of the
corporation, partnership or association, naming the partner,
associate officer or employee as qualifying broker for the
corporation, partnership or association.”’

cense, a real estate salesperson obtaining an associate
broker’s license pursuant to this sub-section shall, in addition
to meeting all other requirements for a qualifying broker’s
license, pass a real estate broker’s examination approved by
the commission’’; and re-designated former (E) as (D).

The 2017 Amendment — Effective Date [Per Section 2 SB
387] Jan 1, 2018. SB 387 signed into law March 2017
amended the law to allow the commission to require a
supervisory qualifying broker to have an associate broker’s or
qualifying broker’s license or equivalent license for at least 4
years. Section D is new language. Section C adds: “and any
additional educational courses required by the commission by
rule.”

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Knowledge
Misrepresentation
Knowledge

Where income-producing property purchased through a
real estate broker was condemned, it was incumbent upon

the broker to have a general knowledge of the building
code and the zoning ordinances which dealt with the
particular property being offered for sale or which was




being purchased. Amato v. Rathbun Realty, 98 N.M. 231,
647 P.2d 433 (Ct. App. 1982).

Misrepresentation

Where a real estate broker’s registration forms failed to admit
that he had default judgments against him for unpaid student
loans and an automobile loan, but the New Mexico Real
Estate Commission made no specific findings or conclusions
that resolved whether the broker intended to deceive and to

misrepresentation of fact known by him to have been untrue,
it was not clearly shown that the license revocation decision
was based upon false representations relevant and material to
facts bearing upon the good repute and competence of a
licensee in the public interest. Padilla v. Real Estate Comm’n,
106 N.M. 96, 739 P.2d 965 (1987).

induce the Commission to act in reliance upon a

OPINIONS OF ATTORNEY GENERAL

3 of the New Mexico real estate commission’s rules and
regulations are legally correct. 1980 Op. Atty. Gen. No. 80-
22,1980 N.M. AG LEXIS 19.

Multiple licensure
A person may hold more than one real estate broker’s license
at the same time, and the part-time broker provisions of Rule

61-29-10 Application for license and examination

A. All applications for licenses to act as qualifying brokers and associate
brokers shall be made in writing to the commission and shall contain
such data and information as may be required upon a form to be
prescribed and furnished by the commission. The application shall be
accompanied by:

(1) The recommendation of two reputable citizens who own real
estate in the county in which the applicant resides, which
recommendation shall certify that the applicant is of good moral
character, honest and trustworthy; and

(2) The triennial license fee prescribed by the commission.

In addition to proof of honesty, trustworthiness and good reputation, an
applicant shall pass a written examination approved by the
commission. The examination shall be given at the time and places
within the state as the commission shall prescribe; however, the
examination shall be given not less than two times during each
calendar year. The examination shall include business ethics, writing,
composition, arithmetic, elementary principles of land economics and
appraisals, a general knowledge of the statutes of this state relating
to deeds, mortgages, contracts of sale, agency and brokerage and the
provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978.

An applicant is not permitted to engage in the real estate business until
the applicant has passed the approved examination, complied with the
other requirements of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978, and until a
license has been issued to the applicant.

Notice of passing or failing to pass the examination shall be given to an
applicant not later than three weeks following the date of the
examination.




30

The commission may establish educational programs and procure
qualified personnel, facilities and materials for the instruction of
persons desiring to become qualifying brokers or associate brokers or
desiring to improve their proficiency as qualifying brokers or associate
brokers. The commission may inspect and accredit educational
programs and courses of study and may establish standards of
accreditation for educational programs conducted in this state. The
expenses incurred by the commission in activities authorized pursuant
to this subsection shall not exceed the total revenues received and
accumulated by the commission.

History: 1953 Comp., § 67-24-27, enacted by Laws 1959,
ch. 226, § 9; 1965, ch. 304, § 5; 1979, ch. 94, § 2; 1981, ch.
22,81; 2001, ch. 163, § 5; 2005, ch. 35, § 11.

STATUTORY NOTES

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006, substituted
“‘qualifying brokers and associate brokers’’ for ‘‘real estate
brokers and real estate salespersons’’ throughout the section.

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2, 1, 2012 to July 1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 approved April 6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed
NMSA 1978 which would have extended the sunset 61-29-19 NMSA 1978 making the amendment by Laws
provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 2011, ch. 30 not effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

61-29-10.1 Brokerage relationships; creation

For all regulated real estate transactions first executed on or after
January 1, 2000, no agency relationship between a buyer, seller,
landlord or tenant and a brokerage shall exist unless the buyer, seller,
landlord or tenant and the brokerage agree, in writing, to the agency
relationship. No type of agency relationship may be assumed by a
buyer, seller, landlord, tenant or licensee, or created orally or by
implication.

A brokerage may provide real estate services to a client pursuant to
an express written agreement that does not create an agency
relationship and no agency duties will be imposed on the brokerage.

A brokerage may provide real estate services to a customer
without entering into an express written agreement and without
creating an agency relationship and no agency duties will be imposed
on the brokerage.

The commission shall promulgate rules governing the rights of clients or
customers and the rights, responsibilities and duties of a brokerage in
those brokerage relationships that are subject to the jurisdiction of the
commission.




History: Laws 1999, ch. 127, § 2; 2003, ch. 36, § 2.

STATUTORY NOTES
Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2, 1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA 6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of 1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

61-29-10.2 Licensee’s duties; disclosure

A. Prior to the time a licensee generates or presents any written
document that has the potential to become an express written
agreement, the licensee shall give to a prospective buyer, seller,
landlord or tenant a list of the licensee’s duties that are in
accordance with requirements established by the commission.

Licensees shall perform all duties that are established for licensees by the
commission.

History: Laws 1999, ch. 127, § 3; 2003,
ch. 36, § 3; 2005, ch. 35, § 12.

STATUTORY NOTES

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006, rewrote
Subsection A which formerly read: ‘“A licensee shall give to
a prospective buyer, seller, landlord or tenant, at the time

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

when the parties enter into an express written agreement, a
list of the licensee’s duties that are in accordance with
requirements established by the commission”’.

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

61-29-10.3 Brokerage non-agency relationships
(Repealed)

STATUTORY NOTES
Repeals — Pursuant to Laws 2003 ch. 36 § 4, this section was repealed effective January 1, 2004.

61-29-11 Issuance, renewal and surrender of
licenses

The commission shall issue to each qualified applicant a license in
the form and size prescribed by the commission.

The license shall show the name and address of the licensee. An associate
broker’s license shall show the name of the qualifying broker by
whom the associate broker is engaged. The commission shall deliver or
mail the license of the associate broker to the qualifying broker by
whom the associate broker is engaged, and the qualifying broker shall
display the license at the brokerage from which the associate broker
will be conducting real estate business on behalf of the brokerage.
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The license of the associate broker shall remain in the custody and
control of the qualifying broker as long as the associate broker is
engaged by that qualifying broker.

Any qualifying broker’s or associate broker’s license suspended, or
revoked by an order, stipulated agreement or settlement agreement
approved by the commission shall be surrendered to the commission by
the broker upon the delivery of the order to the broker by the
commission, or on the effective date of the order. All real-estate-related
activity conducted under such license shall cease for the duration of
the license suspension or revocation, and any associate broker
licenses hanging with a qualifying broker whose license is suspended
or revoked shall be automatically placed on inactive status until a new
qualifying broker or a qualifying broker in charge is designated.

Every license shall be renewed every three years on or before the last day
of the month following the licensee’s month of birth. Upon written
request for renewal by the licensee, the commission shall certify
renewal of a license if there is no reason or condition that might
warrant the refusal of the renewal of a license. The licensee shall
provide proof of compliance with continuing education requirements
and pay the renewal fee. If a licensee has not made application for
renewal of license, furnished proof of compliance with continuing
education requirements and paid the renewal fee by the license
renewal date, the license shall expire. The commission may require a
person whose license has expired to apply for a license as if the
person had not been previously licensed under Chapter 61, Article
29 NMSA 1978 and further require that the person be reexamined.
The commission shall require a person whose license has expired to
pay when the person applies for a license, in addition to any other
fee, a late fee. If during a period of one year from the date the license
expires the person or the person’s spouse is either absent from this state
on active duty military service or the person is suffering from an
illness or injury of such severity that the person is physically or mentally
incapable of making application for a license, payment of the late fee
and reexamination shall not be required by the commission if, within
three months of the person’s permanent return to this state or sufficient
recovery from illness or injury to allow the person to make an
application, the person makes application to the commission for a
license. A copy of that person’s or that person’s spouse’s military
orders or a certificate from the applicant’s physician shall accompany
the application. A person excused by reason of active duty military
service, illness or injury as provided for in this subsection may make
application for a license without imposition of the late fee. All fees
collected pursuant to this subsection shall be disposed of in
accordance with the provisions of Section 61-29-8 NMSA 1978. The
revocation of a qualifying broker’s license automatically suspends every
associate broker’s license granted to any person by virtue of association
with the qualifying broker, whose license has been revoked, pending
a change of qualifying broker. Upon the naming of a new qualifying
broker, the suspended license shall be reactivated without charge if
granted during the three-year renewal cycle.
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E. A qualifying broker shall conduct brokerage business under the
trade-name and from the brokerage address registered with the
commission. Every brokerage shall have a qualifying broker in charge.
The license of the qualifying broker and each associate broker
associated with that qualifying broker shall be prominently displayed
in each brokerage office. The address of the office shall be designated in
the qualifying broker’s license, and a license issued shall not authorize
the licensee to transact real estate business at any other address. In
case of removal from the designated address, the licensee shall make
application to the commission before the removal or within ten days
thereafter, designating the new location of the licensee’s office and
paying the required fee, whereupon the commission shall issue a
license for the new location if the new location complies with the terms
of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978. A qualifying broker shall
maintain a sign at the brokerage office of such size and content as the
commission prescribes.

When an associate broker is discharged or terminates association
or employment with the qualifying broker with whom the associate
broker is associated, the qualifying broker shall deliver or mail the
associate broker’s license to the commission within forty-eight hours.
The commission shall hold the license on inactive status. It is unlawful
for an associate broker to perform any of the acts authorized by Chapter
61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 either directly or indirectly under authority
of an inactive license after the associate broker’s association with a
qualifying broker has been terminated and the associate broker’s

license has been returned to the commission until the appropriate fee
has been paid and the license has been reissued and reactivated
by the commission.

History: 1953 Comp., § 67-24-28, enacted by Laws 1959,
ch. 226, § 10; 1965, ch. 304, § 6; 1977, ch. 295, § 3; 1979,
ch. 94, § 3; 1980, ch. 82, § 11; 1981, ch. 22, § 2; 1983, ch.

261, § 4; 1985, ch. 89, § 2; 1987, ch. 90, § 4; 1993, ch. 253,
§ 2; 1995, ch. 143, § 2; 2001, ch. 163, § 7; 2003, ch. 22,
§ 5; 2005, ch. 35, § 13; 2013, ch. 167, § 6.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Telephone solicitation sales; automated
telephone dialing systems for sales restricted; disclosure and
other requirements established for authorized telephone

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006, rewrote
Subsection B which formerly read: ‘‘The license shall show
the name and address of the licensee. A real estate
salesperson’s license shall show the name of the broker by
whom he is engaged. The license of the real estate
salesperson shall be delivered or mailed to the broker by
whom the real estate salesperson is engaged and shall be kept
in the custody and control of that broker’’; and substituted

The 2013 amendment, effective June 14, 2013, added (C)
and re-designated former (C) through (E) as (D) through (F).

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

solicitation sales; prohibited telephone solicitation, 57-12-22
NMSA 1978

“‘associate broker’” for ‘‘real estate salesperson’’ and inserted
“‘qualifying’’ preceding ‘‘broker’’ throughout the section;
and in Subsection D, rewrote the first sentence which
formerly read: ‘‘Each resident licensed broker shall maintain
within this state a fixed office that conforms with local
regulations. Every office operated by a licensed broker shall
have a licensed broker in charge who is a natural person”’.

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.
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61-29-12 Refusal, suspension or revocation of

A.

license for causes enumerated

The commission may refuse to issue a license or may suspend,
revoke, limit or condition a license if the applicant or licensee
has by false or fraudulent representations obtained a license or, in
performing or attempting to perform any of the actions specified in
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978, an applicant or licensee has:

(1) Made a substantial misrepresentation;

(2) Pursued a continued and flagrant course of misrepresentation;
made false promises through agents, salespersons, advertising or
otherwise; or used any trade name or insignia of membership in any
real estate organization of which the licensee is not a member;

(3) Paid or received a rebate, profit, compensation or commission
to or from any unlicensed person, except the licensee’s principal or other
party to the transaction, and then only with that principal’s written
consent;

(4) Represented or attempted to represent a qualifying broker
other than a qualifying broker with whom the licensee is associated
without the express knowledge and consent of that qualifying broker;

(5) Failed, within a reasonable time, to account for or to remit
any money coming into the licensee’s possession that belongs to
others, commingled funds of others with the licensee’s own or failed to
keep funds of others in an escrow or trustee account or failed to furnish
legible copies of all listing and sales contracts to all parties executing
them;

(6) Been convicted in any court of competent jurisdiction of a
felony or any offense involving moral turpitude;

(7) Employed or compensated, directly or indirectly, a person for
per- forming any of the acts regulated by Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA
1978 who is not a licensed qualifying broker or an associate broker;
provided, however, that a qualifying broker may pay a commission to
a qualifying broker of another state as provided in Section 61-29-16.1
NMSA 1978;

(8) Failed, if a qualifying broker, to place as soon after receipt
as is practicably possible, after securing signatures of all parties to the
transaction, any deposit money or other money received by the
qualifying broker in a real estate transaction in a custodial, trust or
escrow account, maintained by the qualifying broker in a bank or
savings and loan institution or title company authorized to do
business in this state, in which the funds shall be kept until the
transaction is consummated or otherwise terminated, at which time a
full accounting of the funds shall be made by the qualifying
broker. Records relative to the deposit, maintenance and withdrawal of
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the funds shall contain information as may be prescribed by the rules
of the commission. Nothing in this paragraph prohibits a qualifying
broker from depositing non-trust funds in an amount not to exceed the
required minimum balance in each trust account so as to meet the
minimum balance requirements of the bank necessary to maintain
the account and avoid charges. The minimum balance deposit shall
not be considered commingling and shall not be subject to levy,
attachment or garnishment. This paragraph does not prohibit a
qualifying broker from depositing any deposit money or other money
received by the qualifying broker in a real estate transaction with
another cooperating broker who shall in turn comply with this
paragraph;

(9) Failed, if an associate broker, to place as soon after receipt
as is practicably possible in the custody of the associate broker’s
qualifying broker, after securing signatures of all parties to the
transaction, any deposit money or other money entrusted to the
associate broker by any person dealing with the associate broker as the
representative of the qualifying broker;

(10) Violated a provision of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 or a
rule promulgated by the commission;

(11) Committed an act, whether of the same or different character
from that specified in this subsection, that is related to dealings as a
qualifying broker or an associate broker and that constitutes or
demonstrates bad faith, incompetency, untrustworthiness,
impropriety, fraud, dishonesty, negligence or any unlawful act; or

(12) Been the subject of disciplinary action as a licensee while
licensed to practice real estate in another jurisdiction, territory or
possession of the United States or another country.

An unlawful act or violation of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 by
an associate broker, employee, partner or associate of a qualifying broker
shall not be cause for the revocation of a license of the qualifying
broker unless it appears to the satisfaction of the commission that the
qualifying broker had guilty knowledge of the unlawful act or
violation.

History: 1953 Comp., § 67-24-29, enacted by Laws 1959,
ch. 226, § 11; 1965, ch. 304, § 7; 1981, ch. 22, § 3; 1983, ch.

261, 8 5; 1984, ch. 56, § 1; 1987, ch. 90, § 5; 1991, ch. 13, §
1; 2001, ch. 163, § 8; 2005, ch. 35, § 14; 2011, ch. 85, § 6.

STATUTORY NOTES

“ : » . »
Cross reference — Purchaser’s right to cancel; escrow; associate broker”” for “salesperson” throughout the

violation, 47-11-5 NMSA 1978. Trust accounts; escrow
accounts; special accounts; pooled interest-bearing accounts;
disposition of earned interest on certain accounts, 58-18B-5
NMSA 1978. Disciplinary action not limited, 61-29-29
NMSA 1978.The 2005 amendment, effective January 1,
2006, inserted ‘‘qualifying”’ preceding ‘‘broker’” and
substituted ‘qualifying broker’” for ‘‘licensed broker’’ and

section. The 2011 amendment, effective July 1, 2011,
substituted ‘‘as provided in Section 61-29-16.1 NMSA
1978’ for ‘‘provided further that the nonresident broker shall
not conduct in this state any of the negotiations for which a
fee, compensation or commission is paid except in
cooperation with a licensed qualifying broker of this state’” in

A).




Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Judicial review
Jurisdiction
Notice
Revocation
Suspension
Judicial review

New Mexico Real Estate Commission’s suspension of a real
estate broker’s license was subject to judicial review, and
could be reversed only if it was unconstitutional, in excess of
the Commission’s authority or jurisdiction, procedurally or

Jurisdiction

Where a broker purchased real estate, contacted a brokerage
corporation to find a buyer for the contract, and then
defaulted on the contract, the broker was not acting as a real
estate broker, and thus, the Real Estate Com- mission of the
State of New Mexico lacked jurisdiction to suspend the
broker’s license. Vihstadt v. Real Estate Comm’n, 106 N.M.

Notice

Notice to a broker of a hearing to determine whether probable
cause existed to suspend or revoke his real estate license was
sufficient to apprise him of the charges against him where it
quoted the relevant statute and specifies that his
misrepresentations to a prospective house buyer violated

Revocation

Where a real estate broker’s registration forms failed to admit
that he had default judgments against him for unpaid student
loans and an automobile loan, but the New Mexico Real
Estate Commission made no specific findings or conclusions
that resolved whether the broker intended to deceive and to
induce the Commission to act in reliance upon a mis-
representation of fact known by him to have been untrue, the
license revocation action was remanded to the Commission

Suspension

New Mexico Real Estate Commission’s suspension of a real
estate broker’s license for statutory violations in connection
with the sale of a real estate contract was not prohibited
because the broker entered into the agreement with the sellers
as a broker, the fiduciary relationship was that of broker and
client, the power of attorney was given to the broker later to
enable him to complete the transaction with- out the sellers’
presence, and the attorney-in-fact exception did not apply.
Elliott v. New Mexico Real Estate Comm’n, 103 N.M. 273,
705 P.2d 679 (1985). Substantial evidence supported a
finding that a broker’s actions in the sale of a house were

legally defective, unsupported by substantial evidence on the
record as a whole, or arbitrary or capricious. Elliott v. New
Mexico Real Estate Comm’n, 103 N.M. 273, 705 P.2d 679
(1985).

641, 748 P.2d 14 (1988). New Mexico Real Estate
Commission had jurisdiction over a complaint against a real
estate broker in connection with the sale of a real estate
contract because the broker represented himself as such and
acted in that capacity, the contract itself indicated that the
broker was being employed in a broker’s capacity, and he
received a commission for the transaction. Elliott v. New
Mexico Real Estate Comm’n, 103 N.M. 273, 705 P.2d 79
1985).

those provisions because such conduct was incompetent,
untrustworthy, and improper. Further, the broker had ample
opportunity before the hearing to object to the notice or to
request that a more definite statement be issued. Wolfley v.
Real Estate Comm’n, 100 N.M. 187, 668 P.2d 303 (1983).

with express directions to enter proper findings of fact and
conclusions of law. Padilla v. Real Estate Comm’n, 106 N.M.
96, 739 P.2d 965 (1987). Where the state real estate
commission is- sued an order revoking a real estate broker’s
license, although the commission had jurisdiction over the
transactions in question it erred in not holding a hearing de
novo required by statute. Poorbaugh v. N.M. Real Estate
Comm’n, 91 N.M. 622, 578 P.2d 323 (1978).

untrustworthy, incompetent, and improper, and warranted the
suspension of the broker’s real estate license for four months,
where he misrepresented both the size of the lot and the age
and condition of the roof. Based on the special relationship
the broker has as the former owner of the property and the
listing agent, the broker knew or should have known the size
of the lot, and his possession of an inspection report
indicating that the roof was about 18 years old did not justify
his claim that the roof was new because it had been
resurfaced with plastic spray. Wolfley v. Real Estate
Comm’n, 100 N.M. 187, 668 P.2d 303 (1983).
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OPINIONS OF ATTORNEY GENERAL
Moral turpitude

If the real estate commission is contemplating denial, Employment Act, 28-2-1 NMSA 1978, et seq., must be
suspension or revocation of a license because of a followed. 1982 Op. Atty. Gen. No. 82-2, 1982 N.M.
conviction of a felony or offense involving moral AG-LEXIS-23.

turpitude by the licensee, the Criminal Offender

61-29-13 Provisionforhearingbeforesuspensionor
revocation of license

The commission shall, before suspending or revoking any license, set the
matter down for a hearing pursuant to the provisions of the Uniform
Licensing Act [61-1-1 NMSA 1978].

History: 1953 Comp., 8§ 67-24-30, en-
acted by Laws 1959, ch. 226, § 12; 1979,
ch. 94, § 4.

STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2, 1, 2018. Howeve_r, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April 6,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of 1978 making the amendment by ~Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Hearing had jurisdiction over the transactions in question but

had not held a hearing de novo required by statute.
Where the state real estate commission is- sued an order Poorbaugh v. N.M. Real Estate Comm’n, 91 N.M. 622,
revoking a real estate broker’s license, the commission 578 P.2d 323 (1978).

61-29-14 Repealed

STATUTORY NOTES
Repeals

Laws 2003, ch. 22, § 7 repeals this section, as last affected by
Laws 1959, ch. 226, § 13, relating to the creation of a
real estate commission and nonresident broker and salesmen.

61-29-15 Maintenance of list of licensees

The commission shall maintain a list of the names and addresses of all
licensees licensed by it under the provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29
NMSA 1978, and of all persons whose license has been suspended or
revoked within that year, together with such other information relative to
the enforcement of the provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 as it
may deem of interest to the public. The commission shall also maintain a
statement of all funds received and a statement of all disbursements and
copies of the statements shall be mailed by the commission to any person
in this state upon request.




History: 1953 Comp., 8§ 67-24-32,
enacted by Laws 1959, ch. 226, § 14;

2001, ch. 163, § 10.

STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 12 to July 1,

2018. However, Laws 2011,ch. 85, § 11, approved April 6,
2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

61-29-16 Suit by qualifying or associate broker

No action for the collection of a commission or compensation earned by any
person as a qualifying broker or an associate broker required to be
licensed under the provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 shall be
maintained in the courts of the state unless such person was a duly
licensed qualifying broker or associate broker at the time the alleged cause
of action arose. In any event, suit against a member of the public as
distinguished from any person licensed under Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA
1978 shall be maintained only in the name of the qualifying broker.

History: 1953 Comp., § 67-24-33,
enacted by Laws 1959, ch. 226, § 15;
2005, ch. 35, § 16.

STATUTORY NOTES

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006,
inserted ‘‘qualifying or associate’’ and deleted ‘‘or
salesman’> in the section heading; substituted

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved
April 2, 2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-
29-19 NMSA 1978 which would have extended the
sunset provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA
1978 from July 1, 2012 to July 1, 2018. However, Laws

“‘qualifying broker or associate broker”” for ‘real estate
broker or salesman’ and ‘‘Chapter 61, Article 29
NMSA 1978’ for “‘this act’’ throughout the section.

2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April 6, 2011 and effective
July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA 1978 making
the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not effective.
See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Corporations
Exemptions
Foreign licensure
Time of licensure
Unlicensed persons

Exemptions

Former lessee and owner of a building located on
leased premises could not maintain an action to
recover compensation or a commission from the
landowner after he negotiated a new lease between
the landowner and a company that purchased the
building because he was not a licensed real estate

Corporations

Realty corporations were not entitled to a real estate
commission pursuant to a written agreement to sell
property because the corporations failed to prove that
they were licensed real estate brokers. Star Realty Co.
v. Sellers, 73 N.M. 207, 387 P.2d 319 (1963).

broker at the time he negotiated the lease. The former
lessee was not exempted from the provisions of the
Real Estate Brokers and Salesmen Act as either a
lessor or an owner because he was not a party to the
lease and did not negotiate it in the regular course of
management of the property. Bosque Farms Home
Ctr. v. Tabet Lumber Co., 107 N.M. 115, 753 P.2d
894 (1988).




Foreign licensure

A competent broker, licensed in another state, who
becomes licensed in New Mexico before his cause of

Time of licensure

Complaint for commissions due should not have been
dismissed for failure to state a cause of action where the
real estate broker became licensed after the commission

Unlicensed persons
Where an unlicensed person brought parties together for
the purposes of buying and selling real estate he was not

entitled to a commission. Watts v. Andrews, 98 N.M.
404, 649 P.2d 472 (1982). Unlicensed realtor, who

Unlicensed Persons

This section barred plaintiff, a Texas real estate agent,
from recovering a real estate commission on the sale of

action arises, should be permitted to recover his
commission. Lakeview Invs. v. Alamogordo Lake Vill.,
Inc., 86 N.M. 151, 520 P.2d 1096 (1974)

contract was entered into, but before the sales for which
com- missions were allegedly due; the breach occurred
after broker’s licensing and that was when the cause of
action arose. Lakeview Invs. Alamogordo Lake Vill,,
Inc., 86 N.M. 151, 520 P.2d 1096 (1974).

could not recover against his employer for commissions
under this section, could likewise not maintain an action
against a bank for which he worked as a contractor.
Bank of New Mexico v. Freedom Homes, 94 N.M. 532,
612 P.2d 1343 (Ct. App. 1980).

a ranch because the Texas agent was acting as a broker
without a valid New Mexico broker’s license or a
written foreign broker’s agreement. PC Carter Co. v.
Miller, 149 N.M. 660, 253 P.3d 950 (Ct. App. 2011).

61-29-16.1 Foreign Brokers; consent to service; referral fees

A. A foreign broker may act in the capacity of a qualifying or associate broker with
respect to commercial real estate located in New Mexico; provided that prior to
performing any of the real estate activities of a qualifying or associate broker, the
foreign broker enters into a transaction-specific written agreement with a New
Mexico qualifying broker that includes, at a minimum:

(1) A description of the parties, the commercial real estate and any
additional information necessary to identify the specific transaction

governed by the agreement;

(2) The terms of compensation between the foreign broker and the

New Mexico qualifying broker;

(3) The effective date and definitive termination date of the

agreement; and

(4) A statement that the foreign broker agrees to:

(a) Cooperate fully with the New Mexico qualifying broker
and all associate brokers designated by the New Mexico qualifying

broker;

(b) Except for the foreign broker's interaction with the foreign
broker's client, conduct all contact with parties, including the
general public and other brokers, in association with the New
Mexico qualifying broker or associate broker designated by the

New Mexico qualifying broker;

(c) Conduct all marketing and solicitations for business in the
name of the New Mexico qualifying broker;




(d) timely furnish to the New Mexico qualifying broker copies
of all documents related to the transaction that are required by the
laws of New Mexico to be retained by its licensees, including
without limitation, agency disclosure, offers, counteroffers,
purchase and sale contracts, leases and closing statements;

(e) Comply with and be bound by and subject to New Mexico
law and the regulations of the commission; and

(f) Submit to the jurisdiction of the courts of New Mexico with
respect to the transaction and any and all claims related thereto by service
of process upon the secretary of state of New Mexico and upon the
appropriate official of the state, province or nation of the foreign broker's

real estate licensure.

B. When a New Mexico associate broker or qualifying broker makes a referral to or
receives a referral from a foreign broker for the purpose of receiving a fee, commission
or any other consideration, the qualifying broker of the New Mexico brokerage and the
foreign broker shall execute a written, transaction-specific referral agreement at the time

of the referral.

History: Laws 2005, ch. 35, § 15; 2011, ch.
85, § 7; 2013, ch. 167, § 7. 2014, ch. 27, 8§ 2.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Refusal, suspension or
revocation of license for causes enumerated, 61-
29-12 NMSA 1978.

The 2011 amendment, effective July 1, 2011, in the
section heading, added ‘‘Foreign brokers”” and
deleted ‘‘consent to service” following
“licensees”’; added (A); added the (B) designation;
in (B), deleted ‘A nonresident’” from the beginning
of the paragraph; added ““with a license application
address that is not within the state of New
Mexico,”” deleted ‘‘non- resident”” preceding
‘‘associate broker,”” substituted ‘‘associate broker or
qualifying broker”’ for “‘nonresident licensee’” in the
second and last sentences, deleted the former
second sentence, which read: ‘““The instrument
containing the consent shall be acknowledged and,
if executed on behalf of a corporation or
association, shall be accompanied by a certified
copy of the resolution of the proper officers or
managing board authorizing the executing officer
to execute the instrument’’; and made a stylistic
change.

The 2013 amendment, effective June 14, 2013,
rewrote the section heading, which formerly read:
“Foreign brokers; nonresident licensees’” and
rewrote the section.

The 2014 amendment - See: NM Stat § 61-29-
16.1 (2014)

Effective dates — History: Laws 2005, ch. 35,
15; 2011, ch. 85, 7; 2013, ch. 167, 7; 2014, ch. 27,
2.

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8,
approved April 2, 2011 and effective June 16,
2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA 1978 which
would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1,
2012 to July 1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85,
§ 11, approved April 6, 2011 and effective July 1,
2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA 1978. See 12-1-8
NMSA 1978.

61-29-17 Penalty; injunctive relief

A. Any person who engages in the business or acts in the capacity of an associate
broker or a qualifying broker within New Mexico without a license issued by the
commission is guilty of a fourth degree felony. Any person who violates any other
provision of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 is guilty of a misdemeanor and
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shall be punished by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500) or
imprisonment for not more than six months, or both.

In the event any person has engaged or proposes to engage in any act or practice
violative of a provision of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978, the attorney
general or the district attorney of the judicial district in which the person resides
or the judicial district in which the violation has occurred or will occur may, upon
application of the commission, maintain an action in the name of the state to
prosecute the violation or to enjoin the proposed act or practice.

In any action brought under Subsection B of this section, if the court finds that a
person is engaged or has willfully engaged in any act or practice violative of a
provision of Sections 61-29-1 through 61-29-18 NMSA 1978, the attorney general or
the district attorney of the judicial district in which the person resides or the
judicial district in which the violation has occurred or is occurring may, upon
petition to the court, recover on behalf of the state a civil penalty not exceeding five
thousand dollars ($5,000) per violation and attorney fees and costs.

STATUTORY NOTES

The 2011 amendment, effective July 1, 2011, in (A),
substituted ‘‘fourth degree felony and shall be punished by a
fine of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) or by
imprisonment for a definite term of eighteen months’’ for
“‘misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not more
than five hundred dollars ($500) or by imprisonment for not
more than six months’’ in the first sentence and deleted the
former second sentence, which read: ‘‘Any corporation or
business association which violates any provision of Chapter
61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 shall be punished by a fine of not
more than one thousand dollars ($1,000)"’; deleted ‘‘business

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16,2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July1, 2012 to July
1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April

61-29-17.1 Recompiled

association or corporation”’ following ‘‘any person’’ in (B);
deleted “‘of New Mexico’” following ‘‘state’” in (C); and
made a stylistic change. The 2013 amendment, effective June
14, 2013, in (A), added the first sentence and in the second
sentence, added ‘‘other,”” substituted ‘‘misdemeanor’’ for
“fourth degree felony,”” substituted ‘‘five hundred dollars
($500) for “‘five thousand dollars ($5,000),”” and
substituted ‘‘not more than six months’’ for ‘‘a definite term
of eighteen months’’; substituted ‘‘may’’ for ‘‘shall’’ in (B)
and (C); and made a stylistic change.

6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 1953 Comp., § 67-24-34, enacted by laws 1965, ch.
304, § 8; 1993, ch. 192,  § 2; 2011, ch. 85, § 8; 2013, ch.
167

STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes — this section, relating to disciplinary action
by the New Mexico real estate commission concerning time
share projects, was recompiled as 47-11-11.2 NMSA 1978.

61-29-17.2 Unlicensed activity; civil penalty;
administrative costs

The commission may impose a civil penalty on any person who is found, through a
court or administrative proceeding, to have acted in violation of Chapter 61, Article
29 NMSA 1978 in an amount not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each
violation or, if the commission can so determine, in the amount of the total commissions
received by the person for the unlicensed activity. The commission may assess
administrative costs for any investigation and administrative or other proceedings against




any such person. Any money collected by the commission under the provisions of
this section shall be deposited into the real estate recovery fund.

History: Laws 2001, ch. 163, § 11; 2011, ch. 85, § 9.

