	                                          NEW MEXICO

               MASSAGE THERAPY BOARD

                             2550 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505

                          P. O. Box 25101, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504

                                 E-mail:  Massage.Board@state.nm.us
                              Website:  www.rld.state.nm.us
                                        Phone: (505) 476-4870
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               MASSAGE THERAPIST
                                                      APPLICATION FORM FOR LICENSURE

                                                                                                                                            
	


 FORMCHECKBOX 
  APPLICATION FEE:   $75.00 

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  TEMPORARY LICENSE (Optional, if qualified – see checklist):  $25.00. 

 FORMCHECKBOX 
   YES  FORMCHECKBOX 
  NO    - Have you ever taken the NCETMB, the NCETM or the MBLEx?
 FORMCHECKBOX 
   YES  FORMCHECKBOX 
  NO    - Are you planning to or scheduled to take any one of the above mentioned national Examinations?  
                                  If so, which one and when? _______________________________
This application must be legible, either printed in black ink or typed.  Please check only one category of licensure for which you are applying:

 FORMCHECKBOX 

LICENSURE BY EDUCATION**
Requires completion of a minimum of 650 hours of massage therapy training (see Part 4 of 16.7NMAC), PLUS passage of a National Examination (see Part 10 of 16.7NMAC) at www.rld.state.nm.us/massage,
 FORMCHECKBOX 

LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS
Requires completion of a minimum of 650 hours Massage Therapy training AND current Massage Therapy licensure from another licensing jurisdiction PLUS passage of a national examination OR passage of an examination equal to or exceeding New Mexico’s examination requirements, as provided in 16.7.4.18 of Part 4 and Part 10,  and Section 61-12C-16 of the Massage Therapy Practice Act.

**Contact the National Certification Board at 1-800-296-0664 or through the Internet at http://www.ncbtmb.com for details regarding taking the NCETMB National Examination. 
**Contact the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards through the internet at http://www.fsmtb.org for details regarding taking the MBLEX. 
INITIAL LICENSE FEE - The initial permanent massage therapy license fee will be assessed when the application is complete and all other requirements have been met.  The initial license fee may be prorated to get you into an October 31st renewal cycle.  

APPLICANT INFORMATION     **All licensing information provided is public information**
	NAME - LAST
     
	FIRST
     
	MIDDLE INITIAL
 

	MAILING ADDRESS - No. & Street/P. O. Box
     

	CITY

     
	STATE

  
	ZIP CODE
      -      

	DATE OF BIRTH
   -    -     
	BUSINESS OR MESSAGE PHONE

(   )     -     
	HOME PHONE

(   )     -     
	PLACE OF BIRTH

	E-MAIL ADDRESS:
	SOCIAL SECURITY NO.

     -       -     

	EMPLOYER’S NAME AND ADDRESS:



	Have you ever used a different name for school or employment?  If Yes, what name(s)?

     

	If you previously applied for a NM Massage Therapy License in NEW MEXICO, however did 

not obtain a license, provide approximate date of application. 

   -    -     
	

	If you previously applied for and obtained a NM Massage Therapy license, provide date license was issued and license number

______ - _____ - _____; License # ________
	


APPLICATION REVIEW:
The preliminary application review process averages approximately two weeks from the time it is received by the Board office.  Due to the high volume of applications received by the Board office, please be patient and allow staff to complete the necessary processes required by state government.   You can contact the Board office if, after that time period, you have still not heard a response to your application.
SECTION A – MASSAGE THERAPY EDUCATION
	This Section MUST be completed by ALL applicants. 
· You must list all your massage therapy schooling and you must request that the massage therapy school(s) you listed provide official transcripts to the Board office. 
· If the massage therapy schooling was not obtained at a New Mexico registered massage therapy school or if the training you received is less than the minimum hours required for licensure or if you graduated from your program more than two (2) years ago, you must request that Form A “Massage Therapy School” be completed by each of the Massage Therapy School(s) and be sent directly to the Board by the school(s) with the official transcript AND verification that the school was approved to operate as a private post secondary educational institution.  

· At least one (1) transcript must document a minimum of 300-class hours of Massage Therapy schooling.  

