Speech-Language Pathology, Audiology, and Hearing Aid Dispensing Practices FAQs

Speech-Language Pathology, Audiology, and Hearing Aid Dispensing Practices: FAQs

For detailed information, refer to the Board statutes, rules and regulations.

Q: What are the requirements to become licensed speech-language pathologist or an audiologist in New Mexico?

A master’s degree and ASHA Certification, or completion of a Clinical Fellow Year (CFY) and evidence of successful completion of national exams. An audiologist who wishes to dispense hearing aids must apply for an endorsement.

Q: What are the requirements to acquire a Clinical Fellow Year (CFY) license in New Mexico?

A master’s degree, licensed supervisor, CFY plan, compliance with supervisory requirements, and compliance with employment requirements.

Q: What are the requirements to become a licensed apprentice in SLP (ASL in New Mexico)?

A bachelor’s degree, licensed supervisor, compliance with educational requirements, and compliance with employment requirements.

Q: What are the requirements to become a licensed hearing aid dispenser in New Mexico?

A high school diploma or equivalent, 8 months training, business location in New Mexico, and evidence of successful completion of the national xxam or Board exam and the practical exam.

Q: What are the requirements to become a licensed hearing aid dispenser Trainee in New Mexico?

A high school diploma or equivalent, 18 years of age, and work under a licensed supervisor with a business location in New Mexico.

Q: What are the continuing education requirements?

Twenty (20) hours are to be reported every two years with your renewal. These hours may be distributed over the two year period or they may all be obtained in one year. These continuing education hours must be in the field of your licensure or may be in a related field if justified to the board office.

Q: What is required for a name change or and address change?

For an address change, submit both old and new information to the Speech-Language Pathology, Audiology and Hearing Aid Dispensing Board. For a name change, submit copy of legal document showing name change.

Skip to content