STATUTORY NOTES

The 2011 amendment, effective July 1, 2011, added
“‘administrative costs’” in the section heading; in the first
sentence, added ‘‘on any person who is found, through a
court or administrative proceeding, to have acted in violation
of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978’ and ‘‘if the
commission can so determine, in the amount of the total
commissions received by the person for the unlicensed

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

61-29-18 Interpretation of act

activity’’; in the second sentence, added ‘‘The commission
may’’ at the beginning, deleted ‘‘who is found, through a
court or administrative proceeding, to have acted without a li-
cense in violation of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978’
following ‘‘person’’; added the third sentence; and made
related and stylistic changes.

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978.

Nothing contained in Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 shall affect the power of
cities and villages to tax, license and regulate qualifying brokers or associate brokers.
The requirements hereof shall be in addition to the requirements of an existing or
future ordinance of any city or village so taxing, licensing or regulating qualifying

brokers or associate brokers.

History: 1953 Comp., § 67-24-35, enacted by Laws 1959,
ch. 226, § 18; 2005, ch. 35, § 17.

STATUTORY NOTES

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006, substituted
“in Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978’ for ““in this act”’
and substituted ‘‘qualifying brokers or associate brokers’” for
“‘real estate brokers’.

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19

NMSA 1978 which would have extended the sunset
provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July
1, 2012 to July 1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11,
approved April 6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed
61-29-19 NMSA 1978 making the amendment by Laws
2011, ch. 30 not effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978

61-29-19 Termination of agency life; delayed repeal
(Repealed)

Repealed by Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, effective July 1, 2011.

History: 1953 Comp., § 67-24-36, enacted by Laws 1978,
ch. 203, § 2; 1981, ch.241, § 33; 1983, ch. 261, § 7; 1987,

ch. 333, § 12; 1993, ch. 83, § 7; 1993, ch. 253, § 3; 2000, ch.
4,817; 2005, ch. 208, § 21; 2011, ch. 30, § 8.

STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed this section. See
12-1-8 NMSA 1978.




43

61-29-19.1 Real estate education and training fund created;

A.

purpose; appropriation

The ‘‘real estate education and training fund’’ is created in the state treasury.
The fund shall consist of an initial transfer of the balance in the real estate recovery
fund as provided in Subsection C of this section; legislative appropriations to the
fund; fees charged by the commission for approval of real estate education sponsors,
courses and instructors; gifts, grants, donations and bequests to the fund; and
income from investment of the fund. Money in the fund shall not revert to any
other fund at the end of a fiscal year.

The fund shall be administered by the commission, and money in the fund is
subject to appropriation by the legislature to the commission to improve real estate
education and to train real estate instructors. The commission shall promulgate rules
specifying the manner in which the fund shall be administered.

Notwithstanding the provisions of Sections 61-29-21 and 61-29-22 NMSA 1978, on
July 1, 2005, the balance in excess of two hundred fifty thousand dollars
($250,000) in the real estate recovery fund shall be transferred to the real estate
education and training fund.

History: Laws 2005, ch. 35, § 20.

STATUTORY NOTES

Effective dates — Laws 2005, ch. 35, § 21A makes this
section effective January 1, 2006.

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8,approved April 2, 6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA 1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April

61-29-20 Shorttitle -- Real Estate Recovery Fund Act

Sections 1 through 10 [61-29-20 to 61-29-29 NMSA 1978] of this act may be cited as the
““Real Estate Recovery Fund Act.”

History: Laws 1980, ch. 82, § 1.

STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2, 1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA 6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of 1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 197861-29-21. Fund created.

There is created in the state treasury a fund which shall be known as the ‘real estate
recovery fund’’ to be administered by the real estate commission in accordance with the
provisions of the Real Estate Recovery Fund Act [61-29-20 NMSA 1978]. All money
received by the real estate commission pursuant to the Real Estate Recovery Fund Act
shall be credited to the real estate recovery fund. The state treasurer may invest money
in the real estate recovery fund in United States bonds or treasury certificates under
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such rules and regulations as may be prescribed by the state board of finance,
provided that no investments shall be made which will impair the necessary
liquidity required to satisfy judgment payments awarded pursuant to the Real Estate
Recovery Fund Act. All interest earned from such investments shall be credited to the
fund to pay any future judgments only.

History: Laws 1980, ch. 82, § 2.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Real estate education and training fund
created; purpose; appropriation, 61-29-19.1 NMSA 1978.

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not

Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

61-29-22 Additional fees

A. The commission shall collect an annual fee not in excess of ten dollars ($10.00)
from each real estate licensee prior to the issuance of the next license.

The commission shall collect from each successful applicant for an original real
estate license, in addition to the original license fee, a fee not in excess of ten

dollars ($10.00).

The additional fees provided by this section shall be credited to the real estate
recovery fund. The amount of the real estate recovery fund shall be maintained
at one hundred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000). If the real estate recovery fund
falls below this amount, the commission shall have authority to adjust the annual
amount of additional fees to be charged licensees or to draw on the real estate
commission fund in order to maintain the fund level as required in this section. If
on July 1 of any year, the balance in the fund exceeds four hundred thousand dollars
($400,000), the amount over four hundred thousand dollars ($400,000) shall be
transferred to the real estate commission fund to be used for the purposes of
carrying out the provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978.

History: Laws 1980, ch. 82,8 3; 1987, ch. 90, § 6; 1993,
ch. 253, § 4; 2003, ch. 22, § 6; 2011, ch. 85, § 10.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Real estate education and training fund
created; purpose; appropriation, 61-29-19.1 NMSA 1978.

The 2011 amendment, effective July 1, 2011, substituted
““one hundred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000)” for ‘‘two

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, 8§ 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000)’” in (C); and made
a stylistic change.

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978
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61-29-23 Judgment against qualifying or associate broker;
petition; requirements; recovery limitations

A

When any aggrieved person claims a pecuniary loss caused by a state- licensed
qualifying broker or associate broker based upon fraud, knowing or willful
misrepresentation or wrongful conversion of funds entrusted to the qualifying
broker or associate broker, which loss arose out of any transaction for which a
qualifying broker’s or an associate broker’s license is required and arose out of or
during the course of a transaction involving the sale, lease, exchange or other
disposition of real estate, where the cause of action arose on or after July 1, 1980,
that person may, within one year after obtaining a final judgment based upon fraud,
knowing or willful misrepresentation or wrongful conversion of funds entrusted to
the qualifying broker or associate broker and the termination of all proceedings,
including appeals in connection with the judgment, file a verified petition with the
commission for payment from the real estate recovery fund for the actual damages
included in the judgment and unpaid, but not more than ten thousand dollars
($10,000) per judgment regardless of the number of persons aggrieved or parcels of
real estate involved in the transaction. The aggregate amount recoverable by all
claimants for losses caused by any one licensee shall not exceed thirty thousand
dollars ($30,000).

A copy of the petition shall be served upon the commission in the manner provided by
law for service of a civil summons.

The commission shall conduct a hearing on the petition after service of the petition
upon the commission. At the hearing, the petitioner shall be required to show
that the petitioner:

(D Is not the spouse of the judgment debtor, the personal
representative of the spouse or related to the third degree of
consanguinity or affinity to the licensee whose conduct is alleged to
have caused the loss;

(2) Has complied with all the requirements of the Real Estate
Recovery Fund Act [61-29-20NMSA 1978];

(3) has obtained a judgment of the kind described in Subsection A of
this section, the amount awarded and the amount owing at the date of
the petition;

(4) Has had execution issued upon the judgment and that the
officer executing the writ has made a return showing that the judgment
debtor has no property within the state subject to execution. If execution
is levied against the property of the judgment debtor, the petitioner
shall show that the amount realized on the sale was insufficient to
satisfy the judgment and shall set forth the amount realized from the
sale and the balance remaining due on the judgment after
application of the amount realized;
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(5) Has made reasonable searches and inquiries to ascertain
whether the judgment debtor is possessed of real or personal property
or other assets liable to be sold or applied in satisfaction of the
judgment, including partner- ship assets, licensee’s estate or any bond
or insurance, and that the petitioner has exercised reasonable diligence
to secure payment of the judgment from the assets of the judgment
debtor; and

(6) Has a judgment that is not:

(a) Covered by any bond, insurance, surety agreement or
indemnity agreement;

(b) A loss incurred by a partner, joint venture, employer,
employee or associate of the licensee whose conduct is alleged to
have caused the loss; or a corporate officer or director of a
corporation in which the judgment debtor is also an officer, director
or employee; or

(c) A loss incurred by any business or other entity in
which the licensee whose conduct is alleged to have caused the
loss has any interest at the time of the conduct alleged to have

caused the loss.

History: Laws 1980, ch. 82, § 4; 1987, ch. 90, § 7; 2005, ch.
35,8 18.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Commission; review; compromise, 61-
29-24 NMSA 1978. Commission finding, 61-29-25 NMSA
1978.

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006, substituted
“‘qualifying or associate broker’” for ““or salesperson’” in the
section heading; and substituted ‘qualifying broker or

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

associate broker’’ for ‘‘real estate broker or salesperson’’
throughout the section.

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Purpose of fund

Under the Real Estate Recovery Fund Act, the Commission
administers a fund for the benefit of persons who are unable
to satisfy judgments obtained against a licensed real estate
broker or salesperson based upon particular acts of
wrongdoing. Recovery is limited to unsatisfied judgments

based upon any transaction for which a real estate broker’s or
salesperson’s license is required by law. Garcia v. N.M. Real
Estate Commission, 108 N.M. 591, 775 P.2d 1308 (Ct. App.
1989), cert. denied, 108 N.M. 624, 776 P.2d 846 (1989)
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STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April July 1, 2012 to July 1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85,
2, 2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 § 11, approved April 6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011,
NMSA 1978 which would have extended the sunset repealed 61-29-19 NMSA 1978 making the amendment by
provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from Laws 2011, ch. 30 not effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

61-29-24 Commission; review; compromise

Upon receipt of a petition as required by Section 61-29-23 NMSA 1978, the commission
shall conduct a hearing in substantially the same manner as set forth in the Uniform
Licensing Act [61-1-1 NMSA 1978], including Sections 61-1-9 through 61-1-11 NMSA
1978. Review of the commission’s decision shall be in the manner provided by Section
61-1-20 NMSA 1978. The commission may compromise a claim based upon the
application of a petitioner.

History: Laws 1980, ch. 82, § 5; 1987, ch. 90, § 8.

61-29-25 Commission finding

If the commission makes a specific finding of the items enumerated in Section 61-
29-23 NMSA 1978 and determines that a claim should be levied against the real
estate recovery fund, the commission shall enter an order requiring payment from the
fund of that portion of the petitioner’s claim that is payable from the fund pursuant to
the provisions of and in accordance with the limitations contained in Section 61-29-23
NMSA 1978.

History: Laws 1980, ch. 82, § 6; 1987, ch. 90, § 9.

STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April July 1, 2012 to July _1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85,
2, 2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 § 11, approved April 6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011,
NMSA 1978 which would have extended the sunset repealed 61-29-19 NMSA 1978 making the amendment by
provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from Laws 2011, ch. 30 not effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978

61-29-26 Insufficient funds

If at any time the money deposited in the real estate recovery fund is insufficient
to satisfy any authorized claim for payment from the fund, the real estate commission
shall, when sufficient money has been deposited in the fund, satisfy such unpaid claims in
the order that they were originally filed, together with accumulated interest at the rate of
eight percent per year.

History: Laws 1980, ch. 82, § 7.

STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2, 1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA 6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of 1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.




61-29-27 Subrogation

When the commission makes any payment from the real estate recovery fund to a
judgment creditor, the commission shall be subrogated to all rights of the judgment creditor
for the amounts paid out of the fund and any amount and interest so recovered by the
commission shall be deposited in the fund. The commission may, pursuant to the
provisions of the Uniform Licensing Act [61-1-1 NMSA 1978], revoke, suspend or
refuse to renew the license of any qualifying broker or associate broker for whom
payment from the fund has been made in accordance with the provisions of the Real Estate
Recovery Fund Act [61-29-20 NMSA 1978]. Further, the commission may refuse to issue
or renew the license of any person for whom payment from the real estate recovery
fund has been made, until that person reimburses the fund for all payments made on
that person’s behalf.

History: Laws 1980, ch. 82, § 8; 1987, ch. 90, § 10; 2005,
ch. 35,8 19.

STATUTORY NOTES

The 2005 amendment, effective January 1, 2006, substituted
““‘qualifying broker or associate broker’’ for ‘‘real estate

Editor’s notes. — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19
NMSA 1978 which would have extended the sunset
provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July

61-29-28 Waiver

broker or salesperson’” near the middle of the second
sentence.

1, 2012 to July 1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11,
approved April 6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed
61-29-19 NMSA 1978 making the amendment by Laws
2011, ch. 30 not effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978

The failure of any person to comply with all of the provisions of the Real Estate
Recovery Fund Act [61-29-20 NMSA 1978] shall constitute a waiver of any rights

pursuant to that act.

History: Laws 1980, ch. 82, § 9.

STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April 2,
2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 which would have extended the sunset provisions of
Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from July 1, 2012 to July

1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85, § 11, approved April
6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011, repealed 61-29-19 NMSA
1978 making the amendment by Laws 2011, ch. 30 not
effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.

61-29-29. Disciplinary action not limited.

Nothing contained in the Real Estate Recovery Fund Act [61-29-20 NMSA 1978] shall
limit the authority of the real estate commission to take disciplinary action against a
licensee for a violation of any of the provisions of Section 61-29-12 NMSA 1978 or of
the rules and regulations of the real estate commission, nor shall the repayment in full of
all obligations to the real estate recovery fund by any licensee nullify or modify the
effect of any other disciplinary proceeding brought pursuant to the provisions of Section
61-29-12 NMSA 1978 or the rules and regulations promulgated by the commission.

History: Laws 1980, ch. 82, § 10.
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STATUTORY NOTES

Editor’s notes. — Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 8, approved April
2, 2011 and effective June 16, 2011, amended 61-29-19
NMSA 1978 which would have extended the sunset
provisions of Chapter 61, Article 29 NMSA 1978 from

July 1, 2012 to July 1, 2018. However, Laws 2011, ch. 85,
§ 11, approved April 6, 2011 and effective July 1, 2011,
repealed 61-29-19 NMSA 1978 making the amendment by
Laws 2011, ch. 30 not effective. See 12-1-8 NMSA 1978.




Real Estate Commission Rules

New Mexico Administrative Code

NMREC Web link to Laws and Rules Tab

Title 16. OCCUPATIONALAND PROFESSIONAL
LICENSING

Chapter 61 - Real Estate Brokers

PART I. GENERAL PROVISIONS

NMREC Web link to Members and Meetings Tab

16.61.1.7. Definitions

A. Acceptable financial institution: is a federally insured bank, savings and loan
or title company authorized to do business in the state of New Mexico.

B. Agency: the fiduciary relationship created solely by the express written agency
agreement between a person and a brokerage, authorizing the brokerage to act as
agent for the person according to the scope of authority granted in that express
written agreement for real estate services subject to the jurisdiction of the
commission.

C. Agent: the brokerage authorized solely, by means of an express written
agreement, to act as a fiduciary for a person and to provide real estate services that
are subject to the jurisdiction of the commission; in the case of an associate broker,
"agent" means the person who has been authorized to act by that associate broker's
qualifying broker. In the case of residential property management, the property
manager is an agent of the owner(s) of the property for the purpose of performing
the obligations of the owner(s) under the property management agreement.

D. Approved education course: a commission approved course offered by a
commission approved sponsor in real estate law and practice; real estate financing
including mortgages and other financing techniques; material specific to the
regulatory, technical and ethical practice of real estate; and all state and federal laws
including but not limited to fair housing, the Americans with Disabilities Act
(ADA), and lead-based paint disclosure.

E. Approved training course: A commission approved course offering in personal
and property protection for the broker and clients; offerings in using the computer,
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the internet, business calculators, and other technologies to enhance the broker’s
service to the public; offerings concerning professional development, customer
relations skills, sales promotion including salesmanship, negotiation, marketing
techniques, servicing the client, or similar courses.

F. Associate broker: a person holding a New Mexico associate broker's license
who is affiliated with a New Mexico qualifying broker.

G. Broker: any person holding a current New Mexico associate broker's or
qualifying broker's real estate license. Brokerage: a person, corporation, partnership
or association qualified by a New Mexico licensed qualifying broker to conduct real
estate brokerage activity in New Mexico. Brokerage relationship: the relationship
between a customer or client and a brokerage for the provision of services in
connection with a real estate transaction.

H. Brokerage trust account: an account at an acceptable financial institution
established by the qualifying broker for the purpose of holding money belonging to
others received during a real estate sales transaction.

. Broker duties: Certain duties owed by brokers to prospective buyers, sellers,
owners and tenants, and broker obligations to other brokers as set forth in Part
16.61.19.8.

J. Broker in charge: a New Mexico licensed real estate broker qualified to be a
qualifying broker who has been designated in writing by the qualifying broker to
assume responsibility for the brokerage during a period of time when supervision by
the qualifying broker is not possible.

K. Client: a person who has entered into an express written agreement with a
brokerage for real estate services subject to the jurisdiction of the commission.

L. Commercial real estate: real estate that is zoned for business or commercial
use by a city or county; or designated by a city or county to allow five (5) or more
multi-family units; provided that all units are located on a single parcel of land with
a single legal description.

M. Core course: the four (4) hour commission-approved continuing education
course that all brokers are required to complete annually as a condition of license
renewal.

N. Core elective course: a four (4) hour commission-approved continuing
education course in residential transactions, commercial transactions, property
management transactions, or vacant land/ranch transactions required once during each
three (3) year cycle.

O. Credit hours(s): credits toward education requirements as assigned by the real
estate commission or each commission-approved course.

P. Custodial trust account: an account at an acceptable financial institution
established by the qualifying broker for the purpose of holding money of an owner.
The account shall be established in the owner’s name with the qualifying broker as
trustee. This account may be interest bearing.
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Q. Customer: a person who uses real estate services without entering into an
express written agreement with a brokerage subject to the jurisdiction of the
commission.

R. Designated agent: a broker who is designated in writing by their qualifying
broker to represent a client of the brokerage as their exclusive agent in a real estate
transaction.

S. Designated agency: a policy chosen by the qualifying broker of a brokerage that
discloses to a client of the brokerage that the broker representing them as an agent by
means of an express written agency agreement is their only representative in the
brokerage. The designated agency disclosure is made at the time that the client and the
brokerage enter into an express written agency agreement, or at such time that the
qualifying broker of a brokerage determines the need to designate one broker of the
brokerage as agent of the buyer and another as agent of the seller in the same transaction.

T. Distance education: distance learning is education and training that takes place
outside of the traditional classroom setting and in which other instructional media
are used because the instructor, teaching materials, and student are separated by
either distance or time.

U. Dual agency: an express written agreement that modifies existing exclusive
agency agreements to provide that the brokerage agrees to act as a facilitator in a
real estate transaction rather than as an exclusive agent for either party to the
transaction. Dual agent: the brokerage in a dual agency relationship working as a
facilitator in a single transaction for both a buyer client and a seller client who have
modified existing exclusive agency agreements with the brokerage.

V. Employee: for the purposes of Section 61-29-2 C (1) of the real estate license
law, a person employed by an owner of real property, or a person employed by the
brokerage acting on behalf of the owner of real property. In determining whether a
person is an employee, as opposed to an independent contractor, the commission
shall consider the following questions:

a. Does the employer withhold income tax from the person’s wages,
salary, or commission;

b. Does the employer pay a portion of the person’s FICA tax;
c. Isthe person covered by workers’ compensation insurance; and,

d. Does the employer make unemployment insurance contributions
on behalf of the person?

W. Errors and omissions insurance: a type of professional liability insurance that
provides insurance coverage to holders of active New Mexico real estate brokers
licenses for errors and omissions made during the course of real estate transactions,
subject to the coverage’s, limitations, and exclusions of the specific insurance policy
or policies in place.

X. Exclusive agency: an express written agreement between a person and a
brokerage wherein the brokerage agrees to exclusively represent as an agent the
interests of the person in a real estate transaction. Such agreements include buyer
agency, seller agency, designated agency, subagency, and residential property
management.
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Y. Expired license: an associate broker’s or qualifying broker’s license that has
not been renewed as of the last day of the month following the broker’s birth month
at the end of the broker’s three-year licensing cycle.

Z. Express written agreement: any written agreement signed by all parties
pertaining to a real estate transaction or the provision of real estate services.

AA. Eacilitator: the role of a brokerage in either a dual agency relationship or a
transaction brokerage relationship in which the exclusive relationships between a
seller or landlord client or buyer or tenant client are modified so that the brokerage
impartially facilitates the transaction.

BB. Foreign broker: a real estate broker who does not hold a real estate license
issued by the New Mexico real estate commission, but who holds a current and valid
real estate broker’s license issued by another state in the United States, a territory of
the United States, a province of Canada, or any other sovereign nation.

CC. Honesty and Reasonable Care and Ethical and Professional Conduct:
Conduct that a reasonable person would understand to meet standards of
professionalism and ethical conduct within a profession, including but not limited to
good faith, competence, trustworthiness, diligence, and lawful behavior.

DD. Inactive _broker: a New Mexico licensed real estate broker not currently
affiliated with a New Mexico real estate brokerage and therefore ineligible to
participate in any brokerage activity or collect fees or commissions in connection
with such activity except as provided in Subsection C of 16.61.9.8 NMAC.

EE. In house transaction: a transaction that occurs under the supervision of one
qualifying broker in the same brokerage.

FF. Land title trust account: a pooled interest-bearing account subject to the land
title trust fund act.

GG. Military service member: a person, or the spouse of a person, who is serving in
the armed forces of the United States or in an active reserve component of the armed
forces of the United States, including the National Guard.

HH. Owner or Property Owner: a person who is recognized and held responsible by
law as the owner of real property, including real property held by any legally
recognized entity in which the owner has an interest of ten (10) percent or more.

1. Party to the transaction: a client or customer or any other person who utilizes
real estate related services subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, not
including a person who acquires an interest as security for an obligation.

JJ. Person: any natural person, corporation, business trust, estate, trust,
partnership, association, joint venture, governmental entity or other legal entity.

KK. Post-licensing course: the commission-approved new broker business practices
course required within the first year of licensure of brokers first licensed in New
Mexico as associate brokers on or after January 1, 2009. For Commercial brokers,
this includes CCIM 101 Financial Analysis Course.
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LL. Principal: any person who authorizes or employs another to do certain acts on
behalf of that person.

MM. Property ledger: a record of deposits and disbursements within a trust
account that is associated with the same property or owner.

NN.Property management: real estate services as specified by a management
agreement which include, but are not limited to, the marketing, showing, renting and
leasing of real property; the collection and disbursement of funds on behalf of
owners; the supervision of employees and vendors; the coordination of maintenance
and repairs; the management of tenant relations; or the preparation of leases or rental
agreements, financial reports and other documents. In the course of listing and
marketing properties for sale, inspections of the property, repairs and maintenance
incident to the sale and authorized by the owner shall not be considered property
management.

0O0.Property management trust account: an account at an acceptable financial
institution established by the qualifying broker for the purpose of holding money
belonging to others received during the management of real property for others.

PP. Property manager: a broker who, for a fee, salary, commission or other
valuable consideration, is engaged in managing property for others. A residential
property manager is, by virtue of a written agency agreement, an agent of the
owner(s) of the property for the purpose of performing the obligations of the
owner(s) under the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act and/or under the rental
or lease agreement.

QQ.Qualifying broker: a broker who has qualified a proprietorship, corporation,
partnership or association to do business as a real estate brokerage in the state of
New Mexico, and who discharges the responsibilities of a qualifying broker as set
forthin 16.61.16.9 NMAC.

RR. Recent veteran: a person who has received an honorable discharge or
separation from military service within the two years immediately preceding the
date the person applied for a real estate broker’s license.

SS. Reconciliation: the process by which the property ledgers within a trust
account are balanced with the trust account and the trust account is balanced with
the bank statement.

TT. Referral: the communication by one broker or brokerage to another broker or
brokerage of the identity of a potential buyer/tenant or seller/lessor of real property
available for sale, lease, rent or exchange.

UU.Responsible person: the qualifying broker or associate broker for whom an
unlicensed assistant works. If an unlicensed assistant works for more than one
broker, each broker for whom the unlicensed assistant works is a responsible person.
Each responsible person will be subject to the provisions of Section 61-29-12 A (7)
NMSA 1978.

VV.Scope of authority: the range of authority granted by the principal to act on
behalf of that principal.




55

WW. Short-term/vacation rental: with the exception of hotels and motels, the
rental of real property for a period of 29 days or less.

XX.Special trust account: an account at an acceptable financial institution
established by the qualifying broker for the purpose of holding money of a named
party named party to a transaction. This account may be interest-bearing.

YY.Sponsor: an organization or entity approved by the real estate commission to
offer courses approved by the real estate commission.

ZZ. Subagent: an agent of the agent, authorized to act for the agent in performing
functions undertaken by the agent for his principal.

AAA.Transaction: any real estate activity subject to the jurisdiction of the
commission.

BBB. Transaction broker: a qualifying broker, associate broker or brokerage that
provides real estate services without entering into an agency relationship. The
transaction broker relationship is a non-fiduciary relationship.

CCC. Trust account: an account at an acceptable financial institution established by
the qualifying broker for the purpose of holding money of others received by the
qualifying broker in a transaction which includes a brokerage trust account, property
management trust account, custodial trust account or special trust account.

DDD. Unlicensed assistant: a person who does not hold an active New Mexico
broker’s license and works under the supervision of a responsible person to perform
duties for the brokerage as provided in 16.61.21 NMAC.

EEE. Virtual Office. A real estate brokerage office that provides communication
and address services without providing dedicated office space.

[16.61.1.7 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.1.7 NMAC, 1-1-2012; A, 1/1/2017]

16.61.1.8. Offices

The offices of the New Mexico real estate commission will be located in
Albuqguerque, New Mexico.

[16.61.1.8 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.1.8 NMAC, 1-1-2012]

16.61.1.9. Telephonicmeeting attendance

Commission members may participate in a meeting of the commission by
means of a conference telephone or similar communications equipment
and participation by telephone may only occur when it is difficult or
impossible for commission members to attend a meeting of the commission,
i.e. when circumstances beyond the member’s control would make
attendance in person extremely burdensome.

[16.61.1.9 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.1.9 NMAC, 1-1-2012]




PART 2: LICENSE AND OTHER FEES
NMREC Web Link to Fees Tab

16.61.2.7. Definitions

Refer to Definitions 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[16.61.2.7 NMAC - Rp, 16 NMAC 61.2.7, 1-1-2002]

16.61.2.8. Fees

A.

B.

For each examination, a fee not to exceed ninety-five dollars ($95.00).

For each broker’s license issued, and for each renewal thereof, a fee
not to exceed two hundred seventy dollars ($270.00).

For each license transferred, a fee not to exceed twenty dollars ($20.00).
If there are eleven or more affected licenses in the brokerage, the total
transfer fee paid shall not exceed two hundred dollars ($200.00).

For each duplicate license, where the license is lost or destroyed and
affidavit is made thereof, a fee not to exceed twenty dollars ($20.00).

For each license history, a fee not to exceed twenty-five dollars ($25.00).

For copying of documents by the commission a fee not to exceed one
dollar ($1.00) per copy.

For each state of New Mexico real estate license law and rules manual a
fee not to exceed ten dollars ($10.00).

For each hard copy or electronic list of licensed real estate brokers, a fee
not to exceed fifty dollars ($50.00).

For each initial broker’s license, and for the renewal thereof, a fee not
to exceed ten dollars ($10.00) shall be credited to the real estate
recovery fund pursuant to NMSA 1978 Section 61-29-22 if in the
commission’s judgment the assessment of such fee is necessary to
maintain the fund at its statutory minimum level.

Or each application to the commission to become an approved sponsor of
real estate pre-licensing and continuing education courses, a fee not to
exceed five hundred dollars ($500.00) and for each renewal thereof a fee
not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500.00).

For each application to the commission to become an approved instructor
of real estate pre-licensing and continuing education courses, a fee
not to exceed seventy dollars ($70.00) per course.
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For each application to the commission to renew certification as a
commission approved instructor of real estate pre-licensing and
continuing education courses, a fee not to exceed one hundred dollars
($100.00).

[16.61.2.8 NMAC - Rp, 16 NMAC 61.2.8, 1-1-2002; A, 01-01-2004; A,
1-1-2006; A, 1-1-2012]
16.61.2.9. Fees non-refundable

Fees paid to the commission pursuant to 16.61.2.8 NMAC of the commission
rules are non-refundable.

[16.61.2.9 NMAC - Rp, 16 NMAC 61.2.9, 1-1-2002; A, 01-01-2004; A,
1-1-2006]

PART 3: REAL ESTATE BROKER'’S LICENSE: EXAMINATION AND
LICENSING APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS
NMREC Web link to Requirements Tab

16.61.3.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[16.61.3.7 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.3.7 NMAC, 1-1-2012]

16.61.3.8. Types oflicenses

The New Mexico real estate commission issues two types of real estate
broker’s licenses; an associate broker’s license and a qualifying
broker’s license. Both types of licenses are issued only to individuals. The
requirements for obtaining both types of licenses are described below.

[16.61.3.8 NMAC - N, 1-1-2012]

16.61.3.9. Examination and Licensing Requirements

A. Associate broker’s license: prior to applying for an associate broker’s license, an
applicant must pass the real estate broker’s examination prescribed by the
commission.

Examination application.

(1) Applications to take the broker’s examination are made directly to the
commission’s examination contractor on a form prescribed by the
commission and provided by the contractor in a candidate information
bulletin.  Along with the application form, an applicant must submit
certificates of completion of commission-approved 30 hour pre-licensing
courses in real estate principles and practice, real estate law, and broker
basics. These pre-licensing courses must have been completed within the
three years prior to application to take the broker’s examination. Exam
candidates who are licensed as associate brokers and are taking the broker’s
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examination to upgrade to qualifying broker are exempt from the three-year
time limit and must only provide documentation of course completion.

(2) Exam candidates currently licensed as real estate salespersons or brokers
in other states or jurisdictions will be exempt from completing the real estate
principles and practice and real estate law courses in New Mexico and from
taking the national portion of the broker’s examination if they can provide a
certified license history from their resident licensing jurisdiction
documenting that they have completed these courses or their equivalent. A
New Mexico associate broker upgrading to qualifying broker will also be
exempt from taking the national portion of the broker’s exam.

(3) Except in a case of a license applicant from a state or jurisdiction with
which the New Mexico real estate commission has a written license
recognition agreement, an exam applicant cannot be exempted from
completing the commission-approved 30 hour broker basics course.

(4) License applicants currently licensed by state or jurisdiction with which
the commission has a written license recognition agreement are not required
to take any of the prescribed pre-licensing courses or take either portion of
the broker’s examination to be eligible to apply for a New Mexico broker’s
license.

(5) Exam applicants exempted from taking the real estate principles and
practice and real estate law courses by virtue of having a current real estate
broker’s license in another state shall attach to their examination application
a letter of pre-licensing education waiver from the commission and a
certificate of completion of the 30 hour broker basics course.

(6) All other applicants for the examination shall attach to their license
examination application certificates documenting completion of one 30 hour
pre-licensing course each in real estate principles and practice, real estate
law, and broker basics.

(7) At the time of making application to take the examination, applicants
shall pay to the commission’s examination contractor a non-refundable fee
not to exceed $95.

(8) Applicants are required to pass both the state and national portions of the
examination with a minimum score of 75 no later than 90 calendar days after
the first time they took the examination. Applicants failing to pass both
portions of the examination within this time frame will be required to re-take
and pass both portions of the examination before being eligible to apply for a
broker’s license.

C. Associate Broker License application.

(1) Upon passing both portions of the New Mexico real estate broker’s
examination, an individual has six months to apply for an associate broker’s
license on the application prescribed by the commission.
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(2) An individual who fails to apply for an associate broker’s license within
six months of having passed both portions of the broker’s examination shall
be required to re-take both portions of the examinations six month deadline,
unless they can provide in writing to the commission a reasonable
explanation why they were unable to meet the six month deadline.

(3) An applicant for an associate broker’s license shall be a legal resident of
the United States and have reached the age of majority in New Mexico or in
the state in which the applicant resides.

(4) Along with the license application form prescribed by the commission,
the applicant must submit a written score report provided by the examination
contractor documenting that he/she has passed both portions of the
examination with a minimum score of 75, documentation of having been
fingerprinted for purposes of matching with state and national arrest record
databases, a certificate of insurance documenting that the applicant has a
current errors and omissions insurance policy that meets the requirements for
such insurance as described in 16.61.5 NMAC of the commission rules, and
a non-refundable license application fee not to exceed $270.

