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EXAMINATIONS BY PSI

This Candidate Information Bulletin provides you with
information about the examination and application process for
areal estate licensee in the State of New Mexico.

New Mexico state laws stipulate that a person may not act as a
real estate broker without first obtaining a license issued by
the New Mexico Real Estate Commission. To be licensed, you
must pass an examination to confirm that you have attained at
least a minimum level of knowledge regarding the principles,
practices, statutes, and regulations relating to real estate.

The New Mexico Real Estate Commission has contracted with
PSI licensure:certification (PSI) to conduct examination
approval process and examination testing. PSI provides
examinations through a network of computer examination
centers in New Mexico. PSI works closely with the State to be
certain that examinations meet local as well as national
requirements in basic principles and examination development
standards.

GUIDELINES FOR ELIGIBILITY/EXAMINATION
REGISTRATION

Candidates must apply for eligibility with PSI by submitting the
completed Eligibility/Examination Registration Form (found at
the end of this Candidate Information Bulletin), examination
fee and all required documentation. PSI will determine your
eligibility for taking the examination.

PSI licensure:certification
3210 E Tropicana
Las Vegas, NV 89121
(855) 557-0621 e Fax (702) 932-2666
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Upon approval by PSI, you will be sent an Eligibility Postcard,
including instructions for scheduling the examination. If your
registration is incomplete, PSI will contact you to advise you of
any additional information or documents required.

The following fee table lists the applicable fee for each

examination. The fee is for each examination, whether you

are taking the examination for the first time or repeating.

[0 The Eligibility/Examination Registration Form will expire
one year from the date PSI receives the original
submission.

EXAMINATION FEE $95

The fee is $95 for the 2 examination portions,
regardless if you take 1 or both examination portions.
Examination retakes are $95 for 1 or both examination
portions. NOTE: EXAMINATION FEES ARE NOT
REFUNDABLE OR TRANSFERABLE. THE EXAMINATION
FEE IS VALID FOR ONE YEAR FORM THE DATE OF
PAYMENT.

You may submit the Eligibility/Examination Registration Form,
examination fee, and all required documentation to PSI as
follows:
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STANDARD MAIL REGISTRATION

Complete the Eligibility/Examination Registration Form found
at the end of this Candidate Information Bulletin. Return the
completed original form(s) to PSI with the appropriate
examination fee. Payment of fees may be made by credit card
(Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover), money order,
company check or cashier’s check. Money orders or checks
must be made payable to PSI. CASH AND PERSONAL CHECKS
ARE NOT ACCEPTED.

Upon approval by PSI, you will be sent an Eligibility Postcard,
including instructions for scheduling the examination. If your
registration is incomplete, PSI will contact you to advise you of
any additional information or documents required. Allow 2
weeks for processing before scheduling the examination date.

FAX REGISTRATION

Complete the Eligibility/Examination  Registration  Form,
including your credit card number and expiration date. Fax the
completed form(s) to PSI (702) 932-2666. Fax registrations are
accepted 24 hours a day.

Upon approval by PSI, you will be sent an Eligibility Postcard,
including instructions for scheduling the examination. If your
registration is incomplete, PSI will contact you to advise you of
any additional information or documents required. Allow 6
business days for processing before scheduling the examination
date.

EMAIL REGISTRATION

Complete the Eligibility/Examination Registration Form,
including your credit card number and expiration date. Email
the completed form to PSI at nmreapp@psionline.com. Email
registrations are accepted 24 hours a day.

Please allow 6 business days to process your Registration. After 6
business days, you may go online or call PSI to schedule the
examination.

PREREQUISITES FOR TAKING EXAMINATIONS

To be eligible for licensure, candidates must meet
qualifications established by New Mexico law and pass the
designated examinations. Along with the examination
application form, all examination candidates, with the
exception of candidates applying under the License Recognition
program or candidates who have received pre-licensing
education waivers, must submit documentation of having
completed 30-hour pre-licensing courses in Real Estate
Principles and Practice, Real Estate Law, and Broker Basics not
longer than three years prior to making application to take the
broker’s examination. School Certifications from each school
must be submitted with the Eligibility/Examination Registration
Form verifying the candidate has completed all required
courses. If the candidate is in the process of completing a
required course, the course must be completed before taking
the examination.

Mandatory Pre-Licensing Courses Credit Hours
Real Estate Principles and Practice* 30
Real Estate Law* 30
Broker Basics 30

*Pre-licensing courses available by correspondence.
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The New Mexico Real Estate Commission, Regulation and
Licensing Department has established the following licensing
requirements.

Associate Broker examination requirements:

A. there is no age limit to take the examination, however
you must be at least 18 years of age to get a license;

B. be a legal resident of the United States;

C. if currently or previously licensed in another state, submit
a certified license certificate or certified license history;

D. candidates for the real estate broker's examination must
document completion of 90 credit hours of commission
approved real estate pre-licensing courses consisting of
one 30 credit-hour course each in Real Estate Principles
and Practice, Real Estate Law, and Broker Basics prior to
taking the examination. A written course waiver from the
Commission Education Director can also serve to make this
requirement.

Qualifying Broker license requirements:

A. be at least 18 years of age;

B. be a legal resident of the United States;

C. if currently or previously licensed in another state, submit

a certified license history;

D. have met one of the following requirements:

1. shall have been actively engaged in real estate
business as an associate broker for at least two of the
last five vyears immediately prior to making
application for a New Mexico qualifying broker's
license, shall document completion of 120 hours of
commission approved pre-licensing courses, including
one 30 credit-hour course each in Real Estate
Principles and Practice, Real Estate Law, Broker
Basics, and a Brokerage Office Administration course,
and shall have passed the Broker's examination.

2. individuals with current licenses who can document
that they were New Mexico qualifying brokers on or
before December 31, 2005 are not subject to the
requirements in paragraph D (1) above and may
regain qualifying broker status by filing a Trade Name
Registration Form (found at the “Forms” link of the
New Mexico Real Estate Commission web site) and
paying the $20 trade name registration fee to the
Commission;
or

3. individuals who automatically became associate
brokers on January 1, 2006 pursuant to 16.61.31.8(D)
shall have been actively engaged in the real estate
business as an associate broker for at least two of the
last five years immediately prior to making
application for a New Mexico qualifying broker's
license, shall document completion of a 30-hour
Brokerage Office Administration course designated by
the commission, and shall pass a real estate broker's
examination approved by the commission.

Note: Candidates applying for initial licensure with the Commission
must have completed the required pre-licensing education within
three years of making application to take the real estate broker’s
examination and must furnish copies of certificates of course
completion with their examination applications. Candidates who are
currently licensed by the Commission as associate brokers and who are
taking the brokers’ examination to upgrade to qualifying broker status
are exempt from the three-year time limit and must provide only a
certificate of completion of the 30-hour Broker Basics course and a
copy of their current associate broker’s license.
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EXAMINATION SCHEDULING PROCEDURES

Upon approval by PSI, you will be sent an Eligibility Postcard,
including instructions for scheduling the examination. If your
registration is incomplete, PSI will contact you to advise you of
any additional information or documents required.

0 You must pass both the national and state-specific
examinations within 90 days of passing the first
examination. If you do not pass both examinations within
90 days, you must retake both examinations.

INTERNET SCHEDULING

For the fastest and most convenient test scheduling process, PSI
recommends that candidates register for their exams using the
Internet. In order to register over the Internet, candidates will
need to have a valid credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American
Express or Discover). Candidates register online by accessing
PSI’s registration website at www.psiexams.com. Internet
registration is available 24 hours a day. In order to register by
Internet, complete the steps below:

1. Log onto PSI’s website and create an account. Please enter
your email address and first and last name. This
information must match exactly with the information
provided to PSI. Be sure to check the box next to “Check
here to attempt to locate existing records for you in the
system”.

2. You will be asked to select the examination and enter your
SS#. Your record will be found, and you will now be ready
to pay and schedule for the exam. Enter your zip code and
a list of the testing sites closest to you will appear. Once
you select the desired test site, available dates will
appear. If you have problems contact PSI at (855) 557-0621
for help.

TELEPHONE SCHEDULING

The second fastest method of scheduling is through live
registrars during business hours. For telephone registration,
you will need a valid credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American
Express or Discover).

1. Complete the Examination Registration Form, including
your credit card number and expiration date, so that you
will be prepared with all of the information needed to
register by telephone.

2. Call (855) 557-0621 and speak with a PSI registrar Monday
through Friday between 5:30 am and 8:00 pm, and
Saturday-Sunday between 7:00 am and 3:30 pm, Mountain
Time.

CANCELING AN EXAMINATION APPOINTMENT

You may cancel and reschedule an examination appointment
without forfeiting your fee if your cancellation notice is
received 2 days prior to the scheduled examination date.
For example, for a Monday appointment, the cancellation
notice would need to be received on the previous Saturday. You
may call PSI at (855) 557-0621 or at www.psiexams.com.

Note: A voice mail message is not an acceptable form of
cancellation. Please use the PSI Website or call PSI and
speak to a Customer Service Representative.
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MISSED APPOINTMENT OR LATE CANCELLATION

If you miss your appointment, you will not be able to take the

examination as scheduled. You will forfeit your examination

fee, if:

* You do not cancel your appointment 2 days before the
scheduled examination date;

*  You do not appear for your examination appointment;

=  You arrive after examination start time;

= You do not present proper identification when you arrive
for the examination.

EXAM ACCOMMODATIONS

All examination centers are equipped to provide access in
accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of
1990, and exam accommodations will be made in meeting a
candidate’s needs. Applicants with disabilities or those who
would otherwise have difficulty taking the examination must
fill out the form at the end of this Candidate Information
Bulletin and fax it to PSI (702) 932-2666. This form also
includes out-of-state testing requests.

EXAMINATION SITE CLOSING FOR AN EMERGENCY

In the event that severe weather or another emergency forces
the closure of an examination site on a scheduled examination
date, your examination will be rescheduled. PSI personnel will
attempt to contact you in this situation. However, you may
check the status of your examination schedule by calling (855)
557-0621 or check the website at www.psiexams.com. Every
effort will be made to reschedule your examination at a
convenient time as soon as possible.

EXAMINATION SITE LOCATION

The New Mexico examinations are administered at the PSI
examination centers in New Mexico as listed below:

Albuquerque

2820 Broadbent Pkwy NE, Suites E & F

Albuquerque, NM 87107

From [-40 W take exit 159D, follow Frontage Rd. N to Menaul
Blvd NE, make a left onto Menaul Blvd NE, make a right onto
Broadbent Pkwy NE. Building will be on the right.

Farmington

1307 E. 20th St.

Farmington, NM 87401

From E. Main St, turn RIGHT on Sullivan and turn LEFT on 20th St. We
are next door to the County Republican Party office and across the
street from Planned Parenthood. No Sign on the building. The sign is
on the door. The office is between Zuni and Santiago streets on the
south side of 20th St. If you pass Dave's Sports Shop or Fatboy's
Restaurant, you’ve gone too far.

Las Cruces

1001 N. Solano, Suite # D

Las Cruces, NM 88001

Take Highway 70 West to Solano. Turn South on Solano and go one
block past Spruce to Pinon. The test center is on the Northwest
corner of Solano and Pinon.

