Chiropractic Board Continuing Education Requirements

Chiropractic Board: Continuing Education Requirements

Approved In-Class Continuing Education Units 2019-2020
Approved Online Continuing education units 2020-2021

New Mexico Doctor’s of Chiropractic are allowed a maximum  of eight (8) distant learning/online continuing education hours for licensure renewal.

In accordance with Section 61-4-8 NMSA 1978, of the New Mexico Chiropractic Physician Practice Act, the board may, at its discretion, issue licenses to practice chiropractic in New Mexico to doctors who provide evidence of meeting the following minimal requirements:

Requirements for Chiropractic Licenses:

  • A completed application form;
  • nonrefundable application fee of $700.00 as set forth in Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph (1) of Subsection A of 16.4.1.13 NMAC payable by cashier’s check, credit card or money order;
  • letter size, copy of original chiropractic diploma;
  • 2” x 2” photograph attached to the application;
  • transcript of credits of chiropractic college;
  • transcripts documenting two years of pre-chiropractic, post-secondary education;
  • transcript from the national board of chiropractic examiners (parts I, II, III, IV and physiotherapy exam), demonstrating a passing score;
  • all transcripts must be sent directly from each agency to the New Mexico board;
  • verifications of licensure and good standing in any state where the applicant holds a current or inactive license must be sent directly from the state licensing agency to the New Mexico board;
  • has had no disciplinary action imposed, nor criminal convictions, applicant agrees to a national practitioners databank and a federation of chiropractic licensing boards background check;
  • complete the take home jurisprudence exam with a score of at least 75 percent.

All applications deemed completed by the board’s administrator shall be referred to the board’s application committee for final consideration.

  • No applicant shall be reviewed for approval until the application is complete.
  • If an applicant does not meet the minimal requirements as set forth above, applicant may, at the discretion of the board, be required to take and pass part I, II, III, IV, physiotherapy exam, other NBCE specialty examination or the special purpose examination (SPEC) of the national boards, or any combination thereof.
  • The board may designate a professional background information service, which compiles background information regarding an applicant from multiple sources.

Requirements for License Without Examination:

  • is of good moral character and has maintained an active practice for at least seven of the last ten years prior to the filing of the application as a doctor of chiropractic in another state, territory, country or foreign jurisdiction whose licensure requirements are equal to or exceed those of New Mexico; and
    • has a doctor of chiropractic diploma from a council on chiropractic education accredited or board accepted equivalent chiropractic college; and
    • for those who have served in the military services of the United States for two years or more within one year prior to application, two of the seven out of 10 years  of active practice required can be substituted for and;
    • is an applicant showing evidence of having passed all examinations conducted by the NBCE that were in effect at the time of graduation from chiropractic college.
  • has had no disciplinary action imposed, nor criminal convictions entered against any chiropractic license the applicant held or holds; applicant agrees to a national practitioners databank and a federation of chiropractic licensing boards background check;
  • has never been found guilty of any action which, had it been committed in New Mexico, would be grounds for disciplinary action against the license;
  • provides national board transcripts that have been sent directly from each agency to the board.;
  • Provides pre-chiropractic college transcripts.
    • Applicant must complete application for licensure without examination, pay nonrefundable application fee of $350.00, pay a licensing fee of $350.00 once applicant is accepted for licensure, and should meet all other applicable requirements of New Mexico statutes pertaining to the practice of chiropractic and all other applicable provisions of the board’s rules.  The applicant will be required to completed the jurisprudence exam with a score of at least 75 percent.
    • If an applicant does not meet the minimal requirements of 61-4-8.B NMSA 1978, applicant may at the discretion of the board, be required to take and pass part I, II, III or IV, and phsyiotherapy or the special purpose examination (SPEC) of the national boards.
    • Upon receipt of a completed application, including all required documentation as set forth in Subsection A of 16.4.3.8 NMAC and fees, as stated in Subsection B of 16.4.4.8 NMAC  the secretary-treasurer or the delegate of the board will review and may approve the application. The results of the background check must either indicate no negative findings, or if there are negative findings, those findings will be considered by the board. The board shall formally accept the approval of the application at the next scheduled meeting.
    • The board may designate a professional background information service, which compiles background information regarding an applicant from multiple sources.

Requirements for Renewal

  • Renewal notice.  On or before June 1st of each year, the chiropractic board shall mail to the last address on file with the board a renewal notice to each person licensed to practice chiropractic in New Mexico.
  • Renewal.  The license shall expire at midnight on June 30th of each year.  The board shall renew the license upon receipt from the licensee, the nonrefundable license renewal fee, along with a properly filled out original form with signature, and copies of continuing education certificate plus any applicable nonrefundable penalty fees.
  • Renewal deadline.  Each licensee shall submit the nonrefundable license renewal fee and properly completed application to the board postmarked no later than July 1st of the year for which the nonrefundable license renewal fee is requested.
  • Penalty fees.  A licensee shall submit to the board, in addition to the nonrefundable license renewal fee, a nonrefundable penalty fee as set forth in Paragraph (3) of Subsection A of 16.4.1.13 NMAC.
  • Failure to renew license.  The procedures in Subsection B of 16.4.9.8 NMAC shall be followed by the board for all licensees who have failed to submit the annual renewal application including, where applicable, required information about continuing education, applicable fees and properly executed forms.  Any fee paid to renew the license is deemed nonrefundable.
    • Notice. By July 31st of each year, the board shall send, by certified mail, to the address on file with the board, a forfeiture notice to each licensee who has not made the application for license renewal. The notice shall state that:
  • the licensee has failed to make application for renewal;
  • the amount of renewal and late fees;
  • the information required about continuing education hours which must be submitted to renew the license;
  • the licensee may voluntarily retire the license or the licensee may apply for an inactive license, by notifying the board in writing;
  • failure to respond to the notice by the date specified, which date must be at least 31 days after the forfeiture notice is sent by the board, either by submitting the renewal application and applicable fees, or the information required about continuing education hours, or by notifying the board that the licensee has voluntarily retired the license, or has applied for inactive status, shall result in forfeiture of the license to practice chiropractic in New Mexico;
  • the board may select by the Regulation & Licensing Department (RLD) random computer processes, up to 10% of the renewal applicants which shall be submitted for background findings review.
Skip to content