D. Qualifying broker’s license examination: there is no separate qualifying broker’s
examination.

E. Military service members.

(1) The commission shall, as soon as practicable after a military service
member, the spouse of a military service member or a recent veteran files an
application for an associate broker’s or qualifying broker’s license, process
the application and issue a license to a qualified applicant who submits
satisfactory documentation that the applicant holds a real estate license
issued by another licensing jurisdiction, including a branch of the armed
forces of the United States, that is current and in good standing, and that has
licensing requirements that are substantially equivalent to New Mexico
requirements.

(2) A license issued pursuant to this part is not a provisional license and

confers the same rights, privileges, and responsibilities as any other license
issued by the commission.

(3) A license issued pursuant to this part shall not be renewed unless the
licensee satisfies the commission’s requirements for license renewal.

[16.61.3.9 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.3.8 NMAC, 1-1-2012; A, 1-1-2017]

16.61.3.10. Qualifying Broker Licensing Requirements

To be eligible to apply for a New Mexico qualifying broker’s license, an applicant must
furnish the commission satisfactory evidence of completing the following:

(1) Passage of the broker’s examination.
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(2) At least four years active experience as a licensed associate broker during
the 60-month period, immediately preceding the filing of the application.

(3) In the case of a qualifying broker who will not be supervising or
managing other brokers, at least two years of active experience as a licensed
associate broker during the 60-month period immediately preceding the
filing of the application.

(4) Qualifying brokers who have qualified for qualifying broker status under
the exception provided in paragraph (3), must document at least four years of
active experience as an associate broker and qualifying broker before being
eligible to supervise other brokers.

(5) If licensed in another state, not less than four years’ experience as the
equivalent of an associate broker during the 60-month period immediately
preceding the filing of the application with verification in writing by the
applicant’s qualifying broker(s) or the state’s applicable equivalent to a
qualifying broker. A candidate for a qualifying broker license from another
state will, in all circumstances, be required to fulfill all the remaining
requirements, including experience, education and acknowledgement of
responsibilities.

(6) Documented qualifying transactional experience totaling 100 points, with
at least one transaction accomplished during each of the four years prior to
filing of the application. These transactions are to be verified in writing by
the applicant’s qualifying broker. Transactions involving property owned by
the applicant do not count toward the required total. Points are awarded as
follows and can be accumulated through any combination of the following
activities:

(a) Each sale or lease transaction is deemed to have two sides; one side
working with the buyer/tenant and the other side working with the
seller/owner. Both transaction sides receive points.

(b) In the event of transactions handled by teams comprised of more than
one associate broker the qualifying broker shall monitor the transactions
to determine which associate broker is deserving of earning the points
allowed, or the division of the allowable points among team members.

(c) Real estate and property management transactions; total points
available per transaction side:

1. Residential sales transactions: Five Points
2. Residential lot sale transactions:  Three points
Residential lease transactions: Four points

Commercial improved property
Sale transactions: Eight points

Commercial unimproved lot
Sale transactions: Six points
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Commercial lease transactions:  Six points

Property Management points are accumulated as follows: Points
are awarded for each location for which the broker has direct
responsibility. Direct responsibility means acting as an agent for
the owner and is not just collecting rent. Property management
points are accumulated as follows:

a. Residential Property Management: Each property receives
three points, plus one point for each additional unit in that
property to a maximum of 25 points per property per year.
A unit is defined as a separate residence with its own
postal address.

Commercial Property Management: Each property
receives four points, plus one point for each individual
tenant space in that property to a maximum of 25 points
per property per year. A space is defined as a commercial
location that has its own postal address.

Farm and Ranch/Vacant Land - For the purposes of this paragraph
a farm or a ranch is defined as a property which is used for
commercial agricultural purposes. Farm and Ranch points are
awarded as follows:

a. Lessthan 100 acres, eight points.
b. 100 acres or more, ten points.

Limited Waiver: A waiver may be granted by the Commission to
an associate broker who can demonstrate that their particular
circumstance, i.e. size of market, lack of property types, health
issues, force majeure, make it very difficult to obtain 100 points.
The Commission may waive up to 30 points and the transaction per
year requirement. Written documentation and statements of proof
shall be submitted with the application for waiver.

16.61.3.11. Qualifying Broker Candidate Education Requirements
for Application

Completion of the commission approved 30-hour brokerage office administration
course, with an in-course instructor-created exam administered by the instructor at
the end of the course.

Completion of the eight-hour Understanding and Using RANM Forms course
(#21020551), or at least eight hours of other Commission-approved contract
course(s).

Completion of a minimum of eight hours of elective courses in the professional
track of the applicant; defined as residential transactions, commercial transactions,
property management transactions, ranch and/or vacant land transactions.
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Attendance at one New Mexico real estate commission meeting, public hearing, or
disciplinary hearing. In the event of broker hardship, approved by the
Commission, the Real Estate Commission may authorize an equivalent to the
attendance at a commission meeting by either an online download, attendance at
any approved equivalent, or by other approved participation.

16.61.3.12. Qualifying Broker Application Requirements

A.

A notarized affidavit of the applicant’s acknowledgement of the responsibilities of
a qualifying broker, including the direct supervision of all brokers affiliated with
the qualifying broker. Supervision shall be defined in the affidavit as follows:

(1) Review and maintain all records and documents required for real estate
related matters processed by personnel supervised by the Qualifying Broker.

(2) Provide or promote appropriate training of all brokers and staff affiliated
with the qualifying broker for compliance with the Real Estate License Law
and Commission Rules.

(3) Supervise advertising of real estate or real estate services conducted on
behalf of others by anyone affiliated with the qualifying broker.

(4) Execute and maintain current written employment agreements or
independent contractor agreements with associate brokers affiliated with the
qualifying broker.

A broker applying to be licensed as a qualifying broker supervised by another
qualifying broker is not required to submit this affidavit.

A supervisory plan which will outline the qualifying broker’s schedule of training
and education provided or promoted. The supervisory plan will be applicable to
the broker applying to be a qualifying broker and to all other brokers affiliated
with them, if any. A broker applying to be licensed as a qualifying broker
supervised by another qualifying broker is not required to submit a supervisory
plan.

Applicants with current licenses who can document that they were New Mexico
qualifying brokers on or before December 31, 2005 are not subject to those
requirements and may regain qualifying broker status by filling a trade name
registration form and paying the trade name registration fee to the commission.

Brokers who were salespersons on January 1, 2006 when the license law was
amended to eliminate the salesperson category and were converted to associate
broker status, shall in addition to meeting the requirements in the preceding
section, document that they have met the requirements for and passed the broker’s
examination prior to being issued a qualifying broker’s license.

An application for a New Mexico qualifying broker’s license shall be made on the
form prescribed by the commission and shall be accompanied with documentation
of having been fingerprinted for purposes of matching with state and national arrest
record databases, a certificate documenting that the applicant has a current errors
and omissions insurance policy that meets the requirements for such insurance as
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described in 16.61.5 NMAC of the commission rules, and a non-refundable license
application fee not to exceed $270.

G. Military service members:

(1) The commission shall, as soon as practicable after a military service
member, the spouse of a military service member or a recent veteran files an
application for an associate broker’s or qualifying broker’s license, process
the application and issue a license to a qualified applicant who submits
satisfactory documentation that the applicant holds a real estate license
issued by another licensing jurisdiction, including a branch of the armed
forces of the United States, that is current and in good standing, and that has
licensing requirements that are substantially equivalent to New Mexico
requirements.

(2) A license issued pursuant to this part is not a provisional license and
confers the same rights, privileges, and responsibilities as any other license
issued by the commission.

(3) A license issued pursuant to this part shall not be renewed unless the
licensee satisfies the commission’s requirements for license renewal.

16.61.3.13. Qualifying Broker License Renewal
Requirements

A qualifying broker applying for renewal of their license shall furnish the Commission
satisfactory evidence of successful completion of:

A. The qualifying broker refresher course.
B. A minimum of 36 hours of Commission-approved courses, including:
(1) The four-hour Core Course in each year of the broker’s licensing cycle;

(2) A minimum of eight hours of courses from the qualifying broker’s
professional track, including Commission-approved courses in residential
transactions; commercial transactions, including courses offered by CCIM,
SIOR, and CBI; property management transactions, including courses
offered by IREM; and vacant land and/or farm and ranch sales.

Attendance at one Commission meeting, rule hearing, or disciplinary hearing. In
the event of broker hardship, approved by the Commission, the Real Estate
Commission may authorize an equivalent to the attendance of a commission
meeting either by an online download, attendance at any approved equivalent, or
by other approved participation.

An application for renewal of a qualifying broker’s license shall include a
notarized affidavit of the applicant’s acknowledgement of the responsibilities of a
qualifying broker, including the direct supervision of all brokers affiliated with the
brokerage, including but not limited to:

(1) Review and maintain all records and documents required for real estate
related matters processed by the brokerage.
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(2) Provide or promote appropriate training of all brokers and staff affiliated with
the qualifying broker to ensure compliance with the Real Estate License Law and
Commission Rules.

(3) Supervise advertising of real estate or real estate services conducted on
behalf of others by anyone affiliated with the qualifying broker.

(4) Execute and maintain current written employment agreements or
independent contractor agreements with associate brokers affiliated with the
qualifying broker.

E. A qualifying broker applying for license renewal who will be supervised by another
qualifying broker will not be required to submit this affidavit.

An application for renewal of a qualifying broker’s license shall include a
statement affirming that the qualifying broker substantially fulfilled the supervisory
plan filed with the initial application, and a plan outlining the schedule of training
and education to be provided or promoted and the policies for supervision in the
next licensing cycle. The supervisory plan will be applicable to the applicant for
renewal of the qualifying broker’s license and all affiliated brokers, if any. A
qualifying broker who is supervised by another qualifying broker is not required to
submit a supervisory plan.

PART 4: SALESPERSON’S LICENSE: EXAMINATION AND
LICENSING APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS [REPEALED 01-01-06]

PART 5: ERRORS AND OMISSIONS INSURANCE

16.61.5.7. Definitions
Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC. [16.61.5.7 NMAC - N, 1-1-2002]

16.61.5.8. Group errors and omissions insurance policy

Effective January 1, 2002 every active New Mexico real estate broker shall
have in effect a policy of errors and omissions insurance. The commission
shall enter into a contract with a qualified insurance carrier or its agent or
broker to make available to all New Mexico real estate brokers and broker
applicants a group policy of insurance under the following terms and
conditions:

A. The insurance carrier is licensed and authorized by the New
Mexico department of insurance to write policies of errors and
omissions insurance in New Mexico;

The insurance carrier maintains an A.M. Best rating of ““B”’ or better;

The insurance carrier will collect premiums, maintain records and
report names of those insured and a record of claims to the commission
on a timely basis and at no expense to the state;
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The insurance carrier has been selected through a competitive
bidding process;

The contract and policy are in conformance with Part 5 and all
relevant New Mexico statutory requirements.

[16.61.5.8 NMAC - N, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006]

16.61.5.9. Terms of coverage

The group policy shall provide, at a minimum, the following terms of coverage:

A.

Coverage of all acts for which a real estate license is required, except those illegal,
fraudulent or other acts which are normally excluded from such coverage;

An annual premium not to exceed the amount set by statute 61-29-4.2B NMSA
1978;

That the coverage cannot be cancelled by the insurance carrier except for non-
payment of the premium or in the event a broker becomes inactive or has their
license revoked or an applicant is denied a license;

Pro-ration of premiums for coverage which is purchased during the course of the
calendar year but with no provision for refunds of unused premiums;

Not less than $100,000 coverage for each licensed individual and entity per
covered claim regardless of the number of brokers or entities to which a settlement
or claim may apply;

An aggregate limit of $500,000 per licensed individual or entity;

A deductible amount for each claim of not more than $1,000 per claim and no
deductible for legal expenses and defense;

Payment of claims by the provider shall be on a first dollar basis and the provider
shall look to the insured for payment of any deductible;

The obligation of the insurance carrier to defend all covered claims with payment
of defense costs outside of policy limits;

Coverage of a broker’s use of lock boxes which may include a sublimit of not less
than $5,000 per claim for property damage or loss of use of property arising from
a lock box claim;

The ability of a broker, upon payment of an additional premium, to obtain higher
or excess coverage or to purchase additional coverage from the insurance provider
as may be determined by the provider;

That coverage is individual and license specific and will cover the associate broker
regardless of changes in qualifying broker;
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An automatic 90-day extended reporting period with the ability of the broker,
upon payment of an additional premium, to obtain an optional extended reporting
period of one, two, or three years.

A conformity endorsement allowing a New Mexico resident broker to meet errors
and omissions insurance requirements for an active license in another group
mandated state without the need to purchase separate coverage in that state.

[16.61.5.9 NMAC - N, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006; A, 12-31-2008; A, 1-1-2017]

16.61.5.10. Equivalent errors and omissions insurance
policies

New Mexico real estate associate broker or qualifying broker applicants may obtain
errors and omissions coverage equivalent to the group plan from any insurance carrier
subject to the following terms and conditions.

A. The insurance carrier is licensed and authorized by the New Mexico department of
insurance to write policies of errors and omissions insurance in this state and is in
conformance with all New Mexico statutes.

The insurance provider maintains an A.M. Best rating of “B” or better.

The policy, at a minimum, complies with all relevant conditions set forth in this
rule and the insurance carrier so certifies in a certificate issued to the insured real
estate broker or broker applicant in a form acceptable to the commission and
agrees to immediately notify the commission of any cancellation or lapse in
coverage. The commission will make no independent determination of whether
equivalent policies meet the requirements of Part 5.

Coverage includes all acts for which a real estate license is required, except those
illegal, fraudulent or other acts which are normally excluded from such coverage.

Coverage cannot be cancelled by the insurance provider except for nonpayment of
premium or in the event a broker becomes inactive or the license is revoked, or in
the event an applicant is denied a license.

Coverage is for not less than $100,000 for each licensed individual and entity per
covered claim and not less than a $500,000 aggregate limit per licensed individual
or entity.

A deductible amount for each claim of not more than $1,000.

Payment of claims by the provider shall be on a first dollar basis and the provider
shall look to the insured for payment of any deductible.

The obligation of the insurance carrier to defend all covered claims with defense
costs outside of policy limits.

Coverage of a broker’s use of lock boxes which may include a sublimit of not less
than $5,000 per claim for property damage or loss of use of property arising from
a lock box claim.
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K. Real estate brokers or broker applicants who obtain equivalent coverage and wish
to be on active status must present to the commission the certificate referred to in
16.61.5.10 NMAC:

(1) When renewing an active license, no later than at the time of renewal; or
(2) Upon any request for reinstatement or activation of a license; or
(3) Upon application for an active license.

L. An automatic 90-day extended reporting period with the ability of the broker, upon
payment of an additional premium, to obtain an optional extended reporting period
of one, two, or three years.

[16.61.5.10 NMAC - N, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2017]

16.61.5.11. Broker compliance

Applicants for licensure, transfer, and renewal shall certify compliance with
this rule by submitting along with the license, transfer, or renewal
application a copy of a certificate from their insurance company certifying
current coverage. The commission will not issue an active license to a
first time applicant who fails to provide proof of current coverage, and the
license of any active New Mexico broker who fails to provide a certificate
certifying current errors and omissions coverage will not be renewed or
transferred until such certificate is received in the commission office.
[16.61.5.11 NMAC - N, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006]

16.61.5.12. Insurance requirements suspended

The requirements of 16.61.5.8 NMAC shall be suspended if the commission
through a competitive bidding and contract award process is not able to
enter into a contract with a qualified insurance carrier to make available
to all applicants for or holders of active New Mexico real estate broker’s
licenses a group policy of insurance under the terms and conditions
described in Part 5.

[16.61.5.12 NMAC - N, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006]

16.61.5.13. Penalties for violation

Brokers who fail to obtain and maintain an errors and omissions insurance
policy as specified herein are guilty of violating NMSA 1978 Section 61-29-
4.2 of the Real Estate License Law and are subject to license suspension
and revocation as provided in Section 61-29-12 A (10).

[16.61.5.13 NMAC - N, 1-1-2006]




68

PART 6: DESIGNATION OF A QUALIFYING BROKER TO QUALIFY A REAL
ESTATE BROKERAGE

16.61.6.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[16.61.6.7 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.6.7 NMAC, 1-1-2012]

16.61.6.8. Requirements

A. A corporation, partnership, association, proprietorship, limited liability company,
or any other business entity engaged in real estate brokerage in New Mexico,
except as otherwise provided in 61-29-2 (C) NMSA 1978, must employ or enter
into an independent contractor agreement with a qualifying broker(s) to qualify
such entity to engage in real estate brokerage in the state.

Upon compliance with all requirements set out in the real estate license law and
the real estate commission rules for licensure as a New Mexico qualifying broker,
the commission shall issue a New Mexico qualifying broker’s license to the
applicant. Such license shall bear the name of the qualifying broker, the trade
name of the brokerage that the qualifying broker has qualified to conduct real
estate brokerage business and under which the brokerage will be conducting
business and the address as registered with the commission from which the
brokerage will be conducting business.

In the event a qualifying broker is unable for any reason to perform their
qualifying broker duties, a corporate officer, family member or other responsible
persons shall designate a broker in charge to conduct the brokerage business and
supervise brokers affiliated with the brokerage until such time as an individual
files a trade name registration form or additional license application form with the
Commission designating that individual as the qualifying broker.

[16.61.6.8 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.6.8 NMAC; A, 1-1-2017]

PART 7: FINGERPRINTING AND ARREST RECORD CHECKS

16.61.7.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC
[16.61.7.7 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.7.7 NMAC, 1-1-2012]

16.61.7.8. Requirements

A. All persons applying for or renewing a New Mexico real estate broker’s license or
upgrading an associate broker’s license to a qualifying broker’s license must be
fingerprinted as a condition of licensure or license renewal.

Applicant fingerprints and processing fees are submitted electronically to the New
Mexico department of public safety from approved live scan vendor sites for the
purpose of matching applicant fingerprints with fingerprints in state and national
arrest record databases. Applicants must register on the vendor web site prior to
being fingerprinted. The vendor web site address and a list of approved live scan
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sites are available on the real estate commission web site at
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/Real Estate Commission _Members and Meet

INgS.aspXx.

To verify compliance with the fingerprinting requirement, applicants for licensure
or license renewal shall submit to the commission along with their license or
renewal application a copy of the commission-approved fingerprint certification
form completed by the vendor. To ensure that the commission is receiving the
most current information available, fingerprinting shall be done no earlier than 21
days prior to submitting documents to apply for or renew a license.

[16.61.7.8 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.7.8 NMAC, 1-1-2012; A, 1-1-2017]

PART 8 LICENSE TRANSFER

16.61.8.7. Definitions

Refer to Definitions 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[1-1-2000; 16.61.8.7 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.8.7, 1-1-2002]

16.61.8.8. Requirements

An associate broker may request that their license be transferred to a new
qualifying broker. The transfer is effective on the date that the transfer
fee, transfer form, and the current license are received and stamped at the
commission office. When an associate broker request that their license be
transferred the qualifying broker or the broker in charge, shall within 48
hours return the license to the commission. If a license transfer form is not
accompanied by a certificate certifying that the associate broker or
qualifying broker has current errors and omissions insurance coverage, the
license will not be transferred until the certificate is received in the
commission office.

A. When a qualifying broker returns his or her own license to the
commission for transfer they shall within 48 hours either mail or
deliver to the commission all licenses issued under that license. If
the brokerage is to continue operation, an application from a new
qualifying broker, along with transfer forms and appropriate fees for
each license, shall also be included.

B. RESERVED

[8-15-97; 1-1-2000; 16.61.8.8 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.8.8, 1-1-2002; A,
1-1-2006; A 1-1-2012]

PART 9: LICENSE INACTIVATION AND REACTIVATION

16.61.9.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[8-15-97; 16.61.9.7 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.9.7, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2012]
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16.61.9.8. Requirements

A.

When a broker requests that their license be placed on inactive
status, the qualifying broker or broker in charge shall within 48
hours return the license to the commission. The license shall be
inactivated and all real estate activity on the part of the broker shall
cease.

When a qualifying broker returns their license to the commission
for inactivation, they shall within 48 hours either mail or deliver to the
commission all licenses issued under that license. If the brokerage
is to continue operation, an application for a new qualifying broker,
along with transfer applications and appropriate fees for each license,
shall also be included.

Inactivation of a license shall take place at the time a license is received
and stamped at the commission office. In the event that a license is
lost, or otherwise unavailable for delivery by the qualifying broker to
the commission office, inactivation of the license will take place at the
time the commission receives and stamps a written notification from
the qualifying broker that the associate broker is no longer affiliated
with the brokerage. The qualifying broker may pay a commission to
an associate broker whose license is on inactive status if the
transaction was under contract while the broker was on active status.
Payment of the commission is subject to the terms and conditions of the
independent contractor agreement between the associate broker and the
qualifying broker.

The voluntary inactivation of a license will not prevent the
commission from taking disciplinary action against that license as
provided in Section 61-29-1through 61-29-29, NMSA, 1978.

Brokers whose licenses are inactive are required to fulfill the
following requirements of licensure.

(1) The payment of triennial renewal fees.

(2) Documentation of having been fingerprinted for purposes of
matching with state and national arrest record databases.

(3) Completion of continuing education requirements.

(4) During the course of advertising personally owned property for
sale, lease, or auction, disclosure that they are a licensed broker.

Brokers whose licenses are on inactive status are not required to have
an errors and omissions insurance policy in effect while on inactive
status. Inactive brokers are required to produce a certificate of
current errors and omissions insurance as a condition of license
activation.

If a license has been placed in inactive status and is not renewed at the
time of next renewal, that license shall expire.
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[8-15-97; 16.61.9.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 61.9.8, 1-1-2002; A, 12-31-08;
A, 1-1-2012]

PART 10 [RESERVED]

PART 11: LICENSE EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL

16.61.11.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[1-1-2000; 16.61.11.7 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.11.7, 1-1-2002]

16.61.11.8. Requirements

Every real estate license expires every three years on the last day of the month
following the broker's birth month, unless it is renewed on or before that date. Renewal
of a license is the sole responsibility of each broker. A broker whose license has
expired may reinstate their license without reexamination up to one year after expiration
by paying a reinstatement fee three times the regular license renewal fee. In addition to
paying a reinstatement fee, the broker will be required as a condition of reinstatement to
provide documentation of the completion of 36 hours of commission-approved
continuing education courses. Application for renewal shall be on the renewal form
prescribed by the commission. The commission shall email to the licensee email
address in the commission data base, all necessary web links and any
additional forms for on-line renewal. Brokers are responsible for providing
the commission with a current email address and for notifying the
commission within 10 days of a change.

The qualifying broker may pay a commission to a broker whose license is expired or to
the estate of a deceased broker if the transaction was under contract while the broker’s
license was current.

[8-15-97; A, 1-1-2000; 16.61.11.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 61.11.8, 1-1-2002; A,
01-01-2004; A, 1-1-2006; A, 12-31-2008; A, 1-1-2012; A, 1-1-2017]

PART 12: LICENSE SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION

16.61.12.7. Definitions

Refer to Definitions 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[16.61.12.7 NMAC - Rp, 16 NMAC 61.12.7, 1-1-2002]

16.61.12.8. Disciplinaryactions

Violation of any provision of the real estate license law or commission rules
may be cause for disciplinary action against any person who engages in
the business or acts in the capacity of a real estate broker in New Mexico
with or without a New Mexico real estate license, up to and including
license suspension or revocation if the person is licensed in New Mexico,
and other penalties as provided by law, commission rules, or policies, in
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the case of an unlicensed person. A person found by the commission to
be engaging in unlicensed real estate activity has thereby submitted to the
jurisdiction of the state and to the administrative jurisdiction of the
commission and is subject to all penalties and remedies available for a
violation of any provision of the real estate license law Chapter 61, Article
29 NMSA 1978 and the commission rules, Title 16 Chapter 61 NMAC.
Nothing herein contained shall be deemed to be a restriction on any other
penalty or provision provided by law.

[16.61.12.8 NMAC-Rp, 16 NMAC 61.12.8, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006; A, 12-31-
2008]

16.61.12.9. License surrender

A. Any qualifying broker’s or associate broker’s license suspended or
revoked by an order, stipulated agreement or settlement agreement
approved by the commission shall be surrendered to the commission by
the broker upon the delivery of the order to the broker by the
commission, or on the effective date of the order.

All real-estate-related activity conducted under such license shall
cease for the duration of the license suspension or revocation, and the
license of any associate broker affiliated with a qualifying broker whose
license is suspended or revoked shall be automatically placed on
inactive status until a new qualifying broker or broker in charge is
designated.

[16.61.12.9 NMAC - Rp, 16 NMAC 61.12.9, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006; A, 1-1-
2014]

PART 13: CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
NMREC Web link to Continuing Education Tab

16.61.13.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[1-1-2000; 16.61.13.7 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.13.7, 1-1-2002]

16.61.13.8. Requirements

Except for brokers who are exempt from continuing education by virtue
of having attained 65 years of age and a minimum of 20 years of
continuous licensure prior to July 1, 2011;

A. All active and inactive associate brokers and qualifying brokers shall
successfully complete a minimum of 36 credit hours of continuing
education in courses approved by the commission during each licensing
cycle.

Required courses include the four hour New Mexico real estate
commission (NMREC) core course to be completed annually; a four
hour commission-approved core elective course to be completed once
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during each three year licensing; and four hours of commission-
approved ethics courses to be completed during each three year
licensing cycle.

Of the remaining 16 credit hours, no more than 10 credit hours may be
earned toward the continuing education requirement from commission-
approved training category courses. All 16 remaining credit hours may
be earned toward the continuing education requirement from
commission-approved education category courses.

The NMREC core course requirements shall apply to those associate
brokers and qualifying brokers who have not completed the eight hour
mandatory course in their current licensing cycle by December 31,
2016. If a broker has so completed the eight hour mandatory course,
the NMREC core course requirement will not apply until their next
licensing cycle. Brokers who have completed the eight hour mandatory
course in their current licensing cycle and who wish to take the
NMREC core course will receive four additional hours of education
category credit in their current licensing cycle.

The NMREC core course will have a unique course name and course
number each year, including the year in which it was presented. The
commission shall ensure that the content is unique for each year’s
course to ensure that brokers are not receiving identical information in
more than one course.

Commission-approved pre-licensing courses may count for up to 10
credit hours toward continuing education credit for license renewal.
The commission approved 30 hour post-licensing course may also
count for up to 10 education category credit hours toward continuing
education.

No commission-approved continuing education course in either the
education or the training category will be granted more than 10 credit
hours of continuing education credit.

Continuing education credit hours cannot be carried forward to the next
licensing cycle.

The same continuing education course cannot be repeated for credit in a
three-year renewal cycle.

Brokers may receive up to a maximum of four approved education
course credit hours during each licensing cycle for attending
commission meetings, rule hearings, disciplinary hearings, or meetings
of the education advisory committee (EAC).

Approved instructors may use up to 10 credit hours during each three-
year licensing cycle toward fulfillment of their own continuing
education requirements for teaching commission approved courses.
Teaching documentation must be provided by the course sponsor.
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L. Classes required by the commission for disciplinary reasons cannot be
counted towards the continuing education requirements for license
renewal.

[1-1-2000; 16.61.13.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 61.13.8, 1-1-2002; A,
1-1-2006; A, 1-1-2007; A, 12-31-2008; A, 1-1-2012; A, 1-1-2017]

16.61.13.9. Verification of completion of course work

At the time of license renewal, associate brokers and qualifying brokers shall
submit to the real estate commission verification of completion of
continuing education course work.

[1-1-2000; 16.61.13.9 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.13.9, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006;
A, 12-31-2008; A, 1-1-2012]

PART 14: EDUCATION AND TRAINING FUND

16.61.14.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[16.61.14.7 NMAC - N, 01/01/07]

16.61.14.8. Providers

The New Mexico real estate commission may enter into contracts with public
or private institutions or individuals to establish, continue, or expand
educational programs or research programs which will benefit real estate
brokers and the public in its potential dealings with real estate brokers.
Priority will be given to those programs that enhance educational
opportunities for New Mexico-licensed real estate associate brokers and
qualifying brokers, and further the real estate commission’s mission of
protecting the public and increasing the professional competence of real
estate brokers.

[16.61.14.8 NMAC - N, 01/01/07]

16.61.14.9. Amounts and terms of contracts for
education or research

The amount to be paid and the duration of any contract shall be as provided
for in each contract. Any amendment to a contract to increase the payment
or extend the time of performance shall be at the discretion of the commission.
No provision of any contract shall be construed as obligating the
commission to make any payment beyond the fiscal year in which the
commission enters into the contract, unless otherwise provided for in the
contract.

[16.61.14.9 NMAC - N, 01/01/07]




16.61.14.10. Proposals

Proposals to enter into contracts for education or research with the
commission will be required to contain the following:

A. A statement of the educational objective of the proposed program
or research;

A statement of how the program will benefit associate brokers or
qualifying brokers or the public who may deal with them;

If applicable, a detailed course outline, the number of educational
hours in the program, length of course, schedule of instruction,
location, and anticipated number of participants;

If applicable, the purpose, scope, length, and place of research work;

A detailed cost analysis of the entire course or project including, but
not limited to such items as source(s) of other funding for the
program, cost of advertising, administration, instructors, materials,
and physical facilities, and fees proposed to be charged to participants;

If applicable, a list of instructors who may be used and their
credentials;

Any academic, real estate, or other professional credit proposed to
be awarded, subject to the approval of the commission;

Such other information as the commission may require at the time
of submission of the proposal or after reviewing the proposal.

[16.61.14.10 NMAC - N, 01/01/07]

16.61.14.11. Commission action on proposals

A. The commission shall act on all proposals within sixty (60) days of receipt
of a written original or amended proposal and shall notify the
applicant in writing of:

(1) The terms of acceptance of the proposal;

(2) The reason or reasons for rejection of the proposal;

(3) Any further information needed to accept or reject the
proposal;

B. Decisions of acceptance and rejection by the commission shall be final.

[16.61.14.11 NMAC - N, 01/01/07]

16.61.14.12. Reports

Within thirty (30) days of the end of the term of the contract, or at such other
time as the commission may require, the provider under contract shall
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provide to the commission a report of the expenditure of funds under the
contract, and a written report explaining how the program benefited New
Mexico real estate brokers and consumers.

Whenever a contract for education or research requires that the
provider conduct courses, seminars, or other educational venues, the
provider shall issue to each participant who successfully completes the
program a certificate of course completion that includes the participant’s
name, the course name, the number of approved credit hours, and whether
the course is in the education or training category of approved commission
courses.

Within fourteen (14) days of the end of the program, the provider shall send
to the commission a list of all real estate brokers who successfully
completed the program. The commission may direct its employees or
representatives to monitor any contracted program at any time and the
providers shall be required to supply to such representatives requested
reasonable data upon reasonable notice. [16.61.14.12 NMAC - N, 01/01/07]

16.61.14.13. Use of commission name

Any advertising of a program or project funded by the education and training
fund must indicate that the New Mexico real estate commission underwrites a
portion or all of the cost of the program. Any publication or any other
educational materials produced as a result of a contract must include
indication that the New Mexico real estate commission underwrites a portion
or all of the cost of producing the material.

All participants in any program underwritten totally or in part by the New
Mexico real estate commission must be clearly and affirmatively made aware
of the participation of the New Mexico real estate commission and how they
may forward comments on the program to the commission. No other use
of the name of the commission shall be permitted without the
commission’s prior approval.

[16.61.14.13 NMAC - N, 01/01/07]

16.61.14.14. Product of service — copyright

All materials developed or acquired by a Contractor providing educational
and research services funded in whole or in part by the Education and
Training Fund shall become the property of the New Mexico real estate
commission and shall be delivered to the Commission no later than the
termination date of the contract. Nothing produced, in whole or in part, by
the Contractor shall be the subject of an application for copyright other claim
of ownership by or on behalf of the Contractor. [16.61.14.14 NMAC - N,
01/01/07]

16.61.14.15. Changes

No substantive changes, including schedule of programs, may be made in a
program under a contract for education and research without the prior
approval of the commission. The commission at a regularly scheduled
meeting may make emergency changes on a temporary basis with the prior
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approval of the administrator of the commission subject to review and final
approval. All requests for changes and authorizations of changes must be
made in writing before they may be implemented.