WWW.PSIEXAMS.COM

Roswell

105 . Fifth St.

Roswell, NM 88201

From US-285 S / US-70 W, turn LEFT onto E 5TH ST.

Santa Fe

4001 Office Court Drive, Suite 301

Santa Fe, NM 87507

From Albuquerque International Sunport Airport: Head East on Sunport
Blvd SE. Merge onto I-25 N via the ramp to I-40/ Downtown and Santa
Fe. Take exit 278 and merge onto Cerrillos Road/NM-14 N.
Approximately 2.5 miles north on Cerrillos Road, turn right on Wagon
Road. Turn right on Office Court Drive into the office park.

From Espanola, NM and North Cities: Head Southeast on East Paseo De
Onate/US-2855/US-84S (toward Calle Espinosa). Continue on Sandia
Drive. Slight right at South Riverside Drive/US-2855/US-84S. Turn
right on Cerrillos Road. Approximately 5 miles on Cerrillos Road, turn
left on Wagon Road. Turn right on Office Court Drive into the office
park.

Colorado Examination Site

The following are a few of the sites that offer the New Mexico
examinations. Please check with PSI regarding other testing locations
by calling (855) 557-0621.

Durango

799 East 3rd Street, Suite 3

Durango, CO 81301

From Hwy 550: Turn East on College Drive. Go straight then turn right
on East 8th Avenue. Follow until East 3rd Street. PSI Testing Site is on
the right in Suite 3.

Texas Examination Sites

The following are a few of the sites that offer the New Mexico
examinations. Please check with PSI regarding other testing locations
by calling (855) 557-0621.

Amarillo

4312 Teckla, Suite 500

Amarillo, TX 79109

Exit off 1-40 to Western and go South one street passed the 7th traffic
light to Ridgecrest and turn right. Stay on Ridgecrest until you come
to the red brick office complex on the left side corner of Ridgecrest
and Teckla. 4312 is the 3 building facing Teckla. Ste 500 is the end
suite on the North side of the building. Or, from Canyon, take Bell St
exit and go North to traffic light at 45" St and turn right. Turn left at
the 2" traffic light to Teckla.

El Paso

The Atrium

1155 Westmoreland, Suite 110

El Paso, TX 79925

From I-10 W, take the Airways exit North. Turn right at the first light
(Viscount). Turn right on Westmoreland Dr.

Lubbock

The Center

4413 82nd St., Suite 210

Lubbock, TX 79424

Fro;n S Loop 289, take the Quaker Ave exit and go South. Turn right on
82 St.

Midland

Westwood Village Shopping Center

4200 West Illinois Avenue, Suite 200

Midland, TX 79703

From I-20, take Midkiff Road exit. Go North on Midkiff Road. Take a
left on Illinois Ave. Go .8 miles and turn right into Chinese Kitchen’s
parking lot at 4200 W Illinois. Suite is at the end of the left Strip.
From Business 20 (Old Hwy 80) going West, follow Front Street until
Wall St Traffic light. Go 2 blocks and turn right on Midkiff. Turn left
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on Illinois. Go .8 miles and turn right into Chinese Kitchen’s parking
lot at 4200 W Illinois. Suite is at the end of the left Strip.

From North Hwy 349, Look for Loop 250 West (just before overpass).
Turn right at Loop and go 2 miles to Exit Midkiff. Turn left at traffic
light. Turn right at Illinois traffic signal. Turn right onto Chinese
Kitchen's parking Lot at 4200 W Illinois. Suite is at the end of the left
Strip.

Additionally, PSI has examination centers in many other regions
across the United States. You may take this examination at any of
these locations by submitting the Out-of-State Testing Request form
found at the end of this bulletin.

REPORTING TO THE EXAMINATION SITE

On the day of the examination, you should arrive at least 30
minutes before your appointment. This extra time is for sign-
in, identification, and familiarizing you with the examination
process. If you arrive late, you may not be admitted to the
examination site and you will forfeit your examination
registration fee.

REQUIRED IDENTIFICATION AT EXAMINATION SITE

You must provide 2 forms of identification. One must be a
VALID form of government issued identification (driver’s
license, state ID, passport, military ID), which bears your
signature and has your photograph or a complete physical
description. The second ID must have your signature and
preprinted legal name. All identification provided must match
the name on the Eligibility Letter.

If you cannot provide the required identification, you must call
(855) 557-0621 at least 3 weeks prior to your scheduled
appointment to arrange a way to meet this security
requirement. Failure to provide all of the required
identification at the time of the examination without
notifying PSI is considered a missed appointment, and you will
not be able to take the examination.

SECURITY PROCEDURES

The following security procedures will apply during the

examination:

= Only non-programmable calculators that are silent,
battery-operated, do not have paper tape printing
capabilities, and do not have a keyboard containing the
alphabet will be allowed in the examination site.

= Candidates may take only approved items into the
examination room.

= Al personal belongings of candidates, with the exception
of close-fitting jackets or sweatshirts, should be placed in
the secure storage provided at each site prior to entering
the examination room. Personal belongings include, but
are not limited to, the following items:

+  Electronic devices of any type, including cellular /
mobile phones, recording devices, electronic
watches, cameras, pagers, laptop computers, tablet
computers (e.g., iPads), music players (e.g., iPods),
smart watches, radios, or electronic games.

+  Bulky or loose clothing or coats that could be used
to conceal recording devices or notes, including
coats, shawls, hooded clothing, heavy jackets, or
overcoats.

+ Hats or headgear not worn for religious reasons or
as religious apparel, including hats, baseball caps, or

visors.
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+ Other personal items, including purses, notebooks,
reference or reading material, briefcases, backpacks,
wallets, pens, pencils, other writing devices, food,
drinks, and good luck items.

= Person(s) accompanying an examination candidate may not
wait in the examination center, inside the building or on
the building's property. This applies to guests of any
nature, including drivers, children, friends, family,
colleagues or instructors.

* No smoking, eating, or drinking is allowed in the
examination center.

*  During the check in process, all candidates will be asked if
they possess any prohibited items. Candidates may also be
asked to empty their pockets and turn them out for the
proctor to ensure they are empty. The proctor may also ask
candidates to lift up the ends of their sleeves and the
bottoms of their pant legs to ensure that notes or recording
devices are not being hidden there.

*  Proctors will also carefully inspect eyeglass frames, tie
tacks, or any other apparel that could be used to harbor a
recording device. Proctors will ask to inspect any such
items in candidates’ pockets.

= |f prohibited items are found during check-in, candidates
shall put them in the provided secure storage or return
these items to their vehicle. PSI will not be responsible for
the security of any personal belongings or prohibited items.

* Any candidate possessing prohibited items in the
examination room shall immediately have his or her test
results invalidated, and PSI shall notify the examination
sponsor of the occurrence.

* Any candidate seen giving or receiving assistance on an
examination, found with unauthorized materials, or who
violates any security regulations will be asked to surrender
all examination materials and to leave the examination
center. All such instances will be reported to the
examination sponsor.

=  Copying or communicating examination content is violation
of a candidate’s contract with PSI, and federal and state
law. Either may result in the disqualification of
examination results and may lead to legal action.

* Once candidates have been seated and the examination
begins, they may leave the examination room only to use
the restroom, and only after obtaining permission from the
proctor. Candidate will not receive extra time to complete
the examination.

TAKING THE EXAMINATION BY COMPUTER

The examination will be administered via computer. You will
be using a mouse and computer keyboard.

IDENTIFICATION SCREEN

You will be directed to a semiprivate testing station to take the
examination. When you are seated at the testing station, you
will be prompted to confirm your name, identification number,
and the examination for which you are registered.

TUTORIAL

Before you start your examination, an introductory tutorial is
provided on the computer screen. The time you spend on this
tutorial, up to 15 minutes, DOES NOT count as part of your
examination time. Sample questions are included following the
tutorial so that you may practice answering questions.



http://www.psiexams.com/

TEST QUESTION SCREEN

The “function bar” at the top of the test question provides
mouse-click access to the features available while taking the
examination.

@ Mark { Comments ppGote PHelp X End

Question: 3 of 40 Answered: 2 Unanswered: 1 Marked: D View: Al Time Left{Min}; 350

3. What do the stars on the United States of America's flag represent?

(Chaose from the foliowing options)
1, Presidents

_| 2, Colonies

T 3. States

| 4 Wars
ok | Mex>>

One question appears on the screen at a time. During the
examination, minutes remaining will be displayed at the top of
the screen and updated as you record your answers.

IMPORTANT: After you have entered your responses, you will

later be able to return to any question(s) and change your
response, provided the examination time has not run out.

EXAMINATION REVIEW

PSI, in cooperation with the New Mexico Real Estate
Commission, will be consistently evaluating the examinations
being administered to ensure that the examinations accurately
measure competency in the required knowledge areas. While
taking the examination, examinees will have the opportunity
to provide comments on any questions. Comments may be
entered by clicking on the Comments link on the function bar
of the test question screen. These comments will be analyzed
by PSI examination development staff. PSI does not respond to
individuals regarding these comments. All substantive
comments are reviewed. This is the only review of
examination materials available to candidates.

DUPLICATE SCORE REPORTS

You may request a duplicate score report after your examination
by emailing scorereport@psionline.com or by calling (855)
557-0621.

TIPS FOR PREPARING FOR YOUR LICENSE
EXAMINATION

The following suggestions will help you prepare for your
examination.

*  Planned preparation increases your likelihood of passing.

= Start with a current copy of this Candidate Information
Bulletin and use the examination content outline as the
basis of your study.

* Read study materials that cover all the topics in the
content outline.

» Take notes on what you study. Putting information in
writing helps you commit it to memory, and it is also an
excellent business practice. Discuss new terms or concepts
as frequently as you can with colleagues. This will test
your understanding and reinforce ideas.

*  Your studies will be most effective if you study frequently,
for periods of about 45 to 60 minutes. Concentration tends
to wander when you study for longer periods of time.

Now you can take the practice exam online at www.psiexams.com to
prepare for your New Mexico Real Estate Examination.

Please note that practice exams are intended only to help testing
candidates become familiar with the general types of questions that
will appear on a licensing examination. They ARE NOT a substitute for
proper education and study. Furthermore, scoring well on the practice
exam does not guarantee a positive outcome on an actual licensing
examination.

Note: You may take the practice exams an unlimited number of times;
you will need to pay each time.

EXAMINATION STUDY MATERIALS

SCORE REPORTING

In order to pass the examinations, you must receive a score of
at least 75%.

Your score will be given to you immediately following
completion of the examination. The following summary
describes the score reporting process:

= On screen - your score will appear immediately on the
computer screen. This will happen automatically at the
end of the time allowed for the examination;

- If you pass, you will immediately receive a successful
notification.

- If you do not pass, you will receive a diagnostic
report indicating your strengths and weaknesses by
examination type with the score report.

- On_paper - a score report will be printed at the
examination site.
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The following is a list of possible study materials for the real
estate examination. The list is given to identify resources and
does not constitute an endorsement by PSI or by the New
Mexico Real Estate Commission. Use the latest edition
available.