· If the applicant is missing a core curriculum course or a small portion of the core curriculum to complete the 650-hour requirement, the applicant may obtain the training course(s) from a New Mexico registered independent instructor, or from a New Mexico registered school, or from another massage therapy school that meets the requirements in 16.7.4.13 NMAC.



	NAME - MASSAGE THERAPY SCHOOL

     

	PHONE

(   )     -     

	MAILING ADDRESS - No. & Street/P. O. Box

     


	CITY

     

	STATE

  
	ZIP CODE

      -      

	HOURS COMPLETED

    

	COMPLETION/GRADUATION DATE

   -    -     
	DIPLOMA AWARDED (Massage Therapist, etc.)

     

	NAME - MASSAGE THERAPY SCHOOL

     

	PHONE

(   )     -     

	MAILING ADDRESS - No. & Street/P. O. Box

     


	CITY

     

	STATE

  
	ZIP CODE

      -      

	HOURS COMPLETED

    

	COMPLETION/GRADUATION DATE

   -    -     
	DIPLOMA AWARDED (Massage Therapist, BA, AA, etc.

     


SECTION B – CREDENTIALS
	This Section must be completed if you checked "Licensure by Credentials”.  

a. You must have a current, valid license as a Massage Therapist in another state/territory of the United State, the District of Columbia or foreign nation and have met educational and examination requirements equal to or exceeding those established under the Massage Therapy Practice Act.

b. CAUTION:  If you have not taken the NCETMB Examination or the MBLEx and wish to have the Board consider another state’s MASSAGE licensing exam in lieu of a national exam, it is your responsibility to ensure that the Board receives proof from that state or licensing jurisdiction that the Massage Therapy examination you took meets or exceeds the NCETMB Examination or the MBLEx, either of which is required for licensure by New Mexico.  

c. If you have taken and passed the NCETMB you may instead have your exam results mailed directly to the Board Office by the examining agency in order to satisfy the examination requirements in this Section.  
You must request that FORM B “Verification of Licensure” be completed by each licensing board where you have been licensed or certified previously, whether or not the license/certification is current.

	NAME – STATE/JURISDICTION LICENSING BOARD/AGENCY

     

	PHONE

(   )     -     

	MAILING ADDRESS - No. & Street/P. O. Box

     


	CITY

     

	STATE

  
	ZIP CODE

      -      

	HOURS REQUIRED

    

	LICENSE NO.

     
	LICENSE HELD (Massage Therapist, etc.)

     


EXAMINATION OFFICIAL SCORES – The national examining agencies WILL NOT automatically send the examination results to the Board office.  It is your responsibility to ensure that the examination agency send your test results to the Board office.      

COMPLETE THE APPLICATION CORRECTLY:

The Board shall neither approve nor deny an application for licensure in New Mexico until it is received in proper form, contains the information required by law and as requested by this application. The Board does not have the authority to grant a waiver of any requirement.

AMERICAN’S WITH DISABILITY ACT:  If you are individual needing special testing accommodations for the jurisprudence examination please check here  FORMCHECKBOX 
 and indicate on a separate page what your disability is and the type of accommodations you will need.

SECTION C – THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED
	1. Have you been convicted of a felony offense?
2. Have you ever been denied a license or authorization to practice massage therapy or been denied permission to take an examination to practice massage therapy in any state, country or territory?

3. Has any disciplinary action ever been taken regarding your practice of massage therapy or any license you hold or have held to practice massage therapy?  Disciplinary actions include, but are not limited to, suspension, probation, practice limitation, reprimand, fines, letter of admonition or censure; 

4. Are there any allegations or complaints currently pending regarding your practice of massage therapy or any license you hold or have held to practice massage therapy?  

5. Have you ever been a defendant in a legal action involving professional liability (malpractice), or had a professional liability claim paid in your behalf, or paid such a claim yourself?

6. Are you currently more than a month in arrears in court ordered child support payments in New Mexico or any other state(s)?