[16.61.14.15 NMAC - N, 01/01/07]

16.61.14.16. Participants

Any courses offered to New Mexico licensed associate brokers and qualifying
brokers which the commission has underwritten in part or in total must
be made available to all persons regardless of race, color, religion, sex,
handicap, familial status, national origin, age, or membership in any
organization. [16.61.14.16 NMAC - N, 01/01/07]

16.61.14.17. Expenditures

Any funds not expended in the implementation of a contract for education or
research shall revert to the Education and Training Fund. [16.61.14.17
NMAC - N, 01/01/07; A, 12-31-2008]

16.61.14.18. Revenues

The Real Estate Education and Training Fund shall consist of an initial
transfer of the balance in the Real Estate Recovery Fund in excess of
the $150,000 statutory minimum balance; legislative appropriations to the
fund; fees charged by the commission for approval of real estate education
sponsors, courses, and instructors; gifts, grants, donations, and bequests to
the fund; and income from investment of the fund. Money in the fund shall
not revert to any other fund at the end of a fiscal year. [16.61.14.18 NMAC -
N, 01/01/07; A, 1-1-2014]

16.61.14.19. Violations

Any violation of the provisions of this part, any falsification or
misrepresentation in a proposal for a contract for education and research,
or violation of any written agreement entered into with the commission
under this part may result in a termination of the contract and the
requirement that all funds paid by the commission be returned. Any
provider under a contract for education and research found to have not
properly accounted for or improperly expended all funds shall repay said
funds plus interest at 6 percent per annum to the commission and said
recipient shall be ineligible to enter into any contract for education and
research with the commission until said recipient first repays the fund plus
interest. Should the commission allege any violation under this rule, it shall
provide the respondent with a formal hearing under the provisions of the
Uniform Licensing Act. [16.61.14.19 NMAC - N, 01/01/07; A, 12-31-2008]
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PART 15: APPROVAL OF REAL ESTATE COURSES, SPONSORS, AND
INSTRUCTORS

16.61.15.7. Definitions.

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[16.61.15.7 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.15.7 NMAC, 1-1-2012]

16.61.15.8. Education Advisory Committee

The commission shall appoint an education advisory committee (EAC), hereinafter
referred to as the committee , with the goal of upgrading and improving the real estate
education program in order to carry out the commission’s mission of protecting the
public and increasing the professional competence of real estate brokers. The
committee shall advise the commission on all matters related to broker education.

A. The committee shall meet monthly or as required for the purpose of evaluating
applications for real estate course sponsors, courses, and instructors and shall make
recommendations to the commission as to its findings.

(1) The committee shall use specific criteria to evaluate a course, an
instructor or course sponsor for approval. These specific criteria shall
consider both the instructor’s depth of knowledge of the subject and the
instructor’s ability to convey that knowledge.

(2) The committee shall clearly state in writing to the applicant the reasons
for which a course, an instructor or course sponsor are not approved.

(3) A sponsor or instructor applicant not recommended for approval by the
committee may ask the commission to review the committee’s unfavorable
recommendation.

The committee shall consist of up to nine voting members and not fewer than three
non-voting instructor/advisory members. The committee chair and vice chair shall
be elected by the committee from among the voting members. Upon the effective
date of this rule, approximately half of the members shall be appointed to two-year
terms and half to three-year terms. Thereafter, all members shall be appointed to
three-year terms.

Members shall serve a maximum of two consecutive terms, but may reapply for
membership one year after the expiration of their second term. The commission
shall appoint members to fill vacancies until the end of the term of the vacant
position.

[16.61.15.8 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.15.8 NMAC; A, 1-1-2017]

16.61.15.9 Approval of Education Programs

A. Courses offered for New Mexico real estate commission approved credit must be
offered by sponsors approved by the New Mexico real estate commission.
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B. Applications for sponsor, instructor and course approvals shall be accompanied by
the fee(s) specified in 16.61.2.8 NMAC of the commission rules.

(1) An approved education category course shall consist of a course offered
by a commission approved sponsor in real estate law and practice; real estate
financing including mortgages and other financing techniques; material
specific to the regulatory, and ethical practice of real estate; and real estate
related local, state and federal laws including but not limited to fair housing,
the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), and lead-based paint disclosure.

(2) Approved training category courses include personal and property
protection for the broker and clients; using the computer, the internet,
business calculators and other technologies to enhance the broker’s service to
the public; concerning professional development, customer relations skills,
sales promotion including salesmanship, negotiation, marketing technigues,
servicing the client, or similar courses.

(3) With the exception of courses taken in states with which New Mexico
has a written license recognition agreement, non-acceptable continuing
education classes shall include courses taken in fulfillment of another state’s
continuing education requirements. Other non-acceptable courses include
mechanical office and business skills such as typing; speed reading; memory
improvement; language report writing; offerings concerning physical well-
being or personal development such as personal motivation; stress
management; time management; dress-for-success; or similar courses.

C. The committee shall review instructor candidates:
(1) To determine the candidate’s knowledge of the subject matter;

(2) To determine the candidate’s ability to communicate his/her knowledge
to students;

(3) To determine if the candidate uses appropriate teaching delivery skills;

(4) To determine if the candidate is honest, truthful, reputable, and
competent.

[16.61.15.9 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.15.9 NMAC, 1-1-2012; A, 1-1-2017]

16.61.15.10. Approval of sponsors and sponsor
responsibilities

A. All sponsors wishing to offer commission-approved courses for credit
must be approved by the commission before the course being offered for credit.

B. Educational institutions, proprietary schools, professional organizations
or businesses wishing to become commission approved sponsors must submit a
completed sponsor application form with supporting documentation as required
by the commission.

C. The commission will maintain a list of approved sponsors.
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D. An approved sponsor shall comply with the following requirements:

(1) Conduct all courses in accordance with commission rules and
education policies, and in accordance with approved course
content;

(2) Permit all New Mexico real estate brokers to attend all classes
offered by the sponsor for which continuing education credit is
awarded;

(3) Document electronically to the real estate commission that the
student hascompleted the course;

(a) certify no candidate as successfully completing the broker
basics or brokerage office administration course unless the
student has attended at least 90% of the classroom instruction
and has passed a written examination at the conclusion of the
course;

(b) Certify no broker as successfully completing a commission
approved course unless the broker has attended 50 minutes of
each hour, or successfully completed a distance education course
approved by the New Mexico real estate commission. In the
case of a course that is offered in both live and distance
education formats, the sponsor shall have discretion as to
completion and certification;

(4) Maintain current, complete, and accurate student records;
these records shall include, but not be limited to, a record of
payments made, a record of attendance, and a record of course
work completed; records shall be maintained for a period of
three years;

(5) Permit the commission or its representative access to classes
being conducted, and make available to the commission, upon
request, all information pertaining to the activities of the sponsor;

(6) Advertise at all times in a manner free from
misrepresentation, deception or fraud; all course advertising must
include the name of the commission-approved sponsor, and must
specify whether the course is in the education or training
category;

(7) In the event a sponsor determines that it intends to cease
sponsoring real estate classes it shall inform the commission in
writing not less than 30 days before cessation;

(8) Advise the commission within 30 days of changes in
ownership, directorship, financial status, location or other
pertinent information, and reapply for sponsorship in the event of
change of majority ownership;
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(9) At the end of each course, the sponsor shall collect from each
student an evaluation that evaluates adherence to course content,
the effectiveness of the instructor, and other prescribed criteria;
the evaluation forms shall be maintained by the sponsor for
not less than one year and shall be made available to the
commission upon request;

(10) Renew sponsorship approval every three years by
submitting a sponsor renewal form and renewal fee to the
commission;

(11) Shall meet the requirements of the Americans with
Disabilities Act and all other local, state and federal laws.

E. Failure to comply with this rule may result in the loss of sponsor approval.
The commission may investigate any claim of violation of this rule pursuant
to 16.61.36.8 NMAC of the commission rules.

[16.61.15.10 NMAC - Rp, 16.61-15.10 NMAC, 1-1-2012]

16.61.15.11. Approval of courses

A. Any pre-licensing or continuing education course must have been approved by the
commission before the course being offered for credit. Courses must incorporate
New Mexico law and regulations when relevant. A course application form must
be completed and submitted to the commission before consideration of a course for
approval by the committee.

(1) Before course approval, the instructor teaching the course shall make a
presentation before the committee according to presentation criteria
established by the committee.

(2) The committee shall assign the number of credit hours to each course and
determine whether the course is in the education or training category.

(3) Commission approved pre-licensing courses may count for up to ten
credit hours toward continuing education requirements for license renewal.

The committee may waive a course presentation appearance by a nationally
recognized professional real estate organization that provides professional
designations if the organization can document to the committee’s satisfaction that
the course instructor received training in the course subject matter in addition to
attending a train the trainer class.

The commission must approve any continuing education course offered for one-
time credit before the course being offered.

(1) A commission approved application form for one-time credit approval
must be completed and submitted to the committee before consideration of
the course for credit.

(2) Approved sponsors are limited to four course submittals for one-time
credit during each calendar year.
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(3) The sponsor, or its representative, requesting one-time course credit, shall
make a presentation before the committee according to presentation criteria
established by the committee.

The course shall conform to the generally accepted principles of education as
prescribed by the real estate educators association (REEA) and shall comply with
commission approved course content requirements. The minimum length of a
course shall be one hour.

The commission will maintain a list of courses that have been approved for credit.

If the course represents an update to a previously approved course, and new
material becomes available, the instructor shall be responsible for updating the
course and presenting the most current information. Significant changes to course
outlines should be provided by the instructor to the commission’s education
administrator as they occur. If a course outline has not been updated within the last
three years the committee may, at its discretion, recommend to the commission that
the course be removed from the list of approved courses.

Distance education: For purposes of this part, distance learning is education and
training that takes place outside of the traditional classroom setting and in which
non-traditional instructional media are used because the teacher and student are
separated by distance or time. Distance education sponsors seeking continuing
education credit for their courses will be required to designate a New Mexico
approved instructor to make a presentation to the committee and shall submit for
committee review and approval:

(1) Course syllabus which clearly states the course objectives and the
specific learning objectives for desired student competencies;

(2) Instructions for accessing, using and testing the online materials for
committee auditing purposes including everything necessary for evaluating
course content materials, duration, accuracy and timeliness;

(3) Reference materials appropriate to the course;

(4) When a series of courses is offered in a curriculum, evidence of
sequential development and logical progression;

(5) Description of the method, such as examination and quizzes, by which
student progress and mastery of the subject matter are measured, and for
determining what is required for a student to successfully complete the
course;

(6) Description of the method by which student identity is verified, such as
user name and password;

(7) The names, telephone numbers and email addresses of individuals, web-
sites or other resources that students can contact for technical assistance;
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(8) The name and contact information of the New Mexico instructor
approved to teach the course who will be available to answer subject matter
questions during regularly posted hours;

(9) A description of the methodology used by the sponsor in determining the
classroom hour equivalency of each distance education course.

[16.61.15.11 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.15.11 NMAC, 1-1-2012; A, 1-1-2017]

16.61.15.12. Approval of instructors

A. Commission approved course instructors. Instructors must be approved by the
commission before teaching courses. The following requirements apply to all
commission approved course instructors.

(1) Be honest, truthful, reputable and competent.

(2) Submit a commission-approved application before presenting the course
to the committee.

(3) Complete a commission approved instructor training course within one
year of being initially approved as an instructor and every three years
thereafter. Instructors who fail to submit documentation of completion of the
instructor-training course will not be re-certified.

(4) Provide copies of student handouts during their course presentation.

(5) Make a minimum 15 minute presentation to the committee exhibiting
their teaching skills and knowledge of the subject matter, and be prepared to
answer questions. Presentations must conform to the generally accepted
principles of education (GAPE) as established by the real estate educators’
association (REEA).

B. Pre-licensing course instructors. Pre-licensing courses include: real estate law, real
estate principles and practices, broker basics and brokerage office administration.
In addition to Subsection A. above, these instructor candidates must:

(1) Pass the New Mexico broker’s examination with a minimum score of 84
within the previous three years from the date of application;

(2) Audit the course they wish to teach before being approved as an
instructor for that course; documentation of having audited the course must
be submitted with the candidate’s application;

(3) Broker basics: be approved to teach real estate law and real estate
principles and practice;

(4) Brokerage office administration: be approved to teach real estate law and
real estate principles and practice and broker basics; in addition, candidates
must also have two years’ experience as a qualifying broker in New Mexico
or another licensing jurisdiction.
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Core course instructors. In addition to Subsection A. above, core course instructor
candidates must:

(1) Complete a core course training and be approved by the committee; and

(2) Ensure the NMREC core course materials they present include the most
recent updates provided by the New Mexico real estate commission.

Qualifying broker refresher course instructors. In addition to Subsection A. above,
qualifying broker refresher course instructor candidates must comply with one of
the following:

(1) Be a currently approved instructor for real estate law and real estate
principles and practice and broker basics and be a qualifying broker or would
qualify to be one; or

(2) Be approved to teach the core or mandatory course, and be a qualifying
broker.

E. New broker business practices post-licensing course instructors. In addition to
Subsection A. above, new broker business practices course instructors must:

(1) Have two years’ experience as an active qualifying broker with
supervisory responsibilities or two years actively licensed as an associate
broker and served in the capacity as a trainer for the brokerage, or two years
actively licensed as an associate broker and be approved as a continuing
education instructor;

(2) Attend, when offered, a commission approved train-the-trainer on how to
instruct the post-licensing course and attend, when offered, a periodic update
of the course offered by the commission or the commission contractor; and

(3) Make a minimum 60 minute presentation to the committee and answer
questions.

Committee approval process. The committee will make its recommendation to the
commission to grant or deny instructor approval. If the application is denied, a
written evaluation to the candidate will provide specific reasons for denial and
recommendations for improvement. An instructor candidate not recommended for
approval by the committee may ask the commission to review the committee’s
unfavorable recommendation.

Post-approval requirements. After approval all instructors must comply with the
following:
(1) Pay applicable fee(s);

(2) Conduct all classes in accordance with commission rules and educational
policies;

(3) Ensure all instruction is free from all misrepresentation, solicitations of
products and recruitment;

(4) Conform to commission-approved course content requirements; and
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(5) Allow access to any class to any duly appointed representative of the
commission.

H. Instructor approval expiration and re-certification.

(1) Expiration. Instructor approvals expire on the same three-year cycle as
the instructor’s broker’s license. If an instructor is not a real estate broker,
then the expiration will be three years from the date of initial approval.

(2) Re-certification. Instructors seeking re-certification shall:
(a) Submit the commission-approved form;

(b) Submit documentation of having completed a commission-approved
instructor training course;

(c) An instructor who has not taught a course in the preceding three year
instructor renewal cycle will not be recertified to teach that course; an
instructor may submit at the time of renewal, a written request to the
committee to be re-certified to teach that course; the written request must
specify how the instructor has remained current on the course material,
and must include the course outline and course material.

I. Failure to comply with this part may result in the loss of instructor approval. The
commission may investigate any claim of instructor impropriety pursuant to 16.61.36.8
NMAC of the commission rules.

[16.61.15.12 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.15.12 NMAC, A 1-1-2017]

PART 16: QUALIFYING BROKER: AFFILIATION AND RESPONSIBILITIES

16.61.16.7. Definitions.

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[16.61.16.7 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.16.7 NMAC, 1-1-2012]

16.61.16.8. Affiliation

A qualifying broker is responsible for all real estate activities within the
brokerage. A qualifying broker may serve concurrently as a qualifying
broker for more than one brokerage. A qualifying broker may by written
agreement engage the services of associate brokers and qualifying brokers,
provided that the terms of such agreements are consistent with the
responsibilities of associate brokers and qualifying brokers as set forth in
parts 16.61.16.9 NMAC and 16.61.17.9 NMAC. A qualifying broker may
serve as qualifying broker and associate broker for different brokerages
simultaneously provided that there are written agreements executed
specifying the responsibilities and scope of authority that the broker has
for each brokerage.

[16.61.16.8 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.16.8 NMAC, 1-1-2012]




16.61.16.9. Responsibilities

A qualifying broker shall, in addition to all other requirements imposed by law, comply
with the following:

A.

F.

Conduct the real estate brokerage business under the trade name and from the
brokerage address or addresses registered with the commission;

Prominently display in the brokerage office, the qualifying broker's own license and
the licenses of all other affiliated associate brokers conducting real estate brokerage
business from the brokerage office; in the event of a virtual office, this requirement
is met by displaying a legible photo or scanned image of the licenses on the
brokerage’s web site through a link labeled “real estate licenses”.

Have in the brokerage office and available to all affiliated associate brokers and
qualifying brokers a current copy of the state of the New Mexico real estate license
law and rules manual;

Notify the commission in writing within ten days of a change of the brokerage
office address or telephone number;

Supervise all real estate related activities performed by all personnel, licensed or
unlicensed, on behalf of others; as follows:

(1) Review and maintain all records and documents required for real estate
related matters processed by all personnel supervised by the qualifying
broker

(2) Provide or promote appropriate training of all brokers and staff affiliated
with the qualifying broker for compliance with the Real Estate License Law
and Commission Rules.

(3) Supervise advertising of real estate or real estate services conducted on
behalf of others by anyone affiliated with the qualifying broker.

(4) Execute and maintain current written employment agreements or
independent contractor agreements with associate brokers affiliated with the
qualifying broker.

All records and documents wherein the qualifying broker and affiliated associate
brokers are engaged on behalf of others, or on their own behalf, in real estate related
matters; the required records shall be available to the Commission or any duly
authorized Commission representative at the place of business of the qualifying
broker or at the Commission office. All such records whether in paper or electronic
format shall be retained for a period of not less than six years. In the case of a
property manager, all records shall be retained for the full term of any agreement
and for six years from the termination of the management agreement.
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Supervision of trust account management by brokerage owners whether or not the
brokerage owners are licensed real estate brokers. Such trust account management
will conform to other trust account requirements in the commission rules.

Deposit all money received on behalf of others in the proper trust account as soon
after receipt as is practicably possible after securing signatures of all parties to the
transaction documents;

Receive and disburse all commissions, referral fees, and other considerations to any
broker affiliated with the qualifying broker, or broker who had been affiliated with
the qualifying broker at the time the transaction went under contract; the qualifying
broker may also disburse or authorize the disbursement of such commissions and
fees to any entity entitled by law to receive same, including the estate of a deceased
broker, the deceased broker’s surviving spouse, or any legally recognized entity
wholly owned by an associate broker and their spouse. Such partnership,
corporation, or Limited Liability Company shall not be required to have a
qualifying broker for purposes of this subpart;

Assure that when the brokerage cooperates with or makes a referral to, or receives a
referral from any broker, there be a transaction specific written co-brokerage or
referral agreement signed by the qualifying broker;

Designate a broker in charge in the event actual supervision by the qualifying
broker is not possible, and inform the commission of such designation in writing.
During this period of time, the broker in charge shall assume all of the
responsibilities of the qualifying broker for the brokerage;

Return the associate broker's license to the commission within 48 hours of
termination or discharge;

. Ensure that each qualifying broker and associate broker affiliated with the
brokerage obtain and maintain a current errors and omissions insurance policy as
provided in Section 61-29-4.2 NMSA 1978 of the Real Estate License Law and
16.61.5 NMAC of the commission rules;

Successfully complete as a condition of license renewal or as a condition of
reinstatement of qualifying broker status the commission-approved qualifying
broker refresher course;

Ensure that associate brokers affiliated with their brokerage complete the
commission-approved new broker business practices course or the CCIM 101
course within their first year of licensure.

Ensure that the qualifying broker’s name and contact information, including license
number, is clearly and conspicuously displayed on any written document generated
by the brokerage or presented to a prospective customer or client, and that has the
potential to become an express written agreement.

[16.61.16.9 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.16.9 NMAC, 1-1-2012; A, 1-1-2017]
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PART 17: ASSOCIATE BROKER: AFFILIATION AND RESPONSIBILITIES

16.61.17.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[1-1-2000; 16.61.17.7 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.17.7, 1-1-2002]

16.61.17.8. Affiliation

An associate broker must be affiliated with a qualifying broker in order to
engage in real estate brokerage business. An associate broker may have
only one associate broker’s license and be affiliated with only one qualifying
broker at a time. [1-1-2000; 16.61.17.8 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.17.8, 1-1-
2002; A, 1-1-2006; A, 1-1-2012]

16.61.17.9. Responsibilities

An active associate broker shall:

A. Complete within their first year of licensure, the commission-approved new broker
business practices course or the CCIM 101 course. Associate brokers who have
been on inactive status since their initial licensure shall complete the new broker
business practices course or the CCIM 101 course prior to activation of their
license;

Be affiliated with only one qualifying broker at a time;

Not engage in any real estate activity for any other qualifying broker other than the
qualifying broker with whom the broker is affiliated;

Not engage in any real estate activities for others for which a real estate license is
required outside the knowledge and supervision of their qualifying broker;

Not engage in any real estate activities on their own behalf outside the knowledge
of the qualifying broker with whom the broker is affiliated;

Not engage in any real estate activity under a trade name(s) other than the trade
name(s) of the qualifying broker with whom the broker is affiliated,;

Not receive any commissions or fees for real estate activities from anyone other
than the qualifying broker with whom the broker was affiliated with at the time the
transaction went under contract, or persons authorized in writing by the qualifying
broker to disburse such commissions or fees;

When advertising real estate or real estate services for others, include in the
advertising the trade name and telephone number as registered with the
commission of the qualifying broker with whom the broker is affiliated,;

Remit all funds received from others related to real estate transactions to the
qualifying broker or their designee as soon as possible after receipt of those funds,
and after securing signatures of all parties to the transaction;
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Deliver in a timely manner to their qualifying broker all records required to be
maintained by their qualifying broker under 16.61.16 NMAC; and

Maintain a current errors and omissions insurance policy as provided in Section 61-
29-4.2 NMSA 1978 of the Real Estate License Law and 16.61.5.8 NMAC of the
commission rules, and provide documentation of such policy to their qualifying
broker.

[1-1-2000, A, 2-14-2000; 16.61.17.9 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.17.9, 1-1-2002; A, 1-
1-2006; A, 12-31-2008; A, 1-1-2012; A, 1-1-2014; A, 1-1-2017]

PART 18: SALESPERSONS: AFFILIATION AND RESPONSIBILITIES
[REPEALED 01-01-06]

PART 19: BROKER DUTIES AND BROKERAGE RELATIONSHIPS

16.61.19.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[16.61.19.7 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.19.7 NMAC, 1-1-2004]

16.61.19.8. Broker duties; disclosure

Brokers owe specific broker duties to prospective buyers, sellers, landlords (owners),
tenants as set forth in this Part 16.61.19.8. Brokers shall disclose the applicable set of
broker duties owed to buyers, sellers, landlords (owners) of rental property and tenants
as set forth in this Part 16.61.19.8 prior to the time the broker generates or presents any
written document to that party that has the potential to become an express written
agreement and obtain from that applicable party written acknowledgement that the
broker has made such disclosures. In the case of prospective buyers, sellers, landlord
(owners) and tenants to whom the broker is not directly providing real estate services,
such disclosure and acknowledgment of receipt shall be made through the broker who is
directly providing real estate services to that buyer, seller, landlord (owner) or tenant.

. Brokers owe the following duties to prospective buyers, sellers, landlords (owners) and
tenants:
(1) Honesty and reasonable care and ethical and professional conduct;

(2) Compliance with local, state, and federal fair housing and anti-
discrimination laws, the New Mexico real estate license law and the Real
Estate Commission rules, the New Mexico Uniform Owner Resident
Relations Act, and other applicable local, state, and federal laws and
regulations;

(3) Performance of any and all written agreements made with the prospective
buyer, seller, landlord (owner) or tenant;

(4) Written disclosure of any potential conflict of interest that the broker has
in the transaction including but not limited to:
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(a) Any written brokerage relationship the broker has with any other
parties to the transaction or;

(b) Any material interest or relationship of a business, personal, or
family nature that the broker has in the transaction;

(5) Written disclosure of any adverse material facts actually known by the
associate broker or qualifying broker about the property or the transaction, or
about the financial ability of the parties to the transaction to complete the
transaction; adverse material facts requiring disclosure do not include any
information covered by federal fair housing laws or the New Mexico Human
Rights Act.

B. In addition to the broker duties owed to prospective buyers, sellers, landlords (owners)
and tenants as set forth in this Section 16.61.19.8(A), Brokers owe the following
Broker Duties to the buyers, sellers, landlord (owners) and tenants to whom the broker
is directly providing real estate services, regardless of the scope and nature of those
services; Brokers working as Property Managers for a landlord (owner) are directly
providing real estate services to the landlord (owner), not to the tenant:

(1) Assistance to the party in completing the transaction, unless otherwise
agreed to in writing by the party to whom the broker is directly providing
real estate services, including:

(a) Timely presentation of and response to all offers or counter-offers;
and

(b) Active participation in assisting in complying with the terms and
conditions of the contract and with the finalization of the
transaction;

If the broker in the transaction is not providing the service, advice or
assistance described in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Subsection B of
16.61.19.8 NMAC, the party must agree in writing that the broker is not
expected to provide such service, advice or assistance;

(2) Acknowledgement by the broker that there may be matters related to the
transaction that are outside the broker's knowledge or expertise and that the
broker will suggest that the party seek expert advice on these matters;

(3) Advice to consult with an attorney regarding the effectiveness, validity or
consequences of any written document generated by the brokerage or
presented to the party and that has the potential to become an express written
agreement.

(4) Prompt accounting for all money or property received by the broker;

(5) Maintenance of any confidential information learned in the course of any
prior agency relationship unless the disclosure is with the former principal’s
written consent or is required by law;

(6) Written disclosure of brokerage relationship options available in New
Mexico;
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(7) Unless otherwise authorized in writing, a broker who is directly
providing real estate services to a seller/owner shall not disclose the
following to the buyer/tenant in a transaction:

(c) That the seller/owner has previously indicated they will accept a
sales/lease price less than the asking or listed price of a property;

That the seller/owner will agree to financing terms other than those
offered;

(e) The seller/owner’s motivations for selling/leasing; or

(f) Any other information the seller/owner has requested in writing
remain confidential, unless disclosure is required by law;

(8) Unless otherwise authorized in writing, a broker who is directly
providing real estate services to a buyer/tenant shall not disclose the
following to the seller/owner in the transaction:

(a) That the buyer/tenant has previously indicated they will pay a price
greater than the price submitted in a written offer;

(b) The buyer/tenant’s motivation for buying/leasing; or

(c) Any other information the buyer has requested in writing remain
confidential, unless disclosure is required by law.

(9) In the event the broker is working for the landlord (owner) as a
residential property manager, the broker additionally owes to the landlord
(owner) all duties owed under the law of agency.

c. In addition to the broker duties owed to prospective buyers, sellers, landlords (owners)
and tenants as set forth in this Section 16.61.19.8(A), Brokers working as Property
Managers for a landlord (owner) owe the following duties to tenants:

(1) Prompt accounting for all money or property received by the broker from
the tenant, including issuance of a receipt for cash received,;

(2) If a residential property manager, written disclosure that the broker is the
agent of the owner of the property and not of the tenant; in the commercial
property management context, written disclosure of the broker’s relationship
with the landlord (owner).

D. Broker Obligations to Other Brokers. Brokers owe the following professional
obligations to other brokers; however, brokers are not required to provide to one
another a list of these broker obligations.

(1) Honesty, reasonable care, and ethical and professional conduct;

(2) Timely presentation of offers or counter-offers and responses thereto,
unless otherwise agreed to in writing by the party to whom the broker is
directly providing real estate services;




92

(3) Active participation in assisting the party to whom the broker is directly
providing real estate services in complying with the terms and conditions of
the contract and with the closing of the transaction, unless otherwise agreed
to in writing by the party to whom the broker is directly providing real estate
services;

(4) Compliance with local, state, and federal fair housing and anti-
discrimination laws, the New Mexico real estate license law and the Real
Estate Commission rules; the New Mexico Uniform Owner-Resident
Relations Act, and other applicable local, state, and federal laws and
regulations;

(5) Written disclosure of any adverse material facts actually known by the
broker about the property or the transaction, or about the financial ability of
the parties to the transaction to complete the transaction; adverse material
facts requiring disclosure do not include any information covered by federal
fair housing laws or the New Mexico Human Rights Act;

(6) Written disclosure of any potential conflict of interest that the broker has
in the transaction, including but not limited to, any material interest the
broker has in the transaction or any relationship of a business, personal, or
family nature that the broker has with a party to the transaction;

(7) Non-interference with a purchase agreement or any express written
agreement that another broker has with a buyer, seller, landlord (owner) or
tenant.

[16.61.19.8 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.19.8 NMAC, 1-1-2004; A, 1-30-2004; A,
3-27-2004; A, 1-1-2006; A, 1-1-2006, A, 1-1-2007; A, 12-31-2008; A, 1-1-2012;
A, 1-1-2014]

16.61.19.9. Brokerage relationships

Brokerages working with consumers either as customers or clients may do so
through a variety of brokerage relationships. These relationships include
but are not limited to a transaction broker relationship, an exclusive agency
relationship or a dual agency relationship. For all regulated real estate
transactions, a customer or client may enter into an express written
agreement to become a client of a brokerage without creating an agency
relationship, and no agency duties will be imposed.

Transaction broker: a qualifying broker, associate broker or brokerage
that provides real estate services without entering into an agency
relationship. The transaction broker relationship is a non-fiduciary
relationship.

Exclusive agency: an express written agreement between a person and a
brokerage wherein the brokerage agrees to exclusively represent as an
agent the interests of the person in a real estate transaction. Such
agreements include buyer agency, seller agency, designated agency, and
sub-agency agreements.
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C. Dual agency: an express written agreement that modifies existing
exclusive agency agreements to provide that the brokerage agrees to act
as a facilitator in a real estate transaction rather than as an exclusive
agent for either party to the transaction.

[16.61.19.9 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.19.9 NMAC, 1-1-2004; A, 12-31-2008; A.
1-1-2012]

16.61.19.10. Dual agency relationship

A. Dual agency occurs when:

(1) Anassociate broker or qualifying broker isagent for both aseller
client and a buyer client in the same transaction;

(2) An associate broker is agent for either a seller client or a buyer
client, and the agent’s qualifying broker is agent for the other
client in the transaction; and,

(3) In a transaction where a buyer client and a seller client are
each served by different associate brokers in an agency
relationship supervised by the same qualifying broker, and the
qualifying broker does not choose the designated agency option,
both the associate brokers and the qualifying broker are dual
agents in the transaction.

In all situations, a dual agent shall act in the capacity of a facilitator
rather than as an exclusive agent of either party to the transaction.

Prior to writing or presenting offers, a dual agent shall obtain written
authority from the buyer client and the seller client in the form of a
separate dual agency agreement.

Information obtained by an associate broker or qualifying broker prior to
the time that written authority for dual agency was granted shall not
be disclosed to the other party unless required by law or rules or permitted
by the client who originally disclosed the confidential information.

[16.61.19.10 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.19.11 NMAC, 1-1-2004; A, 1-1-2006]

PART 20: [RESERVED]

PART 21: UNLICENSED ASSISTANTS

16.61.21.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7.
[8-15-97, 12-15-99; 16.61.21.7 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.21.7, 1-1-2002]
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16.61.21.8. Permitted activities

An unlicensed assistant is permitted to engage in the following activities:

Obtaining information pursuant to written instructions from the
responsible person from public records, a multiple listing service, listing
exchange or from third party sources including, but not limited to,
surveyors, banks, appraisers and title companies;

Hosting and/or distributing literature at an open house under the
following conditions:

(1) An unlicensed assistant does not discuss, negotiate or solicit
offers for the property or provide any information other than
printed material prepared and approved by the responsible person;

(2) The responsible person is present at the open house
where the unlicensed assistant is located;

(3) All inquiries are referred to the responsible person or other
associate brokers or qualifying brokers;

Disseminating and distributing information prepared and approved by
the responsible person;

Picking up and delivering paperwork to associate brokers or qualifying
brokers other than the responsible person;

Picking up and delivering paperwork to sellers or purchasers after a
contract has been executed if the paperwork has already been reviewed
and approved by the responsible person, without answering any
questions or providing any opinions or advice to the recipient of the
paperwork. All substantive questions must be referred to the responsible
person;

Writing advertisements, flyers, brochures, and other promotional
materials for the approval of the responsible person, and placing
classified advertisements approved by the responsible person;

Placing or removing signs on real property as directed by the responsible
person;

Ordering repairs as directed by the responsible person;

Receiving and depositing funds, maintaining books and records, while
under the supervision of the responsible person;

Typing or word processing documents, including purchase and listing
agreements, prepared by the responsible person.

[Rn, 16.61.21.8.9, 1-1-2000, A, 1-1-2000; 16.61.21.8 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC
61.21.8, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006]
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16.61.21.9. Prohibited activities

An unlicensed assistant is not permitted to engage in the following activities
in connection with the purchase, sale or exchange of real property:

Preparing legal documents such as listing and sales contracts;

Interpreting documents, offering opinions or advice;

Disseminating and distributing information, unless the information is in
writing and is prepared and approved by the responsible person;

Obtaining personal or property information from a client or customer of
the responsible person except when acting as a coordinator directed by
the responsible person by gathering and following up on information
and the status of matters pertaining to the transaction after a contract has
been executed;

Picking up from or delivering to customers or clients financial documents
prepared by title companies, lenders or other third persons for the purpose
of obtaining signatures;

Attending a closing without the responsible person present;

Representing himself or herself as being an associate broker or a
qualifying broker or as being engaged in the business of buying,
selling, exchanging, renting, leasing, managing, auctioning or dealing with
options on any real estate or the improvements thereon for others;

Telephone solicitation of any kind designed to procure transactions
requiring licensure under Section 61-29-1 et. Seq. NMSA 1978, including,
but not limited to, procuring buyers, sellers, listings or appointments for
listing presentations.