NATIONAL PORTION OF THE EXAMINATION

= Hart, Dearborn Real Estate Education, (800) 972-2220,
www.dearborn.com

*  Modern Real Estate Practice, 19th Edition, Galaty, Allaway,
and Kyle, Dearborn Real Estate Education, (800) 972-2220,
www.dearborn.com

* Real Estate Law, 9th Edition, 2016, Elliot Klayman,
Dearborn Real Estate Education, (800) 972-2220,
www.dearborn.com

= The Language of Real Estate, 7th Edition, 2013, John
Reilly, Dearborn Real Estate Education, (800) 972-2220,
www.dearborn.com
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= Real Estate Principles & Practices, 9th Edition, 2014,
Arlyne Geschwender, OnCourse Publishing, N19W24075
Riverwood Drive, Suite 200, Waukesha, WI 53188, 855-
733-7239, www.oncoursepublishing.com ISBN 0324784554

= Real Estate Principles, 12th Edition, Charles Jacobus,
OnCourse Publishing, N19W24075 Riverwood Drive, Suite
200, Waukesha, Wi 53188, 855-733-7239,
www.oncoursepublishing.com ISBN 1285420985

* Real Estate Math, 7th Edition, 2014, Linda L. Crawford,
Dearborn  Real Estate Education, (800)972-2220,
www.dearborn.com

*  Property Management, 10th edition, 2016, Kyle, Robert
C., Baird, Floyd M. and Kyle, C. Donald, Chicago: Dearborn
Real Estate Education

= Principles of Real Estate Practice, 6th edition, 2019,
Mettling, Stephen and Cusic, David, Performance Programs
Company, www.performanceprogramscompnay.com

STATE PORTION OF THE EXAMINATION

2014-2015 Edition, New Mexico Real Estate License Law and
Real Estate Commission Rules, New Mexico Real Estate
Commission, 5500 San Antonio Dr. NE Suite B, Albuquerque,
NM 87109,
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/Real_Estate_Commission
Rules_and_Laws.aspx

Many of these reference materials are available for
purchase at www.psionlinestore.com or by calling the PSI
Online Store, toll-free, at (866) 589-3088.

Titles currently in stock are listed on the order form near
the end of this candidate information bulletin.

DESCRIPTION OF EXAMINATIONS

You are required to pass both the state and national portions
of the examination. If you fail one portion of the examination,
you will only need to register to retake the failed portion. You
must pass both the national and state-specific examinations
within 90 days of passing the first examination. If you do not
pass both examinations within 90 days, you must retake both
examinations.

EXAMINATION SUMMARY TABLE
Examination # of Passing Score Time Allowed
Questions
Broker National 75 (80 60 correct 120 Minutes
points)
Broker State 50 38 correct 60 Minutes
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EXPERIMENTAL QUESTIONS

A small number of “experimental” questions (i.e., 5 to 10) may
be administered to candidates during the examinations. These
questions will not be scored, and the time taken to answer
them will not count against testing time. The administration of
such unscored, experimental questions is an essential step in
developing future licensing exams.

CONTENT OUTLINES

The examination content outlines have been prepared and are
periodically updated by committees of professionals who are
subject matter experts in real estate practice, real estate
instruction, and regulatory issues. The examination content
outlines these professionals have prepared identify areas of
importance to licensees in order for them to perform their
duties to the public in a competent and legally responsible
manner.

Use the outline as a guide for pre-examination review of course
material. The outlines list the topics that are on the
examination and the number of questions for each topic. Do
not schedule your examination until you are familiar with the
topics in the outline.

NATIONAL PORTION CONTENT OUTLINE

(REAL ESTATE PRINCIPLES AND PRACTICES)
CONTENT OUTLINE

I Property ownership (Broker 10%)
A. Real versus personal property; conveyances
B. Land characteristics and legal descriptions
1. Types of legal descriptions; Metes and
bounds, Lot and block, government
survey

2. Measuring structures
3. Livable, rentable, and usable area
4. Land Measurement
5. Mineral, air, and water rights

C. Encumbrances and effects on property
ownership
1. Liens

2. Easements and licenses

3. Encroachments

4, Other potential encumbrances of title

D. Types of ownership

1. Tenants in common

2. Joint tenancy

3. Common- interest ownership
Timeshares

4. Condominiums
Co-ops

5. Ownership in severalty/sole ownership
Life Estate ownership

6. Property ownership held in trust

Il Land use controls and regulations (Broker 5%)
A. Government rights in land
1. Property taxes and special assessments
2. Eminent domain, condemnation, escheat
B. Government controls
1. Zoning and master plans
2. Building codes
3. Regulation of special land types


http://www.psiexams.com/
http://www.oncoursepublishing.com/
http://www.oncoursepublishing.com/
http://www.dearborn.com/
http://www.performanceprogramscompnay.com/
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/Real_Estate_Commission_Rules_and_Laws.aspx
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/Real_Estate_Commission_Rules_and_Laws.aspx
http://www.psionlinestore.com/

V.

V.

a) Flood zones
b) Wet lands

4. Regulation of environmental hazards
a) Types of hazards
b) Abatement and mitigation
c) Restrictions on contaminated

property
C. Private controls
1. Deed conditions or restrictions

2. Covenants, conditions, and restrictions

(CC&Rs)
3. Homeowners association regulations

Valuation and market analysis (Broker 7%)
A. Appraisals
1. Purpose and use of appraisals for
valuation
2. General steps in appraisal process
3. Situations requiring appraisal by
certified appraiser
B. Estimating Value
1. Effect of economic principles and
property characteristics
. Sales or market comparison approach
. Cost approach
. Income analysis approach
ompetitive/Comparative Market Analysis
Selecting comparables
Adjusting comparables

2
3
4
c. C
1
2

Financing (Broker 8%)
A. Basic concepts and terminology
Points
LTV
PMI
Interest
PITI
Financing instruments (mortgage,
promissory note, etc.)
B. Types of loans
. Conventional loans

ocUuhwN=
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2. FHA Insured loans

3. VA guaranteed loans

4. USDA/rural loan programs

5.  Amortized loans

6. Adjustable-rate mortgage loans
7. Bridge loans

8

Owner financing (installment and land

contract/contract for deed)
C. Financing and lending

1. Lending process application through
closing

2. Financing and credit laws and rules
a) Truth in lending
b) RESPA
c) Equal Credit Opportunity
d) CFPB/TRID rules on financing and

risky loan features

3. Underwriting
a) Debt ratios
b) Credit scoring
c) Credit history

General principles of agency (Broker 11%)
A. Agency and non-agency relationships
1. Types of agents and agencies
2. Other brokerage relationships (non-
agents)
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VI.

Vil.

a) Transactional
b) Facilitators
Agent’s duties to clients
1. Fiduciary responsibilities
2. Traditional agency duties (COALD)
3. Powers of attorney and other delegation
of authority
Creation of agency and non-agency
agreements; disclosure of conflict of interest
1. Agency and agency agreements
a) Key elements of different types of
listing contracts
b) Key elements of buyer
brokerage/tenant representation
contracts
2. Disclosure when acting as principal or
other conflict of interest
Responsibilities of agent to customers and
third parties, including disclosure, honesty,
integrity, accounting for money
Termination of agency
1. Expiration
2. Completion/performance
3. Termination by force of law
4. Destruction of property/death of
principal
5. Mutual agreement

Property disclosures (Broker 7%)

A.

B.
C.
D

Property condition

1. Property condition that may warrant
inspections and surveys

2. Proposed uses or changes in uses that
should trigger inquiry about public or
private land use controls

Environmental issues requiring disclosure

Government disclosure requirements (LEAD)

Material facts and defect disclosure

Contracts (Broker 18%)

A.

General knowledge of contract law

1. Requirements for validity

2. Factors affecting enforceability of
contracts

3. Void, voidable, unenforceable contracts

4. Rights and obligations of parties to a
contract

5. Executory and executed contracts

6. Notice, delivery and acceptance of
contracts

7. Breach of contract and remedies for
breach

8. Termination, rescission and cancellation
of contracts

9. Electronic signature and paperless
transactions

10. Bilateral vs. unilateral contracts (option
agreements)

Contract Clauses, including amendments and

addenda

Offers/purchase agreements

1. General requirements

2.  When offer becomes binding

3. Contingencies

4. Time is of the essence

Counteroffers/multiple offers

1. Counteroffers

2. Multiple offers
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Viil. Leasing and Property Management (Broker 5%)
A. Basic concepts/duties of property
management
B. Lease Agreements
1. Types of leases, e.g., percentage, gross,
net, ground
2. Key elements and provisions of lease
agreements
Landlord and tenant rights and obligations
Property manager’s fiduciary responsibilities
ADA and Fair Housing compliance in property
management
F. Setting rents and lease rates

Mmoo

IX. Transfer of Title (Broker 7%)
A. Title Insurance
1.  What is insured against
2. Title searches, title abstracts, chain of
title
3. Marketable vs insurable title
4. Potential title problems and resolution
5. Cloud on title, suit to quiet title
B. Deeds
1. Purpose of deed, when title passes
2. Types of deeds and when used
3. Essential elements of deeds
4. Importance of recording
C. Escrow or closing; tax aspects of transferring
title to real property
Responsibilities of escrow agent
2. Prorated items
Closing statements/TRID disclosures

—_
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4. Estimating closing costs

5. Property and income taxes
D. Special processes

1. Foreclosure

2. Short sale
E. Warranties

1.

Purpose of home or construction
warranty programs

2. Scope of home or construction warranty
programs

X. Practice of real estate (Broker 14%)
A. Trust/escrow accounts
1. Purpose and definition of trust accounts,
including monies held in trust accounts
2. Responsibility for trust monies, including
commingling/conversion
B. Federal fair housing laws and the ADA
1. Protected classes
2. Prohibited conduct (red-lining,
blockbusting, steering)
3. Americans with Disabilities (ADA)
4. Exemptions
C. Advertising and technology
1. Advertising practices
a) Truth in advertising
b) Fair housing issues in advertising
2. Use of technology
a) Requirements for confidential
information
b) Do-Not-Call List
D. Licensee and responsibilities
1. Employee
2. Independent Contractor
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3. Due diligence for real estate transactions
4. Supervisory responsibilities
a) Licensees
b) Unlicensed personnel
E. Antitrust laws
1. Antitrust laws and purpose
2. Antitrust violations in real estate

XI. Real estate calculations (Broker 8%)
A. Basic math concepts
1. Loan-to-value ratios
2. Discount points
3. Equity
4. Down payment/amount to be financed
B. Calculations for transactions
Property tax calculations
Prorations
Commission and commission splits
Seller’s proceeds of sale
Buyer funds needed at closing
Transfer fee/conveyance tax/revenue
stamps
7. PITI (Principal, Interest, Taxes and
Insurance) payments
C. Calculations for valuation, rate of return
1. Net operating income
2. Depreciation
3. Capitalization rate
4. Gross Rent and gross income multipliers

CUTRNANWN =

STATE SPECIFIC PORTION CONTENT OUTLINE

Real Estate Commission (6 items)

a. Purposes, Powers, and Duties.

b. License Law Violations, Investigations, and
Audit of Records

c. Hearings, Penalties, and Appeals (Uniform
License Law)