	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes
 FORMCHECKBOX 
 No

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes
 FORMCHECKBOX 
 No

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes
 FORMCHECKBOX 
 No

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes
 FORMCHECKBOX 
 No

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes
 FORMCHECKBOX 
 No

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes
 FORMCHECKBOX 
 No

	If you answered “YES” to any of the questions listed above, you must provide an explanation and make arrangements for relevant documentation and the current status of the item in question to be sent to the Board office. Such documentation may include, but not be limited to the following:

1. Certified copies of the legal documents, certified by the Clerk entering the conviction;

2. Character reference letters from family, friends, colleagues, employer, etc., to include their addresses and phone numbers, which must be originals addressed to the Board and which must be dated within one (1) month from the date this application is signed and submitted to the Board;

3. If you are still on probation, a letter from your Probation Officer outlining the status, which must be original and addressed to the Board and which must be dated within one (1) month from the date this application is signed and submitted to the Board;

4. For question #2, documentation outlining the basis, outcome, and status must be sent directly to this office from the licensing Board(s);

5. For question #4, a certified statement from HSD stating that you are in compliance with the judgment and order for support; and
6. Any other documentation regarding the matter.

OTHER  CONDITIONS:

As a condition for licensure for any person who has received a conviction involving drugs, the applicant must provide and affidavit with this application that he/she authorizes the Board to require that a urinalysis to be conducted at the applicant’s expense, and that the urinalysis results will be forwarded directly to the Board by the laboratory.

 A “YES” answer does not necessarily disqualify an applicant from licensure, however the Board may require additional information and/or clarification, therefore it is important that you provide complete and succinct information.  Each case is considered on its own merit.   If you are applying for a temporary license and you answered, “YES” to any question above the application will have to be presented to the Board for approval/disapproval before a temporary license may be issued.


SECTION D – TEMPORARY LICENSURE
	Complete this section if you are applying for a temporary license.  Read 16.7.4.16 NMAC “Specific Provisions for Temporary License” in the Board’s Part 4.  
· Only applicants applying under “Licensure by Education” or “Credential” applicants who have NEVER taken a National  Examination may apply for a temporary license while waiting to take the exam.  

· The Temporary Licensure Fee of $25.00 must accompany the Application Fee.



	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 SELF-EMPLOYED – PHYSICAL ADDRESS - No. & Street 
     

	CITY

     
	ZIP CODE

      -      
	PHONE NO.

(   )     -     

	EMPLOYED BY A BUSINESS OR SOMEONE ELSE – Name of Employer

     

	PHYSICAL ADDRESS - No. & Street
     

	CITY

     
	ZIP CODE

      -      
	PHONE NO.

(   )     -     

	BY YOUR SIGNATURE BELOW YOU ARE CERTIFYING TO AND AGREE TO COMPLY WITH THE FOLLOWING:

The Massage Therapy Rules and Regulations (16.7 NMAC) allow me to apply for a Temporary Massage Therapy license while waiting to take a national examination, upon satisfying the Board that I have met all the educational requirements outlined in Part 4, of the Massage Therapy Rules/Parts.  Therefore, I hereby certify that I have not taken the NCETMB or the MBLEx.
1.
If granted the temporary massage therapy license for which I am applying, and if I fail to pass the national exam, I agree to return the temporary massage Therapy license within ten (10) calendar days after receiving notice from the testing agency that I have failed to pass; I understand that the testing agency will notify the Board that I failed the exam and if I do not return the temporary license within the ten (10) calendar days, I may be assessed an administrative fee by the Board if I do not comply.  
2.
If granted the temporary massage therapy license for which I am applying, and if I fail to obtain the initial Massage Therapy license prior to the expiration of the temporary massage therapy license I agree to return the temporary massage therapy license within ten (10) calendar days after the expiration date noted on the temporary massage therapy license, along with a written statement stating, and agreeing, not to practice until and unless the initial massage therapy license is issued; and

3.
If granted a temporary license, I will keep the Board appraised, in writing, with thirty (30) days of any changes to the location of my practice.

	SIGNATURE
	DATE       /    /     


JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION - ALL applicants are required to take a Jurisprudence Examination.  A copy of Massage Therapy Rules and Regulations (16.7 NMAC) and the Massage Therapy Practice Act (Chapter 61, Article 12C) will accompany the Jurisprudence Exam when Board staff sends it to you.  
APPLICATION EXPIRATION AND WITHDRAWAL

If this application is still incomplete one (1) year after the date it was received by the Board office, the application will be considered WITHDRAWN and the status in the Board’s licensing database will be changed to “Withdrawn”.  All fees paid by the applicant will be forfeited. The hard-copy file will be stored for one more year, after which it will be destroyed.  If the applicant wishes to reapply, he/she must contact the Board office to determine whether the hard-copy file is still available and must meet whatever the application requirements are at the time of reapplication.