[8-15-97; 16.61.21.9 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 61.21.9, 1-1-2002; A,1-
1-2006]

16.61.21.10. Disability

Notwithstanding the foregoing, if an associate broker or qualifying broker is
a person with a disability as defined in the Americans with Disabilities Act
or regulations promulgated hereunder, an unlicensed assistant may provide
such additional services normally requiring a license to or on behalf of the
associate broker or qualifying broker as would constitute a reasonable
accommodation so long as the unlicensed assistant is under the direct
control of the associate broker or qualifying broker, the associate broker or
qualifying broker is as close as is practical to the activity, and the
unlicensed assistant is not represented as being or having the authority to
act as an associate broker or qualifying broker. The associate broker or
qualifying broker shall notify the commission of the identity of all
unlicensed assistants who perform services normally requiring a license
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for the associate broker or qualifying broker pursuant to this rule prior to
performance of these services.

[8-15-97, A, 1-1-2000; 16.61.21.10 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.21.10, 1-1-2002;
A, 1-1-2006]

16.61.21.11. Penalties

Unlicensed assistants are subject to the penalties of Section 61-29-17 and
61-29-17.2 NMSA 1978.

[8-15-97, A, 1-1-2000; 16.61.21.11 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 61.21.11,
1-1-2002]

PART 22 [RESERVED]
PART 23: TRUST ACCOUNTS

16.61.23.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[16.61.23.7 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.23.7 NMAC, 1-1-2012]

16.61.23.8. Description, designation and reconciliation

Funds of others. A qualifying broker who receives money belonging to others related
to a real estate transaction shall deposit same only in a trust account in an acceptable
financial institution, title company or with a qualifying broker also involved in the
transaction.

Designation. All trust accounts shall be designated on the institution’s records as
“trust account” and include the trade name of the brokerage as registered with the
commission.

Electronic transactions. Online payments, direct deposits and other electronic
transactions are permitted as long as each transaction can be tracked on the bank
statement and on the property ledger.

Reconciliation. As defined in Subsection VV. of 16.61.1.7 NMAC of the commission
rules, trust account reconciliation must be performed monthly and verified by the
qualifying broker.

Property ledgers. Each trust account transaction shall be assigned to a managed
property (e.g. single family home, apartment complex or commercial property).

Number of trust accounts. A brokerage may have more than one trust account.

[16.61.23.8 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.23.8 NMAC, 1-1-2012; A, 1-11-2017]
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16.61.23.9. Types of trust accounts

A qualifying broker shall have only the following types of accounts and they
shall be used only for the purposes stated.

A. Brokerage trust account. This account shall be used for money belonging to
others related to a real estate sales transaction. Property management
funds may not be placed in this trust account. In lieu of a brokerage
trust account, a broker may deposit funds with a title company
authorized to do business in the state of New Mexico. If a title company
is used in lieu of a brokerage trust account, then receipt and deposit
records shall be kept as outlined in this section.

Property management trust account. This account shall be used for
money belonging to others received by a qualifying broker related to
managing properties for others. All management commissions and fees may
be deposited, withdrawn and tracked through the property management
trust account as long as those commissions and fees are specified in the
management agreement.

Special trust account. In the event the principals agree in writing that an
interest bearing special trust account is to be established, a written
agreement shall be prepared stating as a minimum the following:

(1) The qualifying broker shall be named as sole trustee;

(2) Name of the acceptable financial institution wherein the funds
are to be deposited;

(3) The amount of interest to be paid on the funds and to
whom the interest shall accrue;

(4) The final disposition of principal and interest upon closing,
termination or default by either party to the transaction; and

(5) The signatures of all parties to the transaction and the
qualifying broker as trustee.

Custodial account. Funds designated to be deposited in a custodial account
shall first be placed in a brokerage trust account or a property management
trust account of the qualifying broker and then may be transferred to
the custodial account of the owner. Custodial accounts shall not
contain any funds other than those belonging to the owner of the
custodial account. Custodial accounts may be interest bearing; however,
the interest shall be paid only to the owner or his designee. The
qualifying broker shall have on file a written agreement signed by all
principals as to the establishment and operational details of each
custodial account.

[16.61.23.9 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.23.8 & 9 NMAC, 1-1-2012]
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16.61.23.10. Record accessibility, retentionand
inspection

Every qualifying broker shall keep bank and office records of all funds
related to all trust accounts, as set forth below.

Accessibility. Records shall be maintained at or accessible from the
brokerage office as registered with the commission.

Retention. All trust account records shall be retained for six years after
the completion of a transaction.

Property management. All property management trust account records
shall be retained for the full term of any agreement and for six years from
the termination of the management agreement.

Inspection. All financial documents shall be subject to inspection by the
commission or its duly authorized representative at the designated location
of such records or at the offices of the commission. The records shall
include, at a minimum, clear indication of all funds received and
disbursed on behalf of others in all real estate transactions wherein the
qualifying broker is involved.

The qualifying broker is responsible for the maintenance and safekeep-
ing of all trust account records.

[16.61.23.10 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.23.9 NMAC, 1-1-2012]

16.61.23.11. Deposits, disbursements and commingling

Deposits. All trust account deposits shall conform to the following
requirements.

(1) Timeliness. All funds of others pertaining to a real estate transaction shall
be deposited into the proper trust account per written agreement of the
parties to the transaction.

(2) Receipt records. A detailed record of all funds received shall be
maintained by the qualifying broker and shall clearly indicate the following:

(a) Date received;

Date deposited:;
From whom received;
Amount of deposit;

Property address or legal description including unit number (if unit
number is applicable); and
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(f) Category or purpose of receipt (e.g., earnest money, rent, security
deposit, funds from owner, etc.).

(3) Wrongful deposits. The following actions involving any trust account
shall be improper and shall constitute commingling:

(a) Depositing a broker’s own funds into a trust
account without disclosure to the owner of a managed

property;

(b) Depositing funds in a trust account that are not directly
related to a real estate transaction or a managed
property; and

(c) Depositing funds of others in an account that is not a
properly designated trust account.

B. Disbursements. All trust account disbursements shall conform to the
following requirements.

(1) Timeliness. All funds of others pertaining to a real estate
transaction shall be disbursed as soon as reasonably possible
after the conclusion of a transaction

(2) Disbursement records. A detailed record of all funds disbursed
shall be maintained by the qualifying broker and shall clearly
indicate the following:

(@) Check number or unique transaction identification
number;

(b) Date of disbursement;

(c) Payee;

(d) Category or purpose of disbursement;
(e) Amount of disbursement;

(f) Property address or legal description including unit
number (if unit number is applicable).

(3) Fees due broker. Fees as determined by written agreement
may be disbursed as soon as the basis for calculation can be
determined and funds are available.

(4) Wrongful disbursements. The following actions involving any
trust account shall be improper and shall constitute commingling:

(a) Disbursing trust funds for personal use of the qualifying
broker or the broker’s designee;
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(b) Disbursing commission or commission splits from any
trust account to any entity other than the qualifying broker.

(c) Disbursing New Mexico gross receipts tax or other
non-property related business expenses directly from a trust
account;

(d) Disbursing funds before the completion of the related
transaction, except upon court order; this provision does not
prevent a broker from transferring funds from one properly
designated trust account to another properly designated trust
account within the same brokerage;

(e) Disbursing funds in excess of the trust account balance or
in excess of a specific property or client ledger balance; and

(f) Trust account overages can only be disbursed in
accordance with the Unclaimed Property Act with written
notification to the commission.

C. Commingling. Commingling of trust account funds is not permitted.
Commingling shall include, but is not limited to, the following actions:

(1) Wrongful deposits as described in this section;

(2) Wrongful disbursements as described in this section;

(3) Allowing a property or client ledger within a trust account to
be in deficit;

(4) Placing funds derived from the management of the qualifying
broker’s personally owned properties, or properties owned by any
legally recognized entity in which the qualifying broker has a ten
percent (10%) or more interest in a trust account containing funds
of others;

(5) Failing to withdraw from the trust account within a
reasonable time, funds to which the qualifying broker is entitled;

(6) Allowing money designated to one property or transaction to
be used for the benefit of another property or transaction.

D. Exceptionstocommingling.

(1) Non-trust funds may be placed in a trust account in an amount
not to exceed the required minimum balance requirements of a
financial institution necessary to maintain the account and avoid
charges.

(2) Non-trust funds may be placed in a trust account in order to
pay fees for credit card transactions and bank fees.
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(3) Depositing a broker’s own funds in a trust account with full
disclosure to the owner of a managed property and with specific,
prior written approval of the commission followed immediately
by written documentation to the owner and to the commission of
the deposit transaction.

(4) If a written sharing agreement specifies, funds of one property
may be used for the benefit of another property owned by the
same person or entity.

(5) Funds received from an owner for the benefit of all their
managed properties may be credited to an owner’s ledger.

[16.61.23.11 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.23.10 NMAC, 1-1-2012; A. 1-1-2014]
PART 24 PROPERTY MANAGEMENT

16.61.24.7. Definitions

Refer to Definitions 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[16.61.24.7 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.24.7 NMAC, 1-1-2012]

16.61.24.8. Property management advisory committee

The commission may appoint a property management advisory committee
(PMAC) with the goal of enhancing the professional competence of property
managers and reducing violations and complaints about property management
services. [16.61.24.8 NMAC - N, 1-1-2012]

16.61.24.9. Declaration of intent

At the time of initial licensure or renewal, brokers and associate brokers
shall declare on the license application form their intent to offer property
management services for others. [16.61.24.9 NMAC - N, 1-1-2012; A, 1-1-
2014]

16.61.24.10. Compliance with applicable law

Brokers shall comply with applicable local, state and federal laws and
ordinances concerning managing and leasing property for others, including but
not limited to the New Mexico Uniform Owner Resident Relations Act, section
47-8-1through47-8-52 NMSA 1978. [16.61.24.10 NMAC - N, 1-1-2012]

16.61.24.11. Property management trust account

In addition to the rules set forth in 16.61.23 NMAC, the following also apply to
property management trust accounts.

A. This account shall only contain funds derived from the management of
property for others and shall be clearly identified as a property
management trust account.
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All funds received by the qualifying broker shall be deposited into the
property management trust account prior to any disbursements. Once
deposited, the qualifying broker may then disburse funds as specified in
the management agreement.

Deposits from tenants shall be placed in a property management trust
account. Deposits may be held in a property management trust account or
may be disbursed to the owner as specified in the property management
agreement and agreed to by the tenant.

Commingling of funds is not permitted. No funds may be deposited in a
property management trust account that are not received in connection
with a managed property except as provided for in 16.61.23 NMAC
(Exceptions to commingling).

Property ledgers. When the property management trust account contains
funds from the rental or lease of more than one property, separate
accounting records shall be maintained on each property. [16.61.24.11
NMAC - Rp, 16.61.24.8 NMAC, 1-1-2012; A, 1-1-2014]

16.61.24.12. Reports and documents to owners

Owner statements. The qualifying broker shall provide the owner with a
report of receipts and disbursements monthly or as required by the
management agreement, showing the following:

(1) Previous balance;

(2) Funds deposited by category;
(3) Funds disbursed by category; and

(4) Ending balance.

Additional reports may be provided as set forth in the property
management agreement.

Documents. Fully executed copies of the management agreement shall be
provided to the owner after obtaining all signatures. Except as otherwise
provided herein, signed leases or other documents related to the
management agreement shall be provided to the owner upon request,
except for documents that the property manager is prohibited by law or
contract from disclosing, including but not Ilimited to criminal
background checks and credit reports.

Final statement after termination. Final accounting of trust account funds
shall be provided to the owner within 60 days of the effective date of
termination of a management agreement. [16.61.24.12 NMAC - Rp,
16.61.24.12 NMAC, 1-1-2012; A, 1-1-2014]
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16.61.24.13. Management agreements

A. There shall be a signed written management agreement between the brokerage and the
owner for each property managed. The agreement shall be executed prior to acting on
behalf of the owner and shall specify the brokerage relationship.

The agreement shall define the duties and responsibilities of the brokerage and the
owner including, but not limited to, the following:

(1) Duties to be provided by the brokerage;
(2) Disclosure of all fees to be charged to owner;

(3) Disclosure of all fees to be charged to tenant that are retained by the
brokerage; and

(4) A question asking the owner to disclose the status of any foreclosure or
other financial situation that could affect the tenant’s occupancy.

C. If the property manager is prohibited by law or contract from providing the owner
with a given document, such as a tenant’s criminal background check or credit report,

the property management agreement shall include the following:

(1) A written disclosure to the owners that the property manager is prohibited
by law or contract from providing such documents to the owner; or

(2) The owner’s written consent that such documents will not be provided.

[16.61.24.13 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.24.13 NMAC, 1-1-2012; A, 1-1-2017]

16.61.24.14. Tenancy agreements

There shall be a signed written tenancy agreement for each property or rental
unit. Tenancy agreements shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

Name of tenant;

Property address or legal description including unit number (if unit
number is applicable);

Rent amount;

Security deposit and other deposit amounts;
When and where rent is to be paid;

Date possession began;

Date possession ends;

All fees charged tenant; and
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How payments are to be applied to outstanding charges.

[16.61.24.14 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.24.14 NMAC, 1-1-2012]

16.61.24.15. Record accessibility, retention and
inspection

The property management brokerage shall maintain office records of all
properties managed for others.

(1) Accessibility. Records shall be maintained at or accessible
from the brokerage office at the location as registered with the
commission.

(2) Retention. All property management records shall be retained

for the full term of any agreement and for six years from the
termination of the management agreement.

(3) Inspection. All records are subject to inspection by the
commission or its duly appointed representative at or accessible
from the brokerage office or at the offices of the commission.

(4) The qualifying broker is responsible for the maintenance and
safe- keeping of all property management records.

[16.61.24.15 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.24.15 NMAC, 1-1-2012]

16.61.24.16. Short term and vacation rentals

In addition to the provisions set forth above, the following special provisions
apply only with respect to the management of short term and vacation rentals.

A. Management agreement to authorize collection of New Mexico
gross receipts tax and lodger’s tax from tenant. Broker to
report and pay gross receipts tax and lodger’s tax due on all
receipts derived from reservations in accordance with New Mexico
law.

Tenancy agreement shall also include the following:
(1) Arrival and departure dates;

(2) Check-in and check-out times;

(3) Nightly rental rate;

(4) Rental deposit;

(5) Security deposit;

(6) Disclosure of all fees charged to tenant (e.g. cleaning, hot tub, phone,
cable internet, resort, etc.);
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(7) Accommodation rules (e.g. occupancy, parking, smoking, pets, noise,
etc.); and

(8) Cancellation policy.

(9) Reports to owners. In the monthly statement to the owner, the
qualifying broker shall also list rental income, credit card fees,
maintenance charges and amount paid in commission to the
brokerage office.

(10) Tenant security deposits. Funds collected as a tenant
security deposit shall be deposited into the property management
trust account.

(11) Tenant rental deposits. Funds collected as a tenant rental
deposit shall be deposited into the property management trust
account to secure a reservation.

(12) Employees of the brokerage handling short term or vacation
rentals or third parties who engage only in taking reservations for
shortterm or vacation rentals shall not be required to be licensed.

[16.61.24.16 NMAC - Rp, 16.61.24.16 NMAC, 1-1-2012]
PART 25: TIME SHARE REGISTRATION
16.61.25.7. Definitions
“Commission’’ means the New Mexico real estate commission.
“Developer’ means any person creating or engaged in the business of
selling ten or more of its own time shares and includes any person

who controls, is controlled by or is in common control with the developer
and who is engaged in creating or selling time shares for the developer;

““Exchange company’’ means any person operating an exchange program;

“Purchaser’> means any person, other than a developer or lender, who
OWNS Or acquires an interest or proposes to acquire an interest in a time
share;

“Time share salesperson’’ means a person, other than a person who has at
least a fifteen (15) percent interest in the developer, who sells or offers to
sell on behalf of a developer a time share to a purchaser; and [8-15-97, A,
2-14-2000; 16.61.25.7 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 61.25.7, [Refer to
16.61.1.7 NMAC]
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16.61.25.8. Application for registration

Every application for time share project registration shall be filed at the
commission office upon form TS-1 (questionnaire and application for
registration of time share project) and shall contain all information requested
by form TS-1 applicable to the time share project. Registration fee: Every
application for time share project registration must be accompanied by a
certified check made payable to the New Mexico real estate commission in the
amount of twenty dollars ($20.00) per time share interest to be sold, to a
maximum of one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500.00). Applications
for registration not accompanied by the appropriate fee shall not be
considered by the commission. In the event a properly completed application
filed with the commission is denied for any reason, the amount of two
hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) shall be retained by the commission from the
application fee and the balance refunded to the applicant developer. A
developer shall obtain a separate certificate of registration for each time
share program. Noncontiguous time share projects created by the same
developer may be treated for registration purposes as one time share program
only if such projects are (1) marketed and otherwise held out to the public as
one program, and (2) offered for sale by a single staff of time share
salespersons.

A developer shall file an amendment to the time share project registration
with the commission within a reasonable time after the occurrence of any
event or change in plans which materially affects the operation or status of
the time share project, including but not limited to the following:

(1) A material change in ownership of the developer;

(2) An increase or decrease in the number of time shares to be
offered;

(3) Any material alteration of the physical plant and amenities, or
of plans for development thereof;

(4) Any material change in the exchange rights offered to
purchasers;

(5) The appearance of new hazards or other unusual conditions
near the time share project;

(6) Any material amendment to the documents governing
rights and restrictions of time share ownership

(7) The recording of any new lien or encumbrance against the
time share project;

(8) Any change in management of the time share project;

(9) Any material change in the developer’s arrangement for the
escrow of purchaser’s funds; and,
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(10) Any other change requiring a material amendment to the
disclosure statement for the project.

Amendments to the time share project registration shall be made in
writing to the commission. Every amendment shall identify the section of
the project registration to be amended and shall contain a summary of the
amendment and a brief statement of the reasons for the amendment.
The amendment shall include either the text of the project registration
section to be substituted or a copy of the document to be modified.

The commission may, in its discretion, require the developer to file a new
time share project registration application in the place of an amendment
form. Such refiling shall be without a fee.

If a developer files an amendment to increase the number of time shares
to be offered for sale, a registration fee of twenty dollars ($20.00) per
additional time share interest, subject to the overall maximum of one
thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500.00), shall accompany the
amendment.

[8-15-97; 16.61.25.8 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.25.8, 1-1-2002]

16.61.25.9. Disclosurestatements

A. In addition to the disclosures required by Section 5 of the act, each
developer shall fully and conspicuously disclose to each purchaser in
the disclosure statement the following information:

(1) If any part of the project is not completely constructed at the
time of sale, what financial arrangements have been made to secure
the completion of each portion.

(2)If the wunit sold to the purchaser is not completely
constructed and furnished at the time of sale, the projected date
the unit will be ready for occupancy; any limitations upon the
purchaser’s exchange rights until the unit is ready for occupancy;
any limitations upon the effectiveness of title insurance obtained by
the purchaser prior to the time the unit is ready for occupancy;

(3) A complete description of the project, including: the total
number of time shares sold and to be sold in the project; the
number and types of units available; the types of facilities and
amenities available;

(4) A description of all terms and conditions of each charter
membership, owner referral, rental, resale, in-house exchange or
other program offered to time share owners; provided, however, if
no reference to the program will be made to the purchaser prior to
the expiration of the purchaser’s 7-day right of rescission, the
developer may provide such description, by separate letter to the
purchaser, after the expiration of such period; and,
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(5) Any other information contained in the questionnaire and
application for registration of time share project which the
commission may require to be disclosed.

Every disclosure statement shall contain an introductory summary
prescribed by the commission and completed by the developer entitled
“summary of disclosures.’” The ‘“‘summary of disclosures’’ shall appear on
the cover, or immediately following the cover of the disclosure statement,
and shall be on the form prescribed by the commission. ‘““Summary of
disclosures’’ forms are available upon request at the commission office.

Information contained in a disclosure statement shall be accurate on the
date it is supplied to a purchaser.

[8-15-97; 16.61.25.9 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.25.9, 1-1-2002]

16.61.25.10. Description of interest in time share
property; recordation

All contracts and deeds conveying an interest in a time share must contain a
legal description of the time share project, time share unit and interval
number for which the interest is being conveyed, if applicable. The developer
shall not record a conveyance instrument until after the expiration of the
purchaser’s 7-day right of rescission.

[8-15-97; 16.61.25.10 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.25.10, 1-1-2002]

16.61.25.11. Questionnaire and application

The ‘‘questionnaire and application for registration of time share project”
(form TS-1) shall be made on the form prescribed by the commission.
Questionnaire and application forms are available upon request at the
Commission offices.

[8-15-97; 16.61.25.11 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.25.11, 1-1-2002]

16.61.25.12. License requirements

Any individual, including a tour guide, who shows time share units or
facilities to prospective purchasers, shall hold a New Mexico real estate
associate broker’s or qualifying broker’s license. No person except the
developer may participate in any part of a time share sales presentation
unless that person holds a New Mexico real estate associate broker or
qualifying broker license.

[8-15-97, A, 2-14-2000; 16.61.25.12 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.25.12, 1-1-
2002; A, 1-1-2006]

16.61.25.13. Developers

Every developer of a time share project registered in this state shall, in
addition to any other requirements by law:
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Maintain a full and complete record of all transactions wherein that
developer or any real estate associate broker or qualifying broker
representing said developer are engaged. All records shall contain, but
are not limited to:

(1) Record of all purchases, sales, leases or exchanges of time
share interests in the registered time share project;

(2) The name or names of the buyer and seller, or in the case of
exchanges, the names of the parties thereto;

(3) The date or dates of such transactions;

(4) The amount, if any, of the commission earned in such
transaction; and,

(5) The amount, if any, of the commission or commissions paid by the
qualifying broker or the developer to an associate broker and the
amount, if any, of the commission or commissions retained by the
qualifying broker or developer.

All sales of time share interests by associate brokers must be through the
qualifying broker of the time share project, and all commissions to
such associate brokers must be disbursed by the qualifying broker. If a
qualifying broker transfers his license from a time share project and all
commissions earned by associate brokers have not been disbursed, those
commissions must be accounted for and remitted within a reasonable
time by the time share developer.

The records required to be maintained by these regulations will be
available to the commission or its duly authorized representative at the
location of the registered time share project in New Mexico, at the location
of the time share sales office in New Mexico, or at the commission offices.

[8-15-97, A, 2-14-2000; 16.61.25.13 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 61.25.13,
1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006]

16.61.25.14. Trust accounts

Records to be maintained. Every developer of a time share project registered
in New Mexico shall, within a reasonable time, account for and remit
any money coming into his possession which belongs to others during the
sale of a time share interest. Such developer shall keep such funds of
others in an escrow or trust account maintained by him in a bank or
savings and loan institution or title company authorized to do business
in this state. Such developer shall not commingle funds of others with his
own. Every developer of a time share project registered in this state shall
maintain full and complete records of all funds deposited in his trust
account. Such records shall clearly indicate the date and from whom the
money was received, date deposited, date of withdrawal, and any other
pertinent information concerning the transaction. The records shall clearly
show for whose account the money is deposited and to whom the money




110
belongs. All such records and funds shall be subject to inspection by the
commission or its duly authorized representative at the locationin New
Mexicooftheregisteredtimeshare project, thelocationin New Mexico of the
time share sales office, or at the commission offices. [8-15-97, A, 2-14-2000;
16.61.25.14 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.25.14, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006]

PART 26: LAND TITLE TRUST FUND ACT

16.61.26.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7.
[16.61.26.7 NMAC - N, 1-1-2002]

16.61.26.8. Trust accounts, escrow accounts, special
accounts, pooled interest-bearing
accounts, and disposition of earned
interest on certain accounts

Every real estate qualifying broker who maintains a trust or escrow
account as required pursuant to the provisions of Subsection H of 61-
29-12 NMSA 1978 may maintain a pooled interest-bearing escrow account
and may deposit all customer funds into that account except for:

(1) Funds required to be deposited into a property
management  trust account under an express property
management agreement; or

(2) Funds required to be deposited into an interest-bearing account
under an express agreement between the parties to a transaction
and under which agreement provisions are made for the payment
of interest to be earned on the funds deposited.

B. The following procedures and forms should be used in establishing and
operating pooled interest-bearing escrow accounts.

(1) Form 5828-1 instructions for financial institutions regarding
processing land title trust fund act and low income housing trust
fund act accounts.

(2) Form 5828-2 account enrollment and agreement between
company and financial institution.

(3) Form 5828-3 financial institution report of interest remittance.

[16.61.26.8 NMAC - N, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006]
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PART 27: FOREIGN BROKERS

16.61.27.1 Foreign Brokers

A. A foreign broker may act in the capacity of a qualifying broker or associate broker with
respect to commercial real estate located in New Mexico provided that prior to
performing any of the real estate activities of a qualifying broker or associate broker
the foreign broker enters into a transaction-specific written agreement with a New
Mexico qualifying broker that includes, at a minimum:

(1) A description of the parties, the commercial real estate and any additional
information necessary to identify the specific transaction governed by the
agreement;

(2) The terms of compensation between the foreign broker and the New
Mexico qualifying broker;

(3) The effective date and definitive termination date of the agreement;

(4) A statement that the foreign broker agrees to:

(@)

(b)

Cooperate fully with the New Mexico qualifying broker and all
associate brokers designated by the New Mexico qualifying broker.

Except for the foreign broker’s interaction with the foreign broker’s
client, conduct all contact with the parties, including the general
public and other brokers, in association with the New Mexico
qualifying broker or associate broker designated by the New
Mexico qualifying broker.

Conduct all marketing and solicitations for business in the name of
the New Mexico qualifying broker.

Timely furnish the New Mexico qualifying broker with copies of all
documents related to the transaction that are required by the laws of
New Mexico to be retained by its brokers, including without
limitation brokerage relationship disclosures, offers, counteroffers,
purchase and sale contracts, leases and closing statements.

Comply with and be bound by and subject to New Mexico law and
the rules of the real estate commission;

Submit to the jurisdiction of the courts of New Mexico with respect
to the transaction and any and all claims related thereto by service
of process upon the New Mexico Secretary of State and upon the
appropriate official of the state, province, or nation of the foreign
broker’s real estate licensure.

B. When a New Mexico associate broker or qualifying broker makes a referral to or
receives a referral from a foreign broker for the purpose of receiving a fee, commission
or other consideration, the qualifying broker of the New Mexico brokerage office and
the foreign broker shall execute a written, transaction-specific referral agreement at
the time of the referral.
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[16.61.27.8 NMAC, Rp. 16.61.27.8,1-1-2014; N, 1-1-2017]

16.61.27.2 Scope

The provisions in Part 3 of Chapter 61 apply to all applicants for real estate broker
licensure in New Mexico. [16.61.27.2 NMAC, Rp. 16.61.27.2 NMAC, 1-1-2014; N, 1-
1-2017]

16.61.27.3 Statutory Authority

Part 3 of Chapter 61 is promulgated pursuant to the Real Estate License Law, NMSA
1978, Section 61-29-16.1 [16.61.27.3 NMAC, Rp. 16.61.27.3 NMAC, 1-1-2014; N, 1-
1-2017]

16.61.27.4 Duration

The duration of Part 27 is Permanent. [16.61.27.4 NMAC, Rp. 16.61.27.4 NMAC, 1-1-
2014; N, 1-1-2017]

16.61.27.5 Effective Date

The effective date is 1-1-2017, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section.
[16.61.27.5 NMAC, Rp. 61.61.27 NMAC, 1-1-2014; N, 1-1-2017]

16.61.27.6 Objective

The objective of Part 27 of Chapter 61 is to set forth the requirements for a foreign
broker, a real estate broker licensed in another state, to conduct commercial real estate
brokerage business in New Mexico. [16.61.27.6 NMAC, Rp. 61.61.27.6 NMAC, 1-1-
2014; N, 1-1-2017]

16.61.27.7 Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC [16.61.27.7 NMAC, Rp. 61.61.27.7 NMAC, 1-1-2014; N, 1-
1-2017]

PART 28: [RESERVED]

PART 29: TRADE NAME

16.61.29.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[16.61.29.7 NMAC - Rp, 16 NMAC 61.29.7, 1-1-2002]
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16.61.29.8. Registration and use of trade name

Prior to the use of any trade name for the operation of a brokerage, the
qualifying broker shall register such trade name with the commission.
A qualifying broker must conduct their real estate brokerage business
under a trade name registered with the commission. A qualifying broker
wishing to conduct real estate brokerage business under a different
trade name must execute a new trade name registration form, provide
verification of current errors and omission coverage and pay the required
fee with the commission.

When a brokerage ceases using a trade name, the qualifying broker shall,
within 10 days, return the qualifying broker’s license and the licenses of
all qualifying and associate brokers affiliated with the brokerage to the
commission, advise the commission in writing that the trade name is no
longer being used, and remove all signs and advertising using the trade
name.

Use of a trade name in such a fashion as to mislead the public may be
grounds for disciplinary action by the commission.

An associate broker executing a trade name registration form for the
purposes of reinstating qualifying broker status shall be required, as a
condition of reinstatement, to provide documentation of having completed
the commission-approved minimum four-hour qualifying broker refresher
course during the current license renewal cycle.

[16.61.29.8 NMAC - Rp, 16 NMAC 61.29.8, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006; A,
1-1-2012]

PART 30: BRANCH OFFICE/TEMPORARY OFFICE [REPEALED
01-01-06]

PART 31: SIGNAGE

16.61.31.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[1-1-2000; 16.61.31.7 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.31.7, 1-1-2002]

16.61.31.8. Requirements

Each qualifying broker shall place and maintain a legible sign in a
conspicuous place near the office entrance identifying them as the
qualifying broker. The trade name of the brokerage as registered with
the commission shall be clearly shown.

In the case of a qualifying broker whose office is located in an office
building, the qualifying broker may comply with this regulation by listing
their name on the directory of offices provided by the office building
and by displaying the trade name on or near the office entrance.
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[1-1-2000, A, 2-14-2000; 16.61.31.8 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.31.8, 1-1-2002;
A, 12-31-2008]

PART 32
REAL ESTATE ADVERTISING

16.61.32.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[1-1-2000; 16.61.32.7 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.32.7, 1-1-2002]

16.61.32.8. Advertisements

All real estate advertising shall be a true and factual representation of the property and
real estate services being advertised and the brokerage providing the services and
shall not be presented in such a manner that will confuse or mislead the public.

Every qualifying broker advertising real property for others for sale, purchase, lease,
exchange or rent, including short-term or vacation rentals, or advertising real estate
services, shall at a minimum, use in such advertising the trade name and current
brokerage office telephone number as registered with the commission. Directional
signs are exempt from these requirements. Additional telephone numbers may be
used in such advertising.

Associate brokers, when advertising real property for others for sale, purchase, lease,
exchange or rent, or when advertising real estate services, shall include in the
advertisement the trade name and the current telephone number as registered with the
commission of the brokerage with which they are affiliated. Effective January 1,
2017, the brokerage trade name and telephone number shall be prominently displayed
in a type size not less than thirty-three percent of the type size of the associate
broker’s name, or in the case of a team of associate brokers, the team name.

A Dbroker advertising to, sell, or exchange real property which the broker owns or
partially owns shall indicate within such advertising, including signs, that the broker
owns the real property. Disclosure of such ownership must also be made in the listing
contract, purchase agreement, or exchange agreement. If an owner-broker engages a
third party broker to list the owner-broker’s property, the third party broker is not
required to make an owner-broker disclosure in advertising and signs, but such
disclosure is required in the listing contract, purchase agreement or exchange
agreement. A broker advertising to rent or lease real property which the broker owns
or partially owns is not required to disclose such ownership in advertising and signs,
but is required to make such disclosure in rental or lease agreements.

When advertising real property owned by a broker and the telephone number of the
brokerage is used in the advertisement, the advertisement must also include the trade
name of the brokerage as registered with the commission.

All advertising must be in compliance with all local, state and federal laws and
regulations.
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These requirements apply to all forms of advertising, including but not limited to
print, audio and video recordings, computer presentations, online and electronic
media. In the event that disclosure of the brokerage name and telephone number as
registered with the commission is not practical in electronic displays of limited
information, such as thumbnails, text messages, links and tweets of 200 characters or
less, such displays are exempt from the disclosure requirement provided such displays
are linked to a display that includes all of the required disclosures.

[N, 1-1-2000; 16.61.32.8 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.32.8, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006; A,
1-1-2007; A, 1-1-2017]

PART 33: DOCUMENT EXECUTION AND DELIVERY

16.61.33.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7.