Licensing Requirements (7 items)
a. Activities Requiring License

1. Limitations on activities of Unlicensed
Assistants
ii. Exceptions to licensure requirement
b. Qualifications for Licensure
i Education Requirements/Post-license,
CE
ii. Criminal Background

checks/Fingerprinting
iii.  Licensing Procedure

iv. Errors and Omissions Insurance
V. Qualifying Broker experience
requirements

c. License Renewal and Transfer Requirements

i. Affiliation transfer
ii. Change of name or of physical or email
address

Real Estate Commission Regulations (15 items)
a. Qualifying and Associate Broker Responsibilities
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b. Qualifying Broker/Associate Broker
Relationships, Employment and Independent
Contractor Agreements.

c. Advertising and Signage.
Record Keeping.
Property Management
i Definition of Property Management

ii.  Time Issues

iii. Requirement for written agreement

iv. Must be under auspices of Qualifying
Broker

V. Property Management trust accounts and
commingling issues

Broker Duties, Disclosure and Brokerage Relationships (15
items)
a. Honesty, Reasonable Care and Professional and
Ethical Conduct

b. Compliance with Local, State, and Federal Laws
(other than Fair Housing & Anti-Discrimination)

c. Performance of Written Agreements

d. Assistance to Clients and Customers in
Completing Transactions

e. Requirement to Advise Legal or other Expert
Consultation if Needed

f.  Prompt Accounting for Money and Property

g. Written Disclosure of Existing Brokerage
Relationships, Personal Interest in Transaction

h. Written Disclosure of Adverse Material Facts

i.  Confidentiality in Brokerage Relationships
j. Types of Brokerage Relationships Available in
New Mexico

Additional State-Required Topics (7 items)
a. New Mexico Property Taxes
New Mexico Mechanic’s Liens
Septic systems
Water rights issues (well and surface rights)
New Mexico Human Rights Act
PID disclosures
HOA disclosures

o an o

SAMPLE QUESTIONS

The following questions are offered as examples of the types
of questions you will be asked during the course of the New
Mexico real estate broker examinations. They are intended
primarily to familiarize you with the style and format of
questions you can expect to find in the examinations. The
examples do NOT represent the full range of content or
difficulty levels found in the actual examinations.
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SAMPLE BROKER QUESTIONS (SCENARIO-BASED)
Scenario:

You are hosting an open house. Mr. and Mrs. Charles Martin
come into the house. You greet them and show them the house.
The Martins tell you the house is exactly what they are looking
for and they are very interested in purchasing it. You then give
them information showing the various types of financing
available with down payment options and projected payments.

Mr. Martin tells you they have been working with Mary
Hempstead of XX Realty, a competing real estate company.
Before leaving, you thank them for coming and give them your
business card.

A. The first thing on Monday morning, Mrs. Martin calls and
indicates they have tried to reach Mary and cannot. They
indicate they have a written buyer’s agent agreement with
Mary’s broker. They are afraid someone else is going to buy
the house. Which of the following should you do? Select the
best answer.

1. Seek advice from your supervising broker.

2. Tell them to come to your office.

3. Ask them to bring the buyer’s agency agreement to you
for your interpretation.

4. Tell them to be patient and continue trying to reach

Mary.

5. Tell them to call Mary’s supervising broker or branch
manager.

6. Tell them you are really sorry, but there is nothing you
can do.

B. The Martins come to your office and explain that neither
Mary nor her supervising broker are available. They insist
you immediately write an offer for the house. How should
you proceed? Select the best answer.

1. Write the offer after entering into a buyer’s broker
agreement with them.

2. Write the offer after explaining they may owe Mary’s
broker a commission.

3. Write the offer after trying to contact Mary’s broker
yourself.

4. Refuse to write an offer and explain that doing so would
be unethical.

5. Refuse to write and offer since it would be illegal.

6. Refuse to write the offer and tell the Martins to contact
another Salesperson in Mary’s office.

Answers (Points) to Sample Broker Questions:

A. 1 (2 points), 2 (1 point), 3 (0 point),
4 (0 point), 5 (1 point) , 6 (0 point);

B. 1 (1 point), 2 (2 points), 3 (1 point),
4 (0 point), 5 (0 point) , 6 (0 point);
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APPLYING FOR A LICENSE

Once you have passed the required examination(s), you must
apply for licensure with the Commission by mailing the
completed License Application Form (found at the end of the
Candidate Information Bulletin), licensure fee, all required
documentation outlined in the application, including your
original Passing Score Report. The Commission will determine
your eligibility for licensure. The license fee is $270. Since the
NMREC no longer accepts credit card payments. Payment can
be made by Cashier’s Check, money order or personal check
payable to the New Mexico Real Estate Commission. No cash is
accepted. All questions about licensure information should be
directed to:

New Mexico Real Estate Commission
5500 San Antonio Dr. NE Suite B
Albuquerque, NM 87109
505.222.9820 « 800.801.7505
www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/real_estate_commission.aspx

License applicants must apply within six months of passing
their final examination.

The Real Estate Commission requires all applicants previously
or currently licensed in real estate in another state to submit a
certified license history from that state’s licensing agency.

The applicant must submit one of the two applications within
this Bulletin: Associate Broker License Application; or
Qualifying Broker (QB) License Application. The higher-level
licensure application is for those who have QB equivalency in
their current state(s)/jurisdiction of real estate licensure.

Applicants for licensure by the New Mexico Real Estate
Commission and applicants for license renewal are required to
be fingerprinted. Refer to Fingerprint details and instructions
within the Application for License.

License applicants must provide proof of errors and omissions
insurance to the Commission with their license application
packet.

All active real estate Brokers are required to have errors and
omission insurance. Licensees may obtain insurance from the
Real Estate Commission’s contract insurance carrier, Rice
Insurance Services, or from another carrier provided the
carrier certifies to the Commission that their coverage is
equivalent to the contract program. Enrollment information
may be obtained from the Commission office or from Rice
Insurance Services by calling 800.637.7319.

License applicants who intend to work for a brokerage that has
a group insurance policy with an insurance company other than
Rice Insurance Service should ask their Qualifying Broker to
provide them with a certificate of insurance verifying current
coverage, and verifying that the coverage being provided is
equivalent to the coverage being provided by the
Commission’s contract insurance carrier as required under Part
5 of the Commission Rules.

WWW.PSIEXAMS.COM
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NEW MEXICO REAL ESTATE
Eligibility/Examination Registration Form

Read the Candidate Information Bulletin before completing this form

CANDIDATE INFORMATION

Last Name (include suffix: i.e., Jr., Sr., lll) First Name Middle Name or Initial Social Sec urity Number

Street Address (including apartment number or P.O. Box, if applicable)

City, State, ZIP Code

E-mail Address

Daytime Phone (including area code) Cell Phone (including area code) Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY)

Are you a legal resident of the United States? O Yes O No
Note: You must be a legal resident of the United States to qualify to take the Broker examination.

| am submitting the Exam Accommodations Request (and the end of this bulletin) and required documentation O Yes O No

BROKER QUALIFICATIONS

Must be a legal resident of the United States and have met one of the following requirements
(check one box):

ASSOCIATE BROKER:

O Must have completed 90 hours of classroom instruction in approved real estate courses (30 Hrs - Real Estate Law; 30 Hrs - Real
Estate Principles and Practice; 30 Hrs - Broker Basics), no longer than three (3) years prior from the date on this application
to take the examination. Provide the required documentation as indicated in items a, b and c under the Real Estate Course
Verification section. When applying for the Associate Broker License, please use the Associate Broker License Application

QUALIFYING BROKER: (check the box that applies)

1. 0O [Out of State QB Equivalency Applicants] Following completion of the testing phase, out of state applicants who are
currently Qualifying Broker Equivalents and are seeking to hold a Qualifying Broker License in New Mexico may apply using the
Qualifying Broker License Application and provide the documentation (i.e. certified license history) that they hold a QB
equivalent in their current state(s) or jurisdiction(s) of licensure for at least 2 of the last 5 years for Qualifying Brokers who
may establish a Trade Name and open their own brokerage, but not supervise Associate Brokers; or 4 of the last 5 years for
Qualifying Brokers who may establish a Trade Name and open their own brokerage AND be able to supervise Associate
Brokers.

2. O [NM Salesperson Upgrades to QB] Following completion of the testing phase, NM applicants who were originally licensed
in NM as “salespersons” and who are seeking to hold a Qualifying Broker License in New Mexico may apply using the Qualifying
Broker License Application and provide the documentation that they meet all the qualifications noted in the Rules of the Real
Estate Commission Part 3, Sections: 16.61.3.12. Qualifying Broker Application Requirements; 16.61.3.11. Qualifying Broker
Candidate Education Requirements for Application; and 16.61.3.10. Qualifying Broker Licensing Requirements)

3. O [Out of State Upgrades to QB] Following completion of the testing phase, Out of State applicants who licensed as
“salespersons” or less than QB equivalents, who are seeking to hold a Qualifying Broker License in New Mexico may apply
using the Qualifying Broker License Application and provide the documentation that they meet all the qualifications noted in
the Rules of the Real Estate Commission Part 3, Sections: 16.61.3.12. Qualifying Broker Application Requirements;
16.61.3.11. Qualifying Broker Candidate Education Requirements for Application; and 16.61.3.10. Qualifying Broker Licensing
Requirements)

Pre-Licensing Education Waiver Letter from the New Mexico Real Estate Commission:

O After June 14, 2013, candidates who are currently licensed in another state and who have received a Pre-Licensing Education
Waiver Letter from the Education Director of the New Mexico Real Estate Commission are exempt from having to take the
National portion of the broker’s examination. Please attach a copy of the waiver letter to this application. Such candidates
must still take and pass the State portion of the broker’s exam and will be charged the full $95 examination fee.
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REAL ESTATE COURSE VERIFICATION

I am attaching documentation to verify | have met the following requirements (check appropriate boxes):

O a: 30 Hrs - Real Estate Law O c¢: 30 Hrs - Broker Basics O Letter of pre-licensing course
waiver from New Mexico Real
Estate Commission Education
Administrator
O b: 30 Hrs - Real Estate Principles
and Practice

AFFIDAVIT

| hereby certify that all of the information contained in this completed form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and
belief.

Signature of Applicant Date

Examination Fee is $95. Examination registration fees are nonrefundable.
Payment: Pay by credit card, money order, company check or cashier’s check payable to PSI. Cash and personal checks are not accepted.
If paying by credit card, check one: 1 VISA O MasterCard 1 American Express U Discover

Card No: Exp. Date:

The card verification number may be located on the back of the card (the last
Card Verification No: three digits on the signature strip) or on the front of the card (the four digits
to the right and above the card account number).

Billing Street Address: Billing Zip Code:

Cardholder Name (Print): Signature:

Send this completed form with the $95 fee payment and all required documentation to:

PSI licensure:certification
3210 E Tropicana
Las Vegas, NV 89121
(855) 557-0621 e Fax (702) 932-2666
Email: nmreapp@psionline.com

By filing this registration, you assume full responsibility for your exam selection. If you are unsure which exam is necessary for
the license type you are seeking, resolve this question before you register.
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New Mexico
Real Estate
Commission
Associate 2020-2021
Broker
License
Application

This Application is for use by candidates applying for a New Mexico

Associate Broker License. It contains all of the provisions of the NM Reglﬂation
most recent Rules of the NMREC regarding qualifications and and Licensing
prerequisites for submitting an application for Associate Broker Department

level licensure in New Mexico.