SECTION E – APPLICANT’S ATTESTATION
	I acknowledge receiving and reading the Massage Therapy Rules and Regulations and the Massage Therapy Practice Act (received either directly from the Board office or downloaded from the Board’s Website (from the RULES AND LAW link) and represent and agree to comply with these laws should I be granted the license for which I am applying.

Under penalties of perjury, I declare and affirm that the statements made in the forgoing application, including notarized documentation, are true, complete, and correct.  I understand that any false or misleading information in or in connection with, my application may be cause for denial or loss of licensure.

	SIGNATURE (Sign before a Notary Public)
	DATE           /        /     

	State of:

County of:
	_____________________________

_____________________________

	Before me on this ______ day of ___________________, 2 _____, personally appeared the above named applicant who being by me duly sworn upon oath says that all the acts, statements and answers contained in this application are true and correct.

	Notary Name (Printed):

Notary Name (Signature):

Commission Expiration Date
	_____________________________________

_____________________________________

                                                                                                                        (Notary Seal)

_____________________________________


	MASSAGE THERAPY LICENSURE

LICENSURE BY “EDUCATION” CHECKLIST


	Complete this checklist (by checking the boxes as applicable) ONLY if you are applying for Licensure by Education.   It is your responsibility to ensure that the checklist items are provided to the Massage Therapy Board.  Failure to return this completed checklist with your application and the required fee(s) will delay the processing of your application. 


	Yes
	*No
	NA
	 
	For Office Use Only

Date Received

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	
	
	1.  Complete Application for Massage Therapy licensure, which is signed before a notary public and includes a 2”x2” photograph of applicant.  (Photocopy or scanned photograph is not accepted)
	___/___/___

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	
	
	2.  Application Fee of $75.00, payment made out to:  Massage Therapy Board
	___/___/___

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	
	3.  Temporary License Fee of $25.00, payment made out to:  Massage Therapy Board.  

NOTE: Only persons who have never taken a National Examination are eligible for a temporary license. 
	___/___/___

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	
	4.  Copy of high school diploma, its equivalent (GED) or college/university transcript/diploma
	___/___/___

	MT Office use ONLY: School ____ ___________________________________________________ Graduated ___/ __/___

	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	
	5.  Photocopy of front and back of CURRENT CPR and First Aid card from EITHER the American Red Cross OR the American Heart Association. (NO ONLINE COURSES WILL BE ACCEPTED)
	___/___/___

	MT Office use ONLY: Card Expiration Date ____/_____/_____


	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	
	6.  Official Massage Therapy School Transcript in a sealed school envelope, for each school listed in Section A of the application.  
	___/___/___

	MT Office use ONLY: School ____ ___________________________________________________ Graduated ___/ __/___

	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	7.  FORM A “Massage Therapy School” in a sealed school envelope, for each school listed in Section A, for out-of-state massage therapy schooling, or any massage therapy schooling that is less than 650 hours or any massage therapy hours earned more than two (2) years ago, 
	___/___/___

	MT Office use ONLY: Number of Hours Completed:  __________


	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	8.  For out-of-state massage therapy schooling documentation/verification that the massage therapy school was approved to operate as a private post-secondary educational institution or its equivalent, at the time training was received
	___/___/___

	This document MUST be submitted by the O/S school to the Board with the FORM A and the official MT school transcript.

	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	9.  Ordered/will order official national examination score report to be mailed directly to the Massage Therapy Board office
	___/___/___

	Applicant to list States’ abbreviation (CHECKBOX for MT Office use ONLY)    _______ FORMCHECKBOX 
  _______ FORMCHECKBOX 
  _______ FORMCHECKBOX 
  


	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	
	
	___/___/___

	Applicant:  Be sure to request that your national exam score results be sent DIRECTLY to the Massage Therapy Board.