[16.61.33.7 NMAC - Rp, 16 NMAC 61.33.7, 1-1-2002]
16.61.33.8. Execution of documents

All transactions shall be documented and signed by all parties to the
transaction.

[16.61.33.8 NMAC - Rp, 16 NMAC 61.33.8, 1-1-2002]

16.61.33.9. Delivery of documents

Except as otherwise provided by law, in all circumstances it shall be the
responsibility of each broker engaged in a transaction to assure that all parties
to the transaction receive legible copies of any and all documents they have
signed and any documents that pertain to their respective interest in the
transaction as soon as practicably possible, and copies of all fully executed
documents thereafter.

[16.61.33.9 NMAC - Rp, 16 NMAC 61.33.9, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006]

PART 34 [RESERVED]

PART 35: CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT

16.61.35.7. Definitions

All terms defined in the Parental Responsibility Act shall have the same
meanings in Part 35 of Chapter 61 as used in Part 35.

A.  ““HSD’’ means the New Mexico human services department;
B. ‘‘License’” means a license issued by the commission that a person is

required to have to engage in the profession or occupation of real estate in
New Mexico;
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““Statement of compliance’” means a certified statement from HSD stating
that an applicant or broker is in compliance with a judgment and order
for support; and

““Statement of non-compliance’” means a certified statement from HSD
stating that an applicant or broker is not in compliance with a judgment
and order for support.

[8-15-97, A, 2-14-2000; 16.61.35.7 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.35.7, 1-1-2002;
A, 1-1-2006]

16.61.35.8. Disciplinaryaction

If a license applicant or licensed broker is not in compliance with a judgment
and order for support, the commission:

A. Shall deny an application for a license;
B. Shall deny the renewal of the license; and
C. Has grounds for suspension or revocation of the license.

[8-15-97; 16.61.35.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 61.35.8, 1-1-2002; A,
1-1-2006]

16.61.35.9. Certified list

Upon receipt of HSD’s certified list of obligors not in compliance with a
judgment and order for support, the commission shall match the certified list
against the current list of commission brokers or broker applicants. Upon the
later receipt of an application for license or renewal, the commission shall
match the applicant against the current certified list. By the end of the month
in which the certified list is received, the commission shall report to HSD the
names of commission brokers or broker applicants who are on the certified list
and the action the commission has taken in connection with such brokers or
broker applicants.

[8-15-97, A, 2-14-2000; 16.61.35.9 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 61.35.9,
1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006]

16.61.35.10. Initial action

Upon determination that a broker or broker applicant appears on the
certified list, the commission shall:

Commence a formal proceeding as set forth in Section 11 of Part 35 to take
the appropriate action under Section 8 of Part 35; or

For current brokers only, informally notify the broker that the broker’s
name is on the certified list, and that the broker must provide the
commission with a subsequent statement of compliance from HSD by
the earlier of the application for license renewal or a specified date not to
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exceed thirty (30) days. If the broker fails to provide this statement, the
commission shall commence a formal proceeding as set forth in Section 11
of Part 35.

[8-15-97, A, 2-14-2000; 16.61.35.10 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.35.10, 1-1-
2002; A, 1-1-2006]

16.61.35.11. Notice of contemplated action

Prior to taking any action specified in Section 8 of Part 35, the commission
shall serve upon the broker or broker applicant a written notice stating that:

A. The commission has grounds to take such action, and that the commission
shall take such action unless the broker or broker applicant:

(1) Mails a letter (certified, return receipt requested) within
twenty (20) days after service of the notice requesting a hearing; or

(2) Provides the commission, within thirty (30) days of the date
of the notice, with a statement of compliance from HSD; and

B. If the broker or broker applicant disagrees with the determination of non-
compliance, or wishes to come into compliance, the broker or broker
applicant should contact the HSD child support enforcement division.

[8-15-97, A, 1-1-2000; 16.61.35.11 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 61.35.11,
1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006]

16.61.35.12. Evidence and proof

In any hearing under Part 35 of Chapter 61, relevant evidence is limited to the
following:

A. A statement of non-compliance is conclusive evidence that requires the
commission to take the appropriate action under Section 8 of Part 35
of Chapter 61 unless;

The broker or broker applicant provides the commission a subsequent
statement of compliance which shall preclude the commission from taking
any action based solely on the prior statement of non-compliance.

[8-15-97; 16.61.35.12 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 61.35.11, 1-1-2002; A,
1-1-2006]

16.61.35.13. Order

When an action is taken under Part 35 of Chapter 61 solely because the
license applicant or Licensee is not in compliance with a judgment and order
for support, the order shall state that the application or license shall be
reinstated upon presentation of a subsequent Statement of Compliance. The
Commission may also include any other conditions necessary to comply with
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Commission requirements for reapplication or reinstatement of lapsed li-
censes.

[8-15-97, A, 1-1-2000; 16.61.35.13 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 61.35.13,1-
1-2002; A, 1-1-2006]

16.61.35.14. Procedures

Proceedings under Part 35 of Chapter 61 shall be governed by the Uniform
Licensing Act, Section 61-1-1, et seq., or any other adjudicatory procedures
adopted by the commission.

[8-15-97; 16.61.35.14 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 61.35.14, 1-1-2002]

PART 36: COMPLAINTS AND INVESTIGATIONS
NMREC Web link to Disciplinary Actions Tab
NMREC Web link to Filing a Complaint Tab

16.61.36.7. Definitions

Refer to 16.61.1.7 NMAC.
[16.61.36.7 NMAC - Rp, 16 NMAC 61.36.7, 1-1-2002]

16.61.36.8. Complaints

The commission may file a complaint against any person who engages in the business or
acts in the capacity of a real estate broker or a real estate commission approved education
sponsor or instructor, in New Mexico with or without a New Mexico real estate license
based on information indicating that there may have been a violation of the real estate
license law or the commission rules.

The commission may also act on a complaint made by a member of the commission, a
member of the public, or another real estate broker. Upon receipt of a complaint the
commission will determine if the complaint is within its jurisdiction. If the commission
determines the complaint is within its jurisdiction, the complaint will be assigned for
investigation.

[16.61.36.8 NMAC - Rp, 16 NMAC 61.36.8, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2006; A,
12-31-2008]

16.61.36.9. Investigations

In conducting an investigation, the commission shall give the person under
investigation the opportunity to answer the complaint made against them in writing and
to produce relevant documentary evidence, in accordance with the Uniform Licensing
Act. If the person under investigation fails to respond within 10 working days of
having been provided with a copy of the complaint and having been informed by the
commission in writing that a complaint has been filed against him or her, the
investigation may proceed without benefit of that person's response.
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If the investigation reveals that the complaint does not involve a violation of the Real
Estate License Law or the commission rules, the complaint will be dismissed by the
commission, and the parties to the complaint will be so advised.

If the investigation reveals that the complaint does involve a violation of the Real
Estate License Law or the commission rules, the commission may refer the complaint
to the attorney general’s office and request that a notice of contemplated action
(NCA) be issued to the respondent, or offer the respondent a pre-NCA settlement with
the understanding that if the respondent does not accept the settlement offer, the
complaint will be referred to the attorney general’s office for the issuance of an NCA.

Withdrawal of a complaint by a member of the commission, a member of the public,
or another broker does not bind the commission to dismiss the complaint.

[16.61.36.9 NMAC - Rp, 16 NMAC 61.36.9, 1-1-2002; A, 1-1-2017]
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47-8-1 Short title

Sections 47-8-1 through 47-8-51 [47-8-52] NMSA 1978 may be cited as the
““Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act”’.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-1, enacted by Laws 1975, ch. 38, § 1; 1995, ch. 195, §

1.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Conversion buildings, 47-7D-12
NMSA 1978.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Constitutionality
Generally
Applicability
Construction
Instructions

Notice Requirement
Statute of limitations

Constitutionality

70-7-27B, 1953 Comp. is not found to be constitutionally
vague in connection with an action brought by a landowner
to recover un- paid rent under the Uniform Owner-Resident
Relations Act, ‘‘former 70-7-1, 1953 Comp. (now 47-8-1
NMSA 1978)”, after the resident was awarded damages.

Kepler v. Covarrubia, 91 N.M. 443, 575 P.2d 952 (1978).

Generally

Property owners’ actions against residents were not barred
by Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act (UORRA)
because the UORRA created no bar to an otherwise proper
action for possession brought in retaliation for residents’
complaints about their noisy neighbors. Casa Blanca
Mobile Home Park v. Hill, 1998-NMCA-094, 125 N.M.
465, 963 P.2d 542, cert. denied, 125 N.M. 322, 961 P.2d
167 (1998).

Applicability

New Mexico Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act
applied to parties’ agreement that constituted a residential
lease; tenants had no right to abate rent where property was
not uninhabitable. Hedicke v. Gunville, 2003- NMCA-032,
133 N.M. 335, 62 P.3d 1217, cert. denied, 133 N.M. 413,
63 P.3d 516 (2003). Contention of a tenant that the implied
warranty of habitability was in effect in New Mexico and
that he had a right to abate rent because the landlord did

Construction

The Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 NMSA
1978 et seq., does not create a bar to property owners’ alleged
retaliatory action for possession of the premises following the
residents’ complaints about their noisy neighbors. Casa

Ruling that plaintiff mobile home park met the notice
requirements contained in the Mobile Home Park Act, 47-
10-1 NMSA 1978, for the termination of a mobile home
tenancy was reversed where the park failed to strictly
comply with the notice requirements of the Owner-
Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 to 47-8-52 NMSA 1978,
showing good cause for the termination of defendant
renter’s month-to-month tenancy in the park; even though
there had been extensive communication, both written and
oral, regarding the park’s dissatisfaction with the renter’s
maintenance of the rental space, the park was required to
include in its notice to quit a statement of the cause
justifying the termination and strict compliance with the
notice provision was required. Green Valley Mobile Home
Park v. Mulvaney, 1996-NMSC-037, 121 N.M. 817, 918
P.2d 1317. Metropolitan court has legal and equity
jurisdiction in cases arising under the New Mexico
Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act, 47- 8-1 NMSA
1978 et seq., pursuant to 47-8-45 NMSA 1978; the
application of equitable defenses in cases involving public
housing rests in the sound discretion of the metropolitan
court, and its exercise thereof will not be disturbed on
appeal unless there is a clear abuse of discretion.
Albuquerque v. Brooks, 114 N.M. 572, 844 P.2d 822
(1992).

not supply reasonable heat for his rental unit was remanded
to the trial court for determination of the applicability of
47-8-20 NMSA 1978 of the Uniform Owner-Resident
Relations Act, 47-8-1 to 47-8-51 NMSA 1978, which
encompassed the issue and which was adopted after the
court held that there was no implied warranty of
habitability in New Mexico. T.W.L.LW., Inc. v. Rhudy, 96
N.M. 354, 630 P.2d 753 (1981).

Blanca Mobile Home Park v. Hill, 1998-NMCA-094, 125
N.M. 465, 963 P.2d 542, cert. denied, 125 N.M. 322, 961
P.2d 167 (1998)




Instructions

Given the provisions of Rules 12-216 and 1-051 NMRA,
because defendant landlord did not tender correct
instructions to inform jury of his theory that the Owner-
Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 to 47-8-51 NMSA 1978,
did not apply because plaintiff tenant was an employee
whose residency depended on his employment status, and

Notice

Resident is not entitled to abatement of rent after being
awarded damages in connection with an action brought by a
landowner to recover unpaid rent under the Uniform Owner-
Resident Relations Act, ‘‘former 70-7-1, 1953 Comp. (now

Requirements

“Former 70-7-13A, 1953 Comp. (now 47-8-13NMSA
1978)’ controls any notice requirement under the Uniform
Owner-Resident Relations Act, ‘‘former 70-7-1, 1953

Statute of limitations

Where the tenant waited three years after removed out of
the rental property before suing the landlords for
negligence in connection with mold and for a violation of
their obligations under 47-8-20A(1)-(4) NMSA 1978 of the
New Mexico Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act, the
tenant’s claim was barred by the applicable three-year

47-8-2 Purpose

because landlord was not entitled to rely on the concept of
fundamental error to escape the consequences of his failure
to object and his failure to tender appropriate instructions,
judgment in favor of tenant against landlord was affirmed.
Gracia v. Bittner, 120 N.M. 191, 900 P.2d 351 (Ct. App.
1995).

47-8-1 NMSA 1978)”’, because the resident failed to give
written notice of any breach as required by 70-7-29, 1953
Comp. Kepler v. Covarrubia, 91 N.M. 443, 575 P.2d 952
(1978).

Comp. (now 47-8-1 NMSA 1978)*’, except for the written
notice specifically required by 70-7-29, 1953 Comp.
Kepler v. Covarrubia, 91 N.M. 443, 575 P.2d 952 (1978)

statute of limitations set forth in 37-1-8 NMSA 1978.
Applying the discovery rule, the tenant’s cause of action
accrued no later than the day he vacated the home; at that
time, the tenant knew there was mold in the home, believed
that the mold was causing his symptoms, and had been
informed that mold could be dangerous to humans. Gerke
v. Romero, 2010-NMCA-060, 148 N.M. 367, 237d 111

The purpose of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] is to
simplify, clarify, modernize and revise the law governing the rental of dwelling units and

the rights and obligations of owner and resident, and to encourage the owners and the
residents to maintain and improve the quality of housing in New Mexico.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-2,
enacted by Laws 1975, ch. 38, § 2.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Negligence

Because 47-8-2 NMSA 1978 in the Uniform Owner-Resident
Relations Act, 47-8-1 to 47- 8-51 NMSA 1978, states that the
Act’s general purpose is to clarify the rights and the
obligations of owners and residents and because it is not clear
that the provision in 47-8-47 NMSA 1978, which gives a
tenant a right to file an appeal to stay the execution of a writ
of restitution regarding an eviction action, in the Act is

47-8-3 Definitions

intended to provide protection against sheriff ’s deputies who
execute the writ due to not know- ing of the appeal, the
execution of the writ by the deputies did not entitle the
tenants to a recovery as to the negligence claim that was filed
against the County of Bernalillo (New Mexico), the sheriff
and the deputies. Runge v. Fox, 110 N.M. 447, 796 P.2d
1143 (Ct. App. 1990).

As used in the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978]:

A. “Abandonment’> means absence of the resident from the dwelling,
without notice to the owner, in excess of seven continuous days; providing
such absence occurs only after rent for the dwelling unit is delinquent;

““Action’’ includes recoupment, counterclaim, set-off, suit in equity and
any other proceeding in which rights are determined, including an action

for possession;
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“Amenity’” means a facility appurtenance or area supplied by the owner
and the absence of which would not materially affect the health and safety
of the resident or the habitability of the dwelling unit;

“Codes’’ includes building codes, housing codes, health and safety codes,
sanitation codes and any law, ordinance or governmental regulation
concerning fitness for habitation or the construction, maintenance,
operation, occupancy or use of a dwelling unit;

“Deposit’” means an amount of currency or instrument delivered to the
owner by the resident as a pledge to abide by terms and conditions of the
rental agreement;

“Dwelling unit>> means a structure, mobile home or the part of a
structure, including a hotel or motel, that is used as a home, residence
or sleeping place by one person who maintains a household or by two or
more persons who maintain a common household and includes a parcel
of land leased by its owner for use as a site for the parking of a mobile
home;

“Eviction’> means any action initiated by the owner to regain posses- sion
of a dwelling unit and use of the premises under terms of the Uniform
Owner-Resident Relations Act;

“Fair rental value’ is that value that is comparable to the value
established in the market place;

““Good faith’> means honesty in fact in the conduct of the transaction
concerned as evidenced by all surrounding circumstances;

“Normal wear and tear’> means deterioration that occurs based upon the
use for which the rental unit is intended, without negligence, carelessness,
accident, abuse or intentional damage of the premises, equipment or
chattels of the owner by the residents or by any other person in the
dwelling unit or on the premises with the resident’s consent; however,
uncleanliness does not constitute normal wear and tear;

““Organization’” includes a corporation, government, governmental
subdivision or agency thereof, business trust, estate, trust, partnership
or association, two or more persons having a joint or common interest
or any other legal or commercial entity;

““Owner’> means one or more persons, jointly or severally, in whom is
vested:

(1) all or part of the legal title to property, but shall not include
the limited partner in an association regulated under the Uniform
Limited Partnership Act [54-2-1 NMSA 1978]; or

(2) all or part of the beneficial ownership and a right to present
use and enjoyment of the premises and agents thereof and includes a
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mortgagee in possession and the lessors, but shall not include a person
or persons, jointly or severally, who as owner leases the entire premises
to a lessee of vacant land for apartment use.

““Person’’ includes an individual, corporation, entity or organization;

“Premises’” means facilities, facilities and appurtenances, areas and other
facilities held out for use of the resident or whose use is promised to the
resident coincidental with occupancy of a dwelling unit;

“Rent’”> means payments in currency or in-kind under terms and
conditions of the rental agreement for use of a dwelling unit or premises, to
be made to the owner by the resident, but does not include deposits;

“Rental agreement’” means all agreements between an owner and
resident and valid rules and regulations adopted under Section 47-8-23
NMSA 1978 embodying the terms and conditions concerning the use and
occupancy of a dwelling unit or premises;

“Resident’> means a person entitled under a rental agreement to
occupy a dwelling unit in peaceful possession to the exclusion of others
and includes the owner of a mobile home renting premises, other than a
lot or parcel in a mobile home park, for use as a site for the location of
the mobile home;

““Roomer’’ means a person occupying a dwelling unit that lacks a major
bathroom or kitchen facility in a structure where one or more major
facilities are used in common by occupants of the dwelling units. As
referred to in this subsection, ‘‘major facility’’, in the case of a bathroom,
means toilet and either a bath or shower and, in the case of a kitchen,
means refrigerator, stove or sink;

““Single family residence’” means a structure maintained and used as a
single dwelling unit. Notwithstanding that a dwelling unit shares one
or more walls with another dwelling unit, it is a single family residence if
it has direct access to a street or thoroughfare and shares neither heating
facilities, hot water equipment nor any other essential facility or service
with any other dwelling unit;

““Substantial violation’” means a violation of the rental agreement or rules
and regulations by the resident or occurring with the resident’s consent
that occurs in the dwelling unit, on the premises or within three hundred
feet of the premises and that includes the following conduct, which shall be
the sole grounds for a substantial violation:

(1) Possession, use, sale, distribution or manufacture of a
controlled substance, excluding misdemeanor possession and use;
unlawful use of a deadly weapon;

(2)  Unlawful action causing serious physical harm to
another person;




sexual assault or sexual molestation of another person;
entry into the dwelling unit or vehicle of another person without that
person’s permission and with intent to commit theft or assault;

(3) Theft or attempted theft of the property of another person by use

or threatened use of force; or

(4) Intentional or reckless damage to property in excess of one

thousand dollars ($1,000);

“Term”’ is the period of occupancy specified in the rental agreement; and;

“Transient occupancy’” means occupancy of a dwelling unit for which rent
is paid on less than a weekly basis or where the resident has not
manifested an intent to make the dwelling unit a residence or household.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-3, enacted by
Laws 1975, ch. 38, § 3; 1977, ch. 55, § 1; 1983,
ch. 122, § 18; 1985, ch. 146, § 1; 1989, ch. 340, §

1; 1995, ch. 195, § 2; 1997, ch. 39, § 1; 1999, ch.
91, 8§ 1.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Deposits, 47-8-18 NMSA 1978.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Generally
Applicability
Eviction
Holdover period

Applicability

Court disagreed that the New Mexico Uniform Owner-
Resident Relations Act (Act) applied to this case because
there were no claims alleged under the Act; however, the
court noted in passing that the Act includes a definition of

Eviction

In an action filed against a nursing home for wrongful death,
personal injury, negligent hiring, training and supervision,
and loss of consortium, the court ruled an arbitration
agreement that the nursing home required to be signed as a
condition of admission was substantively unconscionable and
therefore unenforceable. The ‘‘collection actions’” exemption

Holdover period

Pursuant to 47-8-35 NMSA 1978 of the Uniform Owner-
Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 to 47-8-51, NMSA 1978, a
landowner was entitled to rent during a holdover period,;
because there was no rental agreement after a particular date,

Generally

Uniform Building Code, 47-8-3C (now D) NMSA 1978, sets
minimum standards to safeguard health and property by
regulating and controlling the use and occupancy and
maintenance of all buildings and structures within New
Mexico; 47-8-3C (now D) NMSA 1978 defines ‘‘codes”
within the Act as including building codes. T.W.L.W., Inc. v.
Rhudy, 96 N.M. 354, 630 P.2d 753 (1981).

single family residence that was a much closer match
linguistically to the language before the court. Estates at
Desert Ridge Trails Home- owners’ Ass'n V.
Vazquez,N.M.300 P.3d 736 (Ct. App. 2013).

provision showed that the agreement was one-sided because
the arbitration agreement exempted the most likely claims the
nursing home would bring against a resident for
guardianship, collection, and eviction under Subsection G of
this section. Figueroa v. THI of N.M. at Casa Arena Blanca
LLC,N.M.,P.3d (Ct. App. July 18, 2012).

the tenant was required to pay the fair rental value of the
premises as they existed during these months, under 47-8-15
NMSA 1978 and defined by 47-8-3 NMSA 1978, Inc. v.
Rhudy, 96 N.M. 354, 630 P.2d 753 (1981).




47-8-4 Principles oflaw and equity

Unless displaced by the provisions of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1
NMSA 1978], the principles of law and equity, including the law relating to capacity to
contract, mutuality of obligations, equitable abatement, principal and agent, real
property, public health, safety and fire prevention, estoppel, fraud, misrepresentation,
duress, coercion, mistake, bankruptcy or other validating or invalidating cause
supplement its provisions.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-4, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, §4; 1995, ch. 195, § 3

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross-reference — Breach of agreement by resident
and relief by owner, 47-8-33 NMSA 1978.

47-8-5 General act

The Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] being a general act
is intended as a unified coverage of its subject matter, and no part of it is to be construed
as impliedly repealed by subsequent legislation if that construction can reasonably be
avoided.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-5, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, §5.

47-8-6 Recovery of damages

A. The remedies provided by the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act
[47-8-1 NMSA 1978] shall be so administered that the aggrieved party
may recover damages as provided in the Uniform Owner-Resident
Relations Act. The aggrieved party has a duty to mitigate damages.

Any right or obligation declared by the Uniform Owner-Resident Rela-
tions Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] is enforceable by action unless the
provision declaring it specifies a different and limited effect.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-6, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38,86

47-8-7 Provision for agreement

A claim or right arising under the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1
NMSA 1978] or on a rental agreement may be settled by agreement.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-7, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38,87




47-8-8 Rights, obligations and remedies

The Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] applies to, regulates
and determines rights, obligations and remedies under a rental agreement, wherever
made, for a dwelling unit located within this state.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-8, enacted by Laws 1975, ch. 38, § 8

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Generally

Incidental to employment

Generally

(Unpublished) Where 47-8-8 NMSA 1978 in the Uniform
Resident Relation Act, 47-8-1 et seq. NMSA 1978, stated that
the Act only applied when a landlord-tenant relationship
existed, the Act did not provide any basis of relief to the

Incidental to employment
(Unpublished) Where a tenant’s occupation of premises was

private employee regarding the police-assisted removal of
him from the barn in which he was living as an incident of
his employment for the employer since the employee was not
a tenant because he did not pay rent or any other expenses
and because he did not have an oral or a written lease. Collins
v. Storment, 1993 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 20156, Civ. No. 91-
1010-HB (D.N.M. Apr. 23, 1993).

47-8-8 NMSA 1978, was inapplicable to the tenant’s claim of
illegal eviction against certain law enforcement officers.

Collins v. Storment, 1993 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 20156, Civ. No.
91-1010-HB (D.N.M. Apr. 23, 1993)

incidental to his employment, the relationship of landlord and
tenant did not exist and the Uniform Resident Relation Act,

47-8-9 Exemptions

Unless created to avoid the application of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations
Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978], the following arrangements are exempted by that act:

A. Residence at an institution, public or private, if incidental to detention or
the provision of medical, geriatric, counseling, religious, educational
when room and board are an entity or similar service;

Occupancy under a contract of sale of a dwelling unit or the property of
which it is part, if the occupant is the purchaser or a person who succeeds to
his interest;

Occupancy by a member of a fraternal or social organization in the
portion of a structure operated for the benefit of the organization;

Transient occupancy in a hotel or motel;

Occupancy by an employee of an owner pursuant to a written rental or
employment agreement that specifies the employee’s right to occupancy is
conditional upon employment in and about the premises; and

Occupancy under a rental agreement covering premises used by the
occupant primarily foragricultural purposes.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-9, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, §9; 1995, ch. 195, § 4.

47-8-10 Judicial jurisdiction

A. The district or magistrate court of this state may exercise jurisdiction
over any person with respect to any conduct in this state governed by
the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] or with
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respect to any claim arising from a transaction subject to this act for a
dwelling unit located within its jurisdictional boundaries. In addition to
any other method provided by rule or by statute, personal jurisdiction
over a person may be acquired in a civil action or proceeding instituted
in the district or magistrate court by the service of process in the manner
provided by this section.

If a person is not a resident of this state or is a corporation not authorized to
do business in this state and engages in any conduct in this state governed
by the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978], or
engages in a transaction subject to this act, he may designate an agent
upon whom service of process may be made in this state. The agent shall
be a resident of this state or a corporation authorized to do business in
this state. The designation shall be in writing and shall be filed with the
secretary of state. If no designation is made and filed or if process cannot
be served in this state upon the designated agent, process may be served
upon the secretary of state, but service upon him is not effective unless
the plaintiff or petitioner immediately mails a copy of the process and
pleading by registered or certified mail to the defendant or respondent at
his last reasonably ascertainable address. An affidavit of compliance with
this section shall be filed with the clerk of the court on or before the return
day of the process, if any, or within any further time the court allows.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-10, enacted by Laws 1975,
ch. 38, § 10.

47-8-11 Obligation of good faith

Every duty under the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] and
every act which must be performed as a condition precedent to the exercise of a right or
remedy under the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act imposes an obligation of good
faith in its performance or enforcement.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-11, enacted by Laws 1975,
ch. 38, §11.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Reasonableness commercial transaction to be guided by right dealing and
Reversal of decision that found lessor had right to refuse to fairness. Boss Barbara, Inc. v. Newbill, 97 N.M. 239, 638
allow sublease but could only do so reasonably and in good P.2d 1084 (1982)

faith was improper because 47-8-11 NMSA 1978 required

47-8-12 Inequitable agreement provision

A. If the court, as a matter of law, finds that any provision of a rental
agreement was inequitable when made, the court may limit the application
of such inequitable provisions to avoid an inequitable result.

If inequitability is put into issue by a party to the rental agreement, the
parties to the rental agreement shall be afforded a reasonable opportunity
to present evidence as to the setting, purpose and effect of the rental
agreement, or settlement, to aid the court in making determination.




History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-12, enacted by Laws 1975,
ch. 38, 8 12.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Generally
Review — Standards

Generally

In an action brought by a lessee against a lessor to recover a
security deposit, the trial court’s conclusion that the lessee
should not be forced to pay $850 per month where the
apartment in question was occupied by another party at

Review — Standards

Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act, 47- 8-1 NMSA 1978
et seq., specifically 47-8-12 NMSA 1978, modifies common
law unconscionability principles by allowing a trial court in
its discretion to make a determination of the underlying
fairness of a rental agreement when made and by allowing

47-8-13 Service of notice

A. A person has notice of a fact if:

(1) He has actual knowledge of it;

fair market value throughout the duration of the lease was
appropriate; there was authority and substantial evidence
upon which the trial court could have found that the lessee’s
agreement to pay $850 per month, $125 over the market
value, was inequitable and should not have been enforced.
Ramirez-Eames v. Hover, 108 N.M. 520, 775 P.2d 722
(1989)

selective enforcement of the contract to bring about an
equitable result. However, appellate courts should not be de
novo courts of equity in landlord-tenant disputes and should
uphold the trial court’s determination if it is supported by
substantial evidence. Ramirez-eames v. Hover, 108 N.M.
520, 775 P.2d 722 (1989).

(2) He has received a notice or notification of it; or

(3) From all facts and circumstances known to him at the time
in question he has reason to know that it exists.

B. A person notifies or gives a notice or notification to another by taking
steps reasonably calculated to inform the other in ordinary course, whether
or not the other actually comes to know of it.

A person receives a notice or notification:

(1) When it comes to his attention;

(2) Where written notice to the owner is required, when it is mailed
or otherwise delivered at the place of business of the owner through
which the rental agreement was made or at any place held out by him
as the place for receipt of the communication; or

(3) If written notice to the resident is required, when it is delivered
in hand to the resident or mailed to him at the place held out by him as
the place for receipt of the communication, or in the absence of such
designation, to his last known place of residence.

Notwithstanding any other provisions of this section, notice to a resident
for nonpayment of rent shall be effective only when hand delivered or
mailed to the resident or posted on an exterior door of the dwelling unit.
In all other cases where written notice to the resident is required, even if
there is a notice by posting, there must also be a mailing of the notice by
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first class mail or hand delivery of the notice to the resident. The date of a
posting shall be included in any notice posted, mailed or hand delivered,
and shall constitute the effective date of the notice. A posted notice shall be
affixed to a door by taping all sides or placed in a fixture or receptacle
designed for notices or mail.

Notice, knowledge or a notice or notification received by the resident or
person is effective for a particular transaction from the time it is brought to
the attention of the resident or person conducting that transaction, and
in any event from the time it would have been brought to the resident’s
or person’s attention if the resident or person had exercised reasonable
diligence.

Where service of notice is required under the Uniform Owner-Resident
Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978], and the item is mailed but returned
as undeliverable, or where the last known address is the vacated dwelling
unit, the owner shall serve at least one additional notice if an alternative
address has been provided to the owner by the resident.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-13, enacted by Laws 1975,
ch. 38, § 13; 1995, ch. 195, § 5

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Requirements Owner-Resident Relations Act, “‘former 70-7-1, 1953 Comp.

(now 47-8-1 NMSA 1978)”’, except for the written notice
“Former 70-7-13A, 1953 Comp. (now 47-8-13 NMSA specifically required by 70-7-29, 1953 Comp. Kepler v.
1978)*’ controls any notice requirement under the Uniform Covarrubia, 91 N.M. 443, 575 P.2d 952 (1978)

47-8-14 Terms and conditions of agreement

The owner and resident may include in a rental agreement terms and conditions
not prohibited by the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978]
or other rule of law including rent, term of the agreement or other provisions governing
the rights and obligations of the parties.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-14, enacted by Laws 1975,
ch. 38, § 14.

47-8-15 Payment of rent

A. The resident shall pay rent in accordance with the rental agreement. In
the absence of an agreement, the resident shall pay as rent the fair
rental value for the use of the premises and occupancy of the dwelling
unit.

Rent is payable without demand or notice at the time and place agreed
upon by the parties. Unless otherwise agreed, rent is payable at the
dwelling unit. Unless otherwise agreed, periodic rent is payable at the
beginning of any term of one month or less and otherwise in equal
monthly installments at the beginning of each monthly period. The date of
one month to the same date of the following month shall constitute a term
of one month.
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Unless the rental agreement fixes a definite term, the residency is week-
to-week in the case of a person who pays weekly rent and in all other
cases month-to-month.

If the rental agreement provides for the charging of a late fee, and if the
resident does not pay rent in accordance with the rental agreement, the
owner may charge the resident a late fee in an amount not to exceed ten
percent of the total rent payment for each rental period that the resident
is in default. To assess a late fee, the owner shall provide notice of the late
fee charged no later than the last day of the next rental period immediately
following the period in which the default occurred.

An owner may not assess a fee from the resident for occupancy of the
dwelling unit by a reasonable number of guests for a reasonable length of
time. This shall not preclude charges for use of premises or facilities other
than the dwelling unit by guests.

An owner may increase the rent payable by the resident in a month-to-
month residency by providing written notice to the resident of the
proposed increase at least thirty days prior to the periodic rental date
specified in the rental agreement or, in the case of a fixed term residency,
at least thirty days prior to the end of the term. In the case of a periodic
residency of less than one month, written notice shall be provided at least
one rental period in advance of the first rental payment to be increased.

Unless agreed upon in writing by the owner and the resident, a resident’s
payment of rent may not be allocated to any deposits or damages.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-15, enacted by Laws 1975,
ch. 38, § 15; 1995, ch. 195, § 6.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Holdover period tenant was required to pay the fair rental value

- f the premises as they existed during these
Pursuant to 47-8-35 NMSA 1978 of the Uni- form 0 i
Owner-Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 to 47-8-51 months, under 47-8-15 NMSA 1978 and defined

NMSA 1978, a landowner was entitled to rent 254 46733-g 2?%??19%3?78” Inc. v. Rhudy, 96 N.M.
during a holdover period; because there was no ' ’ ( )-
rental agreement after a particular date, the

47-8-16 Waiver of rights prohibited

No rental agreement may provide that the resident or owner agrees to waive or to forego
rights or remedies under the law.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-16, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, § 16.