New Mexico Real Estate Commission Associate Broker License

Application

Section:A Associate Broker License Information

1.

Last Name (include suffix: i.e., Jr., Sr., Ill) First Name

Middle Name or Initial

Residential Mailing Address, City, State, ZIP Code

3. Location Address, City, State, ZIP Code (if different than residential mailing address - do not use P.O. Box; attach map if needed)
4. E-mail Address - *please use an email address that will not change based upon employment changes
5. Residential Phone (including area 6. Individual Tax ID Number 7. Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY)
code)
8. INACTIVE LICENSE OPTION: O Yes [ No Upon the issuance of the license, | choose to be in “inactive™ status

and the Commission will retain my license until such time that | transfer the license to an active supervisory Qualifying
Broker. Those opting for the inactive status option, please leave Section C Blank.

Section B: Associate Broker Prerequisites

1.

As an Associate Broker candidate | have taken the 90 hours of
prelicensure education required in New Mexico and have attached
completion certificates to this application.

O Yes

O No OEIN/A

As an Associate Broker candidate who is licensed in another state
or jurisdiction, | have received a waiver of 60 of 90 hours of
prelicensure education; and, have completed 30 hours of Broker
Basics. | have attached the waiver letter, a certified license
history from the state or jurisdiction within which | am currently
licensed, and the Broker Basics Course completion certificate to
this application.

O Yes

O No ON/A

As an Associate Broker candidate, | have taken the National
portion of the broker examination and have attached the original
PSI score sheet to this application. Note: applicants from other
states or jurisdictions who have obtained a written waiver would
not be required to take the national portion of the Broker
Examination.

O Yes

O No ON/A

As an Associate Broker candidate, | have taken the State portion
of the NM Broker examination and have attached the original PSI
score sheet to this application. This is required of all candidates.

O Yes

O No ON/A




New Mexico Real Estate Commission Associate Broker License
Application

Section C: Statement by prospective New Mexico Licensed (supervisory*) qualifying broker. if you
have opted to be “inactive status,” mark yes in Section A, 8 above, and do not fill out this section.

I, the undersigned, am a Supervisory* Qualifying Broker, and hereby request that after issuance, the license for the new broker o this
application, be mailed to my real estate brokerage firm for the person named on this application.

Name of Company:

Mailing Address:

City: State

Zip:

Property Management- Will this Associate Broker be performing property management services for your brokerage? aYes oNo

Signature of Qualifying Broker (or signature of applicant applying
as an individual broker) Printed Name of Qualifying Broker License Number

Signature of Authorized Corporate Officer (if applicable)

*Supervisory qualifying brokers are those that were licensed as Qualifying Brokers in New Mexico prior to January 1, 2018, and/or have met the 4 year experiential time
frame for the issuance of a Qualifying Brokers License.

Section D: Attestation Pertaining to Candidate’s Background and Character

Complete this section of the application by answering “Yes” or “No” to all questions below.

1. Have you ever had a complaint filed against you with
a real estate licensing agency of this or any other

OvYes CONo state or jurisdiction? If you answered “Yes,” attach
relevant documentation. If you answer ‘“‘ves,” see
Section D Instructions below.

2. Have you ever had a real estate license denied,
suspended, limited, conditioned, or revoked? If you
answered “Yes,” attach relevant documents._If you
answer “‘ves,” see Section D Instructions below.

3. Have you been convicted in any court of competent
jurisdiction in New Mexico or elsewhere of a felony

OvYes ONo or any offense involving moral turpitude? If you

answer “‘yes,” see Section D Instructions below.

OYes CNo

4.  Are you now, or have you at any time during the past
five years been named as a defendant in any lawsuits
pertaining to any real estate transaction? If you
answered “Yes,” attach relevant documentation._If
you answer “‘ves,” see Section D Instructions
below.

5. | have included a Fingerprint Certification Form
completed by a private fingerprinting services

O Yes ONo provider or a public or law enforcement agency. If
you answer ‘“no,” see Section D Instructions
below.

6. | am currently licensed in one or more jurisdictions
other than New Mexico, and have attached the

OlYes CINo ON/A appropriate certified license history(s) from the

jurisdiction(s). If you answer ‘no,” see Section D

Instructions below.

OvYes ONo




New Mexico Real Estate Commission Associate Broker License
Application

7. | bave errors and omissions insurance coverage
meeting the requirements of Part 5 of the Real
OvYes ONo Estate Commission Rules and have attached a
Certificate of Insurance to this application. If you
answer ““no,” see Section D Instructions below.

8. | am a legal resident of the United States. If you

answered “No”, you are not eligible for licensure.
OYes CONo You must be a legal resident of the United States
to qualify for a real estate broker’s license.

Section D Instructions

If you answered ““Yes™ to Items 1, 2, 3, or 4 of Section E of this application, Use the following Instruction to prepare supporting
documentation that should accompany this application.

1. Prepare and send a written account explaining the details of the complaint and its resolution.
2. Provide a letter from the licensing agency detailing the events that caused action to be taken against your license,
including dates and locations and any subsequent reinstatement of your license.
3. Provide the following documentation:
a. A copy of the judgment and sentence.
b. A written account of your part in the alleged offense and its current status.
c. If applicable, a letter from your parole officer detailing your degree of rehabilitation.
4.  Submit the following documentation:
a. Copies of all relevant civil complaints in which you have been named as a defendant.
b. Copies of the final dispositions of subject lawsuits (if available), or a written explanation of the current
status of complaint(s) against you.
5. See the fingerprinting instruction sheet and Fingerprint Certification Form on Pages 6 of this application form.

If you answered “No” to questions 6 or 7 of Section E, follow the Instructions listed below.

6. Request from the state(s)/jurisdiction(s) (other than New Mexico) in which you currently or previously practiced, a
certified license history which is to be included with this information when you submit your New Mexico Real Estate
Broker License Application packet

7. All active real estate Associate Brokers and Qualifying Brokers are required to have errors and omissions insurance
meeting the requirements of Part 5 of the Real Estate Commission Rules. Insurance may be obtained through the
Commission’s contract insurance carrier, Rice Insurance Services, or another insurance carrier. Enrollment forms and
other information may be obtained from the Commission office, the Commission Web site at
www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/real_estate commission.aspx or from Rice Insurance Services at 800.637.7319.

Two Affidavits of Character Required

AFFIDAVIT OF CHARACTER: You must have an Affidavit of Character (section below) completed by two individuals or include
character reference letters from two individuals who own property in the county in which you reside or do business.

Affidavit of Character

In signing this application, | affirm to the best of my knowledge and belief that the individual named on this form is of good
moral character and is honest and trustworthy. | further certify that | am a property owner in the county of residence or place
of business of the individual named herein.

Affidavit of Character Forms

Name (Print)

X

Name (Signature)

Street Address

City State Zip

Name (Print)

X

Name (Signature)

Street Address

City State

Zip
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New Mexico Real Estate Commission Associate Broker License
Application

Section E: Consents

1. CONSENT TO LAWSUITS

By virtue of my signature below, | do hereby irrevocably consent that lawsuits and actions may be commenced against me in the proper courts
of the State of New Mexico.

X

Signature of Applicant Date

2. CONSENT TO EXAMINE AND AUDIT TRUST, TRUSTEE OR ESCROW ACCOUNTS

I, , being a licensed New Mexico real estate broker or broker applicant hereby authorize the New Mexico
Real Estate Commission or its authorlzed representative to examine and audit the trust, trustee, or escrow account maintained by me, and
further authorize any bank or recognized depository to permit such examination and audit. This consent and authorization is made personally
and/or corporately.

X

Signature of Applicant Date

Section F: FINAL AFFIDAVIT AND APPLICANT SIGNATURE

AFFIDAVIT: | hereby certify that all of the information contained in this completed form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and
belief. Do not sign until you have completed this License Application Form in its entirety.

X

Signature of Applicant Date

Caution: Sections E and F must contain original signatures. Failure to sign any of these consents or the final affidavit will
result in the application being returned to the candidate.
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New Mexico Real Estate Commission
Broker Fingerprinting Program

The New Mexico Department of Public Safety (DPS) uses an electronic Live Scan system of licensee fingerprinting and
no longer accepts hardcopy fingerprint cards unless you are a broker who resides outside the State of New Mexico. For
out of state brokers and those who do not have access to live-scan, fingerprint cards are no longer supplied by the
NMREC. Cards may be acquired from any local or state law enforcement jurisdiction.

Prior to being fingerprinted at one of the approved Live Scan sites (statewide site list attached), licensees are required to
register on the vendor web site at https://www.aps.gemalto.com. Licensees need the New Mexico Real Estate

Commission identifier number, which is NIMI@20268Z, to register. Licensees may also register by phone at 1-877-996-
6277.

Licensees may pay the $44.00 fingerprint processing fee on line on the https://www.aps.gemalto.com website

using a credit or debit card at the time of registration, or pay the fee by money order or cashier’s check at the Live Scan
site at the time of fingerprinting. No cash or personal checks are accepted.

Licensees should ask the Live Scan vendor to complete the Fingerprint Certification Form that is enclosed in the
application and renewal packets as licensees will need to submit that form to the Commission along with their
application or renewal form. The registration receipt provided by Cogent at the time of online registration is also an
acceptable form of documentation to submit with licensure paperwork.

Licensees outside New Mexico who do not have access to an approved Live Scan vendor may submit hardcopy

fingerprint cards and payment to 3M Cogent at the following address. The Commission does not provide hardcopy
fingerprint cards.

Gemalto Cogent, APS Department #165
2964 Bradley Street

Pasadena, California 91107
Please feel free to contact a Real Estate Commission Investigator at (505) 222-9881 if you have any questions.

Livescan Cogent Fingerprint Locations (Click on Fingerprint Location Map on the Cogent website for details). Click
here also for locations.



https://www.aps.gemalto.com/
https://www.aps.gemalto.com/
https://www.cogentid.com/nm/index_NM.htm
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/uploads/files/Fingerprint%20locations.docx
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/uploads/files/Fingerprint%20locations.docx

New Mexico Real Estate Commission Associate Broker License
Application

Fingerprint Certification Form

New Mexico Real Estate Commission
5500 San Antonio Drive NE
Albuquergque, NM 87109
Telephone (505) 222-9820

This form must be completed by the Live Scan fingerprint vendor, law enforcement agency, or other
provider taking the applicant’s fingerprints. A copy of the form should be retained by the applicant and
mailed or delivered to the New Mexico Real Estate Commission at the above address along with the
applicant’s application for initial licensure or license renewal application.

The undersigned certifies that they are a representative of:

law enforcement agency

Agency Name

private company

Company Name

| certify that | took the fingerprints of (applicant)

Full Legal Name Clearly Printed

Applicant Individual Tax ID Number:

Date of Birth:

| further certify that the applicant presented appropriate documentation of their identity at
the time of fingerprinting.