	

	FOR MT BOARD OFFICE USE ONLY

	Temporary License Issued:
	Temp License #____________
	Issue Date  ___/___/___ - Valid Through  ___/___/___

	Jurisprudence Exam Mailed   ___/___/___
	Score: _________%
	Passing Date  ___/___/___

	Copy of Checklist Mailed to Applicant 
	___/___/___,          ___/___/___
	___/___/___,         ___/___/___,          ___/___/___

	Board Staff Notes:


	
	

	National Exam Taken:  
	Date Taken  ___/___/___
	Initial License Fee Received  _____/_____/______

	License Number: 
Date Processed & Mailed
	Expiration Date:  _____/____/____
	Completed by (Initial)


	MASSAGE THERAPY LICENSURE

LICENSURE BY “CREDENTIALS”  CHECKLIST



	Complete this checklist ONLY if you are applying for LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS.  It is your responsibility to ensure that the checklist items are provided to the Massage Therapy Board.  Failure to return this completed checklist with your application and the required fee(s) will delay the processing of your application. 

	Yes
	*No
	NA
	
	RECEIVED:

(For  MTB Office Use Only)

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	
	
	1.   Complete Application for Massage Therapy Licensure, which is signed before a notary public and includes a 2”x2” photograph of applicant.  (Photocopy or scanned photograph is not accepted)
	___/___/___

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	
	
	2.  Application Fee of $75.00, payment made out to:  Massage Therapy Board
	___/___/___

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	
	3.  Copy of high school diploma, its equivalent (GED) or college/university transcript/diploma
	___/___/___

	MT Office use ONLY: School ____ ___________________________________________________ Graduated ___/ __/___
	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	
	4.  Photocopy of front and back of CURRENT CPR and First Aid card from EITHER the American Red Cross OR the American Heart Association. (NO ONLINE COURSES WILL BE ACCEPTED)
	___/___/___

	MT Office use ONLY: Card Expiration Date ____/_____/_____


	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	
	5.  Official Massage Therapy School Transcript in a sealed school envelope, for each school listed in Section A of the application.  
	___/___/___

	MT Office use ONLY: School ____ ___________________________________________________ Graduated ___/ __/___

	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	6.  FORM A “Verification of School” in a sealed school envelope, for each school listed in Section A of the application for out-of-state massage therapy schooling or for in-state massage therapy schooling that is less than 650 hours in length  (see 16.7.4.13 of Part 4 for clarification)
	___/___/___

	(For MT Office use ONLY:  Number of Hours: _______________)

	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	7.  For out-of-state massage therapy schooling documentation/verification that the massage therapy school was approved to operate as a private post-secondary educational institution or its equivalent, for each out-of-state school listed in Section A of the application at the time training was received
	___/___/___

	The O/S school MUST submit the FORM A, the official MT school transcript, and the checklist item #7 to the NM Board.

	

	
	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	8.  Form B “Verification of Licensure” in a sealed board envelope, from all the states you hold or have ever held a license to practice in a Health Care Field, listed in Section D of the application for licensure
	___/___/___

	Applicant to list States’ abbrev. (CHECKBOX for MT Office use ONLY)    _______ FORMCHECKBOX 
  _______ FORMCHECKBOX 
  ________  FORMCHECKBOX 
 _______

	

	
	9.  CHECK ONE  - Exam Section

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  State administered examination taken at the time of licensure meets or exceeds the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork. (NOTE: The examination content outline MUST be provided by the licensing jurisdiction to the New Mexico Massage Therapy Board for evaluation and final determination); OR  
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Ordered official exam score report to be mailed directly to the Massage Therapy Board office. 
	___/___/___

	Checklist Item 9:  You MUST make arrangements to have the checked item sent directly to the NM Board by either the other state board or the NCETMB.  Date of request: ______/______/______


	

	FOR MT OFFICE USE ONLY

	Jurisprudence Exam Mailed   ___/___/___
	Score: _________%
	Passing Date  ___/___/___

	Copy of Checklist Mailed to Applicant 
	___/___/___,          ___/___/___
	___/___/___,         ___/___/___,          ___/___/___

	Board Staff Notes:


	
	

	National Exam Taken:  

License Processed & Mailed
	Date Taken  ___/___/___ 
Score:_______________%
	Initial License Fee Received  _____/_____/______


REQUIRED





Attach one (1) 2"X2" photograph of head and shoulders only (passport type) taken within the last six (6) months





PLEASE STAPLE, DO NOT


TAPE OR GLUE





Has been requested:





Has been requested:





Has been requested:





Has been requested:





Has been requested:











Please indicate which exam you wish to submit toward the examination requirement.








1
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