47-8-17 Unlawful agreement provision

If an owner deliberately uses a rental agreement containing provisions known by
him to be prohibited by law, the resident may recover damages sustained by him
resulting from application of the illegal provision and reasonable attorney’s fees.
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History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-17, enacted by Laws 1975, ch. 38, § 17.

47-8-18 Deposits

A. An owner is permitted to demand from the resident a reasonable deposit to
be applied by the owner to recover damages, if any, caused to the premises
by the resident during his term of residency.

(1) Under the terms of an annual rental agreement, if the owner
demands or receives of the resident such a deposit in an amount
greater than one month’s rent, the owner shall be required to pay to
the resident annually an interest equal to the passbook interest
permitted to savings and loan associations in this state by the federal
home loan bank board on such deposit.

(2) Under the terms of a rental agreement of duration less than one
year, an owner shall not demand or receive from the resident such a
depositin an amount in excess of one month’s rent.

It is not the intention of this section to include the last month’s prepaid
rent, which may be required by the rental agreement as a deposit as defined
in Subsection D [E] of Section 47-8-3 NMSA 1978. Any deposit as
defined in Paragraph (1) of Subsection A of this section shall not be
construed as prepaid rent.

Upon termination of the residency, property or money held by the owner as
deposits may be applied by the owner to the payment of rent and the amount
of damages which the owner has suffered by reason of the resident’s
noncompliance with the rental agreement or Section 47-8-22 NMSA 1978.
No deposit shall be retained to cover normal wear and tear. In the
event actual cause exists for retaining any portion of the deposit, the
owner shall provide the resident with an itemized written list of the
deductions from the deposit and the balance of the deposit, if any, within
thirty days of the date of termination of the rental agreement or resident
departure, whichever is later. The owner is deemed to have complied with
this section by mailing the statement and any payment required to the
last known address of the resident. Nothing in this section shall preclude
the owner from retaining portions of the deposit for nonpayment of rent
or utilities, repair work or other legitimate damages.

If the owner fails to provide the resident with a written statement of
deductions from the deposit and the balance shown by the statement to be
due, within thirty days of the termination of the tenancy, the owner:

(1) Shall forfeit the right to withhold any portion of the deposit;

(2) Shall forfeit the right to assert any counterclaim in any
action brought to recover that deposit;

(3)Shall be liable to the resident for court costs and
reasonable attorneys’ fees; and




(4) shall forfeit the right to assert an independent action against
the resident for damages to the rental property.

E. An owner who in bad faith retains a deposit in violation of this section is
liable for a civil penalty in the amount of two hundred fifty dollars
($250) payable to the resident.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-18, enacted by Laws 1975,
ch. 38, § 18; 1985, ch. 146, § 2; 1989, ch. 340, § 2.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Breach of agreement by
owner and relief by resident, 47-8-27.1 NMSA
1978.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Generally
Attorney fees
Breach of lease

Generally

In a landlord-tenant dispute, the trial court did not err in
granting directed verdicts on the claims for interest and for
conversion since there was no security deposit upon which
interest could accrue or conversion could be committed
because no reasonable jury could have found that $50,000
was merely a security deposit; 47-8-18A NMSA 1978
required the deposit to be reasonable and there would have
been no circumstance under which a landlord would ask
for, or a tenant would agree to, a security deposit that was
nearly 32 times greater than the monthly rent. Hedicke v.
Gunville, 2003-NMCA-032, 133 N.M. 335, 62 d 1217,
cert. denied, 133 N.M. 413, 63 P.3d 516 (2003). Landlord
was entitled to apply tenant’s security deposit to tenant’s
unpaid rent without sending a written itemization where
tenant failed to provide landlord with 30 days’ notice of his
intent to terminate their rental agreement as required by
47-8-37 NMSA 1978.

Bruce v. Attaway, 1996-NMSC-030, 121 N.M. 755, 918 P.2d
341. If a landlord does not provide a former tenant with an
itemized listing of damages to the property within 30 days of
vacancy, the landlord forfeits any right to withhold any
portion of the deposit or to file suit for the alleged damages to
the property. Bruce v. Attaway, 1996-NMSC-030, 121 N.M.
755, 918 P.2d 341. Section 47-8-18D NMSA 1978 provides
that if an owner fails to provide a resident with a written
statement of deductions from a de- posit and the balance

Attorney fees

Landlord, who did not comply with the requirement of 47-8-
18 NMSA 1978 to give an itemized account of damages
pursuant to 47- 8-22 NMSA 1978, forfeited the deposit and

Breach of lease

Metropolitan court committed legal error by terminating a
lease under the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher
Program, 42 U.S.C.S. § 1437f(0), because the tenant failed to
timely pay rent for two months and delayed in the payment of
a portion of her security deposit under Subsection A of this
section. Under the terms of the lease, no date was identified

shown by the statement to be due, within 30 days of the
termination of the tenancy, the owner shall forfeit the right to
withhold any portion of the deposit, shall forfeit the right to
assert any counterclaim in any action brought to recover that
deposit, shall be liable to the resident for court costs and
reasonable attorneys’ fees, and shall forfeit the right to assert
an independent action against the resident for damages to the
rental property. Bruce v. Attaway, 1996-NMSC-030, 121
N.M. 755, 918 P.2d 341. Owner is deemed to have complied
with 47- 8-18C NMSA 1978 by mailing a statement and any
payment required to the last known address of resident;
nothing in 47-8-18 NMSA 1978 shall preclude an owner
from retaining portions of a deposit for nonpayment of rent or
utilities, repair work, or other legitimate damages. Bruce v.
Attaway, 1996-NMSC-030, 121 N.M. 755, 918 P.2d 341.

Section 47-8-18C NMSA 1978 provides that upon
termination of residency, property or money held by the
owner as deposits may be applied by the owner to the
payment of rent and the amount of damages which the owner
has suffered by reason of the resident’s non-compliance with
the rental agreement or of 47-8-22 NMSA 1978; no deposit
shall be retained to cover normal wear and tear, and in the
event actual cause exists for retaining any portion of the
deposit, the owner shall provide the resident with an itemized
written list of the deductions from the deposit and the balance
of the deposit, if any, within 30 days of the date of
termination of the rental agreement or resident departure,
whichever is later. Bruce v. Attaway, 1996-NMSC-030, 121
N.M. 755, 918 P.2d 341.

the rights to recover additional damages, and owed the tenant
attorney fees pursuant to 47-8- 18D(3) NMSA 1978. Garcia
v. Thong, 119 N.M. 704, 895 P.2d 226 (1995).

regarding when the tenant would pay the security deposit or
whether partial payments could be made; given the
ambiguous language of the lease and the lack of any evidence
identifying a significant or materially adverse effect on
landlord, he could not establish a serious violation based
upon the tenant’s three-month delay in paying the balance of
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the security deposit. Serna v. Gutierrez, 2013-NMCA-026, |  N.M.,297 P.3d 1238.

47-8-19 Owner disclosure

A.

The owner or any person authorized to enter into a rental agreement on
his behalf shall disclose to the resident in writing at or before the
commencement of the residency the name, address and telephone number
of:

(1) The person authorized to manage the premises; and

(2) An owner of the premises or a person authorized to act for and
on behalf of the owner for the purpose of service of process and for the
purpose of receiving and receipting for notices and demands.

The information required to be furnished by this section shall be kept
current, and this section extends to and is enforceable against any
successor, owner or manager.

A person designated under Paragraph (2) of Subsection A of this section
becomes an agent of each person who is an owner for the purpose of service
of process and receiving and receipting for notices and demands. A
person designated under Paragraph (1) of Subsection A of this section
becomes an agent of each person who is an owner for the purpose of
performing the obligations of the owner under the Uniform Owner-
Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] and under the rental
agreement.

Failure of the owner to comply with this section shall relieve the resident
from the obligation to provide notice to the owner as required by the
Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act[47-8-1 NMSA 1978].

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-19, enacted by Laws 1975,
ch. 38, § 19; 1995, ch. 195,8 7.




47-8-20 Obligations of owner

A. The owner shall:

(1) Substantially comply with requirements of the applicable
minimum housing codes materially affecting health and safety;

(2) Make repairs and do whatever is necessary to put and keep
the premises in a safe condition as provided by applicable law and
rules and regulations as provided in Section 47-8-23 NMSA 1978;

(3) Keep common areas of the premises in a safe condition;

(4) Maintain in good and safe working order and condition
electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating, air conditioning
and other facilities and appliances, including elevators, if any, supplied
or required to be supplied by him;

(5) Provide and maintain appropriate receptacles and conveniences
for the removal of ashes, garbage, rubbish and other waste
incidental to the occupancy of the dwelling unit and arrange for their
removal from the appropriate receptacle; and

(6) Supply running water and a reasonable amount of hot water at
all times and reasonable heat, except where the building that includes
the dwelling unit is not required by law to be equipped for that
purpose or the dwelling unit is so constructed that heat or hot
water is generated by an installation within the exclusive control of
the resident and supplied by a direct public utility connection.

If there exists a minimum housing code applicable to the premises, the
owner’s maximum duty under this section shall be determined by
Paragraph (1) of Subsection A of this section. The obligations imposed by
this section are not intended to change existing tort law in the state.

The owner and resident of a single family residence may agree that the
resident perform the owner’s duties specified in Paragraphs (5) and (6)
of Subsection A of this section and also specified repairs, maintenance
tasks, alterations and remodeling, but only if the transaction is in writing,
for consideration, entered into in good faith and not for the purpose of
evading the obligations of the owner.

The owner and resident of a dwelling unit other than a single family
residence may agree that the resident is to perform specified repairs,
maintenance tasks, alterations or remodeling only if:

(1) The agreement of the parties is entered into in good faith and not
for the purpose of evading the obligations of the owner and is set
forth in a separate writing signed by the parties and supported by
consideration; and
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(2) The agreement does not diminish or affect the obligation of the
owner to other residents in the premises.

Notwithstanding any provision of this section, an owner may arrange
with a resident to perform the obligations of the owner. Any such
arrangement between the owner and the resident will not serve to
diminish the owner’s obligations as set forth in this section, nor shall the
failure of the resident to perform the obligations of the owner serve as a
basis for eviction or in any way be considered a material breach by the
resident of his obligations under the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations
Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] or the rental agreement.

In multi-unit housing, if there is separate utility metering for each unit,
the resident shall receive a copy of the utility bill for his unit upon
request made to the owner or his agent. If the unit is sub-metered, the
resident shall then be entitled to receive a copy of the apartment’s utility
bill. When utility bills for common areas are separately apportioned
between units and the costs are passed on to the residents of each unit,
each resident may, upon request, receive a copy of all utility bills being
apportioned. The calculations used as the basis for apportioning the cost of
utilities for common areas and sub-metered apartments shall be made
available to any resident upon request. The portion of the common area
cost that would be allocated to an empty unit if it were occupied shall
not be allocated to the remaining residents. It is solely the owner’s
responsibility to supply the items and information in this subsection to the
resident upon request. The owner may charge an administrative fee not to
exceed five dollars ($5.00) for each monthly request of the items in
this subsection.

The owner shall provide a written rental agreement to each resident
prior to the beginning of occupancy.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-20, enacted by Laws 1975, ch. 38, § 20; 1987, ch. 297, § 1; 1989, ch. 340, § 3; 1999, ch. 91, § 2.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross-reference — Delivery of possession, 47-8-26 27.2 NMSA 1978. Owner retaliation prohibited,47-8-39
NMSA 1978. Breach of agreement by owner and relief NMSA 1978. Action for possession by owner, 47-8-40
by resident, 47-8-27.1 NMSA 1978. Abatement, 47-8- NMSA 1978.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Applicability right to abate rent because the landlord did not supply
Burden of proof reasonable heat for his rental unit was remanded to the trial
Construction with other law court for determination of the applicability of 47-8-20 NMSA
Negligence 1978 of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1
Negligence per se to 47-8-51 NMSA 1978, which encompassed the issue and
Statute of limitations which was adopted after the court held that there was no
implied warranty of habitability in New Mexico. TW.L.W.,
Applicability Inc. v. Rhudy, 96 N.M. 354, 630 P.2d 753 (1981).

Contention of a tenant that the implied warranty of
habitability was in effect in New Mexico and that he had a

Burden of proof exists that exempts him from providing reasonable heat for a
Section 47-8-20A(6), B NMSA 1978 of the Uniform Owner- tenant. T.W.L.W.,Inc. v. Rhudy, 96 N.M. 354, 630 P.2d 753
Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 to 47-8-51 NMSA 1978, (1981).

places the burden upon the landlord to show that a law




Construction with other law

Section 47-8-20A(1),B of the Uniform Owner-Resident
Relations Act, 47-8-1 to 47-8-51 NMSA 1978, require
owners to comply with housing and building codes; Section
47-8- 20A(2) — (6) NMSA 1978 remain as minimum
standards if there is no applicable code. It does not make
sense to read 47-8-20A (6)NMSA 1978 as requiring

Negligence
A landlord owed a duty to his tenant, an eight-year-old child,
to keep a fence that he erected around a common playground

Negligence per se

In a negligence action against landlord by tenant whose son
was injured when he fell through a gap in a balcony railing,
trial court properly refused to hold landlord to higher
standard than that of ordinary care, and refused tenant’s

Statute of limitations

Where the tenant waited three years after he moved out of
the rental property before suing the landlords for
negligence in connection with mold and for a violation of
their obligations under Subsection A(1)-(4), the tenant’s
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reasonable heat unless there is a law requiring it and if a
housing or building code applied, the court would never get
to 47-8-20A(6) NMSA 1978 because 47-8-20A(1) NMSA
1978 would apply and this would make 47-8-20A(6) NMSA
1978 mere surplusage. T.W.L.W., Inc. v. Rhudy, 96 N.M.
354, 630 P.2d 753 (1981).

area in reasonably safe condition. Calkins v. Cox Estates, 110
N.M. 59, 792 P.2d 36 (1990).

proffered negligence per se instruction. Heath v. La
Mariana Apts., 2007- NMCA-003, 141 N.M. 131,151 P.3d
903, aff ’d in part, rev’d in part on other grounds, 2008-
NMSC-017, 143 N.M. 657, 180 P.3d 664, 2008 LEXIS
188

discovery rule, the tenant’s cause of action accrued no later
than the day he vacated the home; at that time, the tenant
knew there was mold in the home, believed that the mold
was causing his symptoms, and had been informed that
mold could be dangerous to humans. Gerke v. Romero,

claim was barred by the applicable three-year statute of 2010-NMCA-060, 148 N.M. 367, 237 P.3d 111

limitations set forth in 37-1-8 NMSA 1978. Applying the

RESEARCH REFERENCES

Quality Pontiac, Quinn M. Bumgarner-Kirby, 34 N.M.L.
Rev. 433 (2004).

New Mexico Law Review
Note: The Continuing Debate Over Tort Duty in New
Mexico: The Role of Foreseeability and Policy in Herrera v.

47-8-21 Relief of owner liability
A,

Unless otherwise agreed, upon termination of the owner’s interest in the
dwelling unit, including but not limited to terminations of interest by
sale, assignment, death, bankruptcy, appointment of receiver or otherwise,
the owner is relieved of all liability under the rental agreement and of all
obligations under the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1
NMSA 1978] as to events occurring subsequent to written notice to the
resident of the termination of the owner’s interest. The successor in
interest to the owner shall be liable for all obligations under the rental
agreement or under the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act. Upon
receipt by the resident of written notice of the termination of the owner’s
interest in the dwelling unit, the resident shall pay all future rental
payments, when due, to the successor in interest to the owner.

Unless otherwise agreed, a manager of premises that include a dwelling
unit is relieved of liability under the rental agreement and the Uniform
Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] as to events occurring
after written notice to the resident of the termination of his management.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-21, enacted by Laws
1975, ch. 38, § 21.
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47-8-22 Obligations of resident

The resident shall:

A. Comply with obligations imposed upon residents by applicable
minimum standards of housing codes materially affecting health
or safety;

Keep that part of the premises that he occupies and uses as clean
and safe as the condition of the premises permit, and, upon
termination of the residency, place the dwelling unit in as clean
condition, excepting ordinary wear and tear, as when residency
commenced;

Dispose from his dwelling unit all ashes, rubbish, garbage and
other waste in a clean and safe manner;

Keep all plumbing fixtures in the dwelling unit or used by
the resident as clean as their condition permits;

Use in a reasonable manner all electrical, plumbing, sanitary,
heating, ventilation, air conditioning and other facilities and
appliances including elevators, if any, in the premises;

Not deliberately or negligently destroy, deface, damage, impair
or remove any part of the premises or knowingly permit any
person to do so;

Conduct himself and require other persons on the premises with
his consent to conduct themselves in a manner that will not disturb
his neighbors’ peaceful enjoyment of the premises;

Abide by all bylaws, covenants, rules or regulations of any
applicable condominium regime, cooperative housing agreement or
neighborhood association not inconsistent with owner’s rights or
duties; and

Not knowingly commit or consent to any other person
knowingly committing a substantial violation.

History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-22, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, 822; 1995, ch. 195, §8
STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Deposits, 47-8-18 NMSA 1978. 33 NMSA 1978. Prevailing party rights in law suit; civil
Breach of agreement by resident and relief by owner, 47-8- penalties, 47-8-48 NMSA 1978.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Damages the rights to recover additional damages, and owed the tenant
Landlord, who did not comply with the requirement of 47-8- attorney fees pursuant to 47-8- 18D(3) NMSA 1978. Garcia
18 NMSA 1978 to give an itemized account of damages v. Thong, 119 N.M.704, 895 P.2d 226 (1995).
pursuant to 47- 8-22 NMSA 1978, forfeited the deposit and




47-8-23 Application of rules or regulations

An owner, from time to time, may adopt rules or regulations, however described,
concerning the resident’s use and occupancy of the premises. They are enforceable as
provided in Section 47-8-33 NMSA 1978 against the resident only if:

A. Their purpose is to promote the appearance, convenience, safety or
welfare of the residents in the premises, preserve the owner’s property
from abusive use or make a fair distribution of services and facilities held
out for the residents generally;

They are reasonably related to the purpose for which they are adopted;
They apply to all residents in the premises in a fair manner;

They are sufficiently explicit in their prohibition, direction or limitation of
the resident’s conduct to fairly inform him of what he must or must not do
tocomply;

They are not for the purpose of evading the obligations of the owner;

And the resident is presented with copies of existing rules and regulations at
the time he enters into the rental agreement and is presented notice of
amendments to the rules and regulations and rules and regulations
adopted subsequent to the time he enters into the rental agreement. A
rule or regulation adopted after the resident enters into the rental
agreement is enforceable against the resident if reasonable notice of its
adoption is given to the resident and it does not work a substantial
modification of his bargain.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-23, enacted by Laws 1975, ch. 38, § 23; 1995, ch. 195, § 9.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Definitions, 47-8-3 NMSA 1978.
Obligations of owner, 47-8-20 NMSA 1978.

47-8-24 Right of entry

A. The resident shall, in accordance with provisions of the rental agreement
and notice provisions as provided in this section, consent to the owner to
enter into the dwelling unit in order to inspect the premises, make
necessary or agreed repairs, decorations, alterations or improvements,
supply necessary or agreed services or exhibit the dwelling unit to
prospective or actual purchasers, mortgagees, prospective residents,
workmen or contractors; provided that:

(1) Unless otherwise agreed upon by the owner and resident, the
owner may enter the resident’s dwelling unit pursuant to this
subsection only after giving the resident twenty-four hours written
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notification of his intent to enter, the purpose for entry and the date and
reasonable estimate of the time frame of the entry;

(2) This subsection is not applicable to entry by the owner to
perform repairs or services within seven days of a request by the
resident or when the owner is accompanied by a public official
conducting an inspection or a cable television, electric, gas or
telephone company representative; and

(3) Where the resident gives reasonable prior notice and alternate
times or dates for entry and it is practicable or will not result in
economic detriment to the owner, then the owner shall attempt to
reasonably accommodate the alternate time of entry.

The owner may enter the dwelling unit without consent of the resident in
case of an emergency.

The owner shall not abuse the right of access.

The owner has no other right of access except by court order, as permitted by
this section if the resident has abandoned or surrendered the premises or if
the resident has been absent from the premises more than seven days,
as permitted in Section 47-8-34 NMSA 1978.

If the resident refuses to allow lawful access, the owner may obtain
injunctive relief to compel access or terminate the rental agreement. In
either case, the owner may recover damages.

If the owner makes an unlawful entry, or a lawful entry in an unreason-
able manner, or makes repeated demands for entry that are otherwise
lawful but that have the effect of unreasonably interfering with the
resident’s quiet enjoyment of the dwelling unit, the resident may obtain
injunctive relief to prevent the recurrence of the conduct or terminate
the rental agreement. In either case, the resident may recover damages.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-24, enacted by Laws 1975,
ch. 38, § 24; 1995, ch. 195, § 10.

47-8-25 Use ofdwelling unitlimited

Unless otherwise agreed, the resident shall occupy his dwelling unit only as a dwelling
unit and in compliance with terms and conditions of the rental agreement. The
rental agreement may require that the resident notify the owner of any anticipated
extended absence from the premises in excess of seven days no later than the first day
of the extended absence.

History: 1953 Comp., 8 70-7-25, enacted by Laws
1975, ch. 38, § 25

47-8-26 Delivery of possession

A. At the time specified in the rental agreement for the commencement of
occupancy, the owner shall deliver possession of the premises to the
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resident in compliance with the rental agreement and Section 47-8-20
NMSA 1978. The owner may bring an action for possession against the
resident or any person wrongfully in possession and may recover the
damages provided in Subsection F of Section 47-8-33 NMSA 1978.

If the owner fails to deliver possession of the premises to the prospective
resident as provided in Subsection A of this section, one hundred percent of
the rent abates until possession is delivered and the prospective resident
may:

(1) Upon written notice to the owner, terminate the rental
agreement effective immediately. Upon termination the owner shall
return all prepaid rent and deposits; or

(2) Demand performance of the rental agreement by the owner and,
if the prospective resident elects, maintain an action for possession of
the premises against any person wrongfully withholding possession
and recover the damages sustained by him and seek the remedies
provided in Section 47-8-48 NMSA 1978.

If the owner makes reasonable efforts to obtain possession of the
premises and returns prepaid rents, deposits and fees within seven days
of receiving a prospective resident’s notice of termination, the owner shall
not be liable for damages under this section.

History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-26, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, §26; 1999, ch. 91, § 3.

47-8-27 Repealed
STATUTORY NOTES

Repeals — Laws 1995, ch. 195 § 27, repeals this section,
as last affected by Laws 1975, ch. 38, § 27, relating to
owner-resident relations and noncompliance by the owner.

47-8-27.1 Breach of agreement by owner and relief by
resident

A. Upon the failure of the owner to perform his obligations as required by
Section 47-8-20 NMSA 1978, the resident shall give written notice to the
owner specifying the breach and:

(1) If there is a material noncompliance by the owner with the
rental agreement or a noncompliance with the Uniform Owner-
Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] materially affecting
health and safety, the resident shall deliver a written notice to the
owner specifying the acts and omissions constituting the breach. The
notice shall state that the rental agreement will terminate upon a date
not less than seven days after receipt of the notice if a reasonable
attempt to remedy the breach is not made in seven days, and the
rental agreement shall terminate as provided in the notice. If the owner
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makes a reasonable attempt to adequately remedy the breach prior to
the date specified in the notice, the rental agreement shall not
terminate. If the rental agreement is terminated by the resident and
possession restored to the owner, the owner shall return the balance, if
any, of prepaid rent and deposit to which the resident is entitled
pursuant to the rental agreement or Section 47-8-18 NMSA 1978; or

(2) The resident may be entitled to abatement of the rent as provided
in Section 47-8-27.2 NMSA 1978.

The rights provided under this section do not arise if the condition was
caused by the deliberate or negligent act or omission of the resident, a
member of his family or other person on the premises with his consent. If
the noncompliance with the rental agreement or with Section 47-8-20
NMSA 1978 results solely from circumstances beyond the owner’s
control, the resident is entitled only to those remedies set forth in
Paragraph (1) or (2) of this subsection and is not entitled to an action
for damages or injunctive relief against the owner.

The resident may also recover damages and obtain injunctive relief for
any material noncompliance by the owner with the rental agreement or
the provisions of Section 47-8-20 NMSA 1978. The remedy provided
in this subsection is in addition to any right of the resident arising under
Subsection A of this section.

If the resident proceeds under Paragraph (1) of Subsection A of this
section, he shall not proceed under Paragraph (2) of Subsection A of this
section in the same rental period for the same violation. If the resident
proceeds under Paragraph (2) of Subsection A of this section, he shall
not proceed under Paragraph (1) of Subsection A of this section in the
same rental period for the same violation. A resident may, however,
proceed under another paragraph of Subsection A of this section for a
subsequent violation or the same violation that occurs in subsequent
rental periods.

When the last day for remedying any breach pursuant to the written
notice required under the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-
8-1 NMSA 1978] occurs on a weekend or federal holiday, the period to
remedy shall be extended until the next day that is not a weekend or
federal holiday.

History: 1978 Comp., §47-8-27.1, enacted by Laws
1995, ch. 195, §11.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Owner retaliation prohibited, 47-8-39
NMSA 1978.




Notice.

Where the resident did not give written no tice of deficiencies

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

of rent and the trial court erred by abating after finding only

to the landowner, the resident was not eligible for abatement Covarrubia, 91 N.M. 443575 P.2d 952

47-8-27.2 Abatement

A.

If there is a violation of Subsection A of Section 47-8-20 NMSA 1978,
other than a failure or defect in an amenity, the resident shall give
written notice to the owner of the conditions needing repair. If the
owner does not remedy the conditions set out in the notice within seven
days of the notice, the resident is entitled to abate rent as set forth below:

(1) One-third of the pro-rata daily rent for each day from the date
the resident notified the owner of the conditions needing repair,
through the day the conditions in the notice are remedied. If the
conditions complained of continue to exist without remedy through
any portion of a subsequent rental period, the resident may abate
at the same rate for each day that the conditions are not
remedied; and

(2) One hundred percent of the rent for each day from the date
the resident notified the owner of the conditions needing repair until
the date the breach is cured if the dwelling is uninhabitable and the
resident does not inhabit the dwelling unit as a result of the
condition.

For each rental period in which there is a violation under Subsection A of
this section, the resident may abate the rent or may choose an
alternate remedy in accordance with the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations
Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978]. The choice of one remedy shall not preclude
the use of an alternate remedy for the same violation in a subsequent
rental period.

If the resident’s rent is subsidized in whole or in part by a government
agency, the abatement limitation of one month’s rent shall mean the
total monthly rent paid for the dwelling and not the portion of the rent
that the resident alone pays. Where there is a third party payer, either the
payer or the resident may authorize the remedy and may abate rent
payments as provided in this section.

Nothing in this section shall limit a court in its discretion to apply
equitable abatement.

Nothing in this section shall entitle the resident to abate rent for the
unavailability of an amenity.

History: 1978 Comp., 847-8-27.2, enacted by Laws
1995, ch. 195, §12; 1999, ch. 91, §4

that the landowner had actual notice of deficiencies. Kepler v.

(1978)




144

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Breach of agreement by owner and relief resident and relief by owner, 47-8-33 NMSA1978. Owner
by resident, 47-8-27.1 NMSA 1978. Breach of agreement by retaliation prohibited, 47-8-39 NMSA 1978.

47-8-28 Repealed

STATUTORY NOTES

Repeals — Laws 1999, ch. 91, §8 repeals this section, as last
affected by Laws 1975, ch.38, §28, relating to owner-resident
relations, failure to deliver possession.

47-8-29 Repealed

STATUTORY NOTES

Repeals — Laws 1995, ch. 195 § 27, repeals this section, as
last affected by Laws 1975, ch. 38, §29, relating to owner-
resident relations and resident rights in the event of breach.

47-8-30 Action for counterclaim for resident

A. In an action for possession based upon nonpayment of rent or in an action
for rent where the resident is in possession, the resident may counterclaim
for any amount which he may recover under the rental agreement or the
Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978], providing
that the resident shall be responsible for payment to the owner of the rent
specified in the rental agreement during his period of possession. Judgment
shall be entered in accordance with the facts of the case.

If the defense or counterclaim by the resident is without merit and is not
raised in good faith, the owner may recover reasonable attorney’s fees and
his court costs.

If the action or reply to the counterclaim is without merit and is not in
good faith, the resident may recover reasonable attorney’s fees and his
court costs.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-30, enacted by Laws
1975, ch. 38, § 30.

47-8-31 Resident rights following fire or casualty

A. If the dwelling unit or premises are damaged or destroyed by fire or
casualty to an extent that enjoyment of the dwelling unit is
substantially impaired, the resident may:

(1) Vacate the premises and notify the owner in writing within
seven days thereafter of his intention to terminate the rental
agreement, in which case the rental agreement terminates as of the
date of vacating; or
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(2) If continued occupancy is lawful, vacate any part of the dwelling
unit rendered unusable by the fire or casualty, in which case the
resident’s liability for rent is reduced in proportion to the diminution in
the fair rental value of the dwelling unit.

If the rental agreement is terminated, the owner shall return the balance,
if any, [of] prepaid rent and deposits recoverable under Section 18 [47-
8-18 NMSA 1978] of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act. Account-
ing for rent, in the event of termination or apportionment, is to occur as of
the date of the vacation. Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the
resident is responsible for damage caused by his negligence.

History: 1953 Comp., 8§70-7-31, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38,831

47-8-32 Repealed

STATUTORY NOTES

Repeals — Laws 1995, ch. 195 8§27, repeals this section, as
last affected by Laws 1975, ch. 38, 832, relating to owner-
resident relations and injunctive relief.

47-8-33 Breach of agreement by resident and relief by
owner

A. Except as provided in the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1
NMSA 1978], if there is noncompliance with Section 47-8-22 NMSA
1978 materially affecting health and safety or upon the initial material
non-compliance by the resident with the rental agreement or any separate
agreement, the owner shall deliver a written notice to the resident
specifying the acts and omissions constituting the breach, including the
dates and specific facts describing the nature of the alleged breach, and
stating that the rental agreement will terminate upon a date not less than
seven days after receipt of the notice if the breach is not remedied in
seven days.

Upon the second material noncompliance with the rental agreement or
any separate agreement by the resident, within six months of the
initial breach, the owner shall deliver a written notice to the resident
specifying the acts and omissions constituting the breach, including the
dates and specific facts describing the nature of the alleged breach, and
stating that the rental agreement shall terminate upon a date not less than
seven days after receipt of the notice. If the subsequent breach occurs
more than six months after the initial breach, it shall constitute an initial
breach for purposes of applying the provisions of this section.

The initial notice provided in this section shall state that the rental
agreement will terminate upon the second material noncompliance with
the rental agreement or any separate agreement by the resident, within six
months of the initial breach. To be effective, any notice pursuant to
this subsection shall be given within thirty days of the breach or knowledge
thereof.




If rent is unpaid when due and the resident fails to pay rent within three
days after written notice from the owner of nonpayment and his intention
to terminate the rental agreement, the owner may terminate the rental
agreement and the resident shall immediately deliver possession of the
dwelling unit; provided that tender of the full amount due, in the manner
stated in the notice, prior to the expiration of the three-day notice shall
bar any action for nonpayment of rent.

In any court action for possession for nonpayment of rent or other
charges where the resident disputes the amount owed because:

(1) The resident has abated rent pursuant to Section 47-8-27.2 or 47-
8-4 NMSA1978; or

(2) The owner has allocated rent paid by the resident as payment
for damages to the premises, then, if the owner is the prevailing party,
the court shall enter a writ of restitution conditioned upon the right of
the resident to remedy within three days of entry of judgment. If the
resident has satisfied the judgment within three days, the writ shall be
dismissed. If the resident has not satisfied the judgment within three
days, the owner may execute upon the writ without further order of the
court.

Except as provided in the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1
NMSA 1978], the owner may recover damages and obtain injunctive or
other relief for any noncompliance by the resident with the rental
agreement or this section or Section 47-8-22 NMSA 1978.

In a judicial action to enforce a remedy for which prior written notice is
required, relief may be granted based only upon the grounds set forth in
the written notice served; provided, however, that this shall not bar a
defendant from raising any and all defenses or counterclaims for which
written notice is not otherwise required by the Uniform Owner-Resident
Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978].

When the last day for remedying any breach pursuant to written notice
required under the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1
NMSA 1978] occurs on a weekend or federal holiday, the period to
remedy shall be extended until the next day that is not a weekend or
federal holiday.