Signature of Fingerprinting Official

Printed Name of Fingerprinting Official

Phone Number of Fingerprinting Official

Cogent ID NM Registration Number
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Check List of ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REQUIRED - For Applicant’s use only

O (If applicable) | have attached an original certified certificate of license history from the
jurisdiction(s) in which you are currently or were previously licensed.

O | have attached Completion Certificates for the following Prerequisite Prelicensing Courses
and examination scores as applicable.

O (If applicable) Real Estate Principals and Practice
O (If applicable) Real Estate Law
O Broker Basics

O (If applicable) Copy of the Letter waiving 60 of 90 hours of prelicensing education
and the national portion of the examination

O (If applicable) National Examination: An original Passing examination results

O NM Brokers Examination: an original Passing examination results

O | have attached a certificate of current errors and omissions (E&O) insurance coverage from
Rice Insurance Services, New Mexico’s Contract insurance program manager, or another carrier.
Rice can be contacted toll free at 1-800-637-7319, or on line at http://www.risceo.com. Please
review Part 5 of the Commission Rules, Errors and Omissions Insurance, accessible at
www.rld.state.nm.us//boards/Real Estate Commission.aspx , Law and Rules, for E&O coverage
requirements.

O | have attached the completed Fingerprint Certification Form on page 6 of this application.

O 1 have enclosed the $270 fee for a three-year license. The NM Real Estate Commission no
longer accepts credit cards and does not accept cash. Please submit a cashier’s or personal check
made out to New Mexico Real Estate Commission



http://www.risceo.com/
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/Real_Estate_Commission.aspx
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2020-2021 NMREC Qualifying Broker License
Application

NM
Qualifying
Broker 2020-2021
l.icense 2020-2021

Application

This Application is for use by candidates applying for a New Mexico

Qualifying Broker License. It contains all of the provisions of the NM Regulation
most recent Rules of the NMREC regarding qualifications and and Licensing
prerequisites for submitting an application for Qualifying Broker Department

level licensure in New Mexico.
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NM Qualifying Broker License Application Instructions

Incomplete Applications will not be accepted and will be returned.

Section A: QUALIFYING BROKER CANDIDATE INFORMATION.

A1l. Name Information. Last Name, include suffix (i.e. Jr., Sr., Ill);
First Name; Middle Initial. Please print or type.

A2. Residential Mailing Address. Home address. NM does not
require that brokers reside or establish an office in the State.

A3. Location Address. Fill this out only if different than Item A2
of this Section.

A4. E-mail Address. Please use a permanent e-mail address that
is not subject to change based upon employment or physical
address.

Ab5. Residential Phone Numbers. This can include cell numbers.
ABG. Individual Tax ID Number.

A7. Date of birth. MM/DD/YYYY.

A8. NM Associate Broker License. If applicable, please indicate
your current New Mexico Associate Broker License Number that
will be retired to the Commission and replaced with a new QB
License Number, along with the date the Associate Broker License
was issued.

A9. A Candidate may choose “inactive” status for their Qualifying
Broker License in which the license will remain with the
Commission until such time the licensee “activates” the QB
Authority.

Section B: QUALIFYING BROKER CANDIDATE PRE-REQUISITES.
Answer the individual elements 1 through 11.

B1. Previous QB Status in New Mexico. If the applicant is able to
document that he/she was a Qualifying Broker before December
31, 2005, and that he/she has taken the Qualifying Broker
Refresher Course in the current cycle as an Associate Broker, they
may fill out Section D: Trade Name Registration without the
prerequisites listed in the rest of Section B (Items 2 through 11).

B2. QB Equivalent in another State. If an applicant is currently
licensed in another state or jurisdiction as a QB or QB Equivalent,
and can document that status through a certified license history,
they would qualify for QB licensure in NM without the
prerequisites B6 through B11l. Those who have attained QB
equivalency in their current State/jurisdiction, should mark
Sections B6 through B11 as N/A.

B3. New Mexico Brokers Examination. The Rules of the NMREC
state that all candidates for a Qualifying Broker must have taken
the NM Brokers Examination. This requirement especially
pertains to persons who were originally licensed as
“salespersons” prior to 2007 and were converted to Associate
Brokers without having to take the test. In addition to the
Educational Prerequisites established for QB Candidates, those
salespersons and licensed applicants from other states or

jurisdictions who have secured a waiver of 60 of the 90 hours
required to take the Examination must take the Broker Basics
Course (30 classroom hours) and take the NM portion of the
Broker Examination. If the candidate answers this question in the
negative, they would have to complete the Broker Basics course
before being eligible to take the Broker Examination .

B4. Non-Supervisory Qualifying Broker Candidate. A Broker who
will not be supervising associate brokers or other qualifying
brokers must document that they have had an active associate
broker’s license for 2 of the last 5 years immediately preceding
their application to become a qualifying broker. This time
requirement also applies to applicants from other states or
jurisdictions that are currently licensed below the QB Equivalency
of their state or jurisdiction and are seeking to upgrade to
Qualifying Broker; or if licensed as a qualifying broker equivalent
in such other state or jurisdiction, they have been licensed for less
than 4 year minimum time requirement to supervise New Mexico
associate brokers.

B5. Supervisory Qualifying Broker Candidate. A broker who will
be supervising associate brokers and other qualifying brokers
must document that they have had an active associate broker’s
license for 4 of the last 5 years immediately preceding their
application to become a qualifying broker. Such candidates must
also meet the other requirements for qualifying broker licensure
detailed elsewhere in this application.

B6. Education Prerequisite 1. Candidates must be able to answer
in the affirmative that they have taken the 30 hour Brokerage
Office Administration Course and that they have passed the in-
class instructor administered examination.

B7. Education Prerequisite 2. Candidates must be able to answer
in the affirmative that they have taken the 8-hour Understanding
and Using RANM Forms Course; or at least 8 hours of other
Commission-approved contract courses.

B8. Meeting Attendance. Candidates must be able to document
that they have attended and logged in by sign in sheet, a NM Real
Estate Commission Meeting, NMREC Hearing, or NMREC
Disciplinary Hearing within their most current active licensing
cycle.

B9. Upgrades from Other States. Answering in the affirmative
means the candidate is a licensed person from another state or
jurisdiction with a salespersons license or less than a QB
Equivalent license; and the candidate is wanting to apply for an
upgrade using time as an active licensee and documented
transactional experience in those states or jurisdictions in order
to apply for a QB License in New Mexico. Those to whom this
applies must be able to fully document their time through a
certified license history from the applicable state or jurisdiction
and document the equivalent of 100 transaction points as defined
in the Rules of the NMREC. (See B10)

B10. Transactional Experience. The applicant must answer in the
affirmative that they have documented on a commission
approved transaction points spreadsheet, transactional
experience totaling 100 points in their specialty or combination of
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specialties accomplished during each of the four years prior to the
filing of the application for a NM QB License.

B1l1l. waiver of 30 Transactional Points due to Regional
Economic Hardship.

B12. supervisory QB Affidavit. (for Supervisory QB License
Applicants only.) This requires a signature by the applicant in the
presence of a Notary Public. If Section B12 is not signed and
attested by a Notary, there must be an attached page to this
application containing the same language, signature and
attestation. If the applicant does not comply with this
requirement, the application will be considered incomplete.

Section C. QB’S WORKING AS ASSOCIATE BROKERS. THIS
SECTION IS FOR QB CANDIDATES, WHO CHOOSE TO WORK IN THE
CAPACITY OF ASSOCIATE BROKERS UNDER THE SUPERVISION OF
ANOTHER QUALIFYING BROKER. THEY WOULD RETAIN QB
AUTHORITY IN RESERVE OR ON INACTIVE STATUS. PLEASE FILL
OUT THE NAME OF THE COMPANY, THE COMPANY’S TELEPHONE
NUMBER, THE COMPANY’S LOCATION, THE COMPANY’S MAILING
ADDRESS.

Section D. TRADE NAME REGISTRATION — FOR THOSE WHO
WISH TO ESTABLISH THEIR OWN BROKERAGE

This is the name of the

D1. Qualifying Broker (Candidate).
applicant for the QB License.

D2. Corporation Name. If a legal corporation is established and
registered with the State of NM, this should be recorded here.

D3. Trade Name / DBA. This is a name under which the qualifying
broker will be conducting their real estate brokerage business. Fill
this section out ONLY if you intend to establish your own
brokerage.

DA4. Business Location Address. This is the physical office or
mailing address, or post office box address used at the discretion
of the applicant.

D5. virtual Offices. This is the web link or URL for those
brokerages that have virtual offices, or work from their homes. If
there is ever any change in the URL or web link, the NMREC must
be notified.

D6. Mailing Address. This may be a business Post Office Box or
be the same address as the business physical location or home.

D7. Phone Numbers. Or Fax numbers.

D8, D9, D10. signature(s) of QB applicant, corporate
signatures, partner(s) if applicable.

Section E. CANDIDATE/APPLICANT BACKGROUND AND
CHARACTER ATTESTATIONS. THIS SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED.
NO QUESTION SHOULD REMAIN UNANSWERED OR THE
APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED. SEE SECTION E INSTRUCTIONS

WITHIN THE APPLICATION FORM, BELOW QUESTIONS 1
THROUGH 8. TWO AFFIDAVITS OF CHARACTER ARE REQUIRED.
YOU CAN USE THE SIMPLE FORM INCLUDED AT THE END OF THIS
SECTION WITHIN THE APPLICATION, OR YOU MAY SUBMIT
CHARACTER REFERENCE LETTERS FROM TWO INDIVIDUALS WHO
OWN PROPERTY IN THE COUNTY IN WHICH THE APPLICANT
RESIDES OR DOES BUSINESS. IF THE APPLICANT IS A LICENSEE IN
ANOTHER STATE, THEY MAY SUBMIT CHARACTER REFERENCES
FROM THEIR AREA. THEY NEED NOT BE NM RESIDENTS.

Section F. CONSENTS

F1. Consent to Lawsuits. This consent is for applicants with out-
of-state addresses for either their businesses or their residency.
Lack of signature by an applicable candidate renders the
Application for License incomplete and it would be returned.

F2. Consent to Examine and Audit Trust, Trustee and/or Escrow
Accounts. This consent must be signed by all applicants. Lack of a
signature by the candidate renders the Application for the License
incomplete and it would be returned.

Section G. FINAL AFFIDAVIT AND APPLICANT SIGNATURE. THIS
MUST BE SIGNED AND DATED.

ADDITIONAL MATERIAL

Page 7. New Mexico Real Estate Commission Broker
Fingerprinting Program Description. This describes the
fingerprinting process used by the NM RE Commission and notes
the NMREC identifier number to be used to register with the
electronic fingerprinting vendor, 3M Cogent. The identifier
number is: NM920263Z.

Page 8. Fingerprint Certification Form. This form must be
completed by the private company or law enforcement agency
taking the applicant’s fingerprints.