If the resident knowingly commits or consents to another person in the
dwelling unit or on the premises knowingly committing a substantial
violation, the owner shall deliver a written notice to the resident
specifying the time, place and nature of the act constituting the
substantial violation and that the rental agreement will terminate upon a
date not less than three days after receipt of the notice.

In any action for possession under Subsection | of this section, it shall be a
defense that the resident is a victim of domestic violence. If the resident
has filed for or secured a temporary domestic violence restraining order as
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aresult of the incident that is the basis for the termination notice or as a
result of a prior incident, the writ of restitution shall not issue. In all
other cases where domestic violence is raised as a defense, the court shall
have the discretion to evict the resident accused of the violation, while
allowing the tenancy of the remainder of the residents to continue
undisturbed.

In any action for possession under Subsection | of this section, it shall be a
defense that the resident did not know of, and could not have
reasonably known of or prevented, the commission of a substantial
violation by any other person in the dwelling unit or on the premises.

In an action for possession under Subsection | of this section, it shall be a
defense that the resident took reasonable and lawful actions in defense
of himself, others or his property.

In any action for possession under Subsection | of this section, if the
court finds that the action was frivolous or brought in bad faith, the
petitioner shall be subject to a civil penalty equal to two times the amount
of the monthly rent, plus damages and costs.

History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-33, enacted by laws 1975, ch.

38, §33; 1977, ch. 130, 81; 1995, ch. 195, §14; 1999, ch. 91,
85.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Application of rules or regulations, 47-8-
23 NMSA 1978. Delivery of possession, 47-8-26 NMSA
1978. Appeal stays execution, 47-8-47 NMSA 1978.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Payment after notice
Restitution

Payment after notice

Judgment was properly rendered in favor of a tenant in
connection with a landlord’s unlawful detainer action, which
had been brought under former 1915 Code, § 2384 after the

Restitution

In a city’s action against a tenant of a public housing unit for
a money judgment and for a writ of restitution that would
order that the premises be vacated, restitution by a qualified
indigent tenant was not mandatory and other forms of relief
were available under the New Mexico Uniform Owner-
Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 NMSA 1978, where the trial
court found that the tenant was in default on rent. City of
Albuquerque v. Brooks, 114 N.M. 572, 844 P.2d 822 (1992).

tenant failed to pay the rent at the time stipulated for the
payment thereof, because the tenant tendered his rent money
to the landlord within three days after receiving notice of
termination of the lease from the landlord as required under
former N.M. Code § 2386. El Dorado Inv. Co. v. Burrus, 28
N.M. 551, 215 P. 819 (1923)




47-8-34 Notice ofextended absence

A.

If the rental agreement requires the resident to give notice to the owner of
an anticipated extended absence in excess of seven days as required in
Subsection A of Section 3 [47-8-3 NMSA 1978] of the Uniform Owner-
Resident Relations Act and the resident willfully fails to do so, the owner
may recover damages from the resident.

During any absence of the resident in excess of seven days, the owner
may enter the dwelling unit at times reasonably necessary.

If the resident abandons the dwelling unit as defined in Subsection A of
Section 3 [47-8-3 NMSA 1978] of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations
Act, the owner shall be entitled to make immediate possession of the
dwelling unit. The owner shall, in such cases, be responsible for the
removing and storing of the personal property for such periods as are
provided by law. Upon abandonment, the owner may make reasonable
efforts to rent the dwelling unit and premises at a fair rental. If the owner
rents the dwelling unit and premises at a fair rental. If the owner rents the
dwelling unit for a term beginning prior to the expiration of the rental
agreement, it is deemed to be terminated as of the date of the new tenancy
begins.

History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-34, enacted by Laws 1975, ch. 38, §34.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Right of entry, 47-8-24 NMSA
1978.Disposition of property left on the premises, 47-8-
34.1 NMSA 1978.

47-8-34.1 Disposition of property left on the premises

A. Where the rental agreement terminates by abandonment pursuant to

Section 47-8-34 NMSA 1978:

(1) The owner shall store all personal property of the resident left on
the premises for not less than thirty days;

(2) The owner shall serve the resident with written notice stating
the owner’s intent to dispose of the personal property on a date not less
than thirty days from the date of the notice. The notice shall also
contain a telephone number and address where the resident can
reasonably contact the owner to retrieve the property prior to the
disposition date in the notice;

(3) The notice of intent to dispose of personal property shall be
person- ally delivered to the resident or be sent by first class mail,
postage prepaid, to the resident at his last known address. If the notice
is returned as undeliverable, or where the resident’s last known
address is the vacated dwelling unit, the owner shall also serve at least
one notice to such other address as has been provided to the owner by
the resident, including the address of the resident’s place of
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employment, or of a family member or emergency contact for which the
owner has a record,;

(4) The resident may contact the owner to retrieve the property at
any time prior to the date specified in the notice for disposition of the

property;

(5) The owner shall provide reasonable access and adequate
opportunities for the resident to retrieve all of the property stored
prior to any disposition; and

(6) If the resident does not claim or make attempt to retrieve the
stored personal property prior to the date specified in the notice of
disposition of the property, the owner may dispose of the stored
personal property.

Where the rental agreement terminates by the resident’s voluntary
surrender of the premises, the owner shall store any personal property on
the premises for a minimum of fourteen days from the date of surrender
of the premises. The owner shall provide reasonable access to the
resident for the purpose of the resident obtaining possession of the
personal property stored. If after fourteen days from surrender of the
premises, the resident has not retrieved all the stored personal property, the
owner may dispose of the stored personal property.

Where the rental agreement terminates by a writ of restitution, the
owner shall have no obligation to store any personal property left on
the premises after three days following execution of writ of restitution,
unless otherwise agreed by the owner and resident. The owner may
thereafter dispose of the personal property in any manner without further
notice or liability.

Where the property has a market value of less than one hundred dollars
($100), the owner has the right to dispose of the property in any manner.

Where the property has a market value of more than one hundred dollars
($100), the owner may:

(1) Sell the personal property under any provisions herein, and
the proceeds of the sale, if in excess of money due and owing to the
owner, shall be mailed to the resident at his last known address
along with an itemized statement of the amounts received and
amounts allocated to other costs, within fifteen days of the sale; or

(2) Retain the property for his own use or the use of others, in which
case the owner shall credit the account of the resident for the fair
market value of the property against any money due and owing to the
owner, and any value in excess of money due and owing shall be
mailed to the resident at his last known address along with an
itemized statement of the value allocated to the property and the
amount allocated to costs within fifteen days of the retention of the

property.
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If the last known address is the dwelling unit, the owner shall also mail at
least one copy of the accounting and notice of the sums for distribution,
to the other address, if provided to the owner by the resident, such as,
place of employment, family members, or emergency contact on record
with the owner.

An owner may charge the resident reasonable storage fees for any time
that the owner provided storage for the resident’s personal property and
the prevailing rate of moving fees. The owner may require payment of
storage and moving costs prior to the release of the property.

The owner may not hold the property for any other debts claimed due or
owning or for judgments for which an application for writ of execution has
not previously been filed. The owner may not retain exempt property
where an application for a writ of execution has been granted.

History: 1978 Comp., §47-8-34.1, enacted by Laws 1995, ch. 195, §15.

47-8-34.2 Personal property and security deposit of
deceased resident; contact person

A

As used in this section, ‘“contact person’’ means the person designated by a
resident in writing as the person to contact and release property to in
the event of the resident’s death.

The owner may request in writing, including by a requirement in the
rental agreement, that the resident:

(1) Provide the owner with the name, address and telephone number
of a contact person; and

(2) Sign a statement authorizing the owner in the event of the
resident’s death to:

(@) Grant the contact person access to the dwelling unit at
a reasonable time and in the presence of the owner or the owner’s
agent;

(b) Allow the contact person to remove the resident’s property
from the dwelling unit; and

(c) Refund the resident’s security deposit, less lawful deductions,
to the contact person.

A resident may, without request from the owner, provide the owner with
the name, address and telephone number of a contact person.

Except as provided in Subsection E of this section, in the event of the
death of a resident who is the sole occupant of a rental dwelling, the
owner:
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(1) Shall turn over possession of property in the dwelling unit to
the contact person or to any other person lawfully entitled to the
property if the request is made prior to the property being discarded
pursuant to Paragraph of this subsection;

(a) Shall refund the resident’s security deposit, less lawful
deductions, including the cost of removing and storing the property,
to the contact person or to any other person lawfully entitled to the
refund;

(b) May remove and store all property found in the dwelling unit;

(c) May require any person who removes property from the
resident’s dwelling unit to sign an inventory of the property being
removed; and

(d) May discard property removed by the owner from the
resident’s dwelling unit if:

i. The owner has mailed a written request by certified mail,
return receipt requested, to the contact person, requesting that
the property be removed,;

ii. The contact person failed to remove the property within
thirty days after the request is mailed; and

iii. The owner, prior to the date of discarding the property,
has not been contacted by anyone claiming the property.

An owner and a resident may agree to a procedure different than the
procedure in this section for removing, storing or disposing of property in
the dwelling unit of a deceased resident in a written rental agreement or
other agreement.

If, after a written request by an owner, a resident does not provide the
owner with the name, address and telephone number of a contact person,
the owner shall have no responsibility after the resident’s death for
removal, storage, disappearance, damage or disposition of property in
the resident’s dwelling.

An owner who violates Subsection D of this section shall be liable to the
estate of the deceased resident for actual damages.

History: Laws 2007, ch. 169, §1.

47-8-35 Claim for rent and damages

If the rental agreement is terminated, the owner is entitled to possession and may
have a claim for rent and a separate claim for damages for breach of the rental
agreement and reasonable attorney’s fees as provided in Subsection C of Section33[47-8-
33NMSA1978] ofthe Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act.
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JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Holdover period
Restitution

Holdover period

Pursuant to 47-8-35 NMSA 1978 of the Uniform Owner-
Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 to 47-8-51 NMSA 1978, a
landowner was entitled to rent during a holdover period,;
because there was no rental agreement after a particular
date, the tenant was required to pay the fair rental value of
the premises as they existed during these months, under 47-
8-15 NMSA 1978 and defined by 47-8-3 NMSA 1978.,
Inc. v. Rhudy, 96 N.M. 354, 630 P.2d753 (1981).

Restitution

In a city’s action against a tenant of a public housing unit
for a money judgment and for a writ of restitution that
would order that the premises be vacated, restitution by a
qualified indigent tenant was not mandatory and other
forms of relief were available under the New Mexico
Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 NMSA
1978 et seq., where the trial court found that the tenant was
in default on rent. City of Albuquerque v. Brooks, 114
N.M. 572, 844 P.2d 822 (1992).

47-8-36 Unlawful removal and diminution of services

prohibited
A

Except in case of abandonment, surrender or as otherwise permitted in

the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978], an owner

or any person acting on behalf of the owner shall

not knowingly

exclude the resident, remove, threaten or attempt to remove or dispossess
a resident from the dwelling unit without a court order by:

(1) Fraud;

(2) Plugging, changing, adding or removing any lock or latching

device;

(3) Blocking any entrance into the dwelling unit;

(4) Interfering with services or normal and necessary utilities to

the unit pursuant to Section 47-8-32 NMSA 1978 [repealed],
including but not limited to electricity, gas, hot or cold water,
plumbing, heat or telephone service, provided that this section shall
not impose a duty upon the owner to make utility payments or
otherwise prevent utility interruptions resulting from nonpayment of
utility charges by the resident;

(5) Removing the resident’s personal property from the dwelling unit
or its premises;

(6) Removing or incapacitating appliances or fixtures, except for
making necessary and legitimate repairs; or

(7) Any willful act rendering a dwelling unit or any personal
property located in the dwelling unit or on the premises inaccessible or
uninhabitable.

B. The provisions of Subsection A of this section shall not apply if an owner
temporarily interferes with possession while making legitimate repairs
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or inspections as provided for in the Uniform Owner-Resident
Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978].

If an owner commits any of the acts stated in Subsection A of this section,
the resident may:

(1) Abate one hundred percent of the rent for each day in which
the resident is denied possession of the premises for any portion of the
day or each day where the owner caused termination or diminishment
of any service for any portion of the day;

(2) Be entitled to civil penalties as provided in Subsection B of
Section 47-8-48 NMSA 1978;

(3) Seek restitution of the premises pursuant to Sections 47-8-41
and Section 47-8-42 NMSA 1978 or terminate the rental agreement;
and

(4) Be entitled to damages.

History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-36, enacted by Laws 1975, ch. 38, §36; 1995, ch. 195, § 16.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Prevailing party rights in law suit; civil Editor’s notes — Section 47-8-32 NMSA 1978, referred to
penalties, 47-8-48 NMSA 1978. in Subsection A(4), was repealed Laws 1995, ch. 195, § 27.

47-8-36.1Landlordlien

A. There shall be no landlord’s lien arising out of the rental of a dwelling
unit to which the Uniform Owner-Resident [Relations] Act [47-8-1
NMSA 1978] applies.

Nothing in this section shall prohibit the owner from levy and execution on
a judgment arising out of a claim for rent or damages.

History: 1978 Comp., §47-8-36.1, enacted by Laws 1995,
ch. 195, 8§17

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Lien as required under 1917 N.M. Laws ch. 65, § 26 (47-8-36.1
A landlord who had a landlord’s lien on the property of a NMSA 1978); thus, the remedy of injunction was available to
lessee was found to have been wholly wrong in her procedure the lessee because the business of the lessee would be
when she forcibly took possession of the property without destroyed by way of legal remedies. Ross v. Overton, 29
first demanding the rent due and claiming the landlord’s lien N.M. 651, 226 P. 162 (1924).

47-8-37 Notice of termination and damages

A. The owner or the resident may terminate a week-to-week residency by a
written notice given to the other at least seven days prior to the
termination date specified in the notice.




The owner or the resident may terminate a month-to-month residency by a
written notice given to the other at least thirty days prior to the
periodic rental date specified in the notice.

If the resident remains in possession without the owner’s consent after
expiration of the term of the rental agreement or its termination, the
owner may bring an action for possession and if the resident’s holdover is
willful and not in good faith the owner, in addition, may recover the
damages sustained by him and reasonable attorney’s fees. If the owner
consents to the resident’s continued occupancy, Subsection C of Section
15 [47-8-15 NMSA 1978] of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act

applies.

History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-37, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, §37

Construction with other law
Equivocal

Payment after notice

Time limitations

Construction with other law

A court overturned a decision allowing a mobile home park
to terminate some residents” month-to-month tenancy, as the
court deter- mined that (1) the mobile home park had failed to
provide a statement of cause on the notice to quit served on
the residents, and (2) even if the notice to quit complied with
the requirements of the Owner-Resident Relations Act
(ORRA) in 47-8-37B NMSA 1978, the Mobile Home Park
Act (which, under 47-10-3A NMSA 1978, was found to
require a statement of cause on the notice of quit) prevailed
over the ORRA where the statutes were in direct conflict.
Green Val- ley Mobile Home Park v. Mulvaney, 1996-
NMSC-037, 121 N.M. 817, 918 P.2d 1317.

Equivocal

Tenant contended that a notice to quit was ineffective
because it did not sufficiently notify him that he must
terminate the tenancy, as required by 47-8-37 of the Uniform
Owner- Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 to 47-8-51 NMSA
1978; the court found that the notice was not sufficiently
definite to inform the ten- ants of the landlords desire that
they vacate because it was equivocal and they could have

47-8-38 Injunctive relief

construed it to mean that they could remain at an increased
rental, although a second notice that was unequivocal was
sufficient. TW.LW., Inc. v. Rhudy, 96 N.M. 354, 630 P.2d
753 (1981).

Payment after notice

Judgment was properly rendered in favor of a tenant in
connection with a landlord’s unlawful detainer action, which
had been brought under former 1915 Code, § 2384 after the
tenant failed to pay the rent at the time stipulated for the
payment thereof, because the tenant tendered his rent money
to the landlord within three days after receiving notice of
termination of the lease from the landlord as required under
former 1915 Code, § 2386. El Dorado Inv. Co. v. Burrus, 28
N.M. 551, 215 P. 819 (1923).

Time limitations

Tenant contended that the landlord’s notices to quit were not
effective because they were not given at least 30 days prior to
the periodic rental rate, as required by 47-8-37B of the
Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 to 47-8-51
NMSA 1978; the court held that a notice to quit which is
ineffective because it did not give the month-to-month tenant
the requisite 30 days prior to the periodic rental date is
nonetheless effective for the next ensuing rental date.
T.W.LW., Inc. v. Rhudy, 96 N.M. 354, 630 P.2d 753 (1981).

A. If the resident refuses to allow lawful access, the owner may obtain
injunctive relief to compel access or terminate the rental agreement. In
either case, the owner may recover damages, reasonable attorney’s fees

and court costs.

If the owner makes an unlawful entry or a lawful entry in an unreason-
able manner or makes repeated demands for entry otherwise lawful but
which have the effect of unreasonably harassing the resident, the resident
may obtain injunctive relief to prevent the recurrence of the conduct or
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terminate the rental agreement. In either case, the resident may recover
damages and reasonable attorney’s fees.

History: 1953 Comp., 8§70-7-38, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, §38.

47-8-39 Owner retaliation prohibited

A. An owner may not retaliate against a resident who is in compliance with
the rental agreement and not otherwise in violation of any provision of
the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] by
increasing rent, decreasing services or by bringing or threatening to bring
an action for possession because the resident has within the previous six
months:

(1) Complained to a government agency charged with responsibility
for enforcement of a minimum building or housing code of a violation
applicable to the premises materially affecting health and safety;

(2) Organized or become a member of a residents’ union, association
or similar organization;

(3) Acted in good faith to exercise his rights provided under the
Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978],
including when the resident makes a written request or complaint to
the owner to make repairs to comply with the owner’s obligations under
Section 47-8-20 NMSA 1978;

(4) Made a fair housing complaint to a government agency charged
with authority for enforcement of laws or regulations prohibiting
discrimination in rental housing;

(5) Prevailed in a lawsuit as either plaintiff or defendant or has
a lawsuit pending against the owner relating to the residency;

(6) Testified on behalf of another resident; or

(7) Abated rent in accordance with the provisions of Section 47-8-27.1
or 47-8-27.2 NMSA 1978.

If the owner acts in violation of Subsection A of this section, the resident is
entitled to the remedies provided in Section 47-8-48 NMSA 1978 and the
violation shall be a defense in any action against him for possession.

Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsection A of this section, the owner
may increase the rent or change services upon appropriate notice at the end
of the term of the rental agreement or as provided under the terms of the
rental agreement if the owner can establish that the increased rent or
changes in services are consistent with those imposed on other residents of
similar rental units and are not directed at the particular resident, but are
uniform.




History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-39, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, §39; 1989, ch. 253, 8§1; 1995, ch. 195, §18; 1999, ch. 91,
86.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Action for possession by owner, 47-8-
40 NMSA 1978. Prevailing party rights in law suit; civil
penalties, 47-8-48 NMSA 1978.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Generally
Burden of proof
Construction. Defenses

Generally

Where an owner properly terminated a rental agreement and
brought an action for possession motivated by retaliation for
a resident’s complaints about noisy neighbors, that retaliatory
action was not barred by 47-8- 39A(3) NMSA 1978 of the
Uniform Owner- Resident Relations Act because no specific
pro- vision of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act,
47-8-1 NMSA 1978 et seq., gave a resident the right to
complain about noisy neighbors or required the owner to
keep residents from being too noisy. Casa Blanca Mobile
Home Park v. Hill, 1998-NMCA-094, 125 N.M. 465, 963
P.2d 542, cert. denied, 125 N.M. 322, 961 P.2d 167 (1998).

Burden of proof

Tenants’ claim that a landlord’s motion for restitution was
retaliation against them for abating the rent and was therefore
a violation of 47-8-39 NMSA 1978 failed because the tenants
were living on the premises continuously until a fire
occurred, and the premises were not uninhabitable for any of
the 17 months that the tenants had not paid rent; therefore,
the tenants were not permitted to abate their rent pursuant to
the New Mexico Uniform Owner- Resident Relations Act,
47-8-1 through 47-8-51INMSA 1978. Hedicke v. Gunville,

2003-NMCA- 032, 133 N.M. 335, 62 P.3d 1217, cert. denied,
133 N.M. 413, 63 P.3d 516 (2003).

Construction

Where an owner properly terminated a rental agreement and
brought an action for possession motivated by retaliation for
a resident’s complaints about noisy neighbors, that retaliatory
action was not barred by 47-8- 39A(3) NMSA 1978 of the
Uniform Owner- Resident Relations Act; no specific
provision of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act, 47-
8-1 NMSA 1978 et seq., gave a resident the right to complain
about noisy neighbors or required the owner to keep residents
from being too noisy. Casa Blanca Mobile Home Park v.
Hill, 1998-NMCA-094, 125 N.M. 465, 963 P.2d 542, cert.
denied, 125 N.M. 322, 961 P.2d 167(1998).

Defenses

As landlord and tenant did not dispute that the apartment
owner’s decision to discontinue participation in the section-
eight housing pro- gram was to be equally applied to each
section- eight tenant upon expiration of the respective lease,
the tenant could not ground her retaliation defense on the
owner’s discontinuance of participation in the section-eight
program. Carol Rickert & Assocs. v. Law, 2002-NMCA-
096,132,N.M.687,54P.3d91

47-8-40 Action for possession by owner

A. Notwithstanding Subsections A and B of Section 47-8-39 NMSA 1978, an
owner may bring an action for possession if:

(1) The violation of the applicable minimum building or housing
code was caused primarily by lack of reasonable care by the resident or
other person in his household or upon the premises with the resident’s

consent;

(2) The resident is in default in rent;

(3) There is a material noncompliance with the rental agreement
that would otherwise give rise to the owner’s right to terminate

the rental agreement;
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(4) A resident knowingly commits or consents to any other person in
the dwelling unit or on the premises knowingly committing a substantial
violation; or

(5) Compliance with the applicable building or housing code
requires alteration, remodeling or demolition that would effectively
deprive the resident of use of the dwelling unit.

B. The maintenance of an action under Subsection A of this section does not
release the owner from liability under Section 47-8-20 NMSA 1978.

History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-40, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, 840; 1995, ch. 195, §19.

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Restitution Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 NMSA
In a city’s action against a tenant of a public housing unit 1978, where the trial court found that the tenant was in
for a money judgment and for a writ of restitution that default on rent. City of Albuquerque v. Brooks, 114 N.M.
would order that the premises be vacated, restitution by a 572, 844 P.2d 822 (1992)

qualified indigent tenant was not mandatory and other

forms of relief were available under the New Mexico

47-8-41 Action for possessionby owner orresident

An action for possession of any premises subject to the provisions of the Uniform
Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] shall be commenced in the
manner prescribed by the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act.

History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-41, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, 8§41

47-8-42 Petition for restitution

The person seeking possession shall file a petition for restitution with the clerk of the
district or magistrate court. The petition shall contain:

A. The facts, with particularity, on which he seeks to recover;

B. A reasonably accurate description of the premises; and

C. The requisite compliance with the notice provisions of the Uniform
Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978].

The petition may also contain other causes of action relating to the residency, but such
causes of action shall be answered and tried separately, if requested by either party in
writing.

History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-42, enacted by Laws 1975, ch. 38, §42

STATUTORY NOTES




Cross reference—Unlawful removal and diminution of
services prohibited, 47-8-36 NMSA 1978

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

. forms of relief were available under the New Mexico
Restitution Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 NMSA
In a city’s action against a tenant of a public housing unit 1978, where the trial court found that the tenant was in
for a money judgment and for a writ of restitution that default on rent. City of Albuquerque v. Brooks, 114 N.M.
would order that the premises be vacated, restitution by a 572, 844 P.2d 822 (1992)

qualified indigent tenant was not mandatory and other

47-8-43 Issuance of summons

A. The summons shall be issued and directed, with a copy of the petition
attached to the summons, and shall state the cause of the complaint,
the answer day for other causes of action and notice that if the defendant
fails to appear, judgment shall be entered against him. The summons may
be served pursuant to the New Mexico rules of civil procedure and
returned as in other cases. Trial of the action for possession shall be set as
follows:

(1) For any matter brought by the owner for possession, not less
than seven or more than ten days after the service of summons; or

(2) For any matter brought by the resident for possession, not less
than three or more than five days after the service of summons.

Upon finding of good cause, the court may continue the date of hearing on
the action for possession for up to seven days from the date of the
initial hearing.

History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-43, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, §43; 1995, ch. 195, §20.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference — Action for termination, 47-10-4 NMSA
1978.
47-8-44 Absence from court of defendant

If the defendant shall not appear in response to the summons, and it shall have been
properly served, the court shall try the cause as though he were present.

History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-44, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, §844.

47-8-45 Legal or equitable defense

On or before the day fixed for his appearance, the defendant may appear and answer and
assert any legal or equitable defense, setoff or counterclaim.




History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-45, enacted by Laws 1975, ch. 38, 8§45

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Restitution

In a city’s action against a tenant of a public housing unit
for a money judgment and for a writ of restitution that
would order that the premises be vacated, restitution by a
qualified indigent tenant was not mandatory and other
forms of relief were available under the New Mexico
Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 NMSA
1978 et seq., where the trial court found that the tenant was

N.M. 572, 844 P.2d 822 (1992). Metropolitan court had
both equitable and legal jurisdiction under the New Mexico
Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 NMSA
1978 et seq., in the city’s action against a tenant of a public
housing unit for a money judgment and for a writ of
restitution that would order that the premises be vacated.
City of Albuquerque v. Brooks, 114 N.M. 572, 844 P.2d
822(1992)

in default on rent. City of Albuquerque v. Brooks, 114

47-8-46 Writ of restitution

A. Upon petition for restitution filed by the owner if judgment is rendered
against the defendant for restitution of the premises, the court shall
declare the forfeiture of the rental agreement and shall, at the request of
the plaintiff or his attorney, issue a writ of restitution directing the
sheriff to restore possession of the premises to the plaintiff on a
specified date not less than three nor more than seven days after entry of
judgment.

Upon a petition for restitution filed by the resident, if judgment is
rendered against the defendant for restitution of the premises, the court
shall, at the request of the plaintiff or his attorney, issue a writ of
restitution directing the sheriff to restore possession of the premises to the
plaintiff within twenty-four hours after entry of judgment.

History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-46, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, §46; 1995, ch. 195, §21

STATUTORY NOTES
Cross reference — Remedies, 47-10-9 NMSA 1978

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Restitution

In a city’s action against a tenant of a public housing unit for a money judgment and for a writ of restitution that would order that
the premises be vacated, restitution by a qualified indigent tenant was not mandatory and other forms of relief were available
under the New Mexico Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act, 47-8-1 NMSA 1978 et seq., where the trial court found that the
tenant was in default on rent. City of Albuquerque v. Brooks, 114 N.M. 572, 844 P.2d 822 (1992)

47-8-47 Appeal stays execution

A. If either party feels aggrieved by the judgment, that party may appeal as in
other civil actions. An appeal by the defendant shall stay the execution of
any writ of restitution; provided that in cases in which the resident is
the appellant, the execution of the writ of restitution shall not be stayed
unless the resident, within five days of the filing of the notice of appeal, pays
to the owner or into an escrow account with a professional escrow agent an
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amount equal to the rental amount that shall come due from the day
following the judgment through the end of that rental period. The resident
shall continue to pay the monthly rent established by the rental
agreement at the time the complaint was filed, on a monthly basis on the
date rent would otherwise become due. Payments pursuant to this
subsection by a subsidized resident shall not exceed the actual amount of
monthly rent paid by that resident. When the resident pays the owner
directly, the owner shall immediately provide a written receipt to the
resident upon demand. When the resident pays into an escrow account the
resident shall cause such amounts to be paid over to the owner immedi-
ately upon receipt unless otherwise ordered by the court. Upon the failure
of the resident or the escrow agent to make a monthly rent payment on the
first day rent would otherwise be due, the owner may serve a three-day
written notice on the resident pursuant to Subsection D of Section 47-8-33
NMSA 1978. If the resident or the resident’s escrow agent fails to pay the
rent within the three days, a hearing on the issue shall be scheduled within
ten days from the date the court is notified of the failure to pay rent. In the
case of an appeal de novo, the hearing shall be in the court in which the
appeal will be heard. If, at the hearing, the court finds that rent has not
been paid, the court shall immediately lift the stay and issue the writ of
restitution unless the resident demonstrates a legal justification for failing
to comply with the rent payment requirement.

. In order to stay the execution of a money judgment, the trial court, within its
discretion, may require an appellant to deposit with the clerk of the trial
court the amount of judgment and costs or to give a supersedeas bond in
the amount of judgment and costs with or without surety. Any bond or deposit
shall not be refundable during the pendency of any appeal.

History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-47, enacted by Laws 1975, ch.
38, 847; 1989, ch. 253, §2; 1995, ch. 195, §22; 1999, ch. 91,
87

JUDICIAL DECISIONS

Negligence

Because 47-8-2 NMSA 1978 in the Uniform Owner-Resident
Relations Act, 47-8-1 to 47- 8-51 NMSA 1978, states that the
Act’s general purpose is to clarify the rights and the
obligations of owners and residents and because it is not clear
that the provision in 47-8-47 NMSA 1978, which gives a
tenant a right to file an appeal to stay the execution of a writ
of restitution regarding an eviction action, in the Act is
intended to provide protection against sheriff ’s deputies who
execute the writ due to not knowing of the appeal, the
execution of the writ by the deputies did not entitle the
tenants to a recovery as to the negligence claim that was filed
against the County of Bernalillo (New Mexico), the sheriff
and the deputies. Runge v. Fox, 110 N.M. 447, 796 P.2d
1143 (Ct. App.1990) Bernalillo County (New Mexico), the

sheriff, and the deputies were entitled to a favorable
judgment regarding the tenants’ negligence claim under 41-4-
4 NMSA 1978 in the Tort Claims Act, 41-4-1 to 41-4-27
NMSA 1978, regarding executing the writ of restitution that
was issued due to the landlord’s desire to evict the tenants;
the county was not negligent because the deputies were not
negligent because the deputies were only meeting their duty
under 4-41-14 NMSA 1978 in executing the facially valid
writ of restitution and the deputies were not required to check
with the magistrate clerk’s office regarding the possibility of
the tenants filing the appeal, which they did file, that had the
intent under 47-8-47 NMSA 1978 in the Uniform Owner-
Resident Relation Act, 47-8-1 to 47-8-51 NMSA 1978, of
staying the execution of the writ. Runge v. Fox, 110 N.M.
447,796P.2d 1143 (Ct.App.1990)

47-8-48 Prevailing partyrightsinlaw suit; civil penalties

A. If suit is brought by any party to the rental agreement to enforce the

terms and conditions of the rental agreement or to enforce any provisions of
the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978], the




161

prevailing party shall be entitled to reasonable attorneys’ fees and court
costs to be assessed by the court.

. Any owner who violates a provision of Section 47-8-36 or 47-8-39 NMSA
1978 shall be subject to a civil penalty equal to two times the amount of
the monthly rent.

. Any resident who intentionally violates a provision of Subsection F of
Section 47-8-22 NMSA 1978 shall be subject to a civil penalty equal to
two times the amount of the monthly rent.

History: 1953 Comp., §70-7-48, enacted by Laws
1975, ch. 38, §48; 1995, ch. 195, §2

STATUTORY NOTES

prohibited, 47-8-36 NMSA 1978. Owner retaliation

Cross reference — Delivery of possession, 47-8-26 prohibited, 47-8-39 NMSA 1978.

NMSA 1978. Unlawful removal and diminution of services

47-8-49. Unlawful and forcible entry

The laws and procedures of New Mexico pertaining to complaints of unlawful and forcible
entry shall apply to actions for possession of any premises not subject to the provisions of
the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] or the Mobile Home
Park Act [47-10-1 NMSA 1978].

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-49, enacted
by Laws 1975, ch. 38, § 49; 1995, ch. 195,
§24.

STATUTORY NOTES

Cross reference. — Action for termination,
47-10-4 NMSA 1978.

47-8-50. Prior transactions valid

Transactions entered into before the effective date of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations
Act [47-8-1 NMSA1978], and not extended or renewed after that date, and the rights, duties
and interests flowing from them remain valid and may be terminated, completed, consummated
or enforced as required or permitted prior to the effective date of the Uniform Owner-Resident
Relations Act.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-50, enacted
by Laws 1975, ch. 38, § 50.

47-8-51. Applicability

The provisions of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] are
applicable to rental agreements entered into or extended or renewed after the effective date and
shall not be applicable to any agreements or conditions entered into between the owner and
resident which provisions may alter agreements or conditions existing prior to the effective
date of the provisions of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act.

History: 1953 Comp., § 70-7-51, enacted
by Laws 1975, ch. 38, § 51.




47-8-52. Conflicts; applicability of law

Unless a provision of the Mobile Home Park Act [47-10-1 NMSA 1978] directly conflicts with
the provisions of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978], the
provisions of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act shall apply to mobile home park
owners and residents.

History: Laws 1989, ch. 253, § 3.
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