NMREC uses live scan fingerprints provided by its contractor
Cogent 3M at their live scan outlets in New Mexico. The Cogent
Live Scan Center would keep a copy of the Fingerprint
Certification Form and provide the applicant with a copy to
include in the License Application. (See above information sheet,
application page 7)

Non Live Scan Fingerprints: Applicants who are not near live scan
centers must (1) acquire 2 FBI rated fingerprint cards; and, (2) take
them to the nearest law enforcement office which would do the
imprinting. The law enforcement agency or private company
official who administers the fingerprinting would fill out and sign
this certification. Two (2) copies should be provided to the
applicant, one of which will be mailed by the applicant to: 3M
Gemalto Cogent, APS Department #165, 2964 Bradley Street.,
Pasadena, CA 91107. The second copy should be submitted as a
part of the application.

Page 9. Check List of Additional Information to Append the
Application. This check list summarizes the additional forms, that
must accompany the license application, including affidavits,
course completion certificates, Errors and Omission Insurance
certificate, and brokers exam score reports.




2020-2021 NMREC Qualifying Broker License Application

Section A: QUALIFYING BROKER CANDIDATE INFORMATION

1.

Last Name (include suffix: i.e., Jr., Sr., ) First Name Middle Name or
Initial

Residential Mailing Address, City, State, ZIP Code

Location Address, City, State, ZIP Code (if different than residential mailing address - do not use P.O. Box; attach
map if needed)

E-mail Address - *please use an email address that will not change based upon employment changes

Residential Phone (including 6. Individual Tax ID Number 7. Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY)
area code)

NM Associate Broker License | License #: Date Issued:
Number (if applicable)

Property Management: As a qualifying broker, will you be offering property management services under
any or all of your qualifying broker licenses? o Yes o No

10.

INACTIVE LICENSE OPTION: O Yes O No Upon the issuance of the license, | choose to be in “inactive”
status and the Commission will retain my license until such time that | activate my QB license. Those
QB Candidates opting for the inactive status option, please leave Sections C and D Blank.

Section B: Qualifying Broker Candidate PRE-REQUISITES You Must Respond by Checking 1 of 3

Options! Leave None Blank!

1.

Previous QB Status in NM: | am a NM Broker and can document that | | O Yes O No ON/A
was a Qualifying Broker on or before December 31, 2005 and am not
subject to pre-requisites 3 through 10 below. | have taken the Qualifying
Broker Refresher Course and apply to regain QB status by submitting a
trade name registration form and appropriate fee with this application.

QB Equivalency in another State: | am currently licensed in another | O Yes O No ON/A
State, (Province or jurisdiction) as an equivalent to a Qualifying Broker
and am submitting with this application, a Certified License History
documenting that status. As such | understand that | am not required to
complete the following pre-requisites 7 through 11 listed below, and
hereby apply for the Qualifying Broker License as an equivalent status to
that which | currently have from the other jurisdiction. However, all QB
equivalent applicants must take the Brokerage Office Administration
Course as a prerequisite to QB licensure and the Broker Basics Course.
Those licensed in other states would have also submit a prelicensure
education waiver for RE Law and RE Principles and Practice (total 60
hours waived).

New Mexico Brokers Examination: As a Candidate, | have taken and | O Yes O No ON/A
passed the New Mexico Broker Examination *Those originally licensed
prior to 2007 as ‘“salespersons” in New Mexico, must first take the
prelicensure Broker Basics Course and subsequently take the state
portion of the Broker Examination and pass with a satisfactory score.
And attach results to this application. Note: NM Associate Brokers who
were licensed after 2007 would have taken the Brokers Exam to be
licensed and would answer yes.

Non-Supervisory Qualifying Broker Candidate: | am a Non-Supervisory | O Yes [ No [ON/A
Qualifying Broker Candidate and as such, have been
. an active associate broker for at least 2 of the last five years | IF YOU ANSWERED “YES™” TO THIS, Mark
preceding the date of application; N/A to #5 below.
. or have been a QB Equivalent in another jurisdiction for less
than 2 of the last 5 years.

Supervisory Qualifying Broker Candidate: | am a Supervisory Qualifying | O Yes O No ON/A
Broker Candidate and as such, have been
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e an active associate broker for at least 4 of the last five years | ANSWER THIS ONLY IF YOU ANSWER
preceding the date of application; “NO” TO #4 ABOVE. DO NOT ANSWER

e or have been a QB Equivalent for at least 4 of the last 5 years | “YES” to BOTH #4 AND #5.
in another jurisdiction.

6. Education Prerequisite 1. As a Candidate or QB Equivalent, | have
completed the 30 hour Brokerage Office Administration Course, and have | O Yes O No ON/A
attached proof of completion.

7. Education Prerequisite 2. As a Candidate, | have completed the 8-hour | O Yes O No [ON/A
Understanding and Using RANM Forms Course; or at least 8 hours of
another Commission approved contract course. | have attached proof.

8. Meeting Attendance. | have attended at least one New Mexico Real | O Yes O No ON/A
Estate Commission meeting, rule hearing, or disciplinary hearing during | Event:
my current licensing cycle. Date:

9. Upgrades from other States (ONLY). | am licensed in another State | O Yes O No [ON/A
(province, or jurisdiction) as the equivalent of a New Mexico associate
broker

. but less than a Qualifying Broker equivalency level,

. have at least 2 years of active licensure during the last five
years [if applying for non-supervisory QB]

. or four years’ of active licensure during the last five years [if
applying for a Supervisory QB]; and

. | have documented my tenure in writing from my Qualifying
Broker or the State’s applicable equivalent to a Qualifying
Broker.

10. Documentation of Transactional Experience. | have documented | O Yes O No ON/A
qualifying transactional experience totaling 100 points with one
transaction accomplished during each of the last four years prior to filing
this application, and have provided with this application a Commission
approved transactional spreadsheet.

11. Limited Waiver of 30 Transactional Points: | am applying for a waiver | 00 Yes [ No [DON/A
of up to 30 Transactional Points because the market, lack of property
types, health issues or force majeure. This request will delay final
processing of the application until such time as the NM Real Estate
Commission can meet and consider the request for waiver.

12. Documentation of Tenure - Years’ Experience - This section must be filled out by an existing NM
Qualifying Broker or Qualifying Broker Equivalent (in another jurisdiction) who supervises or has/have
supervised the Candidate. The Supervisory QB or the chain of QBs who have supervised the applicant must
attest to the period of time in which they worked under their Qualifying Broker authority(s).

[This section does not apply to QB Applicants with QB Equivalent credentials in other states or jurisdictions;
or to those who can document achievement of New Mexico Qualifying Broker status on or before December 31,
2005.]

0 (Check If Applicable) Qualifying Broker(s) (QB) Certifying Statement(s): | / (we) certify that the licensed person
named on this application, and who is an applicant for a Qualifying Broker license, has been affiliated with my Brokerage
as a licensed real estate qualifying broker or associate broker and has performed actively during the period indicated
beside my signature.

Qualifying Broker Name From To Qualifying Broker Signature
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13. Supervisory QB Affidavit: [for Supervisory Qualifying Broker Licensure (only). Applicants may attach a
separate page to this application containing the exact same acknowledgement language with applicant
signature and Notary attestation. |IF YOU ARE APPLYING FOR NON-SUPERVISORY OB LICENSURE, DO NOT FILL
OUT THIS SECTION.

(Check One) O | choose to use the acknowledgement form below. O A separate affidavit is attached to this application.

| hereby acknowledge all of the responsibilities of a New Mexico Qualifying Broker, including the direct supervision of all
brokers affiliated with my license and acknowledge that supervision as defined by the Rules of the Real Estate Commission are
as follows:

A. The Qualifying Broker reviews and maintains all records and documents required for real estate related matters
processed by personnel supervised by the Qualifying Broker

B. The Qualifying Broker provides or promotes appropriate training of all brokers and staff affiliated with the
qualifying broker for compliance with the Real Estate License Law and Commission Rules.

C. The Qualifying Broker supervises advertising of real estate or real estate services conducted on behalf of others by
anyone affiliated with the qualifying broker.

D. The Qualifying Broker executes and maintains current written employment agreements or independent contractor
agreements with associate brokers affiliated with the qualifying broker.

Signature of Qualifying Broker Candidate Printed Name of Qualifying Broker Candidate

X

State of New Mexico

County of
This record was acknowledged before me on (date)
by (name(s) of individual(s)).

Signature of Notary
Stamp

Title of office

My commission expires:

Section C. For Qualifying Broker Candidates who choose to continue to work in the capacity of Associate Brokers under
the Supervision of another Qualifying Broker, but retain QB Authority in reserve or inactive.

[Skip this section and fill out Section D if the applicant wishes to establish their own brokerage; or If you have chosen
to be “inactive status,” skip this section.]

Statement by PROSPECTIVE Qualifying Broker (not the applicant):

I, the undersigned, hereby request that the Applicant’s newly issued Qualifying Broker license be mailed to my real estate
brokerage firm. Although they will have Qualifying Broker authority, they have chosen to work under my supervision operating
as an Associate Broker under a written independent contractor agreement or employment contract. If the Broker chooses to
leave my brokerage, they may establish their own Trade Name or Transfer to another brokerage.

Name of Company:

Company Telephone Number: Location

Mailing Address:

City: State Zip:

Signature of Qualifying Broker Printed Name of QB License Number

3
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Signature of Authorized Corporate Officer (if applicable)

Section D: Trade Name Registration: For Supervisory and Non-Supervisory Qualifying Broker Candidates
who are establishing Trade Name for Brokerage or Applicants who had documented QB Authority prior to

December 31, 2005 and wish to establish a Trade Name.

Applicants wishing to establish their own brokerage should fill out this section of the application. You
must complete either Section C OR Section D, but not BOTH; or If you have chosen to be “inactive status,”
skip this section.]

1.

2.

10.

11.

QUALIFYING BROKER (Candidate) NAME:

CORPORATION NAME:_(if applicable)

TRADE NAME/DBA:

BUSINESS LOCATION ADDRESS:

PHONE #:

CITY: STATE: ZIP:
MAILING ADDRESS:
CITY: STATE: ZIP:
VIRTUAL OFFICE ADDRESS - WEB URL:
BUSINESS EMAIL ADDRESS:
PHONE #: PHONE #:
SIGNATURE OF QUALIFYING BROKER (applicant)
AUTHORIZED CORPORATE SIGNATURE:_(if applicable)
If applicable, PRINT NAME OF PARTNERS/OWNERS: /
/

Section E: Attestation Pertaining to Candidate’s Background and Character

Complete this section of the application by answering “Yes” or “No” to all questions below.

OvYes

ONo

Have you ever had a complaint filed against you with
a real estate licensing agency of this or any other
state or jurisdiction? If you answered “Yes,” attach
relevant documentation. If you answer “yes,” see
Section E Instructions below.

OvYes

CONo

Have you ever had a real estate license denied,
suspended, limited, conditioned, or revoked? If you
answered “Yes,” attach relevant documents._If you
answer “‘ves,” see Section E Instructions below.

OvYes

CONo

Have you been convicted in any court of competent
jurisdiction in New Mexico or elsewhere of a felony
or any offense involving moral turpitude? If you
answer “‘ves,” see Section E Instructions below.
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OvYes

ONo 4. Are you now, or have you at any time during the past
five years been named as a defendant in any lawsuits
pertaining to any real estate transaction? If you
answered “Yes,” attach relevant documentation._If
you answer *“yes,” see Section E Instructions
below.

Fingerprint Certification

O Yes

CNo 5. | have included a Fingerprint Certification Form
completed by a private fingerprinting services
provider or a public or law enforcement agency. |If
you answer “‘no,” see Section E Instructions
below.

OvYes

ONo ON/A 6. | am currently licensed in one or more jurisdictions
other than New Mexico, and have attached the
appropriate certified license history(s) from the
jurisdiction(s). If you answer ““no,” see Section E
Instructions below.

OYes

ONo 7. | have errors and omissions insurance coverage
meeting the requirements of Part 5 of the Real
Estate Commission Rules and have attached a
Certificate of Insurance to this application. If you
answer “‘no,”” see Section E Instructions below.

OvYes

ONo 8. | am a legal resident of the United States. If you
answered “No”, you are not eligible for licensure.
You must be a legal resident of the United States
to qualify for a real estate broker’s license.

Section E Subsequent Instructions

If you answered “Yes” to Items 1, 2, 3, or 4 of Section E of this application, Use the following
Instruction to prepare supporting documentation that should accompany this application.

1.
2.

3.

Prepare and send a written account explaining the details of the complaint and its resolution.
Provide a letter from the licensing agency detailing the events that caused action to be taken
against your license, the final resolution of the matter, and the current status of your license.
Provide the following documentation:

a. A copy of the judgment and sentence.

b. A written account of your part in the alleged offense and its current status.

c. |If applicable, a letter from your parole officer detailing your degree of rehabilitation.
Submit the following documentation:

a. Copies of all relevant civil complaints in which you have been named as a defendant.

b. Copies of the final dispositions of subject lawsuits (if available), or a written

explanation of the current status of complaint(s) against you.

See the fingerprinting instruction sheet and Fingerprint Certification Form on Pages 7 and 8 of
this application form.

If you answered “No” to questions 6 or 7 of Section E, follow the Instructions listed below.

6.

Request from the state(s)/jurisdiction(s) (other than New Mexico) in which you currently or
previously practiced, a certified license history which is to be included with your New Mexico
Real Estate Broker License Application packet.

All active real estate Associate Brokers and Qualifying Brokers are required to have errors and
omissions insurance meeting the requirements of Part 5 of the Real Estate Commission
Rules. Insurance may be obtained through the Commission’s contract insurance carrier, Rice
Insurance Services, or another insurance carrier. Enrollment forms and other information
may be obtained from the Commission office, the Commission Web site at
www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/real _estate commission.aspx or from Rice Insurance Services at
800.637.7319.
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Two Affidavits of Character Required

AFFIDAVIT OF CHARACTER: You must have an Affidavit of Character completed by two individuals or include
character reference letters from two individuals who own property in the county in which you reside or do
business. You can use the templates below (page 6) or separate affidavits mirroring the template. These must
accompany this application for licensure.

Affidavit of Character

By signing an affidavit of character, | (Signatory) affirm to the best of my knowledge and belief that
the individual named on this form is of good moral character and is honest and trustworthy. |
(Signatory) further certify that | am a property owner in the county of residence or place of business
of the individual named herein.

Affidavit of Character #1 Affidavit of Character #2

Name (Print) o
Name (Print)
X
X

Name (Signature) _
Name (Signature)

Street Address

Street Address
City State

Eity State
Zip

Zip

Section F: Consents

1. CONSENT TO LAWSUITS
| do hereby irrevocably consent that lawsuits and actions may be commenced against me in the proper courts of the State of New Mexico.

X

Signature of Applicant Date

2. CONSENT TO EXAMINE AND AUDIT TRUST, TRUSTEE OR ESCROW ACCOUNTS

I, , being a licensed New Mexico real estate qualifying broker or qualifying broker applicant, hereby
authorize the New Mexico Real Estate Commission or its authorized representative to examine and audit the trust, trustee, or escrow account
maintained by me, and further authorize any bank or recognized depository to permit such examination and audit. This consent and
authorization is made personally and/or corporately.

X

Signature of Applicant Date

Section G: FINAL AFFIDAVIT AND APPLICANT SIGNATURE
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AFFIDAVIT: | hereby certify that all of the information contained in this completed form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and
belief. Do not sign until you have completed this License Application Form in its entirety.

X

Signature of Applicant Date

Caution: Sections F and G must not be left blank and must contain original signatures. Failure to sign any of these consents
or the final affidavit will result in the application being returned to the candidate.

New Mexico Real Estate Commission
Broker Fingerprinting Program

The New Mexico Department of Public Safety (DPS) uses an electronic Live Scan system of licensee fingerprinting and
no longer accepts hardcopy fingerprint cards unless you are a broker who resides outside the State of New Mexico. For
out of state brokers and those who do not have access to live-scan, fingerprint cards are no longer supplied by the
NMREC. Cards may be acquired from any local or state law enforcement jurisdiction.

Prior to being fingerprinted at one of the approved Live Scan sites (statewide site list attached), licensees are required to
register on the vendor web site at https://www.aps.gemalto.com. Licensees need the New Mexico Real Estate
Commission identifier number, which is NINMI@20268Z, to register. Licensees may also register by phone at 1-877-996-
6277.

Licensees may pay the $44.00 fingerprint processing fee on line on the https://www.aps.gemalto.com website
using a credit or debit card at the time of registration, or pay the fee by money order or cashier’s check at the Live Scan
site at the time of fingerprinting. No cash or personal checks are accepted.

Licensees should ask the Live Scan vendor to complete the Fingerprint Certification Form that is enclosed in the
application and renewal packets as licensees will need to submit that form to the Commission along with their
application or renewal form. The registration receipt provided by Cogent at the time of online registration is also an
acceptable form of documentation to submit with licensure paperwork.

Licensees outside New Mexico who do not have access to an approved Live Scan vendor may submit hardcopy

fingerprint cards and payment to 3M Cogent at the following address. The Commission does not provide hardcopy
fingerprint cards.

Gemalto Cogent, APS Department #165
2964 Bradley Street

Pasadena, California 91107
Please feel free to contact a Real Estate Commission Investigator at (505) 222-9881 if you have any questions.

Livescan Cogent Gemalto Fingerprint Locations (Click on Fingerprint Location Map on the Cogent website for
details). Click here also for locations.



https://www.aps.gemalto.com/
https://www.aps.gemalto.com/
https://www.cogentid.com/nm/index_NM.htm
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/uploads/files/Fingerprint%20locations.docx

2020-2021 NMREC Qualifying Broker License Application

Fingerprint Certification Form

New Mexico Real Estate Commission
5500 San Antonio Drive NE
Albuquergque, NM 87109
Telephone (505) 222-9820

This form must be completed by the Live Scan fingerprint vendor, law enforcement agency, or other
provider taking the applicant’s fingerprints. A copy of the form should be retained by the applicant and
mailed or delivered to the New Mexico Real Estate Commission at the above address along with the
applicant’s application for initial licensure or license renewal application.

The undersigned certifies that they are a representative of:

law enforcement agency

Agency Name

private company

Company Name

| certify that | took the fingerprints of (applicant)

Full Legal Name Clearly Printed

Applicant Individual Tax ID Number:

Date of Birth:

| further certify that the applicant presented appropriate documentation of their identity at
the time of fingerprinting.

Signature of Fingerprinting Official

Printed Name of Fingerprinting Official

Phone Number of Fingerprinting Official

Cogent Gemalto ID NM Registration Number
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Check List of ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REQUIRED (For Applicant’s Use Only)

O (If applicable) | have attached an original certificate of license history from the jurisdiction(s)
in which | am currently or was previously licensed.

O | have attached Completion Certificates for the following Prerequisite Courses
O Brokerage Office Administration

O Understanding and Using RANM Forms; or at least 8 hours of other
Commission approved contract courses.

O | have attached a copy of a Transactional Point Data Sheet signed by my current Qualifying
Broker and other Qualifying Broker(s) showing | have attained 100 Transactional Points with at
least one transaction in each of the four years immediately preceding my application.

O (If applicable) | have attached a formal signed request for a limited waiver of 30 transaction
points because of size of market, lack of property types, health issues, or force majeure.
Submitting the request for waiver will delay the final processing of the application until such
time the Commission can consider the request for waiver.

O (If applicable) | was previously licensed as a salesperson in NM and attach an original PSI exam
score report.

O | have attached a certificate of current errors and omissions (E&O) insurance coverage from
Rice Insurance Services, New Mexico’s Contract insurance program manager, or another carrier.
Rice can be contacted toll free at 1-800-637-7319, or on line at http://www.risceo.com. Please
review Part 5 of the Commission Rules, Errors and Omissions Insurance, accessible at
www.rld.state.nm.us//boards/Real Estate Commission.aspx , Law and Rules, for E&O coverage
requirements.

O | have attached the completed Fingerprint Certification Form on page 8 of this application.

O If you are already a NM licensee who is upgrading, no fee is required.

O (If applicable - out of state licensees applying for NM Licensure as a QB) | have enclosed the
$270 fee for a three-year license. The NM Real Estate Commission no longer accepts credit cards
and does not accept cash. Please submit a cashier’s or personal check payable to The New
Mexico Real Estate Commission.


http://www.risceo.com/
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/Real_Estate_Commission.aspx

: ExAmM ACCOMMODATIONS
PS! OUT-OF-STATE TESTING REQUEST

All examination centers are equipped to provide access in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990.
Applicants with disabilities or those who would otherwise have difficulty taking the examination may request exam
accommodations.

Candidates who wish to request exam accommodations because of a disability should fax this form and supporting documentation
to PSI at (702) 932-2666.

Requirements for exam accommodation requests:

You are required to submit documentation from the medical authority or learning institution that rendered a diagnosis.
Verification must be submitted to PSI on the letterhead stationery of the authority or specialist and include the following:

1 Description of the disability and limitations related to testing

[1 Recommended accommodation/modification

1 Name, title and telephone number of the medical authority or specialist
1

Original signature of the medical authority or specialist

Date Social Security or ID#:

Legal Name:

Last Name First Name
Address:

Street City, State, Zip Code
Telephone: ( ) - ( )

Home Work

Email Address:

Check any exam accommodations you require (requests must concur with documentation submitted):

[0 Reader (as accommodation for visual impairment 0 Extended Time
or learning disability) (Additional time requested: )
0  Large-Print written examination 0 Other

[0 *Out-of-State Testing Request (this request does not
require additional documentation)

Site requested:
*You may email your out-of-state request to
OutofStateRequest@psionline.com.

[1 Complete and fax this form, along with supporting documentation, to (702) 932-2666 or email it to
examaccommodations@psionline.com
[1 After 4 days, PSI Exam Accommodations will email you confirmation of approval with instructions for the next step.

DO NOT SCHEDULE YOUR EXAMINATION UNTIL THIS DOCUMENTATION HAS BEEN

RECEIVED AND PROCESSED BY PSI EXAMACCOMMODATIONS.
WWW.PSIEXAMS.COM


http://www.psiexams.com/
mailto:OutofStateRequest@psionline.com
mailto:examaccommodations@psionline.com

PSI licensure:certification
3210 E Tropicana
Las Vegas, NV 89121

WWW.PSIEXAMS.COM


http://www.psiexams.